Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.3

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,518 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda CR-V suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #18

Nov 092005

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Honda CR-V pulls strongly to the right at highway speeds. I visited the dealer, and they indicated that this is a manufacturing defect described in Honda tsb 05-022. However, they refused to repair it!

- Burlington, VT, USA

problem #17

Aug 152013

CR-V

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle became hard to control. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that both of the front control arms needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #16

May 062013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2005 Honda CRV. Consumer writes in regards to defective wheel suspension system. The consumer stated when his wife backed out of a parking spot, she felt a crunch and a drop come from the front of the vehicle. The a frame of the right front wheel suspension failed at the welded attach point on the sway bar. The weld had been failing for some time as there was rust and dirt on some of the broken edges. According to the invoice, the front control arm broke, causing the axle to fail and the sway bar link to fail.

- Gig Harbor, WA, USA

problem #15

Nov 022011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 18,769 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There was a groan coming from the rear differential when making a sharp turn or tight turn at low speed. The mileage was 18769 miles. The cause was attributed to contamination of the fluid in the rear differential. The fluid was drained and the rear differential clutches were burnished. However, the drained fluid was clean. The fluid was again replaced. This should not happen to a car with this low mileage. This sounds like the wrong fluid was installed at the time of manufacture. I will seek compensation from Honda.

- Grover Beach, CA, USA

problem #14

Mar 152011

CR-V

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the vehicle exhibited steady vibration once traveling over 42 mph. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that both axles would need replacing. The contact replaced the axles but the failure persisted. The contact then replaced all four tires to no avail. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was told to take the vehicle back to the dealer so that an engineer could further inspect the vehicle. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 77,000.

- Wyoming, RI, USA

problem #13

Aug 082006

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,200 miles
: the contact stated while making right turns and accelerating at any speed, the steering wheel jerked to the right. The dealership determined this was how the vehicle was manufactured. Updated 08/25/06.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #12

Jul 182005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a Honda CR-V ex purchased 4/14/2005. It has pulled hard to the right, especially during acceleration, since the first day. I have taken it back to the dealership four times to have the problem corrected and they have failed to do so. The most recent time was at the request of american Honda motor after I recently wrote the company a letter demanding that the car be made to comply with warrant, or that I be given another vehicle that does, or that the company buy back the vehicle. During normal driving there is a constant pull to the right. On a flat asphalt surface (no tilt or crowning) when I push the accelerator to the floor from a stop the vehicle moves to a 45-degree angle and halfway into the next lane in the right after just 20 feet. Once when my wife accelerated from a stop light for a right turn, the strong pull caused her to hit the curb.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #11

Jul 222005

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
The contact purchased a new 2005 Honda CRV LX and it was pulling to the right while driving. She did not think that the vehicle iwas out of alignment. When she accelerated and pulled onto a road the vehicle pulled to the right. The vehicle has not been to the dealership yet, but will be taken to dealer on 10-18-2005.there was no indication as to what the problem may be. There was no certain speed that it affected. The cktact has contacted Honda, and they stated that a case manager would call her in one to two days.

- Borden Town, NJ, USA

problem #10

Oct 052005

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
CR-V purchased was different from CR-V tested. After taking title noticed car pulling to right. Dealer aligned according to bulletin. CR-V still pulls to right. Could go off road if steering wheel not held tightly.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #9

Aug 162005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Since my wife and I purchased a 2005 CRV ex 3 weeks ago it has spent more time at the dealers then with us. The first problem was a vibration in the steering wheel and a pull to the right. Brought the vehicle in for service and the dealer stated the wheels were out of balance. Picked the vehicle up and it continued to do the same. The vehicle went in a second time and the dealer stated that their balancing machine was incorrectly calibrated; then changed one tire. The dealer stated that the car meets Honda "specs". picked up the vehicle and it continued to do the same. Brought the vehicle in a third time. The dealer stated that the manufacturer, America Honda, placed the struts on incorrectly and fixed it. Picked the vehicle up and it no longer pulled to the right, however the vibration in the steering was still there. Brought the vehicle in a fourth time, went for a test drive with a technician and he stated that there was a problem with a vibration at 45, 50 and between 60-70 mph. The dealer then test drove 3 other CR-V's from the lot then stated that they were as bad or worst then mine. The head supervisor contacted America Honda and gave them the details. Their reply " since all the vehicles do that it must be a characteristic of the vehicle." The dealer admitted that there was a problem but since America Honda did not reconize it they would not fix it. I am in the process of making a claim under the Florida lemon law. America Honda needs to be accountable for the defective product they are producing.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #8

