If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.


pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
Average Mileage:
27,732 miles
Total Complaints:
46 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (25 reports)
  2. new battery (9 reports)
  3. if honda does not solve such problem, give loyalty elsware (4 reports)
  4. alternator replacement (3 reports)
  5. door lock switch stuck in an "on" position causing a "draw" (1 reports)
  6. http://owners.honda.com/service-maintenance/recalls (1 reports)
2012 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #46

Sep 022015


  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles


Was parked on a busy downtown street, had just turned off the car, was gone 10 minutes at most and car was absolutely dead when I tried to start - no sign of life at all. One way, 2 lane street with cars parked on both sides, so getting a jump was logistically challenging, not to mention totally stress inducing. Hadn't done anything that should have drained battery. Was given a jump and things seemed to be OK.

Fast forward 2 months - I'm curious if it's even going to start today when I try at lunch, seemed like battery was really weak every time I tried to start it yesterday - it should be nice and charged since 2 days prior I had just driven 7 hours on the highway @ 65/70 mph. Was researching what replacement battery to get when I stumbled across this site. Am calling Honda today to see what they say.

- , Portland, USA

problem #45

Jul 252014

CR-V LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,637 miles

Hope it doesn't happen again but doubtful. They wouldn't listen when I said I needed a new battery. They suggested I had left something on. The lights are on Auto. Not my fault.

- , Avon, USA

problem #44

Oct 202015


  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

We are on our 2nd battery for our 2012 CRV. We are putting in our 3rd and taking back to Honda, not sure what their reply will be.

- , Poway, USA

problem #43

Sep 092015


  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles


Honda is clearly aware of the problem, yet refuses to fix it. The alternator does not supply adequate charge to the battery, and meter is reading 12.0-12.6. Have replaced battery twice in less than three years. Was rudely asked by Honda, "So, you want us to fix it for free? It's not under warranty, you are past 36k miles. So, it's $700." So, a car that I haven't even owned 3 years yet, and paid about $32,000 for, has a known problem, and I'm a moocher because I stupidly thought it would be covered. Honda should do the right thing and fix the defective alternators. It's truly unacceptable. Other than that, I have really enjoyed my CRV.

- , Scottsdale, USA

problem #42

Aug 032015

CR-V LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,300 miles

I bought the 2012 Honda used with 6000K on it. I thought it was strange that it had a brand new AAA battery in it for a fairly new car. One year later the battery would not hold a charge and I had several dead battery incidents that were becoming a huge nuisance. The worst was on a camping trip in the middle of the San Rafael swell in Utah with no cellphone service. I bought a new battery. The next year that battery started to not holding a charge. I returned it as defective. Now the new battery is showing signs of distress.

I have read the Service Bulletin about the computer not charging the battery fully and have made some calls to local Honda dealers. It appears I will have to come up with another $300+ to fix the problem. I shouldn’t have to put my car on a battery charger on the weekends. Now when I go anywhere where the car will be parked for more than two days I use a solar charger so the battery won’t die. I have no peace of mind with this car. It is my second CRV I have owned. Honda should fix this problem. I can’t believe the battery manufactures are not going after Honda for damages. I will be returning this battery soon.

- , South Jordan, UT, USA

problem #41

Sep 242015


  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,800 miles

For the third time in one month my battery has been dead. The first time Community Honda in Whittier California said it needed a software update and the battery was fine. A month later it happened again and they told me it was my fault because I've had the radio on for a few minutes. They said with newer cars you cannot listen to the radio in the accessory position without draining the battery. Wow first time in 40 years of driving that that has been an issue. They said they tested everything and the battery and electrical and draw rate were fine. Of course it took them three days to tell me this. Meanwhile I did not have my car from Saturday early morning to Monday afternoon. Today after several short trips between my office and my main place of employment, I came out and once again the car was dead and would not start. Nothing had been left on. AAA ran a test strip and said the battery is poor and provided me with the test strip.

Isn't there a three strike law in California?

- , Whittier, USA

problem #40

Sep 262015


  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles


We bought this Honda CRV based on Mileage and features. New. Wife drives it small distances EVERY DAY, and seldom at night.

So the vehicle has usage, daily usage, and low voltage since the lights are off. First time it happened was 2 years after we bought it. We were baffled, I gave it a jump with my car and moved on.

Today it happened again. Out of the blue. Thing is this car has a safety feature to turn off the lights in case you forget when you leave the vehicle. Never mind that, cause today it happened in mid-day. Some good Samaritan saw us in the middle of the Texas heat, and gave us a jump (Texas has nothing but kind and friendly people, thank goodness)

I can't risk my wife going to a play date with our 4 year old daughter and getting stranded.

