Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,208 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda Odyssey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Jan 012011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 20 miles


Since taking delivery of my 2011 Honda Odyssey it has had a faulty battery sensor, this is a known issue that is not being addressed. The sensor falsely reports that the battery is low and disables some of the onboard equipment including interior lights and pathway lights leaving car in the dark.

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #27

May 132011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
I had brought my 2011 Honda Odyssey in for service on 05/13/11 at 10:08 am because of a "low battery warning light" that comes on whenever any door is open. I had purchased this vehicle on 03/14/2011 from stockton Honda. The VIN is [xxx]. my van is less than 3 months old with less than 3,000 miles. The "low battery warning light? should not come on because this is a brand new vehicle. When the ?low battery warning light? comes on, all the interior lights turn off automatically. This is a very dangerous situation, especially when I come home in the evening and my children cannot see where they are walking to get out of the van. Every night when I come home with my children, I have to go inside my home first to get a flash light in order to provide lighting for my children to see where they are walking to help guide them out of the van safely. I had called american Honda to file a complaint regarding this issue and so far, I had been given the run around. Honda is refusing to acknowledge that this is a safety issue and refused to fix the issues. I had research on several online Honda forums and found that I am not the only 2011 Honda Odyssey owner that is having this problem. American Honda had finally acknowledge that the battery sensor is too sensitive and I was told by [xxx] that she is trying to send out an update battery sensor to serramonte Honda to repair my van by 05/31/2011. As of 06/03/2011, [xxx] had failed to send out any part and just keep putting me off and giving me the run around. Why is it so hard for Honda to admit that they had made a mistake and just take responsibility and accountability for their products" California lemon law states that if the manufacturer had failed to repair the issues after reasonable amount of attempts, then the manufacturer is require to refunding the purchase price or replacing the vehicle. Thank you for your time and attention to help rectify this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Bruno, CA, USA

problem #26

Jun 032011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
The battery management system sets off an alarm (battery charge low) almost every time I drive the vehicle. This has been an ongoing issue since the vehicle was purchased new in Nov 2010. This is a safety issue because the system is not designed to charge the battery properly and may cause me to be stranded with a dead battery with normal driving and usage. Honda indicates the car needs to be 'driven longer' in order to avoid the error. I continue to see the error even after driving for 40+ minutes, which should be sufficient time to charge the battery. Additionally, when this error occurs it shuts off all the interior lights in the van, which is another safety issue as I have no interior lights when I am trying to load my children in their car seats at night.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #25

May 312011


  • 4,100 miles


A warning message stating "battery charge low" repeatedly comes on in the information display. I have taken it to the dealer several times but there has been no solution offered by the dealer or manufacturer. There is also an unusual noise coming from the steering and suspension whenever making a 90 degree right turn.

- Palisades Park, NJ, USA

problem #24

May 272011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 4,100 miles
Low battery indicator - turn off all electrical equipment, no interior lights. Dealer said to drive more yet I returned last evening from a 425 mile drive.

- Kewanee, IL, USA

problem #23

Jan 132011


  • 400 miles
Low battery warning light comes on every time we get into or out of the vehicle. I have taken it to the dealer 2 times to have them fix it and they tell me to drive it more. I have charged the battery at least 5 times myself and the warning will always return. The interior lights shut off with the warning making it very hard and unsafe to load small children into the vehicle. Honda will not acknowledge that there is a problem, but there is either a low battery condition or a false warning.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #22

Jan 262011


  • miles


- Denton, TX, USA

problem #21

May 042011


  • 2,100 miles
Low battery light keeps coming on. Interior lights are not operational when this happens.

- Cutchogue, NY, USA

problem #20

May 092011


  • 2,300 miles
My wife drives the kids to and from school a couple of times a day. Everytime she gets home the "batt low see manual" message comes up. I have taken it to the dealer 3 times and they say there is nothing they can do about it. They say it is normal. I think the biggest issue you have here is false alarms. How do I know when/if my battery is ever low if this message comes on all the time? this is not a good thing to have happen.