Jul 172005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2005 Honda CR-V on July 11, 2005. After briefly driving the vehicle I noticed a severe pull to the right (later found out this is called ts (torque steer) during acceleration from a stop up to sixty-five miles per hour. In less than three seconds the car was two lanes to the right (safety hazard). I drove the vehicle in a parking lot with the grade to the left and the vehicle still pulled uphill to the right (so much for road crown pull). On 7/26 spreen Honda of loma linda, ca, where the vehicle was purchased, had it aligned by the Saturn dealership (owned by spreen owner) with no appreciable difference. On 7/28-7/29 spreen had preutt┐'s wheel alignment of redlands do a second alignment with no appreciable difference. The vehicle continues to pull to the right. Spreen said there was nothing wrong with the vehicle, I was the only person that had complained about it, to their knowledge, that the pulling to the right was inherent in all front wheel drive vehicles (was not a problem in my 1999 CR-V), that they had no further commitment and I should talk to american Honda. I think NHTSA should enforce the repair of this defect and Honda should mitigate this defect or recall all of its affected vehicles immediately.

- Banning, CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 312005

CR-V 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Honda CRV, consumer states the vehicle was pulling to the right. Dealership has had the vehicle 3 times and nothing was improved. Also, he vehicle was to be taken to the dealership in one week. She called Honda and had T a case opened, #N012005-06-2701355, case manager, michelle swabe. The were trying alignments, changing the tires, and other things. Dealer changed strut angle per service bulletin; adjusted engine mount and change tires. However problem still exist.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #6

Apr 122005

(reported on)

CR-V

  • miles
Consumer curious as to why no investigation has begun regarding 2005 Honda CRV problems pulling to the right.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #5

Nov 192004

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 5 miles
This new 05' Honda CR-V ex has had numerous problems with no resolve from the dealer. It has a continued problem of pulling to the right as well as vibration at higher speeds. Also, the passenger side cv boot has been repaired twice as well as the transaxle. The vehicle came new with these problems. The dealer has tried diligently to fix the pttr problem with new tires, axle, rotation, alignment, wheels from other 05' CR-V's. but, they have said the vibration is within manufacture's specs!!!! I have spent more time with my car at the dealer since I bought this car in dececmber of 2004 and it is now April 2005! the vibration comes about throughout the cab, especially through the steering wheel at around 50-70 mph. I'm very upset that I pay good money for a car that brings me grief each and every time I drive the car on the hi-way. Around town it's fine. This car is not right, and has never been right from the factory. This ib the worst Honda purchase I have had after owning 5 other Honda's!

- Bend, OR, USA

problem #4

Mar 252005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12 miles
My husband and I purchased a 2005 cvr 10 days ago. As of day one the CRV pulls serverly to the right. We have had no help from the dealer. Won't answer our calls to make an appointment. Our tires have been checked and they are fine. When going over a small bump you need to pull the wheel to the left to not go into the other lane. When driving on a flat road you need to keep the turned left so it doesn't fo into the other lane. We were told it was the street or tire air pressure when we pulled out of the dearlers after the contract was signed. They made it seem it was no big deal. I feel unsafe in this vehicle.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #3

Jan 152005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles
Vehicle exhibits severe pull to the right (pttr) during highway speeds under normal driving conditions causing involuntary lane change (crossing over to adjacent lane) and potential collision.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #2

Oct 242004

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Since '05 Honda CRV was purchased, (4 months ago) vehicle pulls to the right. Besides being a road hazard at all speeds, the pulling apparently results in all tires being out of alignemnt. Vehicle has been to the dealer for repair three (3) times without any repair that helped the problem of pulling to the right. (vehicle was re-aligned once.) Honda manufacturer technician stated that all 2 wheel drive and front wheel drive vehicles pull to the right at speeds under 30 mph. Additionally, technician stated that Honda does not have any specification as to how much a vehicle can pull to the right and that this is normal.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #1

Feb 282005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 10 miles
I attempted to purchase a 2005 Honda CR-V, ex trim, 5-speed manual transmission. I found that three of the vehicles I test drove have a pull to the right, varying from moderate to severe between vehicles. When I complained, the dealer did not fix the vehicle, but added an extra 10 pounds of pressure to the right front tire - this of course masked (but didn't cure) the problem. I ended up canceling my contract and walked away -- from the edmunds.com forums, it seems that others were not as fortunate and now may be stuck with faulty vehicles.

- Washington, DC, USA

Not what you are looking for?