Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,123 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #121

Aug 252016

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles


Vehicle stalled while driving on city street then locked up and wouldnt start or move from park, dash reading said it was in drive.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #120

Feb 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
Jeep will only start with remote starter. Push button start does not work. I had the fuel pump replaced however, am just learning of a tipm recall for this model. Vehicle was in stationary position in my garage when it would not start.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #119

Jan 052016

Grand Cherokee

  • 64,000 miles
Vehicle had external fuel relay installed over a year ago by dealer. This vehicle had not experienced an issue with the fuel relay. Now vehicle is having the same issues - engine stopping for no reason, even while driving - as described in the complaints about the tipm. Very dangerous and the "fix" by fca, appears to not be a permanent fix.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #118

Jan 152016

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles


I was approaching a stop sign and had my foot on the brake, the vehicle accelerated and it felt as if I had no pressure in the gas pedal. I was able to stop and pulled over. At first, thinking this was a scary, isolated incidence, I drove on the three blocks to the grocery store. At the grocery store, I stopped in the parking lot to let another vehicle pull out and a woman cross from her car to the store. The engine revved up and the vehicle accelerated forward from a dead stop. I threw it in neutral and used my E-brake to stop the car. I was terrified that I could have run over a pedestrian. I walked from the store to the dealership and they picked up my vehicle. I told them to keep it until they solve this issue. I do not feel safe to drive it and am seriously afraid that someone could be seriously injured or killed. The first time, my foot was on the brake and the car was still moving very slowly forward when the acceleration occurred. The second time, I was at a dead stop with the foot on the brake when the acceleration occurred. My vehicle remains in the shop at this time but I will follow up with whatever they find.

- Staunton, IL, USA

problem #117

Mar 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Issue: Intermittent stalling started after completion of tipm fuel relay recall repair. Stalls while driving, de-accelerating from highway speed (60mph+) between 30-40mph when braking preparing to make a turn, causing loss of vehicle control. Has never happened with in town driving. Intermittent. No stutter or shutter. All engine power ceases with no power brakes or steering. All electronic stay on. No cel or stored codes. Always restarts by placing transmission in neutral and pushing the start button. Recall performed: Crowe auto group, 1-21-15 90,578mi began: March 2015 32 days at a dealer, 5 dealer visits, 2 dealers. Still no fix. Dealer has experienced stalling. Have full list of time line and service paperwork.

- Toulon, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #116

Nov 182015

Grand Cherokee

  • 61,500 miles
Engine shut off while decelerating from 40mph at aprox. 15mph while coming to a stop sign. This has happened as recently as last month. All instruments, radio etc. Remained powered. No warning lights. Dealer can't seem to identify issue. Previous recall for fuel relay was completed in 2014. Previous NHTSA id number: 10783730

- Ardmore, PA, USA

problem #115

Nov 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles


Car stalls with no warning while driving. Has happened twice. Lose power steering. Able to re-start.

- Forest Hill, MD, USA

problem #114

Aug 312015

Grand Cherokee

  • 47,500 miles
Tipm failed causing car to stall while in motion during rush hour traffic. Power steering, power brakes also failed. Lastly, power door locks also failed with one year old in the car.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #113

Oct 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 5 miles
Prior to receiving the current recall on my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee, I was merging onto the freeway and my Jeep lost complete power. I started to panic because there was nothing I could do to control my Jeep. Luckily, I was on the outside lane and just coasted to a stop. Then, I sat there for about 10 minutes while I called my wife to let her know she would need to come get me. Then, I went to see if my Jeep would drive one more time and it drove off just fine. Then, when I received this notice I called the Jeep dealership to ask them to fix my Jeep due tot he recall and they told me that they were waiting on parts and would let me know when they come in. However, now my air bag lights are on as well as my traction control light is on. I also intermittently when I push on my brakes it will feel as if I have been rear-ended. When I look behind me there is nothing there that would indicate I have been rear-ended.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #112

Sep 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 50 mph, the engine stalled without warning. After several attempts, the vehicle restarted. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump relay and the brake booster needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000. Updated 11/19/15

