Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,786 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Honda CR-V brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #5

Dec 152010

CR-V

  • 12,566 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my CRV from herson's Honda on January 28, 2010 with 13 miles. I did my A1 maintenance service on June 14, 2010 with 4,676 miles and my B1 service was done on Sept. 18, 2010 with 9,853 miles. Both services were completed at herson's Honda service department. In Nov. I called herson's Honda service depart. To report problems with my brake pedal sinking to the floor and sliding forward while I am waiting at a traffic light. Much to my surprise, the service depart. Informed me that it was not unusual with Honda and they assured me that there is no need for concern. On the contrary, the problem became worse. On Dec. 14, my colleague and I were driving down a ramp in a parking garage when the brake pedal again failed and caused me considerable distress as I feared for my safety and that of my passenger. On Dec. 15, 2010, I took my CRV to herson's service depart. For inspection. They informed me that my brake fluid was contaminated, all the seals are swollen, it was unsafe to drive the car and it will cost me $5402 to repair it. I asked to speak with the service manager to find out how my brake fluid got contaminated and when they could repair it since my car was only 12,566 miles and still under warranty. The service manager told me that they would not fix the problem with the brakes, suggesting it was my fault and that it was not covered under warranty. I requested for the phone number of american Honda and reported the problem. American Honda said that they will investigate and come back to me. To date my car has not been corrected and it has been with herson's Honda for over 30 days.

- Riverdale, MD, USA

problem #4

Dec 152010

CR-V

  • 12,566 miles
I purchased my CRV from herson's Honda on January 28, 2010 with 13 miles. I did my A1 maintenance service on June 14, 2010 with 4,676 miles and my B1 service was done on Sept. 18, 2010 with 9,853 miles. Both services were completed at herson's Honda service department. In Nov. I called herson's Honda service depart. To report problems with my brake pedal sinking to the floor and sliding forward while I am waiting at a traffic light. Much to my surprise, the service depart. Informed me that it was not unusual with Honda and they assured me that there is no need for concern. On the contrary, the problem became worse. On Dec. 14, my colleague and I were driving down a ramp in a parking garage when the brake pedal again failed and caused me considerable distress as I feared for my safety and that of my passenger. On Dec. 15, 2010, I took my CRV to herson's service depart. For inspection. They informed me that my brake fluid was contaminated, all the seals are swollen, it was unsafe to drive the car and it will cost me $5402 to repair it. I asked to speak with the service manager to find out how my brake fluid got contaminated and when they could repair it since my car was only 12,566 miles and still under warranty. The service manager told me that they would not fix the problem with the brakes, suggesting it was my fault and that it was not covered under warranty. I requested for the phone number of american Honda and reported the problem. American Honda said that they will investigate and come back to me. To date my car has not been corrected and it has been with herson's Honda for over 30 days.

- Riverdale, MD, USA

problem #3

Nov 282010

CR-V

  • miles
2010 Honda CR-V. the driver experienced a vehicle malfunction and the vehicle suddenly stalled. The driver was then rear ended by another vehicle that was following too closely. The consumer stated he activated the cruise control and then felt it disengage as he slowed down. However, approximately 30 seconds after the disengagement, the brakes seized completely and caused the vehicle to come to an abrupt stop. (Ohio traffic crash report # 10-0706-91) updated 01/14/11

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #2

Dec 152010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 12,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Honda CR-V. the contact was driving approximately 25 mph and applying pressure to the brake when the brake pedal went to the floor and then slid forward. The contact stated it became difficult to brake and the vehicle would slide forward abnormally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the brake fluid was contaminated and all the hydraulic system would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they stated the contact was responsible for the costs of repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 12,500. Updated evoq 02/28/11 the dealer informed the consumer the brake fluid was contaminated and the seals needed to be replaced. Updated 03/09/11

- Riverdale, MD, USA

problem #1

Apr 162010

CR-V

  • 1,300 miles
Brakes won't stop car and gas surging, need to place gear to park to lower the surging of the gas. This happens occasionally car is a Honda CRV ex purchased new w/160 odometer reading on Dec. 27 2009 at scott robinson Honda Inc, torrance, ca.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?