If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Mazda CX-7 has numerous reports filed with the NHTSA about engine & A/C problems.

Owners report problems with the 2007 CX-7's Variable Valve Timing (VVT) & timing chain failing, causing major damage to the engine — Mazda uses an interference design so typically the valves are bent & the entire engine needs to be replaced. Mazda dealers typically quote $9,000 for an engine replacement.

There is also a trend of the turbo failing at low mileage.

Finally for the 2007 CX-7 there is a clear pattern of A/C compressor failure at relatively low mileage. Owners report smoke & occasionally the serpentine belt catches fire when the A/C compressor clutch seizes while driving. Mazda extended the A/C warranty to 60,000 miles, however many owners report their A/C compressor failed very soon after the 60k mark.

In 2011, Mazda began a "Special Service Program" that extended the warranty to 7 years/70,000 miles covering turbocharger oil leaks & excessive timing chain noise — an early sign of timing chain failure. However coverage under the program requires perfect documentation of all required maintenance with other stipulations. Buyer beware.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,277 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Mazda CX-7 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Mazda CX-7:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Mazda CX-7 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #80

May 032013


  • 80,000 miles


The engine light came on (not the first time). The Mazda mechanic said it was the ect sensor. It was replaced and the engine light came on again the next day. Took it back and they said, well it is probably another problem. I have taken T back a few time, but no one is able to give an actual solution. I took it to a non-affiliated Mazda mechanic and he said it is the throttle (the car stopped again in may, 2015) and hears the engine noise which could be the timing chain. I just don't trust Mazda or it's mechanics and

- Beltsville, MD, USA

problem #79

Apr 222015


  • 800,000 miles
On the day of April 22, 2015, while driving my car(2007 Mazda Cx-7) off a freeway ramp, the car began to rattle as if it was being pushed by a wind. I smelled smoke coming from the inside compartment of the cabin area of the car. I attempted to apply the brakes but the car won't stop! flames was coming from the car and that's when the car finally stop. There was a car in front of me that I thought that I was going to almost cause a major accident on the off ramp of the freeway. The mechanic checked the engine and stated that the engine locked up which caused a low compression to the engine causing the vvt belt timing to damage the valves in the engine. I changed the oil in the vehicle, and have the vehicle served on a regular basis, but never had any problems like that. I did research on this vehicle and found out that this is an ongoing problem with other owners of this vehicle across the country. There needs to be a investigation, reimbursement, retribution, and recall orders dispersed out to owners of the Cx-7 model from 2007 to 2012 so that Mazda can redeem their quality of service and reputation.

- Suitland, MD, USA

problem #78

Apr 102015


  • 124,000 miles
I bought this car in February 2013 and two times since then I have had to replace the timing chain, thankfully my husband and I bought the extended warranty, but I have a feeling that it will do it again before I even pay my car off. Just a month ago I had to take my car in because my engine light came on, so I checked my engine oil and there was none on the dip stick. Called the place I just came from getting my oil changed the week before and found out that the turbo charger was malfunctioning and sucking all the oil out of the oil pan. The dealership says that it common for that make and model... my warranty covered the work but barely. I now have 4,000 miles left on my warranty.... what else could go wrong! I will never buy another Mazda period!

- Holts Summit, MO, USA

problem #77

Apr 292015


  • 86,500 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Mazda Cx-7. while driving approximately 40 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 86,500.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #76

May 052015


  • 125,000 miles
I was on my way home from work when I notice that my Mazda started to slow down in speed, I turned off the A/C to see if I can hear any noise and all I heard was a low noise like a chain, I pulled over to the side of the road called my husband who's a mechanic and he said you are going to have to take it to the Mazda dealership its your timing chain. As I was doing some research I have noticed that there are many complaint out there for this same issue. I still have 3 years left on this car and its not fair that Mazda knows about this issue but refuses to do anything about it. Its a big safety issue if your car is shuting down in major areas that can cause accidents.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #75

Apr 212015


  • 117,850 miles
My Cx-7 had been making some engine noise for months that my husband attributed to fuel injector noise, but when the sound got worse he researched it and made an appointment with a Mazda dealership. After an evaluation of my car the serviceman told me that there had been a defect in the engines in 2007 Cx-7 and there had been a recall on them and that mine was past the point of being fixed. He said that it will just quit working one day. We asked if we could have another engine put in, but he said the problem has never been fixed, so it would only be good temporarily and it would cost $5,500. We stated that we never received recall information and after he ran our VIN number he said that we had never been sent any recall information. They would only give me $3,000 for my car because it is worthless now, so I intend to drive it until it dies which could be any day.