- Spartanburg, SC, USA

problem #111

Dec 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • 29,255 miles


My 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee began stalling while driving in December 2014. These occurrences have been documented by the dealership four times. It has always stalled while driving at speeds higher than 50 mph. It has stalled on the freeway 2 times and I have been spared a serious traffic collision due to light traffic conditions. The vehicle never throws a code when it stalls. There is nothing the service department can do for these "phantom" occurrences. The tipm has been replaced since that can sometimes be the issue. However, the stalling continues. I have researched this stalling issue and there are others with the similar problem. What will it take before Chrysler addresses this life threatening problem? currently, my vehicle is back at the dealership for this problem. I am not looking forward to picking up my vehicle since the problem is always looming like a black cloud over my head.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #110

Jun 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,800 miles
Jeep was taken in for the P54 fuel pump relay recall on 6/12/15. Next morning after returning from dealer, the engine would crank but not start. This problem was intermittent, and the engine would sometimes start after 15-30 minutes of trying. Eventually on 6/15/15 it wouldn't start all morning so was towed back to dealer. They couldn't replicate problem and released car back to me doing nothing. Intermittent no start continued for weeks, car taken back to dealer on 7/6/15 and they replaced win module, another component of ignition system. Next morning, 7/7/15, car would not start again. Intermittent crank/no start condition continued to occur for weeks, car taken back to dealer on 7/22/15. This time dealer spent almost 3 weeks working on the problem. First, the fuel pump relay (the recall part already replaced once) was determined to be faulty and was replaced. This didn't solve the problem, and the tipm was said to be causing the condition, and was replaced on 8/10/15. Jeep worked for a week until today, 8/15/15, while driving down a busy long island road car stalled out while driving ~30 mph. My wife and our 4 month old baby were in the car, and I was somewhat terrified. There was traffic surrounding us, and I was left with no power to the brakes or steering. Luckily I was already in the right lane and was able to put hazards on and pull over slowly without incident. If there had been a red light or sudden braking in front of me however, the situation would have been much different. After pulling over, car cranked/no start as it has previously for the past months, and did so for 20 minutes until finally started and drove it home. I have had our Jeep in the shop 4 times for what seems to be the issue described in the fuel pump relay recall, but we are still experiencing the same problem! I am at my wits end, and no longer feel safe in this vehicle.

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

problem #109

Jun 242014

Grand Cherokee

  • 43,993 miles
I was knocked unconscious and have no memory of crash Jeep was totaled I never saw it again took 4 months to recover.

- Wirtz , VA, USA

problem #108

Oct 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 125,000 miles
After getting my fuel pump replaced, my fuel pump light still comes on. What is going to be done to correct this? I read that a bad fuel pump from the dealership could have been put on my vehicle.

- Indianola, MS, USA

problem #107

Jun 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 64,000 miles
Vehicle stalled, will not start from time to time, I notice several complainants online on the same. The complainants had taken vehicle in for repair add met with negative results each time the consistent fix was fuel pump & fuel relay but this did not repair vehicle these were dealer fixes.

- Oxon Hill , MD, USA

problem #106

Apr 202015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
On or about April 20, 2015 I had just driven my Jeep about 20 miles to get groceries came home unloaded and went back to start Jeep to go pick up grand daughter at school and the Jeep would not start. It would crank for about 30 seconds and then stop. Tried to start 5 or 6 times. Took my truck to get grand daughter. Called Chrysler and they sent dealer to get Jeep. About an hour later Jeep started then but they took it to check it out. After 5 days they told me I need a new battery. They wanted $355.31 for new battery. Took Jeep to 2 parts stores and they checked the battery and said it was stronger than what was posted on battery. On May 7, 2015 I was out at store and Jeep would not start. Tried about 6 or 7 times and then it started without my foot on brake but would not go into gear. Restarted and was fine. Called dealer and took back on May 8, 2015. Dealer kept Jeep over night and told me I needed a new battery. Bought a new battery through my son in laws shop cost me $122.14. The dealer charged me $90 for the test. So I am out of $212.14 as of now. Today June 13,2015 I went to start my Jeep and it would not start. Same as both times before. I know the problem is with the tipm and no test will show that there is a problem with it. Called Jeep hot line and they said there is no recall on this and no reports. To take it to the dealer and have them test it again that they could not help me with this problem because my Jeep was out of factory warranty. I only have 32989 miles on my Jeep. It only had 32627 on the second visit to dealer. I have extended warranty on the Jeep but they charge $50 if the test don't show up a problem. So I am between a rock and a hard place. Where do I go from here. I know there are a lot of reports on here about the same problem I am having. Thank you for your time.

