Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Mazda CX-7 has numerous reports filed with the NHTSA about engine & A/C problems.

Owners report problems with the 2007 CX-7's Variable Valve Timing (VVT) & timing chain failing, causing major damage to the engine — Mazda uses an interference design so typically the valves are bent & the entire engine needs to be replaced. Mazda dealers typically quote $9,000 for an engine replacement.

There is also a trend of the turbo failing at low mileage.

Finally for the 2007 CX-7 there is a clear pattern of A/C compressor failure at relatively low mileage. Owners report smoke & occasionally the serpentine belt catches fire when the A/C compressor clutch seizes while driving. Mazda extended the A/C warranty to 60,000 miles, however many owners report their A/C compressor failed very soon after the 60k mark.

In 2011, Mazda began a "Special Service Program" that extended the warranty to 7 years/70,000 miles covering turbocharger oil leaks & excessive timing chain noise — an early sign of timing chain failure. However coverage under the program requires perfect documentation of all required maintenance with other stipulations. Buyer beware.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,961 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Mazda CX-7 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Mazda CX-7:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Mazda CX-7 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #90

Apr 052016

CX-7

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2007 Mazda Cx-7, 3 years ago. I have taken pristine care of my vehicle as I have always. I am a fan of Mazda and have owned others in my lifetime. However, I am extremely disappointed in Mazda Cx-7. I have always put premium gas in my vehicle, regular oil changes, and had my vehicle serviced at a Mazda dealership to make sure it was taken care of properly. Nonetheless, last week I had my car towed to the dealership. Why" because of the consistent problems I seem to find online. My turbo needs to be replaced among other things that coincide with this issue. I have done my research and see that Mazda only points fingers back to the consumer. But I am going to point my finger at the poor design. Must be why Mazda no longer make these vehicles. I believe this is Mazda's issue not mine. The car cannot be totaled out by my insurance company because it is ¿a mechanical breakdown¿. I still owe on the vehicle and the cost to repair is well over the blue book value of the car. There should be a recall on these vehicles. Mazda just keeps pointing the fingers back at us, even if the car was taken care of?!"! if this is a common issue for Mazda Cx-7 and Mazda cx 9 to have turbocharger and engine problems, I do not see why the repairs are put back on us.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #89

Mar 102016

CX-7

  • 100,000 miles
Timing chain caused bent valves and head needed to be fixed. Stupid designed engine. Mazda won't recall hundreds of cars affected by this. Never buying a Mazda again.

- Otis Orchards, WA, USA

problem #88

Mar 232016

CX-7

  • miles
In the last 2 months I've had issues with the airbag system light illuminating on the dash and also the passenger occupancy light not illuminating at all. I then have a check engine light on and had it diagnosed and it is the thermostat that is not working properly. The tech at the auto shop said that this is extremely common with Mazda Cx-7. if that is the case, why has it not been recalled? I have read through hundreds of articles online stating the same issues with the airbag system and the thermostat.

- Gardena, CA, USA

problem #87

Feb 122016

CX-7

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

December 2015 I had my car towed to a Mazda dealership (aaa service said to do so because of the noise and fear the vvt would break while in motion) to replace the vvt (timing chain) and valve cover gaskets - paying out of pocket. As of today, 2/12/16, the same noise, but louder, still occurs when I start the car and drive. The air bag light is on and was on when I took it in. No mention of was made. Also, when I received my receipt, they had the mileage wrong by 20,000 miles (potentially affecting carfax reports), and indicated on the sheet that other areas such as lights were fine and they were not. They did mention that my turbo may need replacing soon (another consistent complaint). There was a class action suit filed in NJ regarding this and it was thrown out. Why isn't the government doing something about all of these similar complaints" where do I go since I just don't trust Mazda dealerships"

- Pikesville, MD, USA

problem #86

Feb 052016

CX-7

  • miles
I have a 2007 Mazda Cx-7, my vehicle has 71,000 miles I have noticed a riddling noise for the past few months. I visit three mechanics and all three mechanics are telling me it's the vvt timing chain. The cost the repair my vehicle is $3,000 to $4,000 dollars. I contact the Mazda dealer and because I have no warranty I have to pay out of pocket. So I begin to do my research online. I realized that there are hundreds of other Mazda Cx-7 owners that are having the same issues as I. what a coincidence Mazda has discontinued manufacturing the Mazda Cx-7. this is a manufacture issue and Mazda needs to own up for it. Hundreds of people are losing their vehicles due to this vvt timing chain issue and Mazda needs to make this a re-call. I know one thing I hope and pray nothing happens to me while driving my vehicle because I will not hesitate to file a lawsuit against the Mazda Corp. I hope someone can help all of us who are current owners of Mazda Cx-7. I will continue to spread the word of this horrific issue with this vehicle model.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #85

Feb 222013

CX-7

  • 34,366 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mazda Cx-7. months after the vehicle was purchased, the instrument cluster gauges flickered and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The mechanic replaced the timing chain belt and the engine assembly. The dealer provided no invoice of the repairs. Months later, the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for further inspection and the contact was to tow the vehicle back to the dealer to determine what parts they actually replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 34,366.