- Huntington, IN, USA

problem #74

Dec 292014


  • 92,661 miles


On January while driving home from a shopping trip my husband and I heard a really loud noise. In a matter of seconds my vehicle slowed down and almost caused an accident. I had it towed and calked the dealer I purchased it from after being told by a family mechanic that I should call because these was a faulty part with the CX7 vehicles. I called and didn't get any place with the dealer. Kept calling until finally about three weeks later they told me I should call Mazda directly and provided me with their number. I called Mazda and have been dealing with them ever since. They only want to pay $500 towards the repairs. This should be a recall since is faulty parts and there are hundreds of customers complaining of the same issues. The dealership that I purchased the car from told me there is also a problem with the vehicles timing belt, sounds familiar? yes!!! turbo and timing belt!! it is time for Mazda to take responsibily and not make us customers pay for faulty parts placed on a lemon of a vehicle. My email is DR880@verizon.net. Please help me resolve this issue. I am so disappointed and frustrated and feel that Mazda is insulting my intelligence by offering to pay a miserable $500 towards a repair that they should do, since it is their faulty parts that lead to this car problems in the first place. I

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #73

Jan 012015


  • 92,300 miles
After having vehicle at royal palm Mazda for service and complaint of engine noise on 25 Oct 2014, and being told the engine noise was normal, nothing to worry about. The engine suffered a complete failure due to the timing chain and/or vvt that Mazda had issued a technical service bulletin about in October of 2012. The car has been at the dealership for one (1) week with no updates from Mazda on how they are going to handle the repair or if they are even going to assist with the repair.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #72

Oct 312014


  • miles
I have an on going issue with my car 2007 Mazda CX7 last year in October 2013, the turbo went out on the car and needed replacement $4000).I had a tug of war with the dealership. They finally took responsibility and replaced the turbo. Today December 2014, I sit here in the same situation once again the turbo went out on my Mazda and needs repair. This is an issue with this car part and Mazda does not want to take responsibility for their malfunction part. Which is not fair to the guest that they have to come out of pocket to pay for a part (turbo) that Mazda does not want to take any fault for.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #71

Sep 192014


  • 77,876 miles
Mazda Cx-7, 2007 - four days and 7,000 miles out of warranty. Driving on the highway, the engine suddenly quit suddenly and the car died. The VIN number on the car is in the range of numbers from 2007 that have reported the same and similar defects many times from other car owners. The vvt actuator failed and was replaced by dealer penkhus Mazda under warranty in 2009, but the chain was not replaced. Research into Mazda service bulletins sb-10044209-4285 and 01-012-12 indicate that the timing chain should have been replaced at the time since the VIN number indicates the vehicle was produced prior to a Mazda timing chain modification date of May 1, 2009 (VIN #'s below jm3er...300119). My vehicle falls into this group. Mazda issued a warranty extension to 7 years, 70,000 miles for this faulty timing chain in January 2012 but is now refusing to honor any warranty on the premature failure of the timing chain. Vehicle was towed to nearest shop at the time, +/-50 mi. Shop said timing chain was broken and a new engine probably needed. Estimated cost $8,000. I phoned nearest dealers in denver and Colorado springs to discuss with service departments. They advised if it was timing chain failure it could easily be a new engine at $8 - 10,000. My home is between 175 and 225 miles from the nearest dealer. I contacted my local shop who advised me to contact kracl automotive in glenwood springs. Kracl said they would definitely look at it, determine cause of failure and attempt to repair prior to recommending total engine replacement. I had the car towed another 100 miles to glenwood springs, 22 miles from my home, and the closest capable repair shop. Kracl advised me the timing chain had broken and two valves were damaged but not the cylinder head. Repair estimated at +/- $4,000. Repairs were completed with special order Mazda parts cost of $3,851.21.

- Basalt, CO, USA

problem #70

Sep 272014


  • 61,000 miles


I was preparing to stop at a stop sign when my car stopped running. I had it towed to the garage who always maintains my car. They found that the timing belt had broken. I thought this was strange since my car only had 61000 miles on it, so I started researching the problem. I found that Mazda had put defective parts on these engines. They had an extended warranty, but of course that had run out for me. Why shouldn't a manufacturer have to stand behind the defective parts they put on an engine? this cost me $3700 for their half-a* work!!!! if this timing chain had broken while I was in heavy traffic, this could have been a disaster!!