- Pulaski, VA, USA

problem #105

May 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 72,805 miles
On 5/25 approximately 2:30 pm while merging onto the highway vehicle stopped accelerating and steering locked up and engine stalled out while in the right lane of the highway. Had to drift over to shoulder on left hand side on highway where speed limit 65 mph but drivers often do 75-80 mph. Vehicle would not restart and had to be towed.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #104

Apr 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
I had the tipm fuel pump relay bypass "fix" done last fall after failing to start a number of times. It has been recalled since I had the repair done. I am now experiencing the exact same problem. It fails to start a few times each week, eventually starting after several attempts. I've taken my vehicle to a local dealership a number of times and they can't find anything wrong (no error codes). This is an intermittent starting issue and apparently difficult to diagnose. It's almost certainly related to the tipm. I continue to pay diagnostic charges since no "codes" are registering anywhere. ($150) until they get a "error code", they claim there's nothing they can do and it's not covered by my extended warranty. The internet is full of similar complaints for this make and model year. I just want my car to start and run well!

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #103

Nov 242014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
First incident was: ~11/24/2014 took to mother lode motors, sonora, ca second incident was: 3-09-2015 took to motor lode motors for recall P54/ NHTSA 14V-530 ( tipm); took to central valley motors in modesto, ca my Jeep would not start. The starting motor continued to turn over even when I stopped pressing it. Because there is not a Jeep dealer within 70 miles, I took it to a local dealer (Dodge) who claimed to be able to mechanically work on Jeep. They used to be a Jeep dealer. I told them of the problem. I left it over night. They told me they had to reset the computer. ($300). No parts replaced. Four months later (3/9/2015), the same problem occurred, only it was worse. So I took it back to the same garage, and left it over night. This time they told me the whole computer had to be replaced. ($1507). I finally was able to take it to a real Jeep dealer to get a recall item fixed. (P54/NHTSA 14V-530, tipm). When I mentioned the above incident, they told me that the recall item was the cause of the above incident, and what the Dodge dealer did was not necessary. Fixing the recall item would have fixed it, at no cost. The dealer that did the "unnecessary" work that cost me $1807, was "mother lode motors" in sonora, ca 95370. I went back to them and told a supervisor about the incident, and he just looked at me, didn't say a word, didn't even ask my name or apologize. I called the owner of mother lode motors to let him know of my complaint, and he basically accused me of making excuses and said, "how did I know that they didn't fix the problem?" again no apology.

- Sonora, CA, USA

problem #102

Apr 032015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 57,626 miles
While driving my 2011 Grand Cherokee and my speed was 50mph the car start losing power, start dropping from 50mph to 45pmh to 40mph to 35mph and I was not able to accelerate at all, and I realized that the car going to stop, so I was lucky to enter to parking lot area were my car stalled. I tried to start the car on but the car wont start. After being towed to the dealer and tell them about the including the dealer called me after couple hours and told me that the fuel pump is not good and I need to replace it. Three months ago I had my car in the same dealer for the P54 recall were my car was inspected and installed external fuel pump relay were the mileage were 54,224. When the incident happen the mileage were 57,626. My car never lost power before, I think this happen after performed the P54 recall into my car. The dealer is asking for $ 823 to replace the fuel pump. I thank god cause I was lucky to enter the parking lot area cause otherwise my car would stall in the middle of a busy road and lead to risk of crash.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?