- Tomahawk, WI, USA

problem #84

Aug 132008

CX-7

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First the air con compressor went out, now the air bags lights stays on.the engine light is also on.Mazda needs to recall these vehicles.there has been problems with this vehicle from the beginning.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #83

Sep 192014

CX-7

  • 77,000 miles
While driving on Colorado state highway 91 at approx 55 mph, the vehicle suddenly died. The engine ceased working, all systems ceased immediately. I was unable even to safely pull the car onto the shoulder, the loss of power was so complete and so sudden. The vehicle was 200 miles from my home, and 250 miles from the closest dealer at that point, so I had it towed to the closest garage that would look at it, about 60 miles away. That garage evaluated the car and stated that the timing chain had broken and a new engine would be required, at approximately $6,000 to $8,000. I phoned the closest Mazda dealer, in denver, and asked what they recommended. They also stated the engine would have to be replaced, at a cost of $8,000 to $9,000. I contacted the garage closest to my home and asked their advice. They stated they had experience replacing the timing chains and repairing engine damage in other vehicles and that they could diagnose whether that was an option. Their guess on cost was between $2,000 and $4,000 if the repair were possible and there was not too much damage to valves. Since the shop that is 25 miles from my home recommended repair at less than 1/2 the cost of the dealer 200 miles from my home, I elected to take it there. Upon research I found 1. the VIN # is one in a series with known timing chain failure, and that a heavier duty one had been issued to replace; 2. the dealer had replaced the vvt previously and should have replaced the timing chain at that time according to service bulletin 01-012/12, but did not replace the timing chain; 3. the failure happened 4 days after the expiration of the engine warranty and 7,000 miles over the 7yr/70,000 mi period; 4. Mazda would not honor the warranty since the repairs were done by an independent shop, not a dealer. Mazda knows that this VIN# is in a range of vehicles with this issue but will not fix.

- Basalt, CO, USA

problem #82

Dec 102015

CX-7

  • 115,000 miles
I have had to replacethe ac compressor pump this will be the third one. I cant afford $700 dollars per pump and it onlu last for 8 months. I seen all the complaint people have with this same issue. When is Mazda going to step up and help us resolve this issue. I will never buy or recommend a Mazda to anyone. Between that and the turbo they are junk and not depedable at all.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #81

Oct 272015

CX-7

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mazda Cx-7. the contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, there was smoke coming from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted, but the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Spartanburg, SC, USA

problem #80

May 032013

CX-7

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine light came on (not the first time). The Mazda mechanic said it was the ect sensor. It was replaced and the engine light came on again the next day. Took it back and they said, well it is probably another problem. I have taken T back a few time, but no one is able to give an actual solution. I took it to a non-affiliated Mazda mechanic and he said it is the throttle (the car stopped again in may, 2015) and hears the engine noise which could be the timing chain. I just don't trust Mazda or it's mechanics and

- Beltsville, MD, USA

problem #79

Apr 222015

CX-7

  • 800,000 miles
On the day of April 22, 2015, while driving my car(2007 Mazda Cx-7) off a freeway ramp, the car began to rattle as if it was being pushed by a wind. I smelled smoke coming from the inside compartment of the cabin area of the car. I attempted to apply the brakes but the car won't stop! flames was coming from the car and that's when the car finally stop. There was a car in front of me that I thought that I was going to almost cause a major accident on the off ramp of the freeway. The mechanic checked the engine and stated that the engine locked up which caused a low compression to the engine causing the vvt belt timing to damage the valves in the engine. I changed the oil in the vehicle, and have the vehicle served on a regular basis, but never had any problems like that. I did research on this vehicle and found out that this is an ongoing problem with other owners of this vehicle across the country. There needs to be a investigation, reimbursement, retribution, and recall orders dispersed out to owners of the Cx-7 model from 2007 to 2012 so that Mazda can redeem their quality of service and reputation.

- Suitland, MD, USA

problem #78

Apr 102015

CX-7

  • 124,000 miles
I bought this car in February 2013 and two times since then I have had to replace the timing chain, thankfully my husband and I bought the extended warranty, but I have a feeling that it will do it again before I even pay my car off. Just a month ago I had to take my car in because my engine light came on, so I checked my engine oil and there was none on the dip stick. Called the place I just came from getting my oil changed the week before and found out that the turbo charger was malfunctioning and sucking all the oil out of the oil pan. The dealership says that it common for that make and model... my warranty covered the work but barely. I now have 4,000 miles left on my warranty.... what else could go wrong! I will never buy another Mazda period!

