Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Vehicle Speed Control Problems

2007 Saturn Aura (Page 2 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Saturn Aura was a mid-size car meant to replace the somewhat problematic L-Series. Unfortunately, the Aura brought its own problems: namely cheap brake parts that needed early replacement and a gear shifter that could say it’s in park while the transmission was still engaged.

Brake problems, including uneven wear and warped rotors that cause the car to wobble, are common complaints from 2007 owners. Did GM use metal for its rotors that can’t stand the heat? That’s what some say, and it’s hard to argue when reports show that rotors could start to warp as early as 500 miles off the dealer lot.

Meanwhile, a busted gear shifter cable lead to some unwanted rollaways. That’s because the shifter could say “Park” while the transmission was still in drive, reverse or neutral. A defect investigation into the issue was opened in 2011, eventually leading to a recall of 56,000 vehicles in 2014.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,971 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Aura engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Aura:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Aura Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Jul 182011

Aura 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In September 2010 and again in July 2011, my car began having difficulty with back up lights (non existent) and brake lights. The brake lights would remain on when driving and would go off when the brake pedal was applied. This also seemed to happen if the cruise control was engaged. Other drivers flagged me down to alert me to this dangerous situation. The chimsel light in the rear window remained lit while driving and turned off if brake pedal was applied. I took my car to a local GM dealer twice..it took 2 weeks each time, to locate the problem, which was eventually identified as a faulty body control module. This was a very expensive repair, that had to be completed twice. 2007 Saturn Auras should be recalled for this issue. I have not used my cruise control since July 2011, as I am afraid to start this whole expensive and dangerous sequence again.

- Fowlerville, MI, USA

problem #11

Jan 232013

Aura 6-cyl

  • 109,500 miles
While driving along w/cruise control on it suddenly shuts off, and my brake lights come on without applying my brakes, the brake lights stay on until I apply my brakes then with my foot on the brake the lights go off I take my foot off the brake & the brake lights go on & stay on until I apply the brakes again & the cruise will not work when the brake light are on & when I first start the car I have to push real hard on the brake pedal to get the car out of park. This has been happening almost everyday for months now. I've had mechanics check it out they replaced stop light switch & cleaned contacts & reset computer but nothing works, General Motors should have to correct this problem before somebody gets in a bad accident.

- St Louis, MI, USA

problem #10

May 012012

Aura

  • 60,000 miles
While driving along w/cruise control on it suddenly shuts off, and my brake lights come on without applying my brakes, the brake lights stay on until I apply my brakes then with my foot on the brake the lights go off I take my foot off the brake & the brake lights go on & stay on until I apply the brakes again & the cruise will not work when the brake light are on & when I first start the car I have to push real hard on the brake pedal to get the car out of park. This has been happening almost everyday for months now. I've had mechanics check it out they replaced stop light switch & cleaned contacts & reset computer but nothing works, General Motors should have to correct this problem before somebody gets in a bad accident.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #9

May 232012

Aura

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my Saturn Aura on highway when the car abruptly dropped gears and the speed at which I was traveling was significantly reduced. I quickly pulled over to check out the problem. There didn't seem to be any major malfunctions at quick glance. Hoping that it was just a minor mishap, I attempted to drive it again. It was good for about 30 seconds when the car suddenly jumped up to 4,000 RPM and would not allow me to drive above 40 mph. Luckily I was able to get the car off the nearby exit and into a parking lot. Once the car was parked, it would not reverse. This could have turned into a major incident had there been more traffic on the highway. There were no warning signs as the car had been driving fine up until then. I also keep up with routine maintenance.

- Bellmawr, NJ, USA

problem #8

Mar 312012

Aura

  • miles
Car was set at 60mph cruise control and began auto excel to 78 before I noticed and disengaged by pressing brake.

- Balimore, MD, USA

problem #7

Feb 092011

Aura

  • 65,000 miles
My brakes lights continue to come off and on for no reason. When my brakes are on and im not braking, if I step on the brake peddle my lights go off, often causing me to nearly get rear ended. I have also had the same problem with the lights turning off my cruise control at random. My last incident happened when the cruise control wouldn't turn off and I almost got sent through a toll gate at 75 mph when I was trying to pull over to pay my toll. If there would have been anyone else in line waiting to pay their tolls I would have surely been in a horrible accident. I have taken my car to three different mechanics on three different incidents and no one can seem to fix the problem. I believe this is a manufacturing flaw and all owners of this vehicle should be notified of the possible risk. Before someone gets seriously hurt, or worse yet killed!

