Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 Jeep Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,401 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #111

Jul 152015


  • miles


I have received 3 recall alerts on different problems with the car. When I call the dealer they said they can not fix because Chrysler has not issued/delivered the parts. It has been over 3 2/12 months since the first recall alert and I have gotten two more additional notices since then. All are safety related issues. Unacceptable.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #110

Mar 032014


  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart after multiple attempts. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was unable to be determined. The contact mentioned that the vehicle computer software was reset but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,500.

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

problem #109

Jul 282015


  • 33,349 miles
On Tuesday, July 28, 2015 12:12pm on interstate 91-S at 65mph in the middle travel lane, I was surrounded by multiple tractor-trailers. My dashboard suddenly lit up like a christmas tree. I immediately attempted to get to safety. The car's speed dropped dramatically without warning, even when I applied the gas. At least two tractor-trailers just missed hitting me. I narrowly managed to get to the right side of the highway. On Friday, July 31, 2015, executive Jeep reassured me that the vehicle was repaired and safe to drive. I expressed my concern about it being safe; the service advisor re-assured me that it was. On Monday, August 3, 2015, just 7 days after the vehicle failed me, I was en route to work on 91-N I was traveling in the middle lane surrounded by multiple vehicles. Again, the dashboard lit up like a christmas tree. I was almost hit by other vehicles while trying to make my way to the right side of the highway. The car's speed dropped dramatically without warning, even when I applied the gas. For the second time in one week, the vehicle failed in the same manner and I narrowly managed to get to the breakdown lane. Chrysler insists that this vehicle is safe to drive. This is the third Jeep Cherokee in Connecticut that I am personally aware of that has the same defect; this is unacceptable. I purchased a new Jeep to be safe; my experience with Jeep has been far from that. I am stuck paying of an unsafe vehicle. Narrowly avoiding being killed twice in this vehicle is enough for me.

- Branford, CT, USA

problem #108

Aug 042015


  • 18,000 miles


I bought this car brand new, and have had problems with it starting randomly, locking, and unlocking randomly, alarm going off in the middle of night, (yes, my neighbors hate me) and now my stereo goes in and out..

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #107

May 312015


  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at approximately 15 mph, the vehicle upshifted without being prompted and then returned to original shift without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was repaired under the manufacturer recall, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was undetermined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.

- Carvillen, IL, USA

problem #106

Oct 072015


  • 3 miles
Tranmission jerk often, engine something about to shut off, I was at mcdonald drive thur, and the tranmission jerk alot, and engine shut off. This is not my first times that happpen. Went to dealer 5 times and inform them off the problem, they look at it and said there is nothing that they can find. It because they not driving it everyday. This was the worst purchase I ever did. I wanted a Acura but wife like the style of the car. I regret getting this car. If I can replace it I would definitly do it today. Worst car ever 2014 Jeep Cherokee. Or at less a replacement vehicle.

- Winder, GA, USA

problem #105

Oct 192015


  • 37,416 miles


While in drive engine shuts off unexpectedly as a violent jerk from transmission occurs ( luckily at slower speeds) display says "shift to P to select desired gear" goto park and restart is spinning starter solenoid several retries and its like it never happened, took to dealer and reoccurred enroute dealer asked if "check engine light " came on I said no, he claims thats impossible, then showed him the picture I took of dash, same thing 2 days in a row very dangerous imo

- Buffalo Grove, IL, USA

problem #104

Oct 052015


  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the engine stalled without warning. The failure was experienced several times. The contact was able to restart the engine and it resumed to normal operation. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 42,000.

