Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,507 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 13 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Feb 242014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles


I own my car for 3 years now with 23K miles on it, got it as brand new. On Feb 24th Monday morning I experienced a brake issue, plus hissing noise coming out from under the dashboard. First I thought it needs some time to work around after being on driveway for 2 days(on a weekend) but after driving around and waiting on a red lights that noise didn't go away. Braking is kind of different now, I need to push the pedal harder in order to stop the car but in case of an emergency it will be very difficult. Power brake booster is back-ordered according to a service center rep at the dealer I got my car from. Now need to wait, pay for it and installation. Looks like I'm not the only one with this same issue, why not a recall?

- Salem, MA, USA

problem #24

Mar 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,500 miles
Unable to stop/longer than normal stopping distance in panic stop situation- brake pedal is hard and unable to engage ABS. Occurs only in cold ambient temps ( below 20 degrees) first panic stop after driving at freeway or highway speeds.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #23

Feb 262014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
On 2/26, I experienced a brake failure in my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When I pressed the brake pedal, it was very stiff, and I could not stop my vehicle as quickly as I could before. The pedal only went halfway to the normal depressed position. The vehicle did not stop, and I had to coast to a stop. I took my vehicle to a Jeep dealership that evening for repair, and I was told the following day that the problem is the power brake booster. I was told on Saturday (3/1) that the part would arrive at the dealership on Tuesday (3/4). I spoke with the dealership today, and there is now no eta for the part (the power brake booster). Upon further searching online, I've become aware that this is a common problem for 2011/2012 Grand Cherokee and Dodge durangos. Apparently, the diaphragm in the booster cannot withstand the colder temperatures that we've been experiencing recently in the northeast, and allow moisture to get into the brake system, causing freezing. Driving the vehicle is extremely dangerous, as the brakes do not function at all when attempting to stop the vehicle.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #22

Feb 102014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles


I posted my story on February 21, 2014. After contacting Chrysler on March 3, 2014, they informed me that they will replace by broken brake booster with another faulty brake booster. Jeep is no longer manufacturing the brake booster, which is a recall, and no one will do anything about it. Chrysler does not care and are neglectful to their consumers and basically don't care to put me in another dangerous situation. I intend on filing a class action lawsuit against Chrysler. They are the worst to do business with. They are out to make money and don't care if their consumers die. Chrysler has no problem and thinks it absolutely safe to put me in a vehicle that, without warning, could cause me to lose my life and potentially take others.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #21

Feb 262014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
As I was driving less than a mile to work on a very cold New Jersey morning my brakes felt unusually hard and high. As I pulled into the school parking lot, where I work, I stepped on the brakes to slow down on the decline of the road and they would not go down, they went down only about a centimeter or two, and I just kept pressing them. Again they felt extremely hard and high. There was a school bus full of children in front of me and I just prayed I would not rear end them. Thank god I was only doing 15 mph....if any faster it would have been a nightmare!!!!! I called my dealer and they said do not drive it, have it towed here. I did have it towed that day and today I was informed I need a brake booster like many other people. They are back ordered and could take 3, yes three weeks because of the huge demand. I believe if I was going any faster than 15 mph lives would have been lost. :(

- Randolph, NJ, USA

problem #20

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
There are three key parts that must work after a car starts, steering, braking and accelerating. The brake booster and power steering pump in my 11 Jeep Grand Cherokee need to be replaced. I'm currently taking all precautions when driving, however this is not nearly enough. I feel that an accident is inevitable. It has now been two weeks waiting for two parts. Facing the worst weather conditions in years I would like to feel safe driving to work and with my family. I understand that certain statistics have to meet before issuing a costly recall, however under these conditions IżżM faced with (backordered parts) I don't see why an exception shouldnżżT be issued against Chrysler. If a problem exists you should be able to have the parts available to meet demand. Not being able to meet demand will almost surely provoke a class-action lawsuit. My question is what steps are being taken by the NHTSA against Jeep/Chrysler? hit the gym and flex your muscles. The worst action is not taking one.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #19

Feb 252014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 39,900 miles


I have had vacuum leak (hissing air noise)in brake power boost for quite some time. Part is on national B/O from Jeep--not due in until 3/4/14(date keeps being pushed back), because so many people (over 500)have same problem. I was driving down hill at end of my street and as I applied brakes, they did not work. I pressed as hard as I could but car just drove through intersection. I pumped them several times and they finally came back. If another vehicle had been coming, we could have been killed. I do not understand why ntsb has not issued recall for something as dangerous as this, that directly affects driver's safety.

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #18

Feb 242014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
Was driving my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee and brakes failed had to swerve off road until I came to a stop. Had to have car towed to gas station. Mechanic determined it was the booster brake assist. He called Chrysler dealership and they said that they don't have any and there are hundreds on backorder and could be several months before you get the part. I called Chrysler and they acted like there wasn't an issue with this part and they would expedite one to the dealership. My mechanic was on phone with dealership while I had Chrysler Corp. On phone. The dealership laughed and said you are not going to get part expedited as they are in same situation with several cars themselves. So Chrysler is not going to do anything, not going to pay for towing of my car, not going to pay to have car fixed, not going to give me a loaner car ( could be months). There is a serious issue with defect on this part and it's just a matter of time before some gets seriously injured or dies from this. Chrysler should be issuing a recall instead of trying to mask the problem. Do they have to wait for several injuries or deaths before they issue a recall. This is a known defective safety issue that should be addressed asap. For crying out load it's the brakes of the car!

