Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,962 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 11 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #399

Sep 032014

Commander

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- North Gramby, CT, USA

problem #398

Jun 012015

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Commander. Consumer writes in regards to unintended position changes in ignition switch while driving for over a year. Consumer states no parts available to complete recall notice. The consumer stated twice, the engine made a loud noise. Updated 09/09/15 updated 12/9/2015

- Lake Hopatcong, NJ, USA

problem #397

Sep 152014

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #396

Oct 012014

Commander

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning on several occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 116,000.

- Rockledge, FL, USA

problem #395

Jun 012015

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator grassley on behalf of constituent re recall on 2006 Jeep Commander (attn: Athena larsen). The consumer stated the vehicle cut off several times, while driving on the interstate. Chrysler was response to move the seat back to avoid hitting the key and remove all the keys from the key ring.

- Indianola, IA, USA

problem #394

Jun 112015

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Spokane Valle, WA, USA

problem #393

Jun 092015

Commander

  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall notice back in Sept. Still no status. How long does it take for a safety recall. One life to many I'm guessing. Another issue to look at is the door handle issue. If an accident did occur how would you get out?

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #392

Jun 012015

Commander 8-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Commander. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle electrical problems. The consumer stated he and his wife experienced problems with the ignition a couple of years ago. The lights on the dashboard flashed on and off which interfered with the air condition, gas and brake pedals, as well as with the engine and transmission.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #391

Jun 302014

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/18/15 updated 09/22/15

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #390

May 252015

Commander

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. When the vehicle was started, the headlights and the tail lights became inoperable without warning. In addition, the instrument panel failed to operate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,000.

- Tateville, KY, USA

problem #389

Jun 012015

Commander 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Jeep Commander. Consumer writes in regards to recall parts unavailable to complete recall notice P41/ NHTSA 14V-438. The consumer stated the vehicle stalled on several occasions while making a right turn.

- Cathedral City, CA, USA

problem #388

Jun 032015

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Portage , MI, USA

problem #387

Dec 092014

Commander 6-cyl

  • 99,074 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving at approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and the engine light illuminated. The failure recurred several times. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 99,074. Updated 7/16/15

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #386

May 282015

Commander

  • miles
After contacting my local Jeep dealership, I am told there still is "no solution" to fix the current ignition switch recall on my Jeep. They have known about this for years. My "official" recall notification was September 2014, and there is no solution yet. How long does one have to wait for a viable solution" why not just install a new ignition switch instead of replacing parts? I believe I have waited long enough, and still no fix. My concern now is with the rush to fix air bad my fix will be delayed even longer. How long is a reasonable time to wait before the government demand action"

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #385

Apr 292015

Commander

  • 114,000 miles
While driving home from work I noticed my truck was slowing down without me applying the brakes and once I did apply the brakes I was informed I had only one brake light working. At that time I immediately went to a part store to have the fuses check and I purchased more bulbs and found out that was not the problem. The service department informed me that this was electrical problem not even the new bulbs worked and the fuses were good as well. I purchased this vehicle in October 2014 from drive time of columbus, ga and was not informed of the recall. The carfax associated with this vehicle did not mention any defects as a matter of fact the carfax listed this vehicle as almost perfect. I have contact Chrysler regarding this matter and they too let me know this problem was part of the recall but they are not able to correct the problem because they do not have the parts and it is May 2015. Now I am driving a truck that is really not safe. I spoke with the dealership where I purchase the truck without any resolution. They are only concerned with the payments., can something be done? can this dealership be made to give me my money back I have spent on this truck or give me another vehicle which I afraid to trust anyone at this point. Your advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #384

Sep 032014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electric system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/21/15 the consumer stated the vehicle stalled twice, on two separate occasions. Updated 07/30/15

- North Camton, OH, USA

problem #383

Jun 172014

Commander

  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that all of the warning lights on the instrument panel began to flash continuously and the gauges failed. The failure recurred multiple times. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 137,000.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #382

Sep 022014

Commander

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving at 80 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 138,000. The VIN was unknown.

- Soda Spring, ID, USA

problem #381

May 192015

Commander

  • 120,000 miles
This problem appears to be wide spread. All the intstrument panel warning lights come on and the A/C radio heater tachometer speedometer etc stop working. I investigated online and it seems this is a common problem with no clear cut fix. My Jeep is included in the ignition switch recall and I'm concerned that this is a related problem. There is no eta for the ignition switch parts! I spoke with Chrysler customer service yesterday.

- Charlotte , NC, USA

problem #380

Mar 012014

Commander

  • 94,564 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 55 mph all of the instrument panel lighting illuminated and the rpms and speedometer dropped to zero; however, the engine was still running. The contact jiggled the key and everything returned back to normal. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the cause of the failures were unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 94,564.

- Bowie, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?