- Clio, MI, USA

problem #103

Oct 122015


  • 42,000 miles
Was driving in very busy town, luckily turning into a parking lot, Jeep had lost all power, and was showing engine light, etc light flashing, and traction control was shut off. Got the Jeep running again about 15 minutes later, auto zone was next door but they could not read the codes. Had to drive an hour to the closest dealership. Was told there was a recall that needed to be updated, was told to drive it so many miles to reset everything, then sent back on my way. The next day I was putting the required miles on it, it left me stranded on the side of highway with young child, got it to start again and made it back to park it the rest of the day. Next morning drove 1/4 mile down road and it had lost all power again. Called dealership to let them know I was bringing it back, Jeep would not go past 3rd gear, almost hit multiple times trying to get off the road. Got to dealership, they told me it is un-driveable after driving over an hour to get there, they had Jeep almost 3 weeks. Mileage was around 18,000. Would need to replace transmission, when they finally called to say it was ready, I was told it was bc it needed an oil change...with only 3500 miles on this change(feb2015-march2015). Now(oct2015) Jeep shows engine, etc, traction control, after turning at light in neighborhood. Took Jeep to new dealership, could not recreate problem, 3 days for diagnosis.

- Alvarado, TX, USA

problem #102

Feb 072014


  • 807 miles
The first time it happened was when I was merging onto a highway and the car locked. The steering wheel locked, the breaks locked, and multiple different malfunction lights came on including the engine light and my car saying to check the transmission. I turned the car off and back on, and no lights were on so I drove it to the next exit to get off the highway. As I was trying to get into a parking lot in 5 O'clock traffic, the car accelerated on its own then locked up again. I ended up having to get a new transmission owning the car for less than a month. Since then the car has had random moments of accelerating on its own and when I have reported it to Jeep arlington they would say nothing was wrong with my car. Since then, my car has had 3 other separate occasions where it has locked up and/or accelerated on its own and having to get it towed to Jeep; all reportedly by Jeep having to do with my transmission. One of those times occurred again on a busy state road during 5 O'clock traffic and an officer had to stay behind me until a tow company came.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #101

Sep 202015


  • 17,922 miles


On September 20th at 5:30 am driving 55mph my 2014 Jeep Cherokee trail hawk suddenly just shut off the whole car. It restated 45 minutes later and I drove it to minot automotive center. The error messages that came on the dash were "service transmission< service emergancy break, check engine light" minot automotive wrote on their diagnostic paper that code U0402 "implausible data recieved from tcm" and code P0975- shift control solenoid B circuit control performance errors were stored. Dealer updated the tcm and PCM software to version for tsbs 18-031-14 rev a and 21-043-15 they cleared the codes the returned. On September 23 the Jeep just died again while driving down hiway at 65 mph, it restarted an hour later and again took to dealer who promply said it would be 4 weeks before they could look at it. Called Jeep/chysler service # and assigned case #27877752 and told someone would call me back. Jeep again died on Sept 23 2015 2 more times as the dealer said it was safe to drive and Jeep wouldn't pay for a rental. I never was called back from Jeep so called them again.this time assigned a case manager who just stonewalls me and never returns calls. Jeeps bright idea was to have it towed 150miles at my expense of $664 to another dealer who wouldn't look at it for 2 months. Car dies again while driving 65 on September 24 2015. If we or the other motoring public live thru this it will be a miracle.

- Surrey, ND, USA

problem #100

Jun 232015


  • 12,513 miles
The day after we bought the Jeep the check engine light came on, took back to dealer they reset system. I took in couple months having the Jeep for shifting hard, stalling and not much power up hills. They often told me when taking it to dealer they can't duplicate my problem. After taking in to dealer several times on 5/08/2015 they finally replaced my transmission, it had died on me at a busy intersection wouldnt shift and check engine light on. When got my Jeep back still had the same problems and airconditioner was'nt working properly. So as of now my Jeep back at the dealer for accelerating on its own, stalling, no power, shifting hard and dead gas pedal at times while driving. I have talked with the service manager today and he says they can't fix it if shows no code or he can't duplicate the problem. Thats the story I get when taking it to the shop. I have tried to get them to buy it back and haven't gotten anywhere with that as of right now. I feel that this Jeep is so dangerous that I don't wana drive it anymore.

