Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Fuel System, Gasoline Problems

2006 Saturn Ion (Page 3 of 5)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: When it comes to the 2006 Ion, the biggest questions are: what big problem is going to pop up next? And how long until GM chooses to address it?

The 2006 Ion has a defective ignition switch that gave owners fits. Their keys would get stuck in the ignition, the engine wouldn’t shut off or in some cases it would shut off at the most dangerous time. The ignition was eventually recalled as part of one of the largest recalls of all-time , but it took GM 10 years to do it. Then there’s this car’s temperamental power steering which is prone to stop working randomly while driving. It too was eventually recalled, even if GM took their sweet time about it.

Lastly, it turns out a car built with plastic doors, fenders and bumpers – while fun for a game of “shopping cart bocce” – is horrible for safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,129 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Saturn Ion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Saturn Ion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Jul 232011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was making a left turn cross traffic. Waited for a break in cars to go. I hit the gas and it moved then the engine died in cross traffic. My wife almost got hit from oncoming traffic. The mil light came on. I am a mechanic for the state of Idaho. I could see fuel dripping. I remove fuel tank to find leak. Found to be a cracked fuel pump. This is going to kill someone.

- Kuna, ID, USA

problem #50

Sep 132011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
2006 Ion. Strong gas smell developed over a week in Sept 2011. An independent technician found gas leaking from top of tank. Research lead me to NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000. GM performed the recall on only 53K cars in AZ and nv in Oct 2009. Seems the fuel pump module connections are made of plastic and crack with heat and road vibration. However, a call to Saturn revealed they are hiding behind a VIN specific recall and that the other thousands of Ions with this serious safety-defect are only covered by GM for 10 yr/120K mile "special coverage warranty" extended to this defective part. Had Saturn/GM informed me my car might burst into flames back in Feb 2010, when they were to notify the 53K owners in AZ and nv, I would have had this repair done asap as I would still be under their "special coverage" limitation. I am angered and outraged that GM seems to take the position of "let's wait until the car becomes a death-trap" before we tell people they might be in danger and replace the defective parts. With no notification, I continued to drive my Ion. Now that the car actually has became life-threatening, I am "not covered" by GM's special coverage. My Ion does not qualify because I am over this artificial limit if 120K miles. All vehicles with this defective part should have been notified. This is criminally negligent. Bet you my mileage was below this artificial limit in February 2010. Because the problem didn't show up until after 200+ days of over 90 degree days in East Texas - I have to pay $600 to repair their obvious defect. The repair costs are unfair, but the safety issue screams for justice. I guess someone's family will have to die in a tragic fireball before someone takes GM to task for this seriously dangerous fuel system defect.

- Shepherd, TX, USA

problem #49

Sep 292011

Ion

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. While parked, the contact noticed a fuel odor emitting in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated there was a leak from the fuel pump monitor through the fuel line and leading to the fuel tank. The mechanic stated there was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Mountainside, NJ, USA

problem #48

Aug 012011

Ion

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that while driving fuel fumes were emitted into the vehicle. The contact also mentioned that he could see fuel leaking underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacture was made aware of the failure who did not offered any assistance since the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (component: Fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 65,000.

- Ashland, TN, USA

problem #47

Aug 202011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 41,083 miles
Began experiencing a strong odor of raw gas and fumes in August of 2011. I scheduled an appointment with my local repair facility to have the problem evaluated. Upon raising the vehicle and doing a visual inspection of the fuel system, run marks from gasoline could be seen coming down from the top of the tank. An evap test was performed as well and smoke could be seen rising out of the tank area. The tank is plastic and no visual cracks could be seen. My technician felt this was unusual at such low mileage. After further digging the technician discovered a recall on the fuel pump module for my year, make and model. I was advised to return to the dealer to see if it was covered which I did. I found out that my vehicle did not fall under the factory recall. I returned to my regular mechanic to have the problem resolved. Once the tank was lowered another evap test was performed. The test revealed that the fuel supply lines coming off the fuel pump sending unit were leaking. This was were the two hoses were press fitted to the sending unit from the factory. The only means of correcting was to replace the entire fuel pump module. I had the repair completed using an oe fuel pump module. I feel after reading the parameters set forth under this recall that my vehicle should have been repaired under this recall. I urge NHTSA to once again evaluate this defect. In my opinion these defective parts were used on more vehicles than initially stated. This is a severe safety issue and has the potential for serious injury.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #46

Aug 012011

Ion

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact smelled gasoline coming from the vehicle. The fumes were so strong that at times she was unable to sit inside the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the fuel sensor injector module was replaced. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage was 56,000. The approximate failure mileage was 55,500 and the VIN was unavailable.

