CarComplaints.com Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,244 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 3 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #121

Aug 142015

Commander

  • 154,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have only the one key on the key chain- I have moved seat back as far as it can go with me being able to still touch the pedel. And my car still cuts off when I riding down street - cuts off for like maybe 5 to 8 sec then kicks back in jolts us forward then I can hit gas-when this happens - I can not hit gas RPM do not move. I have been told numerous times have no clue when my part will be in and I feel my car is not safe to drive.

- Lebanon, OH, USA

problem #120

Aug 162015

Commander

  • 85,000 miles
My family (husband & 2 small children) were driving home on the miami turnpike in crazy traffic. We hit a spot on the road where 2 roads meet and the engine complitley turned off. I freaked out because a car was behind me and it was busy traffic. Once my senses kicked in I started wiggling the key and turned it and the car started back up. I did not want to drive home! my husband called Jeep and they were closed. I called the recall line this morning at 8:00 am and the service was horrible. I was told it is my prerogative to keep driving because they have no fix. I let them know the vehicle is not safe to drive. The supervisor told me there was no fix they could put me on an email list for when a fix is avavilable!!!! are you kidding? then I said what if we die in an accident and sue and she said that's your families prerogative if they want to sue!!!!! I asked to speak to a different supervisor and she flat out said no I have helped you and I will not let you speak to another supervisor!!!!!!

- Ruskin, FL, USA

problem #119

Aug 072015

Commander

  • 117,023 miles
As I was driving down the road my automobile turned off and stopped working while driving! this is very dangerous and is very ridiculous considering I received a recall notice over 1 year ago concerning this problem. I make every attempt to ensure the functions of my vehicle are running properly for the safety of my family. I have young children and they could have been seriously injured had we been involved in an accident at the time of my vehicle's failure to operate correctly, due to the manufacturers irresponsibility of taking care of this problem within a proper time frame! Jeep and local dealers have been contacted multiple times to try to correct this problem, with no help from them it has yet to be repaired!

- Princeton, WV, USA

problem #118

Jul 182014

Commander

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a safety recall notice from Chrysler for my Jeep Commander stating that I may experience an unintended change in ignition switch position while driving, which could result in loss of engine power, power steering, and braking, and increases my risk of a crash. I have called Chrysler group recall center 1-800-853-1403, option 6 countless times, unfortunately many times having to hang up after waiting 25 minutes to get through. I have also repeatedly called beyer/Jeep/Chrysler 973-644-3200 and they have been very short with me and tell me the same thing every time I call- they have no date of when the part will be in. When I drive on the highway, I am terrified of losing control of my car. I have seen on the news people that have been in accidents because of this ignition switch and heard that Chrysler has a buyout program. I am interested in finding out about this program because I think that waiting over a year, and with no resolution in sight, is a bit ridiculous and I don't want to become a statistic. Please advice me as to what my next step should be.

- Parsippany, NJ, USA

problem #117

Feb 062015

Commander

  • 147,000 miles
Vehicle loses ignition power when driving at various speeds. Dash cluster warning lights flash multiple times. Speedometer, tachometer, fuel, temp gauges fall to zero point. Steering becomes difficult/inoperable. Vehicle will sometimes regain power. Recall related to ignition switch has been open since September 3, 2014. Manufacturer has not issued any solution/remedy. Manufacturer has suggested "removing extra keys/keychains from ignition key and avoid bumping the ignition key with knees." This is not a remedy. The problem still occurs. This is dangerous. Recall is incomplete. NHTSA recall number: 14V-438 manufacturer recall number: P41

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #116

Jul 222015

Commander

  • 78,600 miles
I was driving down the interstate and the engine completely shut off. One of the scariest things I have ever experienced. Luckily traffic was minimal at the time, but in traffic, it could have been a huge disaster.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #115

Jul 152015

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My family and I were driving down the highway at 75 mph and without any warning, the engine died. When the engine died, the engine indicator light came on. Power steering and braking were fine at first. I steered the car to the side of the road. Before coming to a stop, the power steering stopped working. Once on the side of the road, I turned the ignition off and then tried to restart the vehicle. The car re-started immediately, however, the engine light remained on. I have taken the car into the shop and the technician was unable to find any problems with the vehicle....updated 09/22/15 about one week prior to the above event, I was driving home from the train station on a perfectly dry and clear day and when I was driving, the various traction control lights came on and the car would periodically buck while the RPM's would rev higher for a moment. After arriving home, I turned the car off and parked it in the garage. The nest day when I started it, the traction lights were off and the car appeared to drive normally. The lights that were on were the esp, bas, and the picture of the car sliding. When I took the car in for repair, the dealer couldn't find any issue with the traction system. The same traction issue has happened several more times and has yet to be repaired. Updated 09/29/15

- Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #114

Sep 102014

Commander

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving at an unknown speed with the overdrive activated, the vehicle jerked and the engine stalled. In addition, the check engine and esp bas warning light illuminated. The vehicle was able to restart after multiple attempts. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle codes were reset, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Fountain Hills, AZ, USA

problem #113

Jun 062014

Commander

  • 115,616 miles
Prior to 06-06-14 @115,616 miles began noticing issues with vehicle not starting. After several attempts vehicle would start. However knowing this was a re-occurring issue the vehicle was taken to the service dept. To be inspected (dealership of purchase and all maintenance/repairs performed at same location). 23 point inspection preformed, starter was checked out and found to be bad. The starter assembly was replaced. 12-29-14 @ 121,251 miles regular maintenance programed followed (I.e.) lube, oil and filter. 23 point inspection preformed for the 120,000 miles service: Replaced the air filter and PCV valve, flushed the cooling system, replaced rear wiper blades, removed throttle body and cleaned, induction service, replaced the frt crank seal, cleaned and replaced the serpt belt. Replaced the frt brake pads and rotors. 01-13-15 @ 121,854 miles vehicle taken to service dept. Due to engine light coming on and flashing while driving to work the day before. Very alarming situation related to engine light on and flashing, vehicle seeming to have poor acceleration and not wanting to pick up any speed even when gas pedal pressed. Tested and checked, traced found #3 injector, wiring and connector "chewed up". the injector and connector assembly were replaced. System retested. 05-11-15 @ 124,424 miles perform lube, oil and filter at service dept. 06-29-15 @ 125,572 miles vehicle's engine light on. Taken to service department. 3 or 4 codes on diagnostic test. Could be engine misfire or transmission. Codes cleared told to bring back in if engine light comes on again. Next day engine light back on and vehicle back to service dept..injector #4 bleeding:replace injector, spark plugs and preformed induction service. "nothing you could have done to prevent it has to do w/ seals inside engine." Temp sensor in transmission replaced, torque converter replaced.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #112

Sep 032014

Commander

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to repair the vehicle. While driving approximately 20 mph, the engine seized. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #111

Jun 272015

Commander

  • 79,286 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After a few minutes car will shut off. Im at a stop sign it shuts off, I am yielding to oncoming traffic it shuts off. The vehicle revs up in park.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #110

May 212014

Commander

  • miles
The car intermittedly shuts off while driving. Diagnostics lights for whole dashboard will come on. The car shuts off at least 1 to 2 times per month.

- New Providence, NJ, USA

problem #109

Oct 092014

Commander

  • miles
Received a recall notice in the fall of 2014 that engine may shut off if the key is hit with leg while driving (ignition switch) safety recall-P41/NHTSA-14V-438 this has occurred numerous times, each time we have contacted the dealer, they tell us they haven't received parts to repair it. This is a big concern and a definite safety issue for us. We have contacted our attorney to see where we go from here. At this point in good conscience we couldn't even sell the vehicle! we have contacted you before-no response.

- Avalon, NJ, USA

problem #108

Sep 032014

Commander

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the engine stalled numerous times. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Knox, IN, USA

problem #107

Sep 032014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact stated that the engine stalled without warning on numerous occasions. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 6/25/15

- Man, WV, USA

problem #106

Jun 212014

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
While driving and turning a left corner resulted in loss of engine power, power steering, and braking. This has happened on several occasions and we have stopped driving the family vehicle due to this safety issue which is not deemed safe to drive especially up and down hills....we had to purchase another vehicle since the recall fix is still not available and won't be for over 1 year!

- Sammamish, WA, USA

problem #105

Apr 052015

Commander

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While attempting to start the vehicle, the engine failed to start. The engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The ignition switch was replaced, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000. The VIN was not available.

- Philadelphia , MS, USA

problem #104

Dec 182014

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • 158,757 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving at various speeds, the engine stalled. While parked, the vehicle automatically went into reverse. Also, the contact stated the air bag warning indicator was illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 158,757. MA 10/6 the consumer stated the while driving the vehicle would stall. When the vehicle was in park it would roll backwards. Also, the air bag light would turn of and on, the dash lights would flash, and antilock on the dash turns on and off. When coming to a stop the vehicle would make a grinding noise. The vehicle was taking to the dealer who advised the vehicle could not be repaired. Updated 3/28/2016

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #103

Apr 042015

Commander

  • 140,930 miles
I was driving on the express way do 70 mph and we hit a bump and the Jeep lost all power. It shut right off. Thank fully we were in the outside lane and could get pulled over. The check engine light came on. Once we got pulled over we shut the key off and started it back up and it was fine. But the check engine light stayed on.there has been a recall on the ignition switch since June of 2014 and the dealership keeps telling me they don't have the parts. This is my only vehicle and I have a child and do not want to drive it now.

- Flushing, MI, USA

problem #102

Apr 022015

Commander

  • 111,462 miles
Engine light come on, and stayed on. Checked obvious engine problems, oil, belt, gas cap, etc. No obvious cause. Took to local mechanic. Checked code and reset. Advised it had to do with center console shift linkage? advised to bring back as soon as comes on again. This is however not the first time the light has come on for no apparent reason. Have had to pull over at least twice before on interstate to check engine. No cause found. After several restarts, light did not come on, and car ran, though sluggish and at time labored.

- Springfield, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?