Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.5

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,542 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Honda CR-V wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #16

Mar 272016

CR-V

  • 13,458 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving clear weather, very good street condition, going 50 miles per hour pulled to almost a full stop for a light signal and then heard a loud popping noise. Moved forward and felt tire was flat. Pilled over and observed the side of the tire blew out. 2014, Honda CRV purchased brand new. Miles on the vehicles 13,485. No wear on all tires visible. Tire just blew up and appears like a defect since there was no tire damage. Tire pressure was at proper psi.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #15

Oct 212015

CR-V

  • 21,751 miles
I have a 2014 Honda CRV with 21,751 miles. I always have had service by Honda regularly and never had any problems. I was not due for service for another month when I had a flat tire due to a nail. I went to get the tire fixed when I was told by the tire dealer that all 4 tires were dry rotted. I was skeptical because the car was just 2 years old on Oct. 30, 2015. I took it to a friend who is a mechanic and asked him about "plugging" my tire just to see if he would say anything about the tires being dry rotted. He took the tire off and kept examing it, then started looking at the other tires then he said all four tires have dry rot. He suggested 4 new tires and he does not sell ttires. I called the Honda dealer but he did not get back to me until later that day. I called Continental and was directed to one of their dealers. I was told it was not a big deal and they would only pro rate the tires not replace them for free. I told Continental why would I want the same tires on my car again? that's like lettiing the dog bite you in the butt!. needless to say I ended up buying 4 new tires (different brand) at the cost of $520.86. VIN # 2hkrm3H36eh510942

- Deale, MD, USA

problem #14

Nov 092014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2014 Honda CRV. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle tire pressure and brake system issues. The consumer stated while driving on a snow pack road, he went around a broad curve, at a slow speed, when suddenly the vehicle slid across the road into an oncoming lane. The consumer stated he realized the vehicle slid too easily and the ABS activated prematurely, prior to the incident, the tire pressure light illuminated. The consumer believed the tires were unsafe. Updated 12/22/15.

- Eagle River, WI, USA

problem #13

Feb 022015

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2014 Honda CR-V AWD. Customer states the tire pressure warning system light has come on three different occasions.

- Mesquite, NV, USA

problem #12

Jul 082014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
I purchased my 2014 Honda CRV AWD brand new from the dealer and within one week of the sale I took the vehicle in for sevice due to severe vibrations througout the vehicle when driving at highway speeds of 55 mphbor higher. The vehicle has been back a total of three times thus far and the problem has not been I was told 1. a cupped rear tire, 2. front driver side tire was out of balance 3. tires was over inflated and right rear tire required replacement. In addition to the vibration, the tps light has come on repeatedly. However when checked with calibrated meter the tires were within appropriate inflation range.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #11

Apr 122014

CR-V

  • 2,699 miles
I started bringing my 2014 Honda CR-V to nardy Honda on April 12, 2014 because the low tire pressure light was on, on April 12th they told me it may need to have the software updated, however after Honda mechanics seeing the car they determined it was the latest software and needed no update. They set the tire pressure and reset the systems determining there were no leeks in any of the tires. On May 28th it came on again, they said 1500 see tech notes-topped off air pressure and calibrated TPMS all ok. On May 30th they said they uninstalled the software, re calibrated the tires and set them back to factory settings. June 14, 2014 and the light came back on again. When the tires were checked today they all had the exact amount of air. There was no flats or loss of air. Now this vehicle has been back for the exact same issue on all the following dates: April 12, 2014, May 28, 2014, June 16, 2014, October 24, 2014 called Honda corporate to report problem and see if I could get some help, December 5, 2014 they claim to have fixed the problem for good and today January 5, 2015 light came back on. I called corporate and they told me there is nothing they an do other than refer me to the dealership to have them look at the car. I am once again going back to nardy Honda on January 6, 2014 for them to look at the car. This is disgusting how I am being treated. They cant fix my car and wont do anything about it. My rep from Honda corporate [xxx] is 1-800-999-1009 ext[xxx], case # [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Selden, NY, USA

problem #10

Oct 232014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 105 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The low tire pressure light came on. I had a mechanic make sure all tires were 32 psi and reset the light. It came back on 30 minutes later. Pulled in the nearest Honda dealership and service dept. Told me this is a known issue with 2014's they don't know how to fix. Got home and googled it-forums say it is a glitch in the anti-lock brake software. Now can I trust my anti-lock brakes?? my car is one day old!!!! very frustrating.

- Kings Mountain, NC, USA

problem #9

Oct 232013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The tps indicator light has been on almost since I have owned the car. Dealer says tire pressure is ok, but after leaving the dealer, the light will come on again. It is very annoying does not offer a sense of security and safety. We have owned 3 Honda including a 2009 CRV and never experienced this tsp indicator light issue except when the tire pressure was low.

- Hoschton, GA, USA

problem #8

Sep 302014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 550 miles
The tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) light has come on three times when the tires are properly inflated. Honda has not provided a fix for this known safety issue with this vehicle.

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #7

Feb 102014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 446 miles
I have had constant issues with the tire pressure monitoring (TPMS) system on my new CRV. The light illuminates randomly when my tire pressure is fine. It sometimes does not illuminate when my tire pressure is not fine. It has been in for repairs 6 or 7 times and there is no fix identified yet. I am left not knowing whether my tires are properly inflated or not. Honda is aware of the safety issue but not able to correct (or willing to refund).

