Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The entire 2nd generation Odyssey (1999-2004) is just one giant transmission problem waiting to happen.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 17 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #146

Mar 032007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles


For the past few months, when accelerating my 2002 Honda Odyssey from start, e.g., entering a highway on an incline, occasionally the gear fails to engage, I.e., pressing the accelerator increases the RPM to 5K without moving the vehicle. There have been occasions where I've had to pull over to the side. The symptoms were similar to the information on the transmission recall notice I received from Honda a couple of years back. I took my vehicle to Honda of westport, where the service manager (george) told me point blank that the recall campaign was over. After some persuading, they agreed to look at the problem, and said they couldn't replicate it. Last week, the check engine light came on. On calling the westport Honda service dealer, the service manager (george) told me the same thing (I.e., the recall campaign is over). Frustrated, I took my car to the local mechanic who checked that diagnostics came back with code P703 (incorrect gear ratio), indicating that it was a transmission problem. I called back george at Honda of westport with my findings and he repeated the same "recall campaign is over" and I would have to bear all expenses to repair this vehicle. Given that the problem started back in March, just past the vehicle's warranty, I believe it is unfair of Honda to rebuff me and refuse to entertain the automatic transmission issue which is already well documented.

- Southport, CT, USA

problem #145

Jun 222007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,242 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that he is experiencing failure with the powertrain automatic transmission. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle lost power and smoke began to rise from the front of the vehicle. He then noticed fluid leaking from the undercarriage. The vehicle was towed to a local dealer, where they stated that the injector kit was bent and burned and he may need a new transmission. After the vehicle was repaired at 62,123 miles, the transmission light illuminated on the dashboard. Honda of America stated that they would provide him with a new transmission. However, he would be responsible for the cost, even though they are aware that this is a manufacturer defect. The dealer also stated that he would have 2.5 hours to take the offer or the deal is off, especially if he were to take the matter to court. The contact has a report from the dealer where the vehicle was diagnosed. Recall number 04V176000 (power train:automatic transmission) was referenced. The current mileage is 79,214 and failure mileage was 78,242.

- Fallbrook, CA, USA

problem #144

Jul 092007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles
Vehicle transmission overheated and locked into 2nd gear while on highway going 75 miles an hour. Technician that looked at the transmission said that the fluid was burned due to getting too hot, which caused it to go into fail mode. There was previously a recall on the transmission (04V176000) which has these same symptoms. When the recall came out we had the transmission recall worked performed by the dealer. It appears that there is still a problem with this transmission. We've had the transmission replaced and the dealer refused to take any responsibility. They state that transmission fluid burnt up due to use not servicing it every 30,000 miles. The owners manual says to only check the fluid every 30,000 and to service it at 75,000 miles. We've had the fluid check at every other oil change. So the last time the transmission fluid was checked was 10,000 miles before this incident.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #143

May 182007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. While driving 30 mph, the transmission failed to shift gears. The dealer stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was serviced for NHTSA recall # 04V176000 (power train:automatic transmission) at 20,000 miles. An oil injector was placed in the vehicle. The current mileage is 68,000 and failure mileage was 65,000.

- St Louis , MO, USA

problem #142

Aug 012006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. When depressing the accelerator pedal, the contact heard a whistling sound coming from the front of the vehicle. The dealer stated that a new transmission was needed. The vehicle is currently at the dealer. In 2004, the vehicle was serviced under recall # 04V176000 (power train:automatic transmission). The oil jet kit was replaced. The current mileage is 124,000 and failure mileage was 73,000.

- Hillside, NJ, USA

problem #141

Jun 082007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,878 miles
This is an update to ODI# 10192316. I called Honda hq and filed a complaint about my transmission problem on 6/4/07. Honda hq called the service manager at South shore Honda and as I was told wanted to know about my service records concerning my 2002 Odyssey. After that discussion and with the low mileage on my vehicle, Honda decided to install a new transmission on my Odyssey at no cost to me. I was told by barry at Honda hq the the new transmission is a rebuilt one that has been reenginered.I dropped my vehicle off at South shore Honda on 6/6/07 and it was ready on 6/8/07. I cannot stress enough how painless and how smooth this whole process has been. Sam the service manager and joe the service South shore Honda were fantastic. I just hope that this transmission lasts longer than the last one. Other than that Honda did a great job in handling this situation and has made one of its customers very happy.

- N. Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #140

May 052006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. While accelerating and/or shifting gears the vehicle would shift hard causing the vehicle to jolt. The travel speed was not a factor. The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage was 38,000. The local mechanic diagnosed the failure as a transmission failure. The contact found recall 04V176000. However, the manufacturer stated his VIN was not part of the recall.

- University Heights, OH, USA

problem #139

May 262007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,600 miles
My vehicle began to rev like it was in neutral when I was driving at low speed or when I proceeded from a stopped position. I took my vehicle to South shore Honda. On sat 5/26/07 was told that it was the egr valve and that it was still covered under a special warranty. I was told that I had other issues. 1. front engine mount $362.75, 2.side engine mount $219.65 3. dealer recommended fuel injector and valve cleaning $193.90 total $843.26 with tax. Three days later same problem with the engine rev like it was in neutral. Took vehicle back to Honda on 6/2/07. This time I was told that it was the transmission and that it would cost $4900 to fix. Vehicle has 42,839 miles. Spoke to service manager about all the events and said he would call Honda hq and get back to me. I will give an update as soon as I hear from the service manger.

