Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,596 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

May 012008

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Honda CRV. The contact stated that the headlights failed excessively making it difficult to see the highway when driving at night. In addition, the instrument panel lights were abnormally dim. The dealer advised the contact that there were no known issues with the vehicle however, performed repairs to the headlights as enforced by the manufacturer. The current mileage was 58,000 and the failure mileage was unknown.

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #13

Apr 152011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
We purchased a Honda CR-V in 2006. We have had 12 cases of the low beam head light failures. It is very dangerous because it happens at night and we are thankful both headlights have not failed at the same time so far. Our local Honda dealership knows this situation having replaced the bulbs and complete harnesses. Nothing has stopped the ongoing problem. There needs to be a recall with a good solution not just replacing the bulbs.

- Galveston, TX, USA

problem #12

Jan 082011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
We have a 2006 Honda CR-V and tonight my wife was driving the car and out of nowhere the power window switch started to smoke and was on fire!!

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #11

Jul 142010

CR-V

  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Honda CR-V, VIN: [xxx]. compressor failed at 74K miles. Interior vents now blow only hot air and the defroster no longer defogs windshield because compressor must work for defroster to work properly. I called american Honda on 7/15/10. I was assigned a case #, and customer service escalated the issue 3 times. They refused to take responsibility for this compressor failure which is common on thousands of Honda CRV's from 2002 through 2006 (please see the forums on this issue). In some cases, Honda has paid for the repair; in others, they paid for part of the cost of the repair; but in most, like for me, they refused to own up to this common defect. I wrote to tetsuo iwamura, CEO american Honda, on 7/20. My letter was returned to customer service who again told me Honda would do nothing. I wrote again to the CEO on 7/27, but received no response. I wrote again on 8/17 sending the letter via certified mail. That letter was received 8/19, but to date, there has been no response. Again, this is a common problem on Honda CR-V's. compressors should not fail at 74K miles. I never had this problem with any other car I have ever owned. And this is a safety issue because the compressor turns on when the defroster is on. Without a working compressor, the defroster can not defog the windshield, and you can't see where you are going. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #10

Jul 122010

CR-V

  • 50,000 miles
While driving my 2006 Honda CR-V I noticed a very strong burning smell that smelled like an electrical fire. It was very strong and I thought it was coming from the vehicle in front of me. I was at an outlet center in lk george, NY with 4 others in my car. We all were overwhelmed on how strong the odor was. I pulled out of the outlet driveway to get into the road so I could turn into the next outlet entrance. As I turned into the next outlet entrance, my driver's side window went down on its own a few seconds later I noticed smoke coming from the master window control and from my speaker panel below it. I stopped the car and had everyone get out..911 was called and a firetruck came. The firemen took the inside panel of my car door off and found there were burned electrical wires that had caused melting within the door. There is no recall on this model Honda. I looked up this problem online and found that the Honda fit was recalled for this very problem in January,2010. The entire window master switch and it's corresponding wires had to be replaced as well as the inside door panel.

- Niskayuna, NY, USA

problem #9

Apr 052010

CR-V

  • 51,000 miles
1) April 5, 2010: Forty-five minutes into the drive, my gas tank (which was half full) dropped below empty in just one second. I could feel the engine shutting down on the highway. I was in the left hand lane driving in heavy traffic. At this point, I knew that I needed to pull over and get help. Unfortunately, the cars behind me were passing me on the right hand side not allowing me to get over. I knew that if someone would not let me over into the right hand lane, I was going to die along with others that would crash into me. Fortunately, god created an opening. At this opening, I merged onto an exit ramp for me to realize I don't have any brakes at all. I went into panic and fight mode. I was an inch away from slamming into a pole and tipping over a little cliff when I slammed the car into park position in order to stop my car. 2) failure: Loss of control, engine shutting down, loss of brakes on the highway consequences: Almost lost my life and could've easily killed others on the highway this is the first time this particular engine problem occurred, but this is not the first engine problem. 3) car was brought to the closest Honda dealership. Several scans done. They couldn't figure out the problem. 4) towed car from that dealership to my original dealer. This Honda CR-V bought brand new is currently with my original dealer. They are trying to figure out the defect.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #8

Mar 232010

CR-V

  • 43,460 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On March 16, 2010, the main power window controls (located on drivers door), began having problems. I could no longer close the front right window from this control. I was able to open the front right window and was able to open and close the three remaining power windows. The power window switch on the front passenger door did work (to open and close that window). On March 23, 2010, I turned on the ignition for my CRV as I got ready to go to work. I noticed an intense burning smell (of plastic) and was able to trace it to the driver's door within several minutes. I turned off my vehicle and tried to examine the door further. Smoke came out of the openings (like the speaker cover) of the door panel. I noticed that the control switch for the front right window was now sticking. I pulled out the power window fuse from the engine fuse box and took my vehicle to my mechanic. Upon disassembling the front driver side door, the mechanic was able to examine the wiring inside the door and all looked normal (no sign of burns). They took out the main power window control switch and disassembled that and found clear burn marks underneath one switch and on the motherboard attached to it. They will be installing a brand new switch tomorrow that was ordered from Honda. Until the switch is replaced, I do not have control of the power locks from the inside, opening or closing the windows, or adjusting the rear view mirrors. I do have the original switch available for review of the damage. While I did not see flames, I do believe that there was a small fire inside the power window switch and had the car run any longer, the smoke and fire would have spread and could have led to more serious consequences if I had been driving (and not parked) when this occurred.