- Bristow, VA, USA

problem #45

Sep 152011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Initial signs were a stong smell of fuel inside and outside of the vehicle, and longer crank times when starting. This was filling our garage with a very strong fuel odor. Took it to dealer to diagnose, and they determined that there was a crack in the fuel pump module and recommend replacing at a cost of $650. The fuel pump module is a plastic case that sits on top of the fuel tank. It is not accessable unless you take the fuel tank off. We are just finishing a summer of record setting heat. Looking online it has cracked for people in hot climates. There is a recall for a problem that sounds very similar, GM recall number 090226. Our car is not covered by this because it is not located in AZ or nv.

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

problem #44

Aug 302011

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
Strong fuel odor while driving, lingers when parked. Leak noticed coming from top of gas tank.

- Mason, NH, USA

problem #43

Aug 132011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
I was smelling gasoline in my garage and took my car to my local GM dealer. They confirmed that it was a cracked fuel pump in my 2006 Saturn Ion redline. This was a recall (NHTSA recall id number: 09V419000), but did not include my VIN number, so it cost me $576 out of pocket for this repair. The recall needs to be expanded.

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #42

Aug 032011

Ion

  • 53,040 miles
Vehicle started to have a strong odor of gasoline, I checked with my dealership about my warranty and it expired June 2011. I took the car to local repair shop as it was unsafe to drive. They discovered the fuel pump module was leaking fuel (as in bubbling around the top of the tank). The vehicle was repaired although the first two parts shipped in were broken upon arrival at the shop. I was provided with a copy of the special coverage bulletin #09275A addressing this exact failure. My VIN falls within the parameters but my location (Virginia) does not. The approved states all appear to be southern, hot, states. The recent temps in northern Virginia/ DC area has been very hot over the last two months. I feel that GM should reimburse me for the repair costs or at least the cost of the parts.

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #41

Aug 022011

Ion

  • 724,553 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Saturn Ion, has started to have a distinct overwhelming fuel smell and gas can be noticed under the car from a leak. It is also harder to start and may take 2 times of turning the ignition. I have taken my car to an independent repair shop and was told the fuel pump which connects to the top of the fuel tank is leaking and I will need a new fuel pump assembly and fuel filter. There is a very specific recall for this issue on GM vehicles in warm weather states, but GM is not honoring this defect in all states. It has been an unseasonably hot summer, so all states have hot weather. GM told me this is VIN specific, but if this is a defect on a part, why isn't it part specific. My car is leaking gas and could start a fire at any moment and yet GM does not see this as an issue. Many other Saturn/GM owners have posted about this default and have been denied any coverage by GM. How can this not be an issue for every state, when owners in every state that own a Saturn or other GM model are having the same issue" I am taking my Saturn to a GM dealership, and have to have them deam this as a defect. So, the company that will loose money if they have to fix this for free is determining if this is an item that qualifies" this is a conflict of interest and a recall should be posted for the safety of all GM owners.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #40

Apr 222009

Ion 4-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
I have a 2006 Saturn Ion 2. I was smelling gas. I took it to get repaired at around 119K miles and was told it was just my exhaust. I got a hole repaired in my exhaust and smelled gas just every once in awhile. Now gas is leaking from my fuel pump because there is a large hole. The independent repair shop stated that it had been cracked prior to the size of the crack now. I called Saturn after finding out about a recall and now they will not repair it.

