Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: We all want our SUVs to be able to stop on a dime, just not randomly and without warning. But that's what was happening to 2005 Pilot owners: their vehicles were slamming on the brakes even when they didn't. A government investigation of this problem led to a recall in March of 2013.

Another issue that keeps popping up is transmission fluid mixing with coolant in the radiator which is causing transmission failure, a costly repair to say the least.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
122,912 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Pilot seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Pilot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Pilot Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #93

Nov 222016

Pilot

  • 210,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. While driving approximately 70 mph, the driver fell asleep and crashed into a guardrail. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The contact stated that there was no immediate confirmation of the condition of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a tow yard. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 210,000.

- Crownnsville, MD, USA

problem #92

Jul 082016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Utuado, PR, USA

problem #91

Aug 012016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall I reached out to Honda dealership in fremont, ca on August 1st 2016 in reference to the recall. Dealership mentioned that they don't have part in stock but will call back as soon its available. It is more than 90 days but no information.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #90

Aug 242016

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - I have been contacting my local dealership since 8/24/16 and they still do not have the part.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #89

Feb 132015

Pilot

  • 205,000 miles
I was moving less than five mph as I started to move after stopping at a 4 way stop sign in a parking lot. A 2013 Chevrolet Impala moving approximately 45mph struck my vehicle broadside at the driver side front wheel causing personal injury and resulting in damage causing my Honda Pilot to be declared a total loss. Despite this level of impact the side curtain airbag did not inflate or activate in any way.. I deliberately looked for safety equipment when shopping for a replacement to our previous vehicle. A major reason I chose the 2005 Honda Pilot exl-dvd was the side curtain airbags. However when I was struck broadside by another vehicle with enough force that the Pilot was declared a total loss the side airbag failed to deploy. This failure to deploy thereby causing my head to impact on the driver's side door frame hard enough to cause a large lump on the side of my head and resulting in concussion and other injuries. Some of the injuries are permanent and I am still in severe pain and being treated by multiple doctors eighteen months after the collision with no improvement nor any current outlook for recovery! I now have a permanent hearing loss as well as tinnitus preventing me from having even a few minutes of peace & quiet! while the accident was the fault of the driver that ran a stop sign and "T-boned" my car, had the air bag deployed I strongly feel it would have prevented my head from the severe impact with the metal frame of the Honda Pilot and I would not have spent the last eighteen months in pain severe enough to prevent me from having a normal life! many days the pain has kept me in bed for most of the day as well as keeping me from sleeping at night!

- Cape Girardeau, MO, USA

problem #88

Jul 182016

Pilot

  • 175,716 miles
SRS- front driver side bumper impact sensor. It was noticed after Honda hamilton New Jersey dealer did airbag recall takata. They said that it was unrelated to recall installation. Gave me a 41-11 code and sent me home. Honda needs to acknowledge these faulty impact sensors and cover the cost.

- Lambertville, NJ, USA

problem #87

Feb 082016

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #86

Jun 122016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags) however the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution disconnect.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #85

Jul 072016

Pilot

  • miles
I contacted my local Honda dealer on 7/12/16 and they did have the part. I never heard from them so I called again on 9/9/16 and they still don't have the part and do not know when they will get it. The recall says "Honda suggests that you avoid having a passenger sit in the front passenger's seat until the recall repair has been performed" my local Honda doesn't seem to think this is urgent.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #84

Aug 152016

Pilot

  • 158 miles
I have Honda Pilot 2005 and airbag come on and it be on from when I get it like 2 weeks a

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #83

Jun 302016

Pilot

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Ft Washington, MD, USA

problem #82

Jan 052015

Pilot

  • miles
Airbag warning light on. Dealer determined left front impact sensor was issue. $640 repair for sensor that should not ever fail for safety reasons. Appears issue is not an isolated instance and should be covered by dealer or recall issued to enforce the issue. What recourse do I have available to recover cost?

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #81

Jul 082016

Pilot 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Honda Pilot. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair front passenger airbag inflator recall notice.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #80

Jul 072016

Pilot 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/08/16 the consumer stated the air bag was replaced. Updated 09/21/16.

- Germantown, TN, USA

problem #79

Jul 062016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #78

Jun 302016

Pilot

  • 3,200,000 miles
Takata recall. My Honda Pilot was recalled for the takata recall probably a little over a year ago. The problem is that they changed the drivers air bag and yesterday I get the recall letter for the passenger airbag! knowing the dangers do the takata airbags why did they not replace both do them? my residence is in South Louisiana, hot and humid. Also my vehicle now has over 320K miles, I'm probably very lucky or blessed. On Thursday June 29th the national news stated 'do not drive your Honda'!!! this is the evening before our trip to memphis for the 4th of July holiday. But I know mine was changed already!!! right!! but I return to find my recall notice for the passenger air bag.... there needs to be stronger guidelines and enforcement. Yes I called but none are available. Same as when I had to wait for the drivers side bag.

- Pearl River, LA, USA

problem #77

Jul 052016

Pilot

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Saratoga, CA, USA

problem #76

Jul 052016

Pilot

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #75

May 132016

Pilot

  • 156,000 miles
Takata recall... please note my car was up to date on all service recalls for my 2005 Honda Pilot. On May 13, 2016 I was involved in an accident where both vehicles were completely totalled. I was hit on the drivers side door (at a angle approx where the firewall is located) all the airbags failed to deploy which everyone assisting with the accident from the firemen, policemen, emts, and hospital employees commented on in surprise. The other car hit mine so hard that my car ended up facing oncoming traffic and the impact caused the other vehicle to fishtail and resulted in his right rear quarter panel making contact with my left quarter panel as well. My vehicle's floor buckled and the drivers side door was so damaged that the firemen had to pry it open to extract me. This happened while both cars were in motion on a main street. I was struck by the other vehicle after taking a left hand turn after stopping at a stop sign exiting from a highway.

- Bozrah, CT, USA

problem #74

Mar 012016

Pilot

  • 174,000 miles
First issue. Honda is failing to make proper notifications concerning recalls and extended warrantees. A warrantee extension notice for my 2009 Honda Accord was forwarded to me by the person across town who received my notice. Last year the same person forwarded to me a takata airbag recall notice he received for my 2005 Honda Pilot. I purchased my 2005 Honda Pilot direct from Honda and my Accord from a private owner. Both vehicles are in the Honda service data base with my correct name, address, and VIN. I have no connection to that address, and the resident there does not have my name or any Honda vehicles. I have spoken to Honda service and the Honda recall center about this. Yet, in March the same issue occurred with my 2009 Honda Accord. Additionally, I have not received a notice on my 2010 Honda Accord (purchased from a Honda dealer), which, according to the notice, is part of the class of vehicles subject to the same extended warrantee. Honda's national service center could not explain to me how the mistake occurred and could not assure me that their records would be corrected for purposes of safety notifications since Honda has had my information correct in their service center database. Second issue: My notice of an extended warrantee on 2008-2010 Accord is for a corrosion issue with an internal component in the SRS electronic control unit that could potentially result in SRS failure. The notice stated that if the dashboard SRS light alerts you to an issue, you need to bring the vehicle in for inspection asap. The SRS light in my 2005 Honda Pilot illuminates intermittently. Honda said it is not covered, but they would diagnose it for $120/hr + repairs. For purposes of vehicle safety, can your office determine if the older Honda Pilot have the same SRS ECU issue as the 2008-2010 Honda Accord, and thus should be subject to a recall?

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?