Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,230 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #150

Aug 212015

Commander

  • 115,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 5.7 4X4 commader and the car is driving and shuts off at any given point happened to me like 16 times now in the last few weeks, its gotten scary now because its happened to my wife in the carpool lane with the kids, but most recent to me pulling up to work making a right turn and stalled no codes or any messages given and just shuts off, I just bought the car from a co worker and keeps acting up after a software recall done by scott robinson dealer ship in torrance also noticed that a 06 Jeep Commander 4.7 recall has the same issue, I dont want to have a bad accident and hurt someone while driving someone please help with this...

- Inglewood, CA, USA

problem #149

Feb 062015

Commander

  • 147,000 miles
Vehicle loses ignition power when driving at various speeds. Dash cluster warning lights flash multiple times. Speedometer, tachometer, fuel, temp gauges fall to zero point. Steering becomes difficult/inoperable. Vehicle will sometimes regain power. Recall related to ignition switch has been open since September 3, 2014. Manufacturer has not issued any solution/remedy. Manufacturer has suggested "removing extra keys/keychains from ignition key and avoid bumping the ignition key with knees." This is not a remedy. The problem still occurs. This is dangerous. Recall is incomplete. NHTSA recall number: 14V-438 manufacturer recall number: P41

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #148

Sep 192013

Commander

  • 110,000 miles
The first problem is that when going down a drive and stop at the end the car will shift from drive and the engine will shut off the second problem is the car will shift from drive to 3rd gear and stick I have had it to a transmission shop numerous times and they can't find the problem

- New Lexington, OH, USA

problem #147

Jun 062014

Commander

  • 115,616 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Prior to 06-06-14 @115,616 miles began noticing issues with vehicle not starting. After several attempts vehicle would start. However knowing this was a re-occurring issue the vehicle was taken to the service dept. To be inspected (dealership of purchase and all maintenance/repairs performed at same location). 23 point inspection preformed, starter was checked out and found to be bad. The starter assembly was replaced. 12-29-14 @ 121,251 miles regular maintenance programed followed (I.e.) lube, oil and filter. 23 point inspection preformed for the 120,000 miles service: Replaced the air filter and PCV valve, flushed the cooling system, replaced rear wiper blades, removed throttle body and cleaned, induction service, replaced the frt crank seal, cleaned and replaced the serpt belt. Replaced the frt brake pads and rotors. 01-13-15 @ 121,854 miles vehicle taken to service dept. Due to engine light coming on and flashing while driving to work the day before. Very alarming situation related to engine light on and flashing, vehicle seeming to have poor acceleration and not wanting to pick up any speed even when gas pedal pressed. Tested and checked, traced found #3 injector, wiring and connector "chewed up". the injector and connector assembly were replaced. System retested. 05-11-15 @ 124,424 miles perform lube, oil and filter at service dept. 06-29-15 @ 125,572 miles vehicle's engine light on. Taken to service department. 3 or 4 codes on diagnostic test. Could be engine misfire or transmission. Codes cleared told to bring back in if engine light comes on again. Next day engine light back on and vehicle back to service dept..injector #4 bleeding:replace injector, spark plugs and preformed induction service. "nothing you could have done to prevent it has to do w/ seals inside engine." Temp sensor in transmission replaced, torque converter replaced.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #146

Jun 172015

Commander

  • 119,000 miles
Was driving on highway and car went in to manual mode to neutral and will not come out of 3rd gear

- Hudson, NH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #145

May 192015

Commander

  • 78,533 miles
I have getting intermediate message since may saying "transmission over temp" in dash area. I have taken to the dealer on May 14, in which they took an educated guess to change my transmission fluid. I agreed to the service which did not solve the problem. I took to back the dealer again on June 1, for the same problem. This time the dealer technicians worked along with Chrysler by opening a case. The corporate Chrysler techs recommend to replace the solenoid, I agreed to do that. Since may I have spent over $1320 at dulles Jeep and I still have the same problem. Please advise how can you help me? thank you andrew

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #144

May 012013

Commander

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While the gear shifter was shifted into park, the vehicle continued to move forward. The contact had to engage the emergency brake and depress the brake pedal in order to stop the vehicle from rolling away. In addition, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer multiple times who diagnosed that the battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. However, the failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 7/16/15

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #143

Apr 302015

Commander

  • 149,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. When the vehicle was started, the gear shift failed to switch into gears without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the ignition key failed to disengage from the ignition. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the gear shift needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000(electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 149,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #142

Apr 252015

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
It would take me 10-15 mins to start. When your driving it would jerk then on the 4-25-15 at 9 pm I was driving home with my two month old grandson going up the hill I was pushing on the gas it would not move I hate to think if I was on a highway would I be alive today if it stopped on a hill like I said it could have anywhere.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #141

