Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,341 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 8 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Sep 202012

Commander

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving to work at an intersection. In the midst of turning left on to the road to my work parking lot... my car stalled on me. Again, I was in an intersection with on coming traffic. No lights came on (warning lites) no weird sounds, no jerking - just stalled. Started back up once I turned the key off and then on again.

- Lugoff, SC, USA

problem #15

Apr 182007

Commander

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact pulled the vehicle over and attempted to restart it but was unable too. The contact waited for an hour and the vehicle resumed normal function. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 30,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Edinboro, PA, USA

problem #14

Jul 092012

Commander

  • 75,000 miles
Started the car at the house and drove 1 mile to the gas station. Shut the car off to fill the tank. Tried to restart and it would not start until I pushed the gas in. When it started smoke poured out the back. Took it across the street to a mechanic and they said the engine was trashed. Had the car towed to the Jeep dealer where I bought it. They said the same thing that the motor was trashed. I paid the Dodge dealer to tear down the engine so I could know what happened. They informed me that the valve in the 4th cylinder had slipped down into the motor and destroyed the piston and cylinder wall. Have to have a new engine installed. The vehicle is a 2006 Jeep Commander with the 5.7 hemi and only has 77,000 miles on it and from what I have researched and talking to mechanics this is a problem that should never happen. This part should not fail in this manor. Have gotten no response from Chrysler and am taking on the cost of the repair myself. If I was hard on the motor it would be one thing but it was only driven to work by my wife. We only put maybe 20,000 mile on it since we bought it. I am aware that this problem has occurred in other vehicles and who knows how many were repaired by Chrysler, under warranty. I will be into this vehicle about 40,000 dollars after the new engine is installed and I think Chrysler bares part of the blame and should be held accountable. Thank you for your time in considering this matter.

- Hamilton , OH, USA

problem #13

Oct 012012

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 83,258 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On all 2006 and 2007 Jeep Commander's with 4.6 4.7 and hemi engines have an issue with exhaust manifold bolts breaking, requiring extensive repair, which can cost in the thousands. The internet is full of this issue and it is known with all dealers, but Chrysler themselves ignore it. If the issue isn't fixed because of the price the engine can have more issues due to the bolts. Please look into this issue since the company that makes the vehicle wont. Even on there own forum it states "Jeep Commander problem model years affected: 2006, 2007 engines affected: 3.7L V6, 4.7L V8, 5.7L V8 hemi average mileage: 79,474 mi (40,000 mi - 154,000 mi) verified 3.7 V6 and 4.7 V8 engines may develop exhaust leaks due to broken exhaust manifold bolts. Exhaust manifold gaskets and bolts should be replaced as necessary.

- Owenton, KY, USA

problem #12

Aug 162012

Commander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle stalled and every light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that he took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection where they stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and they stated that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 10/3/12 the consumer stated the 2006 V-8 models were recalled, for the same issue. The consumer stated the electronics were the same in both vehicles, even though he is a V-6. updated 10/091/2

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #11

Dec 152010

Commander

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostics. The technician reset the computer module but the failure continued after the repair. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer a second time where the battery and the starter were replaced however, the vehicle continued to stall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Portersville, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 012010

Commander 8-cyl

  • 53,165 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The problem began initially in 4/2010 when the vehicle had 53,165 miles on it and the engine would idle roughly, the esp/bas indicator would come on, the check engine light would come on, and the traction assist indicator would all come on at the same time. As soon as all the indicators would light the car would handle poorly, not shift properly, and at times simply stall out on the highway while traveling at high speeds. I brought the car to my local Jeep dealership and upon inspection they found that the intake manifold had melted and come apart thus it needed to be replaced at a cost of $485 which was fine considering the car overall had not given me many major problems so I proceeded to have the work done. A couple of weeks ago the same problems began happening again (the engine would idle roughly, the esp/bas indicator would come on, the check engine light would come on, and the traction assist indicator would all come on at the same time) so I brought the car back to the same dealership and upon inspection they found that once again the intake manifold had melted and come apart thus it needed to be replaced at a cost this time of $685, mind you the car now has 96,057 miles. My main concern is that the intake manifold lasted only 42,901 miles and had to be replaced once again. I voiced my concerns to my service advisor and he stated that the first time the upper manifold had gone bad and that this time the lower manifold had gone bad, that may very well be the case but if you look at the invoices the part numbers are exactly the same (53032774aa). I understand that the dealership can only do so much so I am now appealing to you as it seems that the intake manifold for my 2006 Jeep Commander has a factory defect as it literally melts and begins to come apart especially with the extremely hot weather in South Florida every 40,000 miles or so.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #9

Jul 102011

Commander

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact was traveling 55 mph when the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle immediately after the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was not contacted. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 61,000 and the current mileage was 71,000.

- Verona, PA, USA

problem #8

Jul 232012

Commander

  • 126,000 miles
Jeep Commander 2006 completely shut down, steering locked up and the brakes locked up, while going in motion. Could have been in a fatal accident. Happened several times before reaching destination. Dealer stated that the control module needed to be replaced.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #7

Jul 052012

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 71,200 miles
Engine stalling! hi, my 2006 Jeep Commander with 71K on it has been stalling a lot lately and the engine light goes on. It starts right away but the engine light stays on. I took it to my dealership & they reprogrammed the computer, but less than 50 miles later it stalled again. This happens on the highway where I would lose power and find it hard to control the car. I know that a lot of owners complain about the same issue and the dealerships seem to be puzzled by it as well. Jeep has to find a solution to this before someone gets in an accident. Jeep should also cover the costs associated with the several service costs. I've sent the same to Jeep/Chrysler corporation and have yet to hear from them. My car is current on all recalls issued sulfer. I suggest that Jeep be forced to buy back all these Commanders and save themselves a big headache.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #6

Jul 272012

Commander

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at aprox 45mph, with no warning my Jeep stalled out leaving me with no power anything. After 5 minutes started up with check engine light on. Tried to get it to my home about 5 minutes away stalled again without warning. Did manage to get it home this however is not the only time this has happened, started happening in May 2012 samething. Had it towed to dealer which they charged me $234 to find nothing wrong with it and 11/2weeks with no vehicle. This is very dangerous how at any speed vehicle stalls with no warning!!!!! I should add I just had the flash recall done on the vehicle for the otc module on 4/13/12.

- Columbia, CT, USA

problem #5

Jul 022012

Commander

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, she noticed that the check engine warning light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle then stalled completely. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after several minutes and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The dealer stated that they were not sure what was wrong with the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no assistance. The failure and current mileage was 109,000.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #4

Jun 012012

Commander 8-cyl

  • 50,500 miles
While driving a highway speed the engine stalled. Has happened multiple times since the first incident. All power is lost and I have to pull over to the side of the road. Engine does restart.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #3

Jun 252007

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,128 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 21,128 and the current mileage was 84,000. Updated 08/28/12 updated 09/24/2012

- Pensacola , FL, USA

problem #2

Jun 262012

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without the illumination of the warning indicators. The engine restarted and the vehicle resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where they were unable to detect a trouble code or duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified and they stated that there were no recalls related to the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000. Updated 08-10-12

- Orland , CA, USA

problem #1

May 132012

Commander

  • 65,000 miles
At highway speed, the engine died for no apparent reason. The engine could be re-started after placing the car in park. The condition occurred twice on the 11th and once on the way to work this morning.

- St Charles, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?