Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,787 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #116

May 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 72,805 miles


On 5/25 approximately 2:30 pm while merging onto the highway vehicle stopped accelerating and steering locked up and engine stalled out while in the right lane of the highway. Had to drift over to shoulder on left hand side on highway where speed limit 65 mph but drivers often do 75-80 mph. Vehicle would not restart and had to be towed.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #115

May 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,000 miles
No voltage indicator light or voltage reader

- Friant, CA, USA

problem #114

Apr 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
I had the tipm fuel pump relay bypass "fix" done last fall after failing to start a number of times. It has been recalled since I had the repair done. I am now experiencing the exact same problem. It fails to start a few times each week, eventually starting after several attempts. I've taken my vehicle to a local dealership a number of times and they can't find anything wrong (no error codes). This is an intermittent starting issue and apparently difficult to diagnose. It's almost certainly related to the tipm. I continue to pay diagnostic charges since no "codes" are registering anywhere. ($150) until they get a "error code", they claim there's nothing they can do and it's not covered by my extended warranty. The internet is full of similar complaints for this make and model year. I just want my car to start and run well!

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #113

Mar 182015

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact heard a tapping noise emitting from the engine as it lost power. The contact mentioned that the seat belt, air bag, and check engine lights were also illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the head assembly needed to be replaced. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #112

Jan 112015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 6/30/15 the consumer stated the dealer kept the vehicle for 92 days. Updated 07/02/15

- Carlsbad, NM, USA

problem #111

Mar 162015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Intermittently, the vehicle will crank but not start on the first try. Usually only happens if vehicle has been sitting for several hours. Sometimes it will start, but immediately stall.

- Granbury, TX, USA

problem #110

Feb 032015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 44,124 miles


Was coming to a stop, getting ready to do a left turn and the car engine went off and the steering wheel locked. Had to come to a complete stop and put Jeep into park to start it again. Started fine but was dangerous as this could have happened in the intersection. Could have caused a crash. This is the second time this has happened and took it in for a recall already regarding stalking issue. Please help

- Pueblo West, CO, USA

problem #109

Oct 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,900 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times without warning. The dealer was notified of the failure several times and indicated that the part was not available to repair the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,900.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #108

Nov 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Noticed a leak under my engine and when I popped my hood there was oil sprayed everywhere. Major leak.

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #107

Dec 252014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 32,635 miles
Serpentine belt failed causing loss of power steering. I did not realize what had broken until I looked later, but I was lucky that I was very close to home as it could have caused major engine failure since the belt also drives the water pump and alternator.

- Commerce, MI, USA

problem #106

Dec 132014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 49,100 miles


The vehicle has been experiencing stalling a couple of times before at low speeds. Also failure to start and a fan like noise coming from around the fuel pump. Chrysler issued a recall on the fuel pump relay, but I am seriously concerned since this is an issue with the tipm and that is not being addressed. The dealership is scheduling 2 months out hoping they would have the part by then, while I am driving with 2 kids in a car that shuts off on the highway at 50 mph.

- Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

problem #105

Dec 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
My vehicle is having issues starting/stalling, and sounds like the water pump and/or alternator is failing. I went to the dealership and they said this is all tied to P54/NHTSA 14V-530. The tipm parts are not available to fix this issue, and have not been available since I received the first recall notice back in October 2014. The dealership said the parts are not going to be available for weeks, possibly months. I called Jeep/Chrysler and they also said that is the cause of my problems and they have no date that recall replacement/correction parts will be available. I asked them what I should do since I'm driving a vehicle that doesn't want to start (takes multiple attempts), that stalls out, and that other components under the hood are being affected. They said they will not cover any towing, or rental costs, and had no guidance on what to do besides "good luck". this is a serious issue, I can become stranded, the car could stall (potentially while driving and this car is always on highway high speed driving), and I now have other parts under the hood that this issue is taxing (alternator, battery, water pump, and I could only imagine what else). What am I supposed to do that I'm forced to drive a vehicle with a recall that is not safe to drive" I can't even pay to get this fixed, there is no solution at this time. I don't understand how the vehicle is not recalled entirely and taken off the road, or that if people are experiencing this issue there is no recourse. No free towing, no rental cars ready, no ability to trade in or buy a new vehicle. Nothing. I'm not sure what to do next, get a lawyer? contact BBB" please let me know as I don't see how this is legal, I'm being forced to drive a vehicle with a manufacturing defect that is dangerous. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wood Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #104

Nov 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact mentioned that after waiting for about 20 minutes the vehicle restarted. The vehicle was taken to dealer but was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #103

