Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Ion still had power steering issues and a defective ignition switch leftover from previous model years, but hey – at least Saturn improved some of its safety rating to marginal, right? Baby steps.

If you had to buy a Saturn Ion – and I would question why anyone would even consider it – I suppose the 2005 could be considered the best of a bad bunch? I mean, GM did finally get rid of that awful VTi transmission, and both the power steering problems and ignition switch defect that plagued owners were recalled. The problem is they waited 10 years to recall the ignition and let over 30,000 warranty claims get filed before they bothered to fix the power steering. So you kind of have to wonder, is GM making these fixes to keep owners safe or just to keep government lawyers from taking all their money? You be the judge.

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,357 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Saturn Ion lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Saturn Ion Owner Comments

problem #14

Jan 012014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The right front turn signal does not light or blink when the lever is pressed down. The rear right signal works as do the front and rear turn signals. I feel this is a safety hazard. My dealer says we will have to replace the command module at a cost of @ $1400.

- Somonauk, IL, USA

problem #13

May 292014

Ion

  • miles
On May 29, 2014 when driving from home to work on my Saturn Ion 2005. At approximately 35 miles per hour the engine did not turn off, but the steering got extremely hard that I actually drove on the other lane with incoming traffic going the opposite way of my direction. The dashboard went blank, my headlights turned off mentioning that it was approximately 0940 night time.

- Nogales , AZ, USA

problem #12

Mar 302014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 192,000 miles
A few years ago my left turn signal went out for the first time but I just replaced it which took a few trys before it actually worked, over the last couple of years I have had more problems with that turn signal working. Everytime I have to replace it, it is a hassle trying to get it to work for it to only go out again within a week or two. I am out there again today replacing this thing. I have read about recalls on 2004 Ions, have there not been any for this problem for the 2005?

- Spring Hill, TN, USA

problem #11

Jul 182012

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since the recall on the Saturn 2005 Ion, I'm wondering if there ever was a recall because of the lighting system in the Saturn 2005 Ion? I feel like I had to have allot of services done on the lighting system. All of this started after I had restoration performed to the headlights - 7/2/12 7/18/12 - right front directional signal out 9/4/12 - right front turn signal burnt repl socket - both turn signals inop 11/8/12 - left headlamp bulb repl 11/13/13 - right brake lamp repl.

- Wildwood, MO, USA

problem #10

Dec 032008

Ion

  • 60,000 miles
Ignition switch recognition began to deteriorate. When trying to start the car, the anti-theft would come on. I would have to wait hours. This would happen in cold and rainy weather. Key would get locked in ignition with accessories on and not go off. Battery would die. When jumping the car the key would still be locked in the on position and begin turning on and off violently and rapidly until key was able to be removed. Car blew fuse while driving on highway. Max speed reduced to 30 mph. When turning on key would be 1/2 recognized and lights/electric would flicker on and off violently and fuses/computer had to be replaced/reset. Car did the light/electrical issue while on and driving, key would not come out of ignition. Car was towed by palmetto Chevy in conway SC, who despite recall and vehicle history refuse to fix the car or give loaner as stated on website. I have been calling since 2008 about the issue. GM says take it to a dealership but I have to pay for issues. Car has been towed on Tuesday 3/11/14 to palmetto Chevy, after they told me they would pick it up but were a no show on Monday 3/10/14. Again, they refuse to do the recall. Stating they find nothing wrong with the ignition.

- Conway, SC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Sep 132013

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
One day I was driving and have been noticing that the steering wheel was starting to get harder and harder when turning. I fear this because in not that strong and fear I might crashed and hurt my three kids. The steering coolant light comes on and that make me wonder about that too, when I turn I have to be in strong mode or I might be in an accident. Can GM please fix this problem.

- Burr Oak, MI, USA

problem #8

Nov 012013

Ion 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My right turn signal flashes fast and will not work. I changed the bulb the same problem nobody seem to know what to do about this, from the amount of complaints I think G M need to fix this problem.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #7

Jan 012012

Ion

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the front turn signals failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed, which located the failure at the body control module. The dealer advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 04V547000 (exterior lighting). The approximate failure mileage was 99,000 and the current mileage was 111,000.

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #6

Oct 172011

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
Driver side directional stopped working. Changed bulb still did not work. Took to Saturn dealer said they had to order a part for $185 to fix the problem. Find that the 2003 & 2004 Ions were recalled for the same problem but not the 2005. Believe the 2005 was manufactured in 2004 so should have the same parts as the 2004. Why was the 2005 not recalled also if it has the same problem.

- Fruitland Park, FL, USA

problem #5

Oct 052005

Ion

  • miles
The car has issues with lighting malfunction. My passenger side running light/turn signal required many bulb changes, every few weeks or so, since the socket overheated and accordingly received a signal from the body module to shut off. This seems like the same problem that led to a recall with the 2003 and 2004 Ions. I recently was finally able to get this safety-related aspect of the vehicle remedied, for a few hundred dollars.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #4

Jan 012008

Ion 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Saturn Ion. Front and back blinkers will not blink. I have replaced all bulbs and entire light assemblies. The vehicle is not inspectable because it has to have all lights working. This has been an intermittent problem and the cause of the light failure is unknown. The vehicle has been with an auto mechanic/electrician for over 2 weeks now and is very frustrating and unacceptable. Saturn has to find a way to repair the problem at their cost. It should not be the responsibility of the customer to have the problem repaired, because it is obviously an internal malfunction. Not only have I heard several complaints regarding the Saturn and the difficulty in finding repair parts, but to find someone willing to work on them is not easy either. This has been an ongoing expense that appears to be never ending. These vehicles should be taken off the roads for the safety of the drivers and their passengers, as well as other drivers on the road, due to the unexpected and unknowing events of when and what will malfunction at any given time. I also feel that the value of the vehicle should be refunded to each customer as an "allowance" to put towards the purchase of a safer vehicle. This is a serious situation and should be investigated to the fullest by the NHTSA immediately.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #3

Jan 152011

Ion

  • miles
Left turn signal does not work even with new bulb.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #2

Nov 202010

Ion

  • 65,000 miles
2005 Saturn Ion turn signal lights stopped blinking, but lamps not burned out. GM dealer recommends replacement of the body control module and extensive and costly repair! can't find parts. Cannot properly operate vehicle with expired inspection sticker required in la.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #1

Jun 012009

Ion

  • 49,000 miles
Having repeat problems with 2005 Saturn Ion blinker. We saw there was a recall on 03 and 04 Saturn for the same problem. Please look into a recall for the 05 Saturn Ions.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Not what you are looking for?