Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Fuel System, Gasoline: Delivery: Fuel Pump Problems

2006 Saturn Ion (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: When it comes to the 2006 Ion, the biggest questions are: what big problem is going to pop up next? And how long until GM chooses to address it?

The 2006 Ion has a defective ignition switch that gave owners fits. Their keys would get stuck in the ignition, the engine wouldn’t shut off or in some cases it would shut off at the most dangerous time. The ignition was eventually recalled as part of one of the largest recalls of all-time , but it took GM 10 years to do it. Then there’s this car’s temperamental power steering which is prone to stop working randomly while driving. It too was eventually recalled, even if GM took their sweet time about it.

Lastly, it turns out a car built with plastic doors, fenders and bumpers – while fun for a game of “shopping cart bocce” – is horrible for safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,612 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Saturn Ion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Saturn Ion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Sep 022014

Ion

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the vehicle was leaking fuel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200,000.

- Wrens, GA, USA

problem #38

Jan 252012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 90,878 miles
Smelled gas inside car. Fuel pump module replaced.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #37

Nov 012012

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle fuel leak. The consumer wrote in on behalf of his sister, who owns the vehicle. The consumer stated when he looked under the vehicle, he noticed gas was leaking from the tank. He took the vehicle to his mechanic, where he was informed the gas leak was above the gas tank. When the mechanic dropped the gas tank, it was discovered the leak was coming from the fuel pump connector hose. The repair shop replaced the fuel pump with a GM pump.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #36

Aug 162012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 75,608 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We smelled a very strong fuel odor- very profound, obvious, confirmed by technician at lockhart Cadillac, greenwood, in. There is a current recall out, recall number 09V41900. This recall is for a faulty fuel pump plastic assembly that cracks in extremely high temperatures and includes several western and southern or otherwise traditional "hot weather" states. GM knows it is a problem but because I live in Indiana they would not cover the repair bill. The midwest has experienced on of the hottest summers on record which is what causes this problem. I believe that the midwestern states should be added since this is a potentially fatal problem if not repaired quickly. As you full well know a simple ignition source, a spark or cigarette butt, could set this off. It would be in everyone's best interest to remedy this problem for owners in the midwest.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #35

Aug 272012

Ion 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 110,910 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that fuel fumes were emitted into the vehicle and the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel pump was leaking and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they stated that the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system). The failure mileage was 110,910 and the current mileage 111,000. Updated 11/14/12 updated 11/16/2012

- Mission , KS, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

Sep 052012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
Recently I started smelling gas around my vehicle and inside my vehicle after it had been sitting for awhile. Then the check gas cap light came on along with the check engine light, I also noticed the vehicle has a little trouble starting. I found NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 and recall 09226 both of which explain my issue. My VIN number is included in the list of affected vehicles in the recall but because my vehicle was not originally sold or currently registered in one of the state listed it is not included in the recall. How can living in one state and not another influence a recall? since there is potential for a fire I can't wait to get this fixed and will have to pay for the parts and labor on my own.

- Nashua , NH, USA

problem #33

Aug 222012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 114,074 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recently, I have noticed a strong odor of gasoline in and around the car. I searched the fuel lines to see if there was a leak and there was not. I did some research online and found the GM recall for the fuel pump of this vehicle. The NHTSA campaign number is 09V419000. I contacted GM and gave them my VIN to see if my car was one of the affected. They told me it was not. I see that the recall includes 2006 Saturn Ions in North Carolina, but apparently my car is not part of the recall. The issue with my car is exactly the same listed in the recall. I have done more research and have found over 80 other complaints from other Saturn Ion owners stating that their cars are doing exactly the same thing. However, their cars are not included in the recall either. I believe this issue affects a majority of these model cars, not just the ones listed in the recall sent out by GM.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #32

Aug 032012

Ion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that fuel fumes were emitted into the vehicle. The contact stated that after inspecting the vehicle, he noticed a fuel leak. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 84,000 and the current mileage was 85,900.....updated 12/20/12 updated 1/4/2013

- Collegeville, PA, USA

problem #31

Sep 192011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Our son had my wife's 2006 Saturn Ion at college 200 miles from home. Gas dripping from underneath car, immediately told him to take it to dealer. Dealer confirmed fuel tank return line cracked. Removed fuel tank and replaced fuel module assembly. Total bill $685.63. Can not get no satisfaction from Saturn on the recall of this vehicle. What difference what state this occurs in. NHTSA #09V419000.

- Fremont, OH, USA

problem #30

Jun 012012

Ion

  • miles
2006 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to recalls related to fuel leaks caused by a faulty hose on the fuel pump. The consumer was informed there was no recall in the state he resides in.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #29

Jun 072012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 69,780 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gasoline odor coming into car and strong odor when stopped. Dealer replaced fuel pump after diagnosing crack and leakage from fuel pump, the cost to me was $ $663.55. GM determine that no reimbursement was warranted since New Jersey is not covered by 09275A nhtsb. Can anyone explain why this Saturn Ion, which has the same fuel pump modules as other Saturn Ions, is not covered by any safety program? updated IVOQ 07/19/12.