Jul 192014

Grand Cherokee

  • 89,000 miles
On July 19, 2014 my vehicle ceased to start properly. It would turn over and over and after several attempts would finally start. Additionally, there were several incidents of stalling at a stop sign or exiting the freeway then difficulty restarting. This became more and more frequent, and each time my mechanic was unable to pinpoint the cause. September 4th is the last day that my car started. I had it towed to the mechanic who after having possession of my vehicle for 3 weeks unable to pinpoint the issue, found through research that Chrysler had announced a massive recall for this exact issue. He referred me to the Chrysler recall specialist phone number, which I called immediately. My first four phone calls were nothing more than a run around game until I found the information on NHTSA website. According to the NHTSA recall information, repairs were set to begin 10/25/14. According to Chrysler, the notices were set to go out by mail on 10/31/14 the gentleman assured me that I would also receive an email recall notification to provide the repairing dealer on 10/31/14. I make an appointment at rancho Jeep for recall P54 repair at 10am November 1. 10/31/14, 3pm, I have yet to receive an email notification. I call Chrysler again and am now told that I had been misinformed, it is a preliminary notice, no repairs can be done. My Jeep is still nonoperational, since September 5, 2014. The vehicle cannot be repaired because there are no parts to replace the faulty part with...I have had a rental car for almost 3 months because of this recall issue, costing nearly $800 each month. Chrysler refuses to accommodate a replacement vehicle or reimburse rental expense wholly or partially. My vehicle would be operational if not for this factory recall P54, and I would not have incurred $2400 rental car expense to date.

- Lakeside, CA, USA

problem #102

Nov 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled intermittently. The contact stated that recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The dealer stated the remedy was under development and parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,000.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #101

Nov 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 48,078 miles
I had an extremely dangerous situation occur on November 15, 2014 with our 2011 Grand Cherokee. Around 7 P.M., I was merging onto interstate 95 South from 332, the newtown, pa exit. I did a hard acceleration to avoid traffic bringing up the rear. The engine then accelerated uncontrollably... so fast that the tachometer was pinned to the right side... into the red zone near 7K. A later check of the vehicle maximum speed on the garmin gps revealed it peaked at 97 M.P.H. with my foot completely off the gas pedal, the engine was pinned to maximum revs. I honestly thought it would disintegrate. In the span of a few seconds, I knew not to shut off the engine, as I would have lost steering. I had the presence of mind to put the transmission in neutral, to at least stop the speeding. The engine continued to rev out of control. I believe I was kicking the gas pedal, and the engine eventually released its grip on speed and returned to near-idle, upon which I re-engaged to drive. If a car were anywhere ahead or near me, a devastating wreck would have been the result. I took the Jeep to the reedman-toll service department in langhorne, pa. They could find nothing that would confirm the incident. I contacted Chrysler customer service. An agent named [xxx] took my report and said he had no similar reports. I find it distressing that nothing in the Jeep 'black box' recording system would have a record of this potentially catastrophic incident. The reedman service advisor speculated that I may have 'reset' the software if and when I was kicking the accelerator while the event was under way. ┐information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #100

Sep 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle would only start after several attempts. Also, the contact stated that the fuel pump continued to run after the vehicle was turned off which drained the battery. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact received a notice for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V530000 (electrical system). The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #99

Aug 292014

Grand Cherokee

  • 47,000 miles
Recall P54/NHTSA 14V-530 my Jeep has stalled 5 times in a year. Called Chrysler about this recall and they do not have the parts to fix it. Took it to the dealer and was told the same thing. I ask both of them, what if it stalls and I am in a crash. There responds was that they hope that doesn't happen. My question is what can I do about this situation? thank you

- Shadyside, OH, USA

problem #98

Sep 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Bought this vehicle in June 2014 with 36,700 miles on it from somerset Jeep in somerset MA. 1st issue was car was having trouble starting. Taken to quirk Jeep in marshfield MA on September 5th issue was fuel pump circuit does not power up in tipm installed relay harness and fuse starts fine now. Cost is $375.68, which I had to put on my credit card. 2. car starts smoking, which terrifies me and my 7 year old son for fear of the Jeep blowing up or catching on fire! so I have to have it towed to quirk by aaa on Thursday October 16th. They tell me that it is a problem with the module in the fan. The whole fan has to be replace for $1000. Don't get car back til Monday night October 20th. It isn't covered under warranty and I can't get a rental car unless I pay for it. I can"T work or do anything! quirk gave me a break and only charged me $400 but that is still a lot of money for a single mom who was without her car for ?4 days. 3. Wednesday October 22nd my check engine light comes on. The issue is evap leak, star case open for fuel filler tube. Ordered filler tube as not in stock. Quirk says they will help out again a little, but charge is going to be around $400 but won't know until it gets fixed sometime next week and it takes about 2 hours for repair. More time lost from work. 4. November 16th---car will not start. It will not turn over or make any noise. Triple a came out to the house, got it started once and then it shut off and would not start again. Aaa guy said it is not the battery. Car being towed to quirk Jeep right now on 11 17 14 at noon. Quirk says 'no idea when they can look at' my Jeep! I pay $434.37 a month for my Jeep loan! car has about 47,000 miles on it now and I am terrified to drive it for fear it won't start! I can't work. I have no money for christmas! what do I do" please help me!

- Humarock, MA, USA

problem #97

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled on numerous occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system) however, the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. The VIN was not available.

- Imperial, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?