Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,719 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 14)

problem #266

Sep 072016

Grand Cherokee

  • 82,848 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took my Jeep to autonation in littleton co. For brake booster recall. Not sure what if anything was done to correct the problem. I continue to have difficulty stopping and can hear a hissing noise when the brakes are applied. I am concerned about the commitment from this Jeep dealer to repair the problem. I plan on taking alternative options for repair. But wanted to file a formal complaint. This is a very dangerous issue and one that could cause serious harm to me or someone else.

- Indian Hills, CO, USA

problem #265

Oct 122016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Today as I was leaving work my vehicle would not stop. I press the brakes and the vehicle kept going. This was a very scary moment as I was exiting a gate and almost went straight into the on coming traffic. It's time something is done about this vehicle as I am just experiencing more and more problems for the past 4 years. This vehicle continues to put my family in danger and expense.

- Christiansted, VI, USA

problem #264

Sep 232016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
My wife complained about her brake pedal going farther down and car takes longer distance to stop. A couple times she said the brake pedal went all the way to the floor so she pumped the pedal and said she was very lucky it stopped right before she would have hit something or someone. Brake light then would come on while driving down road without even touching the brake pedal. Afraid to drive it we brought it to dealer. They ended up replacing the brake booster at my expense. We had a recall done previously on the booster because the booster would get water in it so their fix was to put a guard over the already damaged rusted booster. If tested good at that time, they washed their hands of any damaged like rust that would eventually cause severe damage and cause the booster to do this. That's like putting shingles over a bad roof that leaked and is rotted. Can you imagine the accidents that could and eventually will happen. I am sure some have happened already. The number one thing on a vehicle you do not try to short cut is brakes!!!!

- Mount Pleasant, WI, USA

problem #263

Sep 232016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brake booster stopped working while I was driving with my family going 55mph coming to a complete stop. Come to find out there was a recall for the break booster (P14) indicating that corrosion may occur and water could be ingested. Chrysler put a shield (band aid) to prevent corrosion. This recall was performed and marked complete on my vehicle. One year and 7 months later my brake booster fails and the ever so helpful and friendly(that was sarcasm because they were horrible) associates at my local Chrysler dealership did a diagnosis, determining that corrosion was not cause of my break booster failing. So now I have my personal mechanic replace the part. The part ordeed did not fit. Also, the master cylinder is leaking. So now I need both parts, which will cost me in the upper area of $290, nor including tax. This is an obvious issue with the brake booster part. The whole part is deffective for the make, modle and year. Chrysler is simply needs to replace the whole part. Not put a shield(band aid) it hoping it will hold. I am not the only customer out there who is experiencing this same issue.

- Clifton, CO, USA

problem #262

Mar 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • 44,680 miles
This Jeep engine failed / stalled while driving. This caused the vehicle to veer off the road twice on a turn, and almost cause two rear ends by failing in mid traffic, in four different occasions, since 2014. The vehicle engine cuts out, which causes the power steering and brakes to not function properly. The vehicle was in motion on various main streets, when this occurred. Naperville Jeep dealership (where this vehicle was purchased) has also maintained this vehicle per the maintenance schedule, has worked on this problem since it began. They have not been able to resolve the issue and returned the vehicle to us confident the problem was ¿resolved¿ or non-existent. Attached is the vehicle recall and replacement record. From online research it seems this has occurred to other Jeep Grand Cherokee before and the typical solution is replacing the totally integrated power module (tipm). This vehicle's tipm was ¿repaired¿ Sept 3, 2014. Below are the maintenance records related to this problem. 03/26/2014 mileage: 44,680 wro# 599705 11/25/2014 mileage: 51,329 cro# 615926 01/07/2016 mileage: 65,485 cro# 646292 06/10/2016 mileage: 69,938 cro# 658369 this vehicle is not safe and we have lost all trust and confidence in this vehicle.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #261

Aug 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the vehicle required a longer stopping distance when the brake pedal was depressed. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was operated. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000(service brakes, hydraulic), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 94,000.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #260

Jun 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the brake pedal was applied and traveled to the floorboard several times. The dealer was notified immediately and was unable to replicate and diagnose the failure. The failure continued. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who replaced the brake booster. The contact also received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting). The dealer was unable to supply the part for months. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The failure mileage was not available. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 09/27/16

- Monticello, MN, USA

problem #259

May 282016

Grand Cherokee

  • 76,500 miles
On May 28, 2016 while navigating my driveway, my car suddenly accelerated forward and crashed into the back wall of my garage. Damage was done to my home and my car. I had no control over the vehicle. Hitting the brake and trying to hit the ignition button did nothing to stop the vehicle. On another occasion, about two weeks earlier, I had parked the car at walmart, pressed the brake and the ignition button to turn it off. While in park and the engine off, the vehicle lurched forward and bumped the SUV sitting in front of me. I am now afraid to drive this vehicle! I have reported this incident to my local auto dealership and chysler Corp. The damage is being repaired at my cost.

