Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The entire 2nd generation Odyssey (1999-2004) is just one giant transmission problem waiting to happen.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,132 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Odyssey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments

problem #18

Feb 282011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 174,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Honda Odyssey took to dealership for recall on sbs system only to be told by dealer ship all of my engine mounts are broken and need to be replaced. I have had a problem with going into gear. After reading several a forums on Honda I see this is a national problem. Honda should be made to have a recall on motor mounts. It's truly amazing that the van would go into the shop for a unrelated recall and they knew to check mounts. Do they already know engine mounts are a huge problem with Honda?

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #17

Mar 152008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Vehicle creates vibration as if traveling over washboard surface on otherwise smooth roadway when accelerating at low gradual speeds. Vibration disappears after accelerating through harmonics or decelerating. Engine mounts (3) worn out prematurely. Suspect poor design. Excessive engine movement caused the front passenger engine mount mounting bolt (2 X M10 X 40mm) to shear & second bolt was stretched and yielded such that the washer face of the bolt was raised 1/4" from the mounting surface rendering the top mount useless. The rear mount seems to be the major culprit. It is hardest to see visually & appears the 1st to fail causing excessive strain & failure on 2 remaining mounts. Potential safety concern. Reference complaint no. 10425453.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #16

Feb 102012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 136,404 miles
Motor mounts are a defective design and replacing them is only a temporary fix. This 3.5 engine is too powerful for the mounts designed so they break causing a possible safety situation if there is a transmission failure. All Odyssey have this motor mount design.

- Saint Clairsville, OH, USA

problem #15

Feb 252012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 154,138 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the second time in 2 yrs that my front engine mounts are bad. The side engine mounts are also bad. I was reading the forums and lot of similar complaints. I think this issue is safety issues.

- Monroe, NJ, USA

problem #14

Apr 012011

Odyssey

  • 80,605 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for routine maintenance. The technician detected that the front and rear engine mounts were defective. In addition, the control arm bushings needed to be replaced. The contact planned to have the vehicle repaired. The failure mileage was 80,605.

- Paramus , NJ, USA

problem #13

Sep 122010

Odyssey

  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact was traveling 65 mph when the vehicle began to vibrate violently followed by an abnormal grinding noise from the front of the vehicle. Within seconds, there was an abnormal thump and the vehicle independently accelerated. The dealer inspected the vehicle and found that the third crank shaft would need replacing. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was 123,000.

- Ellicot City , MD, USA

problem #12

Jun 162009

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that there was a strong sweet smell coming from the engine. The dealer found trash in the blower motor and stated that the engine head was cracked. While removing the head of the engine, the thread came out with the bolt since nothing was holding the engine in place and that also caused the head gasket to blow. The contact is concerned about the safety risk since the engine can come apart while driving. The current mileage was 69,700 and the failure mileage was 68,000. Updated 12/09/09 updated 12/10/09. The consumer stated the egr valve began malfunctioning just after the vehicle was serviced at the dealership. Updated 09/13/10

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #11

Oct 182009

Odyssey

  • 78,000 miles
A 2002 Honda Odyssey shut off while driving, without any previous warning whatsoever. After stopping completely the vehicle is placed in the parking gear and it will start up again completely normal.

- Gurabo, PR, USA

problem #10

Nov 052008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,095 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the timing belt tensioner was recalled and replaced under warranty at 18,334 miles in January of 2005. While driving 25 mph, the tensioner failed and the vehicle stopped. A state trooper was notified and the vehicle was towed to the shop. The contact paid for the tensioner to be replaced the second time because it was not covered by the warranty. He feels that this is a safety issue because a serious crash could have occurred due to the tensioner failing. The current and failure mileages were 80,095. Updated 11/25/08 updated 11/26/08.

- Franklin, MA, USA

problem #9

Sep 102008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The independent dealer stated that the vehicle was in very good condition at the time of purchase. The contact stated that the vehicle began pulling to the left. The tires were replaced and an alignment was performed. She also observed a massive oil leak coming from the vehicle. The dealer stated that nothing could be done because she was outside of the 30-day used car warranty. An independent mechanic discovered that the vehicle was involved in a previous crash, in which the crankshaft was sealed as well as the origin of the massive oil leak. The mechanic found that the sealant previously used on the crankshaft and the tires were beginning to loosen. The VIN was unknown. The failure and current mileages were less than 105,000. Updated 12/15/08 the vehicle needed a new crank seal, water pump and timing belt. Updated 12/16/08.