- Villa Rica, GA, USA

problem #99

May 052014


  • 500 miles
When starting out from 1-2, and 2-3 gears, about 75% of the time one of two things happens.. 1, jerky and hard shifting or 2, does not get gas to the engine until I floor it then it jerks very hard. Every time I took it in, I asked them to look at it. They confirmed the problem but a transmission update did not fix the problem. Still happening at 11,000 miles. Jerks my neck, and worried about getting rear ended.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #98

Aug 162015


  • 10,000 miles
Was driving home and check transmission and motor lights came on. We pulled over stopped car and turned on and could drive home. Next day with kids in heavy traffic, car just coasted and all lights went on, kids were scared and almost hit by a truck as we pulled over to curve. Restarted car and could drive home but the transmission was jerky. Next morning took to dealer and they found all the faults I reported. They said communication problem and cleaned all leads and said if happend again they would have to contact chrystler direct. Next morning, lights came back on check transmission and pulling out of my garage, almost slammed me into a wall changing gears. Dealer confirmed problem in transmission and ordered a new one under guarantee. I am without a car for at least 3 weeks and dealer said if I had gotten the extended guarantee would have gotten reinbursed for an auto rental after 5 business days of not having car. Really concerned about safety and everyone is fortunate no fatalities yet due to a defective 9 speed transmission design. My car was fine until they did a software update to deal with transmission complains. Really supprised usa government has not recalled the transmission or allow family car owners like myself who thought this Jeep was safe with good gas milage to exchange cars or sell back. Have to wait and see if new transmission works or simply replacing one poorly designed part with hanother. Actually liked the car, just now concerned with my family safety.

- Santurce, PR, USA

problem #97

Aug 232015


  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle decelerated and the engine continued running as the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road, where it was turned off and restarted in order to reset the system which resumed normal operation. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 15V461000 (equipment). The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #96

Aug 242015


  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that a very strong odor of mold emitted out of the air vents which increased when the air conditioner was activated. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000.

- Chantilly, VA, USA

problem #95

Aug 132015


  • 15,100 miles
With our 2014 Jeep Cherokee 4cyl. We were close to a horrible collision. We were merging onto a major highway when the SUV lost power when accelerating and the transmission disengaged. We were nearly sideswiped by a semi!!!!! when giving the SUV gas, it downshifted to accelerate and then all of a sudden disengaged and the SUV felt like it halted forward slowing down to 15mph. It seemed as if the engine and transmission were not communicating correctly. If the gas pedal was softly pressed the SUV would accelerate, however, if the gas pedal was pressed down further, the transmission was just gone! this continued to happen until the car was power cycled off. This is a major safety concern. Brought it to the dealership and they couldn't find anything wrong. I am so scared to drive this SUV now. Please investigate and have a safety update soon!!!!

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #94

Aug 132015


  • 38,005 miles
Vehicle was being operated on a straight and level road at 45 mph when the dashboard electrical and radio system went dark, and there was a loss of power steering at the same time. In about two seconds, the vehicle restarted without any movement by the driver. She had both hands on the wheel so that she could control the vehicle due to the loss of the power steering. When the vehicle restarted on its own, the normal housekeeping functions occurred on the dash, the radio came back on, and power steering came back. Two lights illuminated on the dash that were not normal. One was the check engine light that came on continuous, and the squigily traction light came on until she was able to pull into a parking lot where she stopped the vehicle and shut the engine off. When she restarted the vehicle, the traction light did not come back on, however the check engine light did come back on in a continuous mode. Vehicle is currently at charlie's Dodge/Jeep dealership in maumee, oh being diagnosed.

- Curtice , OH, USA

problem #93

Aug 072015


  • 31,000 miles
In the wake of receiving my car back after transmission replacement (due to the car shutting down while driving), I turned it on the other day and all the lights on the gear shifter console lite up and stayed lite. I brought my car into Jeep and was told that it was throwing a code, some kind of lost connection error but they have no idea why or how to fix it because it isnt doing it any more. This is the second time in 2 months that my car has been in the shop to fix an issue which Jeep claims is an oddity to my vehicle and not a known issue.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #92

Jun 062015


  • 14,000 miles
On 2 occasions, -June and August 2015, parked vehicle on first floor of an entertainment complex and found engine running upon return (first time it ran for 4 hours/ second time for 2 hours unattended).

- Detroit, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?