- South Portland , ME, USA

problem #17

Feb 072014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 45,500 miles
Since the weather has gotten cold, the power brakes on my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee have been failing on an intermittent basis nearly resulting in a couple accidents. In the process of completing a thorough inspection, I detected a hissing sound when I depressed the brake pedal. Suspecting that there was a problem with the vacuum booster, I called several parts stores in attempt to find a replacement unit only to find out that no one had access to the part and they were on indefinite backorder. After doing extensive online research, I have come to find out that there appears to be a major problem with the Jeep vacuum boosters resulting in a national shortage of replacement parts. Based upon the reports by others, it appears that there is a serious design flaw with the vacuum booster which is exacerbated during cold periods. It is also my understanding that the NHTSA is completing an investigation into the problem. In short, I am between a rock and a hard place. I cannot get a replacement part to fix my brakes and I am deathly afraid to drive my vehicle. On behalf of my fellow consumers, we need the NHTSA to put pressure on the Jeep corporation to step up and address the problem before someone gets seriously hurt or killed.

- Commerce, MI, USA

problem #16

Feb 102014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
I was driving through louisville, ky on Feb. 10, 2014 and had to take a detour; exited onto the off ramp of storey ave. I attempted to apply the brakes and they did not function. Couldn't yield to oncoming traffic and was forced to merge. I nearly got into an accident. I attempted to apply the brakes again for the stop light on spring St. I was unable to stop. I had to proceed through the intersection, nearing another accident. I pumped the brakes and nothing, nearing another accident.I tried to apply the emergency brake and nothing. I coasted and was forced to threw my car into park in the worst part of louisville. The area was so dangerous, a police officer had to sit with me. I contacted Chrysler's off-road; was told it would take 4 hrs for a tow truck. I called a different towing company. After 2 1/2 hrs. It was towed to a dealership. My family was inconvenienced since they had to drive a total of 4 hrs. To come pick me up. I've had no transportation for 3 weeks. I called the dealership numerous times asking when my vehicle would be ready. On Feb.19, they said the brake booster is on back order and no eta. I called my local Jeep dealership for the part. A man who told at least 650 orders are placed for this part and Chrysler is not manufacturing it. That means no car for the unforeseeable future. I purchased this vehicle in Dec.of 2013 & 30 days after driving it I'm left stranded and inconvenienced. I have paid with pain, suffering and time. I have done research and found that a lot of other people are in the same situation and Chrysler is not helping nor offering any assistance. Jeep forum, NHTSA, and the attorney general has been notified. I'm contacting the major news channels with the issue. Chrysler will wait for a consumer to die, a wrongful death lawsuit and/or a class action claim be filed before they take ownership and recall there product.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #15

Feb 132014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 33,300 miles


Ok when I went to work Thursday @ 3:30 am I had no brake issues when I left work @ 3pm I back out of parking spot & proceeded to street as I approached the stop light I press brake pedal to stop & it was unusually hard I press harder & my Jeep didn't want to stop it was a slow stop I proceed to the next stop the pedal was soft then I stopped in a shorter distance as I proceeded home a short distance from work I traveled real slow with short following distance then I noticed a air leak hissing sound every time I pressed on the brake pedal I called jack phealen Dodge to set up a appointment to bring it I expand to the service writer the problem I was having he told me sounds like it's your brake booster or master cylinder he knew right away I told me to get it in also advise me the brakes can fail & I won't be able to stop @ anytime. So Friday after work I got a tow truck to it there he told me they will look @ it first thing sat. Am I called sat. After noon he told me they haven't looked @ it yet it will be looked @ by the end of the day I will call you. I got no call back from him sat I went on line found out people with same vehicle & yr. Have same problem the brake booster I get the feeling I am going to get ran around by Jeep like the other 1000S of people are trying to get it fix& the wait also will be a problem I hope you can help me get this brake safety issue resolve for me. Thank you. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #14

Feb 022014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
While driving, I lost total use of my brakes. My car veered off the road and I was unable to maintain control of my vehicle. The loss of the brakes was sudden and totally unexpected, leaving me in an unsafe situation. When I was able to get my vehicle to the Jeep dealer to be fixed, I was informed there were no Jeep Grand Cherokee brake boosters available through any suppliers in the United States. I am concerned that the problem I experienced, along with the lack of available parts after the fact, means that this issue may be occurring frequently and is putting individuals in danger.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #13

Feb 042014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 50,312 miles
The brake booster on this vehicle failed causing the brakes to be nearly nonfunctional. The vehicle could be brought to a stop but only with both feet on the pedal pushing as hard as you can. This vehicle only has 50,000 miles on it used to commute about 40 miles to and from work on rural roads. So very little breaking is needed. The brake booster which failed was back ordered for 2 to 3 months and I was number 59 in line for one. My dealer had to use a booster from a salvage yard to get me back on the road. The master cylinder also had to be replaced because of an O ring failure which required replacement of the entire master cylinder. This should not be happening on such a new vehicle and if there are so many, why not a recall? this was paid for out of my pocket. I love Jeep, but this is a bit much.