Nov 052014

Commander

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle randomly changed gears from drive to neutral without warning. The contact constantly had to adjust the gears while traveling to prevent a failure and a crash. The failure was reported to an authorized dealer months ago and they indicated that the part needed was not available and that they would call the contact when the appointment was available. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 135,000.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #140

Dec 182014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 158,757 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving at various speeds, the engine stalled. While parked, the vehicle automatically went into reverse. Also, the contact stated the air bag warning indicator was illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 158,757. MA 10/6 the consumer stated the while driving the vehicle would stall. When the vehicle was in park it would roll backwards. Also, the air bag light would turn of and on, the dash lights would flash, and antilock on the dash turns on and off. When coming to a stop the vehicle would make a grinding noise. The vehicle was taking to the dealer who advised the vehicle could not be repaired. Updated 3/28/2016

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #139

Apr 042015

Commander

  • 140,930 miles
I was driving on the express way do 70 mph and we hit a bump and the Jeep lost all power. It shut right off. Thank fully we were in the outside lane and could get pulled over. The check engine light came on. Once we got pulled over we shut the key off and started it back up and it was fine. But the check engine light stayed on.there has been a recall on the ignition switch since June of 2014 and the dealership keeps telling me they don't have the parts. This is my only vehicle and I have a child and do not want to drive it now.

- Flushing, MI, USA

problem #138

Jan 262015

Commander

  • 54,000 miles
My Jeep Commander started having trouble skipping. There was a recall on the control module and the fix determined by Chrysler was to re-program it. I took it in to have the recall performed and the transmission check afterwards. When I arrived to pick it up, the dealership said the technician was out sick so all they could do was the recall. The car drove worse after I started home and failed to get transition between gears. I was forced to stop at the closest transmission shop. Their certified technician diagnosed that the transmission was bad. So, I had them they replaced it. When they went to test drive it, apparently the new transmission also failed due to the control module. They took it to the dealership and had a new control module installed. After repairing the new transmission, I was charged $4000. Whatever the recall "fix" for the control module was, it clearly was the cause for the transmission's destruction. The other recall for the ignition could not be done because Chrysler has no manufactured part to fix it. I sold the Commander the next day. I needed reliable transportation. The consumer stated she started having problems with the starter. Updated 04/06/15

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #137

Mar 062015

Commander 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
My Jeep acts as if I turned the ignition off while going down the road. Today it did it again going down the highway at 65-70 mph. I have no additional keys on the key chain. My seat is slid back and there was no contact with my knee and the ignition switch. I have a 2006 Jeep Commander and have complained about this since 2007. There is a current recall (P41 / NHTSA 14V-438), that I was finally notified about by my dealer a year ago but there are still no parts available to fix the problem. How long should a known safety issue be allowed to go on without a fix. Should we wait for someone to get into an accident and die?

- Wilson, NC, USA

problem #136

May 012014

Commander

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. However, the failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the power train control module had failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Sumter, SC, USA

problem #135

Sep 172014

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #134

Dec 012013

Commander

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, the vehicle veered to the right and the check engine warning light illuminated. In addition, the contact stated that the gear shifter was difficult to shift into park. The contact stated that one month later, the check tire pressure light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the parts needed to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 02/24/15

- Culver City , CA, USA

problem #133

Aug 152014

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 113,999 miles
Bought this Commander 08/02/14, about two weeks after driving it. It started dropping out of gear and getting stuck in 3rd gear. And when driving on the highway it would completely shut down, I sent it back to where I bought it. For them to fix the problem being I haven't even made my first car payment. And the gave me a run around for two weeks saying they was waiting on parts. Then said they had it and had my Jeep for almost 4 weeks. Before getting my Jeep. Now its 01/02/15 and its doing it again. I cant make it back and forth to work. Or get my kids. With my Jeep stuck in third gear and dieing for no reason.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #132

Sep 152013

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving 25-30 mph, the vehicle stalled and the instrument panel flickered. The vehicle was able to restart after numerous attempts. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the starter and battery were replaced, but the failure recurred. In addition, the horn activated independently. The vehicle was shut off and failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the spark plugs were replaced and a tune up was performed, but the failure recurred. While making a turn at 15 mph, the vehicle stalled and the instrument panel flickered. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the solenoid starter was replaced, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the control module and tire harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. On another occasion, the contact stated that the transmission temperature warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where an unknown hose and the water pump were replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V203000 (power train), but was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The parts were not available to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #131

Oct 242014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 137,880 miles
As I driving down the highway I can be going between 40-60 mph and if I let off the gas and just coast and then give it gas again its like it is in neutral and it continues to do this until the car is going 20 mph or under and it is very dangerous it has caused me to almost have several wrecks and I have 5 kids which were with me in the car each time this has happened to me something needs to be done!

- Cadet, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?