CarComplaints.com Notes: While the 2009 CR-V still came equipped with tires that wear out faster than my Grandpa after a turkey dinner, Honda did address an electrical problem with the door locks that plagued owners of previous model years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,225 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #159

Jan 122017

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. Hello my car has been on the recall list for over a year. At one point is Honda going to be responsible with finding a fix" or how many more people have to be hurt before they are forced to do something" the light on dash for the airbag has come on and stayed on in the past. I've contacted my Honda dealer and it would have costed me money to bring in my car. They said they would contact me when there was a fix for the airbag recall. I'm still waiting.

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #158

Apr 152016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata airbag rec'd a recall for the takata airbag saying the part would be ready for install late summer/early fall. We have not been able to drive the car safely for almost a year now. There has been no follow up explaining delay.

- Garrison, NY, USA

problem #157

Jan 092017

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The part to do the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacture exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was invalid. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Waldwick, NH, USA

problem #156

Jan 012016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #155

Nov 122016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall I was involved in an accident on 11-12-2016. The seatbelt tightened and the airbags only partially deployed. The vehicle was stopped when hit. You could smell the residue from the bags but neither of the front bags actually popped out.

- Broomall, PA, USA

problem #154

Mar 162016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/04/17

- Towanda, KS, USA

problem #153

Mar 282016

CR-V

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. Rcvd letter from Honda 3/28/16, saying continued driving was dangerous. Yet parts were not available. I've called my local Honda dealer in the interim and parts are still not available. This is unsatisfactory. If they can build and sell new cars that have safe airbag systems, they should be able to fix their unsafe items that were sold to consumers.

- Westford, MA, USA

problem #152

Mar 112016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hernando, FL, USA

problem #151

Nov 232016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 (air bags) and 16V346000 (air bags). The parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #150

May 012016

CR-V

  • miles
Recall no incident.Honda has not contacted me to make repairs and I continue to drive a car that is unsafe.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #149

Mar 012016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a otice about an air bag recall in March 2016 and the parts still have not arrived to fix my car. What else can I do to escalate this? they said the defect can cause serious injury or fatality. NHTSA recall 16V-061

- Astoria, NY, USA

problem #148

Nov 202016

CR-V

  • 0 miles
Honda issued two safety recalls for my 2008 Honda CRV on 2/12/2016 and 5/23/2016. They informed me that both driver and passenger airbag inflators have safety issue, and it is advised that it is unsafe to drive the vehicle. I attempted to schedule and fixed the airbag, but they always inform me that they do not have the part to repair my vehicle. This is the only vehicle I have for my daily commute. I am hoping that they will have the parts ready soon. However, it seems that they are not proactively follow up on the airbag orders. Please assist.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #147

Nov 012016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair airbag inflator recall notice.

- Hernando, FL, USA

problem #146

Nov 072016

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Salem, NJ, USA

problem #145

Mar 152016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V06100 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 12/28/16 updated 01/04/16.

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #144

Oct 282016

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #143

Feb 032016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Glen Burnie, ME, USA

problem #142

Feb 012016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #141

Oct 032016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to replacement parts no available to repair driver airbag recall notice.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #140

Mar 142016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Marengo, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?