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #69

Sep 272014


  • 61,000 miles
I purchased my car, a 2007 Mazda CX7 used with 34,000 miles on it approximately 4 years ago. I was driving approaching a stop sign and my car just stopped running. I was able to go around the corner and get the car off the road and out of traffic. I had the car towed to the garage near my work who usually maintains my car. They said that the repairs were going to cost $3742. Two valves need ground and numerous other parts need to be replaced. After doing some research I find that Mazda has had this problem with many of the CX7 vehicles, but they are not covering the repairs. I take very good care of my car, have regular maintainence done, and do not put a lot of miles, or drive my car hard. There is no reason that this should have happen other than defective parts from Mazda!!!! they should make this right. These cars are expensive and the owner should not be experiencing such major repair costs with so few miles on the car.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #68

Sep 042014

CX-7 4-cyl

  • 44,500 miles
I purchased my 2007 Mazda Cx-7 from a dealership in greensburg, pa in February of 2014, it was purchased as a used car with only 36,500 miles on it. I had no problems with the car at first, then I noticed my gas mileage was getting worse, that is when on memorial day my check engine light would come on and then go off. I took it my mechanic because I was unable to get it in to the dealership for a week at some points and the light would have be off by then. Then when I was on my way home on the evening of 9/4/14 my car made a very weird sound any time I would try to push on the gas. I pulled the car off the road and there it sat until I could reach the service department on the following day. My husband took the car to the dealership and that's where it sat because he was informed that it was unsafe to drive? I went up after work only to have them tell me that they could not get the readings from the diagnostic test and that they would have to send it to an actual Mazda dealership, where it has been for almost a week. I was informed yesterday that my turbo and other un-mentioned parts had broken. I then waited to hear back as to whether the warranty that I paid an additional $2,000 for at the time of purchase would cover it, it will not cover this and they stated that the turbo was not considered a part of the "powertrain" so they quoted me a price of upwards of $3300 to repair the vehicle that I have had for 7 months. I have started to do research into this vehicle and I have found out that this is actually quite a common problem with this make and model and that the manufacturer will not stand by the product fully knowing that this is a problem and the consumer is left holding quite a hefty bill. I implore you to research this and force their hand so that "[xxx]" doesn't keep getting stuck holding a huge bill for something this company just doesn't want to fix. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Derry , PA, USA

problem #67

Aug 252014

CX-7 4-cyl

  • 49,436 miles
After leaving a family member's out of state home early on Monday August 25, 2014 morning noticed a noise coming from the front of the vehicle. Approximately 5 miles later a burning smell and smoke started coming from the engine compartment along with loud squealing. Pulled onto shoulder of road and shut off vehicle. I opened the hood and it was obvious something had burned up but didn't easily identify what. Called aaa for a tow to nearest Mazda dealer. Was informed later in the day by the dealer that the ac compressor had seized up and ruined the serpentine belt as well. They didn't have the parts to fix it which resulted in having to rent a car for 5 days to return home and back to pick up vehicle on Saturday. Later found out there was an extended warranty on the compressor for 5 yrs/60K miles which meant that there was no coverage on my vehicle since it was 7 years old even though it had only 49K miles on it. Total cost with towing, the car rental and repair was $1667. They also "found" the starter was bad and a blown fusible link for which they charged another $648. I think they caused the started and fusible link damage trying to start the vehicle with the seized up ac compressor as I never had any problem with the starter before and didn't attempt to start it after I had pulled over and turned engine off.

- Bear, DE, USA

problem #66

Jul 152014

CX-7 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Prior to this date, which lead up to the last incident, upon getting the first few oil changes, at a dealership where I purchased the car, the engine began to sound like a truck (oil used was not synthetic and I were scheduled to come back in 5-months). When I inquired about it, I was told, "that was the way it was supposed to sound". after that comment, I changed to another dealership for service. The knocking continued, to this day, still. Over the years, the system lights would come on periodically (passenger air bag, check engine light and tire sensor) and the cooling fans would run after you turned the car off. Most times, they would reset themselves. Moving along, recently on 07/15/14, I was returning home for the evening and the car shut down on me. The steering control was hard but I kept it from crashing the wall on Lincoln dr. As I flagged the traffic to proceed, I was able to start the car only to advance to the end of the drive. Before I reached home, the car shut down 5-times. Finally reaching home it sat until I were able to get it to another dealer, closer to home. How about, the engine is shot, the radiator had a leek, I knew nothing about and the dealer says, "it will not start, now". I drove it to the dealer. Oil light was on and smelling as if I burned something, while it knocked. Check engine light and passenger air bag light were on when it cut-off, as I pulled into their driveway. I restarted the car found a parking space. Once the ignition shutdown, the cooling fans came on. Dilemma, I leased the car new in 2007. I bought it, with present car payments until 2016, in 2010. The dealer requests the engine and radiator to be replaced. There is no warranty, especially after 100,000 miles and I have scrap on my hands. Where does one go from here as Mazda used to be reputable? the engine shouldn't have any problems before 200,000 miles.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #65