- , Dallas, TX, USA

problem #39

Jul 212015

CR-V EX NAV Not Sure

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

Honda CR-V, 2012, so it is 3 years old. Bought new and maintained well. Suddenly the car won't start. Battery is 'dead'. Charged it up and it starts but no indication of anything left on and nothing unusual about the driving pattern. Trying to make an appointment with the dealer but armed with issues noted on web site including door locks draining the battery and service bulletin 12041 to update the controller.

- , Park Ridge, IL, USA

problem #38

Jul 052015


  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

My 2012 CRV's battery died 5 times. Every time the battery was replaced, and the time before last the software was also updated. It keeps dying. I also have an Acura TL and the battery died there too. I think this is a big systemic problem in Honda.

- , Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #37

Jul 142015


  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,421 miles

My Honda CRV 2012 had to have the alternator and battery replaced. What! After 6 attempts and frantic searching, locating an alternator for a 2012 Honda was nearly impossible. This happened while on vacation in Gatlinburg, Tennessee. Originally, I thought my battery was bad so I took my car to Advance Auto to run diagnostics and was diagnosed that the alternator and battery were shot! Advance Auto started looking for the part and with no luck, recommended to me that I could get an aftermarket part or a rebuild because the part hadn't been released by Honda to consumers. I managed to find one AAA certified mechanic that could order the part from a dealer and fix the problem.

The bottom line:

$700.00 later, it was finally fixed. I felt completely ripped off.

Has anyone had this issue?

- , Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #36

Jun 072015

CR-V EX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles


Honda CRV battery died twice, has little or no reserve capacity, so replaced the battery at three years. Into dealer twice first with no resolution. Had it reprogrammed but damage was done already...

- , Kaukauna, USA

problem #35

Oct 082014

CR-V EX 4-cyl 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,789 miles

Bought 2012 CR-V in July 2014 with only 8100 miles on it. Worked fine until October when out of the blue I went to start it in my garage. Had a dead battery. Had to have AAA come to the house to charge it up. Has worked OK since, however after seeing the April 2015 Consumer Report on used cars I now discover that it has a big black mark under "electrical" in its Rating Charts. Looking on this site, I see I'm in the same boat as a lot of other people and will contact Honda complain. Would suggest as many of you as possible do the same.

- , Myerstown, PA, USA

problem #34

Mar 172015


  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,086 miles

Got in the car and it wouldn't start. Soon after I bought this car in 2012 (brand new) I began having battery problems, the car would not start. Went to my dealer and described the problem. I was told I do not drive the car enough to keep the battery charged!! I have had two Hondas previous to this one and never, ever had this problem. Being widowed and retired, I rely on my car to start whenever I get in it. The reliability of my previous Hondas heavily swayed me to purchase this one. After this battery problem and my complaining to the dealer, they replaced the battery under warranty January 23, 2014. As you can see, I was very patient.

Today, March 17 2015, I get into my car and it would not start. Fortunately, I was in my driveway and was able to get it jumped by a neighbor and it started right up.

So the last battery was replaced January 2014 and one year - two months later the problem is starting up again!! I will be making another trip to the dealer to begin complaining once again!!

Honda!!! Please fix this problem!!!! I love my CRV!!!

Update from Mar 17, 2015: Honda did issue a recall for this problem!! Getting it fixed today!!!

Update from Apr 14, 2015: I had done a lot of research on the internet and did find the recall. Honda had actually sent me a Recall Notice for this problem. The recall was for a select number of Honda 2012's. There had to be an update to the software telling the battery not to draw so much power when the car is idle. I found this website, you might want to research further. http://owners.honda.com/service-maintenance/recalls

- , Wading River, NY, USA

problem #33

Oct 272014


  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,644 miles

I bought a 2012 Honda CR-V in April 2014. It only had 8,000 miles on it at the time and I was really happy to finally have a car from this century. Previously I drove a 1995 Toyota Corolla for 15 years and never had a problem. After driving the CR-V for just 7 months I went to move my car and the battery was dead. The dash flickered slightly but the car would not start. AAA jump started and I took it to the dealer. They replaced the battery and performed the update bulletin #12 041 that I had seen mentioned on this and other complaint blogs.

It was fine for another 4 months until just recently I got in it and it wouldn't start. AAA jump started the car again I charged the battery left it for a few days and again it wouldn't start. I had it towed to the dealer and they are telling me I must have left something on the battery is fine and they've run all the diagnostics and they don't see a problem. I live in NYC so I don't drive it more then twice a week. I called Honda USA to complain directly because it's about to go off warranty and I want to make sure this is all being recorded. I'm told I need to just get in the car and run it every day in order to keep the battery charged. From what I've read from other owners who do drive their CR-Vs every day they still have dead battery issues. I would urge anyone to call Honda directly, 800-999-1009 and log your complaints. Without enough people they won't issue a recall or replacement for the issue. If they can't solve this I'm going back to driving a Toyota.

- , Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #32

Feb 172015

CR-V EXL 3.2L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

Went out to start my CR-V and it would not turn over. It has been slightly sluggish on starting for months. Left my front driver door on while pumping gas once and apparently that drained the battery enough it would not start and I had to get a jump start at the pump! I had a Honda Accord Ex-L previously which never had this problem, and it was a 1998! I bought this newer vehicle for reliability, so much for that!

I really like this car but quickly turning against CR-V because of this problem that the dealer seems to not see when it is there. I had the computer update done in November 2014 but it didn't fix this problem. I am a widow with no other means of transportation, which is a real burden. Sure enough the dealer called after towing it in and battery checks good and it started right up. I told them there has to be an electrical problem of some sort, will see what the next step will be.

- , Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #31

Jul 142014

CR-V EX-L 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,430 miles

At aprox 24,000 miles, CRV did not start because of weak battery. Jump battery and car started. This happened four times. Took vehicle to Honda dealership, battery was tested and code GR8 guarantee battery was good. In the same week vehicle let me down 3 more times with same issue. Again another appointment with dealer, this time they flash the PCM with bulletin 12 041 and replaced the battery. Now at 30,000 miles, same headache, and more dealership appointments. My immediate solution was to buy a battery jump starter and keep it in the trunk. Every time I open the hood to jump start this car I wonder what kind of promotion or advertisement is spread.

- , Carolina, PR, USA

problem #30

Jan 082015


  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

When I had my oil changed last summer at LuB Express, they tôle me the battery poser was critical. This fall, when the cold started, I had à hard Time starting the truck. So, when when IBought my truck in the dealership to have my tire changed, I tôle them about the problem, what they said aT LuB Express and asked them to Check it out. So they did... And came back saying it was in perfect shape, only needed an up-date! This morning, it would not start, not even à cough. i needed à boost!

- , Deux-Montagnes, QC, canada

problem #29

Dec 292014


  • Manual transmission
  • 31,000 miles

In December 2014, my 2012 Honda CR-V would not start. The engine cranked, but it would not turn over and start. The dealership sent a tow truck to my house to jump the vehicle. They were unable to get the car started, and we had to tow the vehicle into the dealership.

My service rep said that he could not get the battery to fail during any of the tests and kept it overnight to test it again in the morning. The next day the battery was still passing the test. He wound up failing the battery because I had complained about the car door not opening a few times before this situation. It seemed possible the battery issue, and key remote not unlocking the door possibly connected.

They replaced the battery under warranty, and I did not have any problems until today when my car door would not unlock with the key remote or manually. Perhaps related to the 'Door Lock Defect' but there seems to be more than one issue here. It does seem the remote unlocking the door and manually unlocking the door should be independent of one another.

As a woman, not being able to get into my car consistently seems like a safety issue.

However, the dealership claims this is not a problem that has been reported. After reading the complaints makes me question if Honda is purposely avoiding recalls. In a few more years these problems will cost me a pretty penny to fix.

I will be taking the vehicle back in on Monday to see if they can duplicate this intermittent problem.

- , Cypress, TX, USA

problem #28

Oct 012014

CR-V EX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

Battery died leaving my wife and two kids stranded. The dealer blamed my wife saying she left the light on in the car which she denied. They charged the battery and sent us on our way. Battery died again two weeks later the dealer replaced it. Battery died two more times before they admitted that there is a recall on the battery charging system and they reprogrammed it. All is well now except the heat only works on the passenger side of the car. Yay.

- , Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #27

Dec 122014

CR-V LX 4 Cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,100 miles

I have owned Honda vehicles for the last 25 years. I have always found them very reliable. I am hoping that this has not changed...

In late October 2014 the battery died unexpectedly one morning before work. Since this car (CRV-LX 2012) is only two years old, I had it towed to the dealer (Clinton Honda, NJ). They said it was a bad battery cell and replaced the battery for free under the warranty.

On December 12, 2014 the battery died again! As I waited for the AAA tow truck, I looked up an article on CarComplaints.com that mentioned this software patch

HONDA SERVICE BULLETIN sb 12-041 (tell your dealer this number at the service desk) and it is titled The Battery is dead and needs multiple Jump-starts. CRV 2012

The dealership agreed that the problem applied to my VIN number, applied the software fix and replaced the battery again.

I am not confident that the problem is fixed. Has anyone else had this software patch applied and is still experiencing dead batteries? Will I have to get a lawyer and start suing Honda for a lemon? if the car can't reliably get me to work in the morning, it is truly worthless...

Thank you for your comments & shared experience! Mike P

Update from Sep 2, 2015: It has been nine months since the Honda dealer found the stuck door switch and I am happy to report that the battery has not died since then.

When your Honda battery dies, have the mechanic perform a "parasitic draw" test. The fuse for the stuck switch will become apparent. Don't jump start the car first because the stuck switch will reset itself and problem only occurs sporadically.

Hope this helps....

- , Whitehouse Station, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?