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #6

May 142014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 1,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

To add to the tire pressure monitor list. 2014 CRV purchased in April, 2014. TPMS monitor has come on several times. Usually occurs at highway speeds. We have been assured that the problem has been fixed this time (@5800 miles). This will be TPMS complaint 35 of a total of 65 complaints. I guess it doesn't happen to everyone, but it does seem to happen much too often. Suspect nys lemon law is my next option.

- Gardiner, NY, USA

problem #5

Aug 192014

CR-V

  • 14,675 miles
Leaving for 4 hour vacation drive; as we were about 60 miles from home the TPMS (tire pressure monitoring system) low-tire light illuminated. We proceeded to pull off at a safe spot, examine the tires, check the tire pressure and found nothing wrong. The vacation ended there as we turned around and came home because we can no longer trust this vehicle. The TPMS light has been coming on since day one! originally I suspected the pre-delivery tire check and calibration was missed so I performed it myself. The light came on again and I took it to Honda who found no problems and acknowledged the condition stating we are working on a re-programming of the computer 12/2013. The light continued to illuminate until I couldn't take it any more and called Honda usa again who magically said we have a fix. Back to dealer who installed a vsa modulator control unit software update for different driving conditions 6/2014. Light illuminated again 8/19/2014 as stated above. Called Honda usa, took to dealer today for vsa repair kit fit usa 13-040. This seems fishy as it is a repair kit for a Honda fit not specifically for a CRV. Time will tell but we can not trust this vehicle as I am handicapped!

- Somers, NY, USA

problem #4

May 272014

CR-V

  • 386 miles
Since May 27th the tire pressure light comes on every 4-5 days a week. The first time it occurred I utilized the manual to calibrate the system, but then it came on again. I took it to the nearest Honda dealership and they checked all of the tires, calibrated the system, and stated that everything seemed okay. Another 5 days later the light came on again and I took it back to the dealer, the ran a check through the entire computer tire system and test drove it, so they say, but while heading home the light came back on for the fourth time. I am so sick of this. Its very annoying. This malfunction can be safety concern in the long run. After a while, how does the owner determine whether the system is accurately or falsely reporting a problem with the vehicles tires. My CRV currently has 1800 miles on it. I will take it to the dealer again for the 3rd time and ask that the sensor be replaced.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #3

Jan 202014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 700 miles
2014 CRV AWD ex with 700 miles vibration in steering wheel and thrumming noise between 50 and 70 mph. Dealership put over 100 miles on vehicle for testing. Drive shaft replaced and still vibrates. Dealership removed drive shaft and no vibration. Was told only 2 crvs in the state have vibration problems. TPMS lights came on 5 times with no explanation from dealership. Sensors checked. Fan motor made low, loud growling noise when turned on in 15 degree temperature. Was told that is normal. Ran through car wash with sun shade open and glass panel closed. Water dripped in. Told it was normal.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #2

Nov 042013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
We bought Honda CR-V 2014 on Oct 31st 2013. Within (first) week low tire pressure light comes on. I thought dealership didn't perform pre delivery inspection. So I went there and they says low tire pressure light triggers due to cold weather. They reset it. After few days/miles again low tire pressure light comes on (second time) and they said this time we are performing different reset procedure. I asked for $0 invoice as there attempt to fix the issue. They said we can't give you invoice if we are not charging you. Now I was like it should not come on again as they performed different reset procedure, but it comes on again (third time) after 500 or 600 miles. This time they contact american Honda and perform another reset procedure and keep car with them for a day to inspect. They also issued $0 invoice. Now I thought it should be fine, but again I was wrong. It comes on (forth time). Now they are saying it's "software issue" and american Honda is working on it. (Dec end or Jan first week) they also said Honda is requesting time frame and it should be done by the end of Jan 2014. Today is Feb 19 2014 and issue is not resolved yet. I tried follow up my dealer and Honda many times and they are keep saying same thing, we are working on it. Since the day I bought car low tire pressure light comes on more than 10 times now and all time I did tire pressure check with same dealer and it was okay all the time. Now I am tired of following up with my dealer, Honda and keep watching light (!) on. Never feel like driving new car. It's a safety issue. When I asked my dealer, who will be responsible if tire blow out while driving? they said its owner's responsibility to keep checking tire pressure. Dear Honda we didn't bought car to keep in garage. I have most of the mileage proof in pictures at the time light comes on and went to dealer for reset.

- Phillipsburg, NJ, USA

problem #1

Nov 142013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 300 miles
The tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) warning light came on while driving on freeway. Took car to dealer who checked tires and did not find a problem. Dealer reset/recalibrated TPMS by pressing button. Drove car for another 300 miles and TPMS warning light came on again. Personally checked pressure in all tires with a manual tire pressure gauge. All four tire pressures were within spec at 33 psi. I reset/recalibrated the TPMS by pressing button. Read on the internet that other 2014 Honda CR-V owners are having the same problem. Honda does not have a fix for this problem. The TPMS warning can not be relied on because it gives false indications. I understand that the TPMS on the 2014 Honda CR-V is an indirect system. There are no actual pressure sensors. It uses the wheel speed/rotation sensors to determine when there is a tire pressure problem. The computer indicates a problem based on different speeds/rotation of the wheels. I don't know if the sensors are the problem or if it is the computer software.

- Houston, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?