May 012013

CX-7 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
We purchased our vehicle new. The passenger side air bag lights up for no reason. It's intermediate. I have taken it into the dealership and they claim there is a known issue however not a recall therefore Mazda will not pay for the expense to repair/fix it. I have asked if the air bag will work if we are in an accident and they cannot say either way. Also our engine light is intermediate as well. I've taken it to repair shops who ran a free diagnostic test which states another known issue with Mazda with the fuel evaporation line. If Mazda is aware of these issues, why don't they repair them at no cost to the owner" does someone have to die first"

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #64

Jun 172014

CX-7 4-cyl

  • 74,500 miles
Would like to make a complaint about my vehicle. I was stopped at a light and heard a clicking sound as I tried to accelerate when light turned green. Vehicle died at the light. Vehicle was towed to a mechanic. Timing chain stretched and broke which caused damage to the engine and valves. Vehicle has been in the shop for more than four weeks! my approximate cost will be $3500, but price can go up since mechanic has yet to complete the work. Have read many similar complaints about the timing chain and vvt with this make and model on the internet. Many vehicles have broken down on the highway. Even after my vehicle is repaired, I do not feel safe driving it. I will trade it in (not another Mazda) as soon as it is repaired. It is unfortunate that Mazda is aware of this problem but has not made effort to recall the Mazda CX7.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #63

Jun 262014

CX-7 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I purchased my vehicle in October 2012 with roughly 75K miles. After one week of owning the vehicle I noticed after idling for a few minutes O large plume of fog would come from my exhaust pipe. This has occurred many times now since purchase and the dealers response was that it was due to "winter fuel". the problem was never resolved. On June 26th 2014 I was driving to work. I stop at a red light and when it turned green I proceeded to press the gas. Instantly my car shut off and did nothing. After investigating the issue on the side of the road I determined it to be the timing chain. My issue is that Mazda having knowledge of a failing vvt on these vehicles should have replaced the part before selling this vehicle to me. Now I have a lawn ornament that's costing me thousands of dollars to watch it sit in my driveway.

- Shawnee , KS, USA

problem #62

Feb 032014


  • 104,232 miles
Timing chain replacement resulted in a catastrophic failure of the high pressure fuel pump and its housing. Replacing the timing chain returned the engine to production line specs, that were too much for a worn fuel pump to handle. The increased pressure to the fuel pump shattered it into numerous pieces less than 100 miles after the timing chain was replaced. Said pieces became lodged inside the cam shaft and ended up bending all of the valves. The necessitated a complete valve job, removing and replacing the cylinder head, fuel pump, cam shaft and oil control calve. At worst, all timing chain replacements should require a fuel pump change in order to prevent the sequence of events that happened to my car and thousands of others.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #61

Jun 182014

CX-7 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Mazda extended the warranty on ac compressors, well, my original compressor failed and was replaced under that original warranty. Exactly 30,000 miles later the replacement compressor failed almost 3 years to the date of the original failure. Mazda is refusing any responsibility for this since now my car is out of warranty. Eventhough the replaced part itself is only 30,000 old. This vehicle is also experiencing timing belt issues and extremely loud engine noise. This particular model year just seems to be a lemon all around. Even the replacement parts are failing. And the company is not holding themselves responsible at all. I've research this particular year and found more than adequate evidence that these vehicles are lemons. The same issues are being reported across the world! and Mazda is doing nothing. The hazards they are causing are tremendous! some failures have resulted in fires, quick loss of engine power at high speeds and thousands of dollars in repairs. My car was paid off less than a week before this second compressor malfunctioned. How many cars have had 2 ac compressors in a matter of 6-7 years"? and how many engines can completely fail in the matter of 7 years" everyday when I start my car it sounds like a diesel engine; popping and clanking noises project for the hood like it's a semi. That's just bad craftsmanship and bad business. Mazda should be held accountable. The recalls should be extended to 100,000 and 10 years at least. These vehicles should be built to last. And a multi billion dollar company should be made to fix their mistakes before someone gets hurt or worse, killed because of their neglect.

- Mobile, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Ask a Mechanic Online
We have partnered with JustAnswer so that you can get 1-on-1 help now.
Get an Answer >

Not what you are looking for?