- N . Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #138

May 192007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey esl. While driving 70 mph, the contact heard an explosive noise coming from the vehicle. He turned off and restarted the vehicle. He attempted to shift into drive, but the vehicle failed to move. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but has not been inspected. At 50,000 miles, the vehicle was serviced for NHTSA recall # 04V176000 (power train:automatic transmission). The powertrain was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 68,000.

- Stevenson Ranch , CA, USA

problem #137

May 142007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The transmission fluid changed at 85,000 miles. At 87,000 the vehicle was taken for regualr maintenance, and the contact was advised that the transmission fluid should be changed again. There had been no failure to date, but the contact was concerned about the need to change the fluid after only 2,000 miles. The engine size is not available. The current mileage is 87000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #136

Aug 312006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact called regarding recall # 04V176000. The vehicle was sent to dealer for repair on August 31, 2006. However, in February 2007, the contact discovered the recall repair was never performed. The service engine light began to illuminate sporadically. The dealer claimed only to have checked the oil dip stick and installed the oil jet kit. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer on March 8, 2007 due to every light on the dashboard becoming illuminated. The contact discovered that a new transmission was needed. The failure mileage was 61,000. The dealer stated they would have to do diagnostic test on vehicle at consumers expense. The diagnostic test was performed. Dealer stated consumer needed new transmission perform at consumers expense. No repair has been made on vehicle, consumer is not paying for new transmission and a recall was made for the same problem. The window vent motor was not working properly. The window motor was replaced. The light behind the odometer was working. Update 4/23/07

- St. Angelo, TX, USA

problem #135

Jan 272007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
- the contact stated that while driving his 2002 Honda Odyssey (67000 failure mileage) at 45 mph, the vehicle's rpms shot up and then back down to normal operating range, and the transmission slips or seizes jerking the vehicle forward. The transmission has slipped and or seized six times. The vehicle had twice been taken to a dealer, who discovered that the vehicle needed a new transmission. There is a recall (04V176000) on this vehicle, the recall has been performed on the vehicle (3/16/2007), but the problem persists. The current mileage was 73,000 miles.

- Zephyrhills, FL, USA

problem #134

Mar 192007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact owns a 2002 Honda odessy. The contact received recall 04V176000 in 2004 for the automatic transmission. The dealer examined the transmission and stated that the transmission only required an oil jet kit. The contact has had problems shifting the vehicle from 2nd to 3rd. Once this started happening more frequently the contact took the vehicle to a Honda dealer and was told that the transmission has failed and needs to be replaced and that they would pay for half. The current mileage was 70,000 miles.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #133

Mar 102007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,500 miles
My 2002 odessey, when putting it into drive, trans seems to like it takes two steps before it finally gets into the gear, meanig it bumps.

- Colonia, NJ, USA

problem #132

Mar 092007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey with a current odometer reading of 92000 miles. The contact stated that the vehicle was experiencing shifting problems in third gear. When the vehicle was in cruising speeds and reduced speed the vehicle would jump from 5th gear to second gear, which caused the rpms to be too high. The contact stated that when accelerating from a stop the vehicle would shift very sluggishly when shifting from second to third gear. The RPM's would increase so the driver would have to release the accelerator for the gears to shift. This problem occurred often, and took the vehicle to the dealer, and were told that they needed the transmission replaced.

- Joppa, MD, USA

problem #131

Feb 262007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
Transmission failed.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #130

Mar 122007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,309 miles
Slipping from 2nd to 3rd around 40 - 55 mph and engine would rev, also whiplashing strength slamming gears about 3 times a day. Taken to carmax for extended warranty service and wasn't honored due to not being able to duplicate the problem and could not find related recalls for this problem. They said the vehicle was working properly. Maintenance record shows transmission fluid has been changed before purchasing. Also taken to aamco for second opinion and they found burnt fluid suggesting a problem currently still troubleshooting do to extended warranty wanting hard evidence. There are no transmission codes showing up on the computer or warning light illuminated. Fluids have been changed by aamco and slamming got worse. I have printed out over 55 pages in complaints and hoping this would be evidence enough to have my transmission rebuilt before my extended warranty is up 13,000 miles from now.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #129

Feb 162007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
The first transmission failure was at 40242 miles. The vehicle suddenly stopped working, and we were forced to pull over on the side of the highway. The vehicle was covered under extended warranty, but it took several weeks of negotiations between Honda and the warranty company to do an 80-20 split. The second transmission failure was similar, with failure while driving at 82,000 miles. Honda will agree to pay parts only, but will not buy them locally, and wants to ship them overseas at our expense. We live in germany with the air force, shipping will be over $1000 and labor will be over $1000 at the local Honda dealer. The recall work was done on the 2nd transmission in May 04. Shame on Honda for allowing this problem to continue.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #128

May 032006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,500 miles
Transmission failure on a Honda Odyssey 2002.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #127

Feb 122007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,312 miles
2002 Honda Odyssey purchased used in 2004. From day one noticed random transmission slip. Dealer purchased from and Honda dealer both checked vehicle. Could not get slippage to occur while car was at shop. While starting off from an intersection vehicle would not shift out of 1st gear, rpms raised and lost power, near mis-side impact. Took it to Honda dealer and was told the transmission was trashed.

- Flowery Branch, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?