- Canton, NC, USA

problem #258

Jun 192016

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 64,500 miles
Was slowing down from 50 mph to make a left hand turn. As I was entering the turn, at about 30 mph, the engine shut off. All dash lights still functional, radio was still on, turn signal still on. There was no sputtering. Lost power steering and power braking (and any other items that are not functional while in "run" mode). Shifted to "neutral", but it would not start because the transmission was not in "park". pulled to the side and stopped the vehicle, put it in "park". started like nothing had happened. There were no warning lights before shutdown, there are no service lights or obd II codes stored in computer. Was using the push button starter, the key fob was in my pocket.

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #257

Jun 142016

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 30 mph and attempting to stop, the brake pedal stuck to the floorboard. The driver managed to engage the brake pedal until the vehicle came to a stop. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), but the dealer stated that the booster was performing normally and all the vehicle required was the shield. The repair did not correct the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Viro Beach, FL, USA

problem #256

Nov 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer requests reimbursement for brake booster recall repairs. The consumer stated he received the recall in 2014. The dealer chose to repair the part, instead of replacing it. Sixteen months later, the booster was on the verge of failing again. The consumer had to pay out-of-pocket, to rectify the dangerous situation. Recall # 14V154000.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #255

Nov 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • 54,197 miles
I just read an article in the May 2016 issue of trailer life magazine involving Ford F-150 and there brake failure issues. The exact problem happened with my Jeep. I was pulling our camper (unloaded), down the highway at a speed of 60 mph when the brake light came on and the brake pedal of my Jeep went straight to the floor. I got safely pulled over to the side of the road to check the fuid level. The master cylinder reservoir was low but not empty. I managed to get home, about 6 miles and the next day took the to Jeep dealer where they found that the brake booster had developed a vacuum leak (they said) causing complete failure of braking system. Dealer replaced brake booster, did a complete brake job, replaced all rotors and flushed system. $1350 later I was back on the road. Until I read this article I thought it was an isolated incident. Hopefully it is a coincidence.

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #254

Feb 132016

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
Vehicle was traveling down the freeway at a constant speed of 70mph with foot on the throttle pedal. Traffic from an on-ramp forced a quick/sudden stop (quick transition from throttle pedal to brake pedal). The brake pedal was completely frozen and would not depress for an extended period of time (vehicle would not decelerate). Forced driver to swerve off the freeway, and nearly crashed. Non-emergency (quick throttle to brake transition) braking is still functional. The situation was able to be recreated by both the driver and the service tech at the local dealership. Dealership confirmed that the issue is present on four other vehicles (one 2011, one 2012, and two 2013's) on their sales lot, as well as the vehicle in question. Dealership confirmed this has nothing to due with recall P05 (similar scenario). Dealership submitted a case to fca. Fca had them replace vacuum lines, another brake booster, and the vacuum pump. The issue was still present. Fca told them they could, at the expense of the consumer, try to splice some vacuum lines and see if the issue goes away. At the advice of the dealership, customer denied "troubleshooting" on their vehicle. Fca told dealer this issue has nothing to do with the P14 recall that was replaced a week prior (replaced twice) on the same vehicle (brake booster), and is not covered under that recall. Dealership is now giving the vehicle back to the customer with this condition still present.

- Lino Lakes, MN, USA

problem #253

Jan 172016

Grand Cherokee

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 15 mph, the brake pedal was depressed but the brakes failed to completely stop the vehicle. The contact had to depress the brake pedal with full force in order to stop the vehicle. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the brake booster failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact recieved notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 110,000.

- Neponset, IL, USA

problem #252

Dec 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 20 mph, the brake pedal was depressed but failed to respond. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the brakes failed and the transmission fluid needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V391000 (electrical system), and 14V530000 (electrical system) however, stated that the parts needed for the repairs were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #251

Nov 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • 156,479 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While attempting to stop the vehicle, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle continued to roll. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the braking ability would be limited in cold conditions following the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 156,479.

- Hampshire, IL, USA

problem #250

Sep 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 51,033 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started, the ABS and check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the brake booster failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle failure mileage was 51,033.

- Canton, NY, USA

problem #249

Nov 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • 94,000 miles
Replaced tipm 15 months ago. Today, turning into parking lot car stall. Lost all power steering, no brakes, no engine. Had to restart while coasting. Decelerating at 45 mph making a left turn.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #248

Oct 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled and caused a loss of braking and power steering ability. The vehicle was taken to a dealer to be repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 115,000.

- Sante Fe Springs, CA, USA

problem #247

Oct 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,000 miles
The engine seemed to lose power and the power steering and breaks lost power as well. Was merging from the highway on to a main street in a city. The vehicle was nearly inoperable but I was able to stop it and restart it. But the brakes and steering were locked.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?