- Urbana, IL, USA

problem #7

Jan 252010

CR-V

  • 146,000 miles
On Monday, January 25, 2010, my 2006 Honda CRV was parked in a lot, turned off, for at least 10 min. While I sat in the driver's seat making follow-up sales calls. A white cloud of smoke began to rise from the main power window control switch specifically coming from the rear left button. It smelled like an electrical fire. Within 5 seconds, flames started coming out of the button. Afraid, I grabbed my bottle of water, pouring half of it on the flames. The flames actually stopped, the smoke continued. I poured the rest of the bottle on it and finally the smoke subsided. It was very frightening and late. I went home and told my husband what had happened. He suggested I stop at our nearby service station and ask what they thought. The next day I did just that. Tuesday, January 26 I pulled into that same station, where I have most of my vehicle service work done. They removed the whole control panel to find it had actually melted and burn marks remained on the fabric covering the door. I then headed for the Honda dealership where I had purchased the car. With the control panel in hand, I showed and explained to them the obvious problem. I was then told they had never heard of anything like this and it would only take a day or two for them to replace the switch, which cost me $187. They gave me a free loaner car and sent me on my way. Thursday January 28, I picked up my car, paid the bill and left. As I was driving on Friday, January 29, listening to 1210 radio, where they spoke of the Honda recall of the fit for the exact same problem! I had already called the Honda national number, spoke with a customer service rep. And then had a claim agent return my call. These calls occurred on Tuesday, prior to my arriving at the Honda dealership. His response was the same as the Honda dealer only more rude and defensive. Someone had the first fit which had a window switch fire! perhaps I had the first Honda C-rv which had a window switch fire!

- West Grove, PA, USA

problem #6

Aug 012008

CR-V

  • 43,000 miles
Potential fire hazard, wires leading to 12 volt power supply in dash area were darkened, caused short that left radio and gear shift energized at all times. Battery was drained.

- Hardy, VA, USA

problem #5

Jun 092008

CR-V

  • 92,000 miles
I purchased a 2006 Honda CR-V 2 years ago. My trade in vehicle was a 1997 Honda CR-V. since shortly after purchasing my car, I have had a recurring problem with the headlights blowing out, and sometimes the dome light inside the passenger area of the car. The headlights are blowing out on average, every two months. During the last year or 2 before trading the 1997 CR-V, I had similar problems with the headlights blowing on that vehicle also. I purchased my car from hendricks Honda in charleston, SC. I have most of my service, including oil changes, done at that dealers service department. I have repeatedly asked that they investigate the problem, and have been told repeatedly that there is no electrical problem with the car. I visited superior Honda recently in orangeburg South Carolina. The service department manager there told me that in recent months, he was aware of at least one CR-V owner and several owners of civics who have come back and forth to their dealership because of similar problems with headlights blowing out. Hendricks Honda advised against contacting the corporation and said it would likely refer the matter back to them. I commute to work 120 miles round trip daily. I have been stopped on numerous occasions by police officers and highway patrolmen regarding one of my headlights being out. I now carry copies of the service requests showing that I reported the problem with the headlights during my visits to the dealership. I show these to the office as proof that the problem is recurring and I have been attempting to resolve it. I have been unable to get the service department at the dealership where I purchased the car to take the issue seriously and/or to try to determine the source of the problem. I have check to see if there are any recalls related to this problem, or any service bulletins, and have found none. Post script: There are numerous "incident dates". the one listed is the most recent.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #4

Mar 252008

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 Honda CRV which has a light that keeps coming on telling me that the rear door is open. It is not. The biggest problem is really a safety and security problem because when this light is on, the car cannot be locked. I have had this problem corrected twice, the last time being Nov. 15th 2007. I am ready to take it back because now it comes on and pretty much stays on all the time.

- Englewood, FL, USA

problem #3

Jan 122006

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The front acc adaptor in my 2006 CR-V constantly blew fuses. I requested service on my car three times, and all three times the fuses were only replaced. No one seemed to know the cause of the surge. I finally took the car back again in November 2006 and told them to find the problem, not just replace the fuse. The housing of the acc adaptor had faulty connections that caused both contacts to touch and thus blow the fuses. The manager of the maintenance department gave me a printout explaining that the company had knowledge of the defect since March of 2006 but did not wish to do a recall due to the limited affect the surges had on the operation of the car overall. I personally travel extensively with my job and use my acc adaptor daily. This specific defect caused me to be unable to charge my phone while away from my home on business. The phone died and I was left without a way to contact anyone. It would have been great for Honda to publish this defect in the acc adaptor housing to all owners of 2006 Cr-vs.

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #2

Jun 072006

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40 miles
Non-driving failure: At night, when opening car the door, meter needles keep shaking regardless if key is in or out. In-driving failure: For each day first driving, all meter needles suddenly point at 0-position, and brake & maintenance light on and display keeps flashing, regardless if car is moving or at a stop, or fuel tank is full. Such problem keeps several minutes and automatically goes away. The failure is repeated for the first driving of each driving day. Dealer said they do not know the root cause but saw one similar case a few months ago and after replacing the entire meter panel the customer never came back. Dealer mentioned that early build of 2006 Honda Cr-vs have such problem and american Honda already knew the problem. But american Honda claimed to the customer that it does not know such failure. Though not knowing the root cause, american Honda instructed dealer to replace entire meter panel, the car is still in repair as of 6/22/2006. We found ODI id #10156440 has similarity.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 272006

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles
Electrical problem. From the first morning after I purchased vehicle until warmer weather came. In cold weather, below 34 degrees, even before key is placed in ignition, the speedometer is twitching showing electrical current going through. Once key is placed in ignition, for the first 3-8 minutes, the electrical system does not work. Trip meter is reset, inside dashboard panel has a mind of it's own. Dealer has so far replaced the fuse box and the electrical cluster. They don't know what to do so have called american Honda to take over.

- Enola, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?