Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 36
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,711 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 9 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #242

May 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts needed were not available. The manufacturer had not developed a solution to deter the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/17/15 the dealer claimed the parts were damaged and the recall could not be performed. The dealer informed the consumer it may take 1 to 2 months before more parts arrived, because Chrysler only sends a couple at a time. Updated 05/04/16.

- La Porte, IN, USA

problem #241

Jul 242015

Grand Cherokee

  • 77,000 miles
Jeep visor recall- fire inside my Jeep: I had the Jeep visor recall completed in January 2015, took my Jeep into the Jeep dealership in may/June complaining of a buring smell twice. They said I was on the list for the second recall parts to come in and they would call me. They said they inspected my Jeep and didnt see anything wrong and wished me the best (depsite my dome lights being dim and passenger light documented being completly out). My Jeep caught fire on Friday 7.24.15. The fire department said it started in the passenger visor. This has been a headache over who is at fault and I wish Jeep would investigate too. My family is now affraid of Jeep, my daughter doesnt want to sit in the front row any longer and it has been a mess over a potential recall error. Please help! my car is destroyed per our insurance.

- Lincoln , CA, USA

problem #240

Nov 272013

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,397 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 30 mph on an incline, the vehicle hesitated without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions while driving at various speeds, as well as when making left and right turns. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 34,397.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #239

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Batesville, AR, USA

problem #238

May 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the recall part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- North Los Vegas, NV, USA

problem #237

Jan 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Old Bridge , NJ, USA

problem #236

Feb 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While attempting to accelerate from 35 mph, the vehicle attempted to stall. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 19,000.

- Thompson Falls, MT, USA

problem #235

Jul 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • 41,000 miles
I was driving on the highway when my battery light came on and moments later my wipers started to go on themselves along with my blinkers blinking and gps screen flashing, and every other possible light flashing. Then my truck suddenly shut off and I had no brakes or power steering and lost control of my vehicle and couldn't stop or direct it to where I wanted it to go. Luckily I was on the right lane and my vehicle veered to the right towards the grass and luckily there was enough grass to slow me to a stop. God was on my side! if I was on the left or middle lane it would of been a horrific incident because it was during rush hour. I was so scared of my life I would of crashed and would of been in a horrible accident. And thank god my kids wasn't in the car with me. But I have a problem because there is a recall about the exact problem that I'm having with is NHTSA campaign is number 14V634000 and the dealer is stating that my VIN and vehicle does not apply to it! but I'm having the exact problem and Chrysler needs to re check other vins because I'm 100 percent sure that's the recall. So please respond to me as soon as possible because I need this issue resolved or I will be contacting my lawyer and will fight this hard and will not give up and will give it my all to resolve this the right way. Thank you! alfred adzemovic. Also the dealer is security Dodge in amityville New York

- North Massapequa , NY, USA

problem #234

Jul 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #233

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount for time for repair. The dealer stated that parts needed were not available. The manufacturer had not yet determined a solution for the issue. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jonesville, LA, USA

problem #232

Jul 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/21/15

- Lugoff, SC, USA

problem #231

Apr 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Upon turning the key in the ignition, the vehicle failed to start. The battery was replaced; however, the dealer was not able to duplicate the failure. The contact had to constantly get the battery recharged due to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and indicated that the part was not available. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for an extended period of time to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.

- Lock Haven , PA, USA

problem #230

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V11500(electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Long Branch, NJ, USA

problem #229

Apr 242015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/5 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 12/21/2015

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #228

Jul 282015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notified notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/18/15 updated 01/26/16. The consumer stated the part was replaced on August 18, 2015. Updated 3/23/2016

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #227

Apr 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000(electrical system) and 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lansdale, PA, USA

problem #226

May 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- London , OH, USA

problem #225

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Mifflin, PA, USA

problem #224

Feb 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts needed were not available for repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pringle , PA, USA

problem #223

Jun 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). However, the repair parts needed were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Mobile, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?