Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,329 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Pilot seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Pilot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Pilot Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Jan 312015

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #55

Feb 022015

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Pilot. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part need for repair was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Flagstaff , AZ, USA

problem #54

Jan 262015

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Pilot. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V349000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hingham, MA, USA

problem #53

Mar 022015

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Pilot. The contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags) in March of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #52

Apr 162015

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #51

Jan 012014

Pilot 5-cyl

  • miles
A recall notice came in January 2015. I called my local dealer for a repair. He took my information and said the parts should arrive April 1st 2015. I called today (4/16/15) and now the service department said Honda pushed back the date to June 1st 2015 for. It is well over 60 days from the time of notice. How much longer should I have to wait for Honda to take responsibility for their problem?

- Wakarusa, IN, USA

problem #50

Feb 032015

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 132,502 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Made contact with clawson Honda of fresno, ca for the recall of airbags. Appointment to drop the vehicle off on 2/3/15 and work was to be done within two days. On 2/6/15, the rental car was starting to eat at our budget and the airbags were never received or installed. Car was retrieved with no work done. A second recall notice was received the week of 4/6/15 in the mail. Made contact by E-mail with clawson Honda. I was told they would check into it and get back with me. Is this safety recall not important, that it has taken over three months and no parts have been received yet?

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #49

Apr 152015

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Wayzata, MN, USA

problem #48

Apr 142015

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Pilot. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repair were not available. The dealer stated that they only had one part to do the repair. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Raceland, KY, USA

problem #47

Dec 232014

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 71,249 miles
Air bag recall notice. Took to Honda dealer "mel rapton Honda sacramento ca. 95821-5104", in January 2015 for replacement. Was told necessary parts were on backorder and they would contact me when available. Never contacted. Received second notice of recall April 2015. Called dealer and was informed parts still on backorder. In the meantime it appears I am in danger from defective airbags. Honda appears in no hurry to keep me from dying from the defective airbags. Is that how we are protected by the NHTSA?.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #46

Jan 022015

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Pilot. The contact stated that the recall notices for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags) were received in January of 2015. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #45

Apr 062015

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Pilot. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bag, exterior lighting, electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #44

Jan 162015

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) and stated that the part was available for the driver side air bag, but not available for the passenger side air bag via NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags). The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available for the passenger side air bag. The contact was unable to determine when both recall repairs would be performed. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Haymarket, VA, USA

problem #43

Apr 032015

Pilot

  • miles
I received two recall notices relating to airbags in January and contacted my dealer immediately. I am still waiting for Honda to provide airbags for the driver & passenger sides. The dealer has been told they are "on backorder" - I have verified this information with other dealers. Honda needs to make these replacements a priority it has been 4 months and they won't provide the replacements in the meantime we are at risk!

- Flagstaff, AZ, USA

problem #42

Mar 012015

Pilot

  • miles
Letter from senator toomey on behalf of constituent re 2003 Honda Pilot recall (attn: Aubrey yanzito). The dealer informed the consumer, all of the parts for the air bag recall, had not arrived.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

problem #41

Mar 012015

Pilot 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall letter from american Honda motor co. Back in January of this year. The letter stated that my car was being recalled for faulty air bags. Contacted the closest dealer ship as instructed in the letter; was told at that time it would take two weeks to get the parts in. When I contacted the dealership after the two week wait, I was informed that the parts where on back order and I would have to wait my turn. Contacted american Honda over this and was told that parts could be re-routed to solve my problem. Was contacted by american Honda and was told parts where on back order, and that they should only take another few weeks. Its now the end of March, the beginning of April, and I'm still waiting for said parts that where only suppose to take 2 weeks to receive. Every time I contact the dealership or american Honda all I'm getting is the same old dance around about parts, and several times the people have been rude telling me to just wait. Honda case # N032015-02-1300761

- Crossville, TN, USA

problem #40

Mar 272015

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #39

Feb 042015

Pilot

  • miles
Contacted scott robinson service center - torrance, ca. On Feb 03,2015 for replacement of recalled airbags..was told that they were out of stock and would call me. When available. After six weeks of no contact with service center I called them. Was told that they only had passenger side air bag in stock and would have to back order drivers side airbag..I opted to have them install the passenger side and now waiting to hear on the driver side air bag. In one week it will be 60 days that I have been waiting for the completion of the recalled air bags.

- Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA

problem #38

Mar 242015

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
Received a national recall letter for airbags. Called bill pearce Honda and was told I have to wait four months for the part because it is on " back order. "

- Sparks , NV, USA

problem #37

Mar 242015

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 146,000 miles
Received recall notices for both passenger and driver-side airbags, NHTSA recalls 14V-349 and 14V-351. 14V-349 advises avoiding having a passenger sit in the front seat for safety reasons. Contacted dealership in early February about performing service, they ordered parts. Honda has not provided dealership with parts to make the repair, and it is now approaching 60 days since order was put in. I see many similar complaints on NHTSA website. Honda is now breaking the law with regard to these airbag recalls by not providing the parts to make the repairs within 60 days, and we are all left to drive unsafe vehicles in the mean-time. Airbags are supposed to save lives, not end them! NHTSA must do something about this! stiffer penalties are apparently the only way Honda is going to comply.

- Arvada, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?