- Mount Laurel, NJ, USA

problem #28

Jan 012012

Ion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,700 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked when a strong odor of gasonline fuel was emitted from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was informed that the fuel lines were cracked. The vehicle was not repaired. An authorized dealer was made aware of the failure and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The failure mileage was 67,700. Updated 02/22/12 the consumer was reimbursed $300 for the fuel pump, but not for the labor which was $200. Updated 03/01/12

- Macungie, PA, USA

problem #27

Jun 012011

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Saturn Ion. Consumer states in June 2011 the vehicle developed a strong odor of gasoline the consumer took the vehicle to an auto care center, where he was informed of a recall. The consumer then contacted Saturn customer service and was informed that General Motors would be releasing recalls in a batch and they were waiting for the parts. The consumer took the vehicle to a local dealer and was informed the vehicle was not covered under warranty for a fuel leak. The consumer approved the repair estimate of $500 for the replacement of the fuel pump, because evidence showed fuel was leaking from the pump. Saturn advised the consumer to contact them, once he received the recall letter so he could be reimbursed, but until then, there was nothing they could do.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #26

Sep 012011

Ion

  • miles
Saturn Ion is experiencing the same recall as NHTSA recall campaign number: 09V419000. The vehicle is registered in the state of NY so it does not fall under the recall. I don't understand why it matters what state the vehicle is registered in? it's a huge safety issue.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #25

Oct 062011

Ion

  • 102,000 miles
Gas fumes have been noticed within the car, outside the car near the fuel tank, and strongly within the trunk. There is a recall for fuel leakage #09V419000, however, my car doesn't qualify since its not registered and/or was purchased in the states listed. New Jersey had a record breaking heat and the highest amount of hot days therefore the recall/bulletin should be updated immediately to include NJ. For total repairs for this serious safety defect.this a definite safety issue and I feel that the manufacturers and dealers are accountable for this repair. They sold this vehicle with good faith and profit. I bought it for the safety, and yet this car is not safe to drive.

- Maple Shade, NJ, USA

problem #24

Sep 132011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
2006 Ion. Strong gas smell developed over a week in Sept 2011. An independent technician found gas leaking from top of tank. Research lead me to NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000. GM performed the recall on only 53K cars in AZ and nv in Oct 2009. Seems the fuel pump module connections are made of plastic and crack with heat and road vibration. However, a call to Saturn revealed they are hiding behind a VIN specific recall and that the other thousands of Ions with this serious safety-defect are only covered by GM for 10 yr/120K mile "special coverage warranty" extended to this defective part. Had Saturn/GM informed me my car might burst into flames back in Feb 2010, when they were to notify the 53K owners in AZ and nv, I would have had this repair done asap as I would still be under their "special coverage" limitation. I am angered and outraged that GM seems to take the position of "let's wait until the car becomes a death-trap" before we tell people they might be in danger and replace the defective parts. With no notification, I continued to drive my Ion. Now that the car actually has became life-threatening, I am "not covered" by GM's special coverage. My Ion does not qualify because I am over this artificial limit if 120K miles. All vehicles with this defective part should have been notified. This is criminally negligent. Bet you my mileage was below this artificial limit in February 2010. Because the problem didn't show up until after 200+ days of over 90 degree days in East Texas - I have to pay $600 to repair their obvious defect. The repair costs are unfair, but the safety issue screams for justice. I guess someone's family will have to die in a tragic fireball before someone takes GM to task for this seriously dangerous fuel system defect.

- Shepherd, TX, USA

problem #23

Aug 012011

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Saturn Ion. Consumer states difficulty starting vehicle and odor of gasoline the consumer took the vehicle to his local mechanic and he traced the problem to the area of the fuel pump. Upon further research, the mechanic found the a recall related to the problem. The consumer then took the vehicle to the dealer, but was informed the vehicle did not qualify for recall #09V419000.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #22

Aug 132011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
I was smelling gasoline in my garage and took my car to my local GM dealer. They confirmed that it was a cracked fuel pump in my 2006 Saturn Ion redline. This was a recall (NHTSA recall id number: 09V419000), but did not include my VIN number, so it cost me $576 out of pocket for this repair. The recall needs to be expanded.

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #21

Jul 242011

Ion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,100 miles
The contact own a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that she could smell a strong odor of fuel while driving, due to a fuel leak. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump), due to the state the vehicle was registered in. The failure mileage was 64,100. Updated 09/15/11 the consumer stated the state she lives in has been extremely warm much like the states included in the recall. The recall should not include certain states. Updated 09/15/11

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #20

Jul 252011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Our 2006 Saturn Ion has a major leak in the fuel pump reservoir. The leak is defined in NHTSA campaign id number 09V419000 and is listed as a recall 09226A. Dealer is confirming this is the problem our vehicle has, but GM says this as a 'special policy' repair bulletin number 09275 and not a recall 09226A. GM is refusing to fix the issue because our vehicle has a branded title as salvage. They will repair a salvage titled vehicle under a 'recall' but not on a 'special policy' extension. Dealer stated the issue is the leaky fuel pump and not cuased by any other damage. Apparently there are a lot of 2006 Saturn Ion's with the same issue that GM has slid around fixing because they didn't make it a recall, but a special policy and this is a fuel leak on the pump and a major safety issue due to an admitted faulty component.

- Plano, TX, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?