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #8

Nov 212007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. While making a left turn at approximately 10 mph, the engine revved very highly and the vehicle rapidly accelerated. The vehicle glided across a grass strip. The dealer and manufacturer have not been notified. The current and failure mileages were 47,000. Updated 03-05-08

- Sewell, NJ, USA

problem #7

May 262007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,600 miles
My vehicle began to rev like it was in neutral when I was driving at low speed or when I proceeded from a stopped position. I took my vehicle to South shore Honda. On sat 5/26/07 was told that it was the egr valve and that it was still covered under a special warranty. I was told that I had other issues. 1. front engine mount $362.75, 2.side engine mount $219.65 3. dealer recommended fuel injector and valve cleaning $193.90 total $843.26 with tax. Three days later same problem with the engine rev like it was in neutral. Took vehicle back to Honda on 6/2/07. This time I was told that it was the transmission and that it would cost $4900 to fix. Vehicle has 42,839 miles. Spoke to service manager about all the events and said he would call Honda hq and get back to me. I will give an update as soon as I hear from the service manger.

- N . Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #6

Feb 012007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
- contact stated that while driving either in the city or on the highway the 2002 Honda Odyssey hesitates to accelerate. The contact stated that the check engine light would turn on when the vehicle started to stall. The vehicle stalled 4 times. The contact stated that the vehicle struggled to get into next gear. Currently, the vehicle was at the dealer.

- Indianopolis, IN, USA

problem #5

Nov 102005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,140 miles
My 2002 Honda Odyssey's engine has shut off while I am driving 2X in the last 3 weeks. The first time was during a right hand turn at a light. The second time was as I was about to turn at a light. There was no warning to the engine failure. The engine just shut off and all of the dashboard lights came on. I am afraid that this could happen in traffic or on the freeway with terrible consequences. I immediately took the car to the dealer after the 2nd incident and they couldn't replicate it. I don't know how they thought that it would just happen on cue now after occurring for me 3 weeks apart. They returned the car to me with no help. Also 3 weeks ago, I smelled a burning rubber smell in the cabin. They said this was something rattling in the ac and replaced the cabin filter. I personally feel that this problem may have led to the stalling issue-a short or something. I have read several other people complaining of the same engine failure issue on and edmunds.com website.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #4

Feb 112004

(reported on)

Odyssey

  • 2,300 miles
Consumer claimed there was a strong gas odor in the vehicle. Took vehicle to dealer, and engine gasket was replaced. Six months later, the odor returned.

- Carson, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 152003

Odyssey

  • 4,000 miles
When stopped at a traffic light the engine would race. As a result the driver had to put the vehicle in neutral to relieve the idle pressure. The consumer made contact with the dealer on three separate occasions but the problem still occurs.

- Andover, MA, USA

problem #2

Sep 282003

Odyssey

  • miles
1. started engine, back the car out of parking spot, drove at approximately 5 mph for less than 1 min., all the indicator lights were on and the van stalled all of sudden. I tried to pull off from the road, but the most dangerous thing was the steering wheel is locked, I cannot turn right or left, I almost hit an another car. I stepped on the brake immediately and stopped the van. I shifted the gear to "P" mode, and shut down the engine. I restarted the engine 3 times. The same thing happened. All the indicator lights were on and did not turn off by itself. It did not return to normal until I restarted it for one more time. I drove at slow speed for couples of second and stopped at traffic light. I felt the engine revolute high and down continuously again for approximate 1 min. Same thing happened again for 3 times in the past 3 weeks. 2. I realize the engine sometimes revolute high and down continuously for approximate 1 min. When I stop at traffic light or stop sign by the time my car drove about 5,000 miles. I need to step the accelerate pedal more harder than usual in order to move the car. This occurs much more frequent recently. (my car driven a total of approximate 10,500 miles now). I took it to the dealer, but they could not find anything wrong because they could not duplicate the problem.

- Douglaston, NY, USA

problem #1

Jan 292003

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,089 miles
Transmission failure and engine oil leaks due to what the dealer calls a porous engine block cast.

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?