- Magna, UT, USA

problem #19

Dec 122010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that upon starting the vehicle a chime sounded and a low battery indicator began illuminating on the instrument panel. The battery was recharged. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on five occasions where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The failure mileage was 1,000. Updated 06/13/11 updated 09/16/11

- Cahokia, IL, USA

problem #18

Nov 012010


  • 200 miles


A "batt low see manual" light and warning beep occurs on my Honda Odyssey 2011 since purchase. My Honda dealer has charged the battery and checked the software without solving the problem. I have also reported to Honda headquarters. Honda has not fixed this problem. The odyclub and edmunds townhall forums are full of others reporting this problem. Honda's recommendation is simply to drive the van more rather than find a resolution for this issue.

- Loma Linda, MO, USA

problem #17

Feb 102011


  • 650 miles
"battery low" warning comes on repeatedly. Battery voltage checked and was normal. Board lights will not come on while the "battery low" message is on - causing a hazard (having to move around package and personnel in totally dark vehicle interior).

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #16

Mar 072011


  • 543 miles
I bought a 2011 Honda Odyssey ex in February. After 500 miles one day after completely normal routine driving, the low battery light and warning bell came on. Called dealer and was advised this is a common problem. Warning went off after 30 mins of driving, but then came back on the next day. Went to dealer who tested battery. Battery was over 600 cca, when only requires 550, so clearly a false alarm. The Honda service bulletin advise customers to not use too many electronics; all we had on the days this happened was the engine and the radio. This is an issue needing resolution as soon as possible.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #15

Feb 282011


  • 700 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that whenever the key was in the ignition the electrical warning light immediately illuminated informing the contact to shut off all electrical components in the vehicle. The contact was forced to turn off all of the lights in the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test which indicated that there were no failures. The dealer stated that the contact needed to drive the vehicle more often. Although the contact drove the vehicle more frequently the electrical warning light continued to come on. The contact also stated that the vehicle could shut off while driving and cause a crash to occur. The failure mileage was 700.

- Nyack, NY, USA

problem #14

Mar 102011


  • 150 miles
2011 Honda Odyssey ex, bought in later Feb, just after driving 100 miles, the battery low light keeps on. We drove 2 hours of highway to charge it, and then drove locally, just after 2 days, the light came on again. So annoying, haven't heard any other car has such problem.

- Parsippany, NJ, USA

problem #13

Apr 142011


  • 675 miles
I own a 2011 Honda Odyssey which has less than 700 miles on it. I have now had the battery low message three times when no doors were left open or electrical usage off battery. I have called the issue into my dealership and they're aware of the situation but Honda has no answers for a fix. This is an unacceptable response fro Honda if nothing is wrong with the battery. Honda needs to address this or they will lose my business.

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #12

Jan 082011


  • 1,500 miles
The dashboard constantly shows "battery charge low. See owner's manual." Appears constantly. When I take minivan to dealership for the third time for this problem, I am told to drive car more to charge battery. This was after the car sat after driving it for a 120 miles and then sat for 1 day. A car's battery should hold a charge for at least a couple of weeks before having this type of problem. I am concerned that the car will not be able to start and leave me stranded.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #11

Nov 292010


  • 300 miles
Battery charge low see drivers manual consistently appears on the dashboard screen. Nothing has ever been left on in the car. Brand new 2011 Honda Odyssey touring. Only 5 months old. Happens at least every other day.

- Halifax, VA, USA

problem #10

Oct 012010


  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the battery indication lamp illuminated as the windows and sun roof opened independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle and that they should used the components more often. The manufacturer was also contacted who offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 2,000. The VIN was not available.

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

problem #9

Dec 012010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Odyssey. The contact noticed that the low battery indicator warning light illuminated intermittently. The dealer inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that a cable cord had not been properly connected and was causing the light to illuminate. The dealer connected the cable cord properly however, the low battery light continued to illuminate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the same failure and the contact was informed that she would possibly have to replace the cable cord. The contact did not inform the manufacturer of the failure nor was the vehicle repaired. The current mileage was 3,000 and the failure mileage was 800. Updated 04/27/11 the consumer was informed there was no fix for the problem at this time. Updated 05/13/11

- Elgin, SC, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?