- Claremore, OK, USA

problem #6

Jun 012010

Aura 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2007 Saturn Aura in May 2010 with 36,000 miles. I immediately noticed my cruise control would occasionally shut off by itself. About a month later, it did it again, but this time I noticed (it was at night) then when the cruise control shut off, the brake lights had come on by themselves. After starting to pay attention to this more, I realized the brake lights are coming on my themselves. They only shut off when you press on the brake pedal. Thus drivers behind me think I am riding my brakes and then when I in fact use the brake, the brake light shuts off. This is a serious safety issue. Dealerships and Saturn/GM customer service have been no help. I researched this online and found 24,300 results of Saturn Aura brake light problems. Dealership said they have no way to fix it, I have replaced fuses, sensors, pressure switches, nothing has worked. I have a 3 year old that I won't even let ride in my car for fear I will be rear ended with him should my brake lights decide not to work. There has been times that they won't even work at all. This is an everyday problem. Everyday my brake lights come on while driving down the road and only go off when I actually use the brake. Someone is going to get seriously hurt in an accident, and if it is someone in my vehicle, GM is the first place I'm going to for answers. I have owned GM vehicles for 15 years and after the horrible customer service I received (after I filed a BBB complaint) I will never buy GM again.

- Grant, MI, USA

problem #5

Oct 152007

Aura

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While driving approximately 55-60 mph with the cruise engaged the brake lights came on and the brakes engaged independently. He stated that if he applied pressure to the brake pedal that the brake lights would shut off for 2 to 3 seconds and would come back on independently. When the failure occurred the cruise control was not visible. The vehicle was taken to the dealer four times and the dealer could not duplicate the failure. He also stated that there was a noise coming from the passenger side front brakes. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer seven times for the failure. The dealer replaced the front brake pads and rotors twice. The rear brake pads and rotors were also replaced. In December of 2009 a GMC field engineer inspected the vehicle and replaced the front brakes. The contact was unable to provide a VIN. The failure mileage was 200 and the approximate current mileage was 52,000

- Chino Valley, AZ, USA

problem #4

Jun 242010

Aura

  • 53,000 miles
Tried to set my cruise control under normal highway driving conditions and it wouldn't set. I inadvertently applied the brake a few minutes later while still trying to set the cruise control and I noticed my "cruise engaged" light appeared. As I continued to apply the brake, the car tried to maintain the cruise speed. I could only disengage cruise control mode by switching cruise control to the off position. The situation is repeatable. Under normal conditions, the cruise will not engage. With the brake applied, the cruise will engage and will continue to try to hold speed as the brake is applied with even greater force - giving the appearance that the car is accelerating (or trying to accelerate back to the set speed).

- Oakland Twp, MI, USA

problem #3

Mar 182003

Aura

  • miles
Since buying my Saturn Aura in March 2007 my life has been a complete headache. I first had to take my car into the shop with only 2300 miles on it for rack and pinion to be replaced. Since then it has been in the shop no less than every 6 months. I have had to replace the brakes and rotors two times, motor mount, passenger air bag, sunroof drain, water pump, coolant crossover pipe, water reservoir, steering shaft and more. Now my rack and pinion is bad again and they will not fix it. Also there is a major rattle in front of car and squeal coming from front drivers side tire. They tell me that there is nothing wrong and cannot duplicate. Just recently I have started to notice that my car steering is funny and also that it cuts out or accelerates on it's own. I am planning on getting it back in again to the shop soon. I do not feel safe driving this car. I have three small children and want something done to stop all the problems.

- Lacey, WA, USA

problem #2

May 242008

Aura

  • 500 miles
Under heavy acceleration vehicle becomes unstable when passing (over crown of road) or upon encountering parallel or diagonal joint in road surface.

- Bradford, 00, USA

problem #1

Sep 202007

Aura 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,286 miles
My 2007 Saturn Aura had been into the dealership approx. 1.5 weeks ago because the vehicle was having difficulty accelerating. The engine would rev but the car wouldn't move. The dealership said there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. On the night of September 20, 2007, at approximately 8:30 pm, while driving the car in a residential neighborhood, I tried to apply the brakes at a stop sign. The ABS light came on, the pedal went to the floor, and the car revved, surged forward through an intersection and struck another vehicle. My car hit car #2 with such force that it caused car #2's wheel axle to snap in half and severe damage to car #2's front passenger side fender and door that the car needed to be towed away. I was taken away in an ambulance. Onstar confirmed two codes at the time of the accident: #1--ABS/traction control system malfunction and #2--take the car to a service center as it may exhibit abnormal behavior when driving and/or stopping. This Saturn Aura has been nothing but problems since getting it in October 2006. It has just over 14,000 miles on it and has been serviced for the aforementioned issue plus replacing a broken engine mount, replacing a leaking engine gasket, resurfacing the brake rotors at 7,000 miles, multiple repairs to a non-functioning onstar system, and consistent issues with the warning light on the tire inflation monitor (I eventually had the tires filled with nitrogen). This car is a hazard. Because of the service history of the vehicle, I have obtained legal counsel. The Saturn will be evaluated by an independent mechanic to determine what needs to be repaired. I am scared to drive this car again.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?