- Holts Summit, MO, USA

problem #77

Apr 292015

CX-7

  • 86,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Mazda Cx-7. while driving approximately 40 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 86,500.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #76

May 052015

CX-7

  • 125,000 miles
I was on my way home from work when I notice that my Mazda started to slow down in speed, I turned off the A/C to see if I can hear any noise and all I heard was a low noise like a chain, I pulled over to the side of the road called my husband who's a mechanic and he said you are going to have to take it to the Mazda dealership its your timing chain. As I was doing some research I have noticed that there are many complaint out there for this same issue. I still have 3 years left on this car and its not fair that Mazda knows about this issue but refuses to do anything about it. Its a big safety issue if your car is shuting down in major areas that can cause accidents.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #75

Apr 212015

CX-7

  • 117,850 miles
My Cx-7 had been making some engine noise for months that my husband attributed to fuel injector noise, but when the sound got worse he researched it and made an appointment with a Mazda dealership. After an evaluation of my car the serviceman told me that there had been a defect in the engines in 2007 Cx-7 and there had been a recall on them and that mine was past the point of being fixed. He said that it will just quit working one day. We asked if we could have another engine put in, but he said the problem has never been fixed, so it would only be good temporarily and it would cost $5,500. We stated that we never received recall information and after he ran our VIN number he said that we had never been sent any recall information. They would only give me $3,000 for my car because it is worthless now, so I intend to drive it until it dies which could be any day.

- Huntington, IN, USA

problem #74

Dec 292014

CX-7

  • 92,661 miles
On January while driving home from a shopping trip my husband and I heard a really loud noise. In a matter of seconds my vehicle slowed down and almost caused an accident. I had it towed and calked the dealer I purchased it from after being told by a family mechanic that I should call because these was a faulty part with the CX7 vehicles. I called and didn't get any place with the dealer. Kept calling until finally about three weeks later they told me I should call Mazda directly and provided me with their number. I called Mazda and have been dealing with them ever since. They only want to pay $500 towards the repairs. This should be a recall since is faulty parts and there are hundreds of customers complaining of the same issues. The dealership that I purchased the car from told me there is also a problem with the vehicles timing belt, sounds familiar? yes!!! turbo and timing belt!! it is time for Mazda to take responsibily and not make us customers pay for faulty parts placed on a lemon of a vehicle. My email is DR880@verizon.net. Please help me resolve this issue. I am so disappointed and frustrated and feel that Mazda is insulting my intelligence by offering to pay a miserable $500 towards a repair that they should do, since it is their faulty parts that lead to this car problems in the first place. I

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #73

Jan 012015

CX-7 4-cyl

  • 92,300 miles
After having vehicle at royal palm Mazda for service and complaint of engine noise on 25 Oct 2014, and being told the engine noise was normal, nothing to worry about. The engine suffered a complete failure due to the timing chain and/or vvt that Mazda had issued a technical service bulletin about in October of 2012. The car has been at the dealership for one (1) week with no updates from Mazda on how they are going to handle the repair or if they are even going to assist with the repair.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #72

Oct 312014

CX-7 4-cyl

  • miles
I have an on going issue with my car 2007 Mazda CX7 last year in October 2013, the turbo went out on the car and needed replacement $4000).I had a tug of war with the dealership. They finally took responsibility and replaced the turbo. Today December 2014, I sit here in the same situation once again the turbo went out on my Mazda and needs repair. This is an issue with this car part and Mazda does not want to take responsibility for their malfunction part. Which is not fair to the guest that they have to come out of pocket to pay for a part (turbo) that Mazda does not want to take any fault for.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #71

Sep 192014

CX-7 4-cyl

  • 77,876 miles
Mazda Cx-7, 2007 - four days and 7,000 miles out of warranty. Driving on the highway, the engine suddenly quit suddenly and the car died. The VIN number on the car is in the range of numbers from 2007 that have reported the same and similar defects many times from other car owners. The vvt actuator failed and was replaced by dealer penkhus Mazda under warranty in 2009, but the chain was not replaced. Research into Mazda service bulletins sb-10044209-4285 and 01-012-12 indicate that the timing chain should have been replaced at the time since the VIN number indicates the vehicle was produced prior to a Mazda timing chain modification date of May 1, 2009 (VIN #'s below jm3er...300119). My vehicle falls into this group. Mazda issued a warranty extension to 7 years, 70,000 miles for this faulty timing chain in January 2012 but is now refusing to honor any warranty on the premature failure of the timing chain. Vehicle was towed to nearest shop at the time, +/-50 mi. Shop said timing chain was broken and a new engine probably needed. Estimated cost $8,000. I phoned nearest dealers in denver and Colorado springs to discuss with service departments. They advised if it was timing chain failure it could easily be a new engine at $8 - 10,000. My home is between 175 and 225 miles from the nearest dealer. I contacted my local shop who advised me to contact kracl automotive in glenwood springs. Kracl said they would definitely look at it, determine cause of failure and attempt to repair prior to recommending total engine replacement. I had the car towed another 100 miles to glenwood springs, 22 miles from my home, and the closest capable repair shop. Kracl advised me the timing chain had broken and two valves were damaged but not the cylinder head. Repair estimated at +/- $4,000. Repairs were completed with special order Mazda parts cost of $3,851.21.

- Basalt, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?