- Bear Lake, MI, USA

problem #12

Feb 052014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 79,800 miles
Upon exiting freeway on 2/05/14 car stalled without warning, making it difficult to steer because loss of power and brakes not fully functional I almost ran into street divider, I was able to steer to the side of the road, where I attempted to restart the vehicle. Vehicle did start and seemed fine afterwards. It happened again 4 days later again while exiting freeway off ramp again. I took the vehicle to the dealership where they hooked it up to a diagnostic and found no codes other then a software update they did they could not find a problem. I've read several complaints about this same type of stalling without warning on other Jeep and no one has been able to get any help with this issue. I suppose not until someone dies from this malfunction of these Jeep will Chrysler start to look into this problem and recall the part that is causing this to happen.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 312014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 81,185 miles
Brake failure in cold weather due to defective power brake booster.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #10

Jan 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,000 miles
The brakes on my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee stopped working after a freeze in the northeast. I brought it into the Jeep dealership and now the part is not available. There appears to be over 500 Jeep just like mine at this time off of the road because of this issue. I'm afraid that there is a design flaw with the part as it lets moisture into the brake booster once it gets cold rendering the brake booster useless when the driver looks to stop. This is a severe issue and I was very lucky to be able to get the Jeep to a dealership right away.

- Castleton, NY, USA

problem #9

Dec 182013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
I am the second owner of a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee that at the time of the incident had under 65K miles but was just 1 month over the warranty period. The temperature the morning of Dec 18, 2014 was cold. I started Jeep and proceeded to reverse out of driveway and pressed brake and heard a hissing sound from under the wheel dash. After driving for maybe 15 minutes the hissing stopped. Thus, every morning the hissing would happen at first start of Jeep. On christmas day while driving on expressway the brake light comes on. I pull over to check fluids and found fluids were not leaking and at capacity. Pump my brakes and I notice I still have function. I take vehicle a day later to a local mechanic and was told they did not find a problem with vehicle brakes. On Jan 20th took Jeep to dealer and mechanic indicated issue was power brake booster.

- Tinley Park, IL, USA

problem #8

Jan 222014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
I was driving on 1/22/14 and my brakes were making a leaking air sound when abruptly it stopped braking normally. The vehicle was slowing down but it took alot longer to fully stop. I ended up in the middle of an intersection and almost hit a car because I had not fully stopped before my red light. I immediately brought my car in for service slowly to bay state Jeep in newton, MA, which they called me pretty quickly to tell me that the power brake booster was broken and it was on backorder. Its 7 days past and they are still telling me Chrysler has a negative quantity of 89 nationwide on backorder.

- Belmont, MA, USA

problem #7

Jan 192014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
Noticed a hissing sound coming from the brake pedal area during the recent cold weather. Then the brakes would not stop the jgc well during heavy brake pedal depression. My mechanic determined it was a bad power booster and said they were on national backorder at all the local dealers. Seems many Jeep and durango owners are having similar issues. A dangerous problem that Jeep needs to address.

- Nyack, NY, USA

problem #6

Jan 042014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 34,900 miles
I am second owner of a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee that at the time of the following incident had just under 35K miles but was 2 months over the warranty period. The temperature the morning of Jan 4, 2014 was between -2 & -4 F. I started Jeep and proceeded to drive to end of block. When depressing and/or releasing brake I heard an air leak from under the dash. I returned home and parked the car. The next day the outside temperature had gone above 5 degrees F. the car no longer made the air leak sound. I dropped vehicle off evening of Jan 6 to local mechanic. Temperature on Jan 7 dropped to 5 F. mechanic indicated air leak condition was noted and indicated issue was power brake booster. They suggested I contact Jeep to see if they would make repairs. I had discussions with Chrysler/Jeep and Jeep dealer about issue. I did not mention that I had taken the vehicle to a mechanic. I advised them that indications were a bad power brake booster and that I felt this was a latent failure that would only show up at subfreezing temperatures. Chrysler/Jeep indicated since auto had 35K miles but exceeded 36 months, the vehicle was not under warranty and Jeep would not diagnose or cover cost of repair without me paying. I had replacement of power booster done by the local mechanic on Jan 15. They determined there was water in the booster. It was their diagnosis that the booster had a leak that allowed water to enter. When temperature dropped to those noted, the booster would exhibit an air leak. I have subsequently searched the condition on several Chrysler vehicle internet forums and have found that this booster failure condition is described almost identically to what I encountered. I have a concern that this is a design issue and the problem is not detectable unless the temperature drops below a certain degree. This could result in a power brake failure.

- Ocean City, NJ, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?