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #39

Jul 012011

Ion

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that there was an abnormal gasoline smell inside the vehicle and was causing the contact to become ill. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) and the contact called the manufacturer regarding the recall. The manufacturer informed the contact that the vehicle was not registered in one of the states mentioned in the recall therefore the vehicle was not included in the recall. The contact did not take the vehicle to a dealer or a local mechanic for diagnostics or repairs. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #38

Jul 252011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Our 2006 Saturn Ion has a major leak in the fuel pump reservoir. The leak is defined in NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 and is listed as a recall 09226A. Dealer is confirming this is the problem our vehicle has, but GM says this as a 'special policy' repair bulletin number 09275 and not a recall 09226A. GM is refusing to fix the issue because our vehicle has a branded title as salvage. They will repair a salvage titled vehicle under a 'recall' but not on a 'special policy' extension. Dealer stated the issue is the leaky fuel pump and not cuased by any other damage. Apparently there are a lot of 2006 Saturn Ion's with the same issue that GM has slid around fixing because they didn't make it a recall, but a special policy and this is a fuel leak on the pump and a major safety issue due to an admitted faulty component.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #37

May 152011

Ion

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact smelled a fuel odor inside the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they detected a significant amount of fuel leaking consistently. The technician stated the fuel pump module would need to be replaced. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump). The VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Upper Darby , PA, USA

problem #36

Jul 132011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I have a Saturn Ion VIN number [xxx], this car has a recall for fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump, well my car has a fuel leakage under, I called GM 1800 number they told me I have to go to a Chevrolet dealer for a diagnostic, I call this jupiter Chevrolet dealer I spoke with anthony, he told me he will give me an estimate for the repairs, he said I have to pay the diagnostic between 90-100 dollars, I told him, my car has the same symptoms of the recall, he asked for the last 8 digits of my VIN number and he said, my car was not in recall, I told him but is a 2006 Saturn Ion I have a fuel leak, my fuel is dripping, I cant drive my car like that, it's unsafe, well he told me if my car is not in recall I have to repair my car on my own, I don't understand, my car has the symptoms of the recall, and the dealer doesn't want to do anything" they will do something when my car is on fire" please help me, thank you very much. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #35

Feb 012008

Ion

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that an overpowering gasoline odor was coming from vehicle. The fumes were unbearable and prevented the contact from driving the vehicle. The dealer inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that the fuel pump module was fractured and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) but did not confirm if the vehicle was included with the recall. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 128,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Deridder, LA, USA

problem #34

Apr 132011

Ion

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a local mechanic for routine maintenance. The contact was advised that there was a fuel leak caused by a faulty fuel pump. There was fuel leaking from the fuel tank and dripping down the side of the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and stated there was no recall for the vehicle and provided no further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #33

Apr 212011

Ion

  • 124,400 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the smell of fuel was excessive inside the garage. The contact noticed NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline, delivery:fuel pump). The contact called the manufacturer regarding the recall who stated that the VIN was included in the recall but the vehicle was registered in state not covered by the recall. The manufacturer stated that they would call with a decision regarding a recall in 24 hours. The contact had not received a return call from the manufacturer. The contact called the dealer regarding the recall. The dealer stated the manufacturer had to confirm the recall before they could perform a remedy repair. The contact stated the manufacturer had not responded in a timely fashion to the safety issue that could cause a fire. The failure mileage was 124,400.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #32

Feb 162011

Ion

  • 73,000 miles
There was a special policy that involved a GM recall of 53,000 Chevy cobalt, Pontiac G5 and Saturn Ion models for a fuel leak because of a faulty modular reservoir assembly on the fuel pump module that cracks. Within that recall were specifically 2006 and 2007 Saturn Ions. The recall included Alabama, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Mexico, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas. This is exactly what happened to my car. I was driving and I gradually smelled gasoline. An independent mechanic confirmed there was a gas leak. This was a big safety concern because the car could have exploded if someone threw a lit cigarette out of the window from another car while I was driving on the highway. I brought the car to the Chevy dealership and the service department confirmed it was the fuel pump module and that my VIN wasn't covered under the recall. I called Saturn to complain about it. Then they called the dealership and then Saturn called me back and told me that based on the information they have gathered, it was not a defect. A fuel pump module typically lasts the life of the car and doesn't crack. This was clearly a defective part, especially considering that they acknowledged the defect in 53,000 other 2006 Saturn Ions. Saturn should clearly compensate me for this repair and acknowledge that this is a much wider safety issue than they originally openly admitted to.

- Concord, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?