If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,357 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #43

Oct 032004

Camry 6-cyl

  • 26,712 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My '02 Toyota Camry xle has 115,530 miles on the odometer and I have had to replace all four tires four times over this period (details below). At this point, Firestone believes the problem lies with the engineering of the car somehow because their maintenance log supports the fact that I have given these tires the proper care (regular alignment checks, tire balance/rotation every 4K miles, and maintaining proper air pressure) and they are no longer willing to honor tire warranties for this vehicle because each time the tires are replaced, they are under the warranty. They claim that the probability of the problem lying with the tires is virtually impossible, given this tire history. Here are the details of dates, odometer readings, and tire details each time they were replaced: First set replaced 10/3/04 with 26,712 miles on odometer (with Firestone 106879 affinity LH30 P215/60R16 tlbl ps). Second set replaced 9/1/06 with 49,619 miles on odometer (with Bridgestone 109355 turanza ls-T w/uni-T aw bl P215/60R16 94T 80,000 warranty). Third set replaced with 91,000 miles on odometer (misplaced paperwork on details, but can provide from Firestone database if needed). Fourth set replaced 7/23/13 with 115,530 on odometer (with Bridgestone 147127 turanza w.serenity plus bl 215/60R16 95V 75,000 warranty).

- Gallatin, TN, USA

problem #42

May 222013

Camry

  • miles
No failure yet but the sidewalls of the tires are badly checked. The tires are only 5 years old and the car has been garaged or parked in the shade most of the time. There is still close to half the tread life left. I put in todays date for the "approximate incident date" just because a date is required, but there has not been an incident.

- Watsonville, CA, USA

problem #41

Mar 232012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 97,908 miles
I bought 4 new pirelli cinturato P5 tires for my 2002 Toyota Camry in February of 2010 from discount tire. I was told that these tires they easily last for 85,000 miles before having to replace them. Since then I gone back to discount tire to have them regularly rotated and balanced. Last tire rotation was in the month of December 2011. When I went to get my tires rotated and balanced again on 3-23-2012, I was told that two of the tires are already worn out and other two are close to getting worn out and I would be better off to get new tires to keep me safe while driving. I informed the sales personnel that these tires are just two years old and with less than 27,000 miles since purchased. He mentioned to me that tires many a times do not give the mileage they are rated for. In my case, I got less than 1/3rd of the rated mileage. With my driving pattern (12,000 miles/year), I would have expected these tires to last for about six years as I take good care (rotating, balancing, and alignment) of them. With my driving pattern (12,000 miles/year), I would have expected these tires to last for about six years as I take good care (rotating, balancing, and alignment) of them.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #40

Feb 222009

Camry

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tread is separation and vibration when driving.

- Marshalltown, IA, USA

problem #39

Oct 032008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 136,444 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The vehicle has sumitomo tires. While accelerating from a stop or driving up to 55 mph, the vehicle would hydroplane. The contact noticed that the tread was bald on the one year old tires. The vehicle was driven to a sears repair shop for a routine tire rotation three times within one year. On each visit, the mechanic stated that the tires were not defective. The manufacturer was not notified. The dot number, tire line, and tire size were unknown. The current mileage was 142,000 and failure mileage was 136,444. Updated 03/12/09. Updated 03/13/09.

- Middletown, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #38

Jan 152005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,453 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The vehicle has B.F. goodrich traction T/a tires, size 205/65R15 (na). The tread on all four tires has cracks on the first and last rows. B.F. goodrich offered to give the contact new tires at a 40 percent discount. The contact has pictures available. The tire failure mileage was 14,500. The vehicle failure mileage was 41,453. Updated 08/14/08 updated 08/14/08

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #37

Jul 112008

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3 flat tires faulty valve stems in all 3 tires replaced the 3 valve stem. Replaced valve stem part number is TR414.

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #36

Dec 012005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 19,180 miles
My 2002 Toyota Camry is the worst car I have ever driven in snowy conditions. It has no traction, fishtails, can barely make it up hills, etc. A mechanic (not at Toyota) also pointed out the tires were wearing unevenly and very quickly (I have put fewer than 20,000 total miles on this car). Last week I was coming around a corner in the snow (at about 10 mph) hit a slippery patch and the car seized up completely. I slid across the road and into another car. Now looking at the NHTSA site, I see that I am not alone, and that the tires that come with the car from the factory are not meant for all weather driving. I am outraged. Like others I bought this car because of its reputation as a "safe" family car. I called the service manager at my dealer who basically said "too bad. Toyota is not doing anything with tires at this time." He did admit, however, that the tires on the car are considered 'high performance' and are not meant to be used in the snow. Great. I too have an appointment to buy $500 worth of new tires tomorrow. I feel Toyota should pay for some if not all of this. Not likely. It is also not likely that I will ever buy another Toyota. People need to be informed of this very dangerous situation. It could easily be life-threatening.

- Iowa City, IA, USA

problem #35

Apr 272004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Original tires do not function on road if any light rain or snow is present. Hazardous.

- Lima, OH, USA

problem #34

Dec 012004

Camry

  • miles
Continental touring contact as tires experienced tire failure, 2 front tires have same wear pattern. The steel cable was exposed. The consumer was told that the tires seemed as if they were running while under inflated as the outside edges on all four tires were worn. The recommended pressure on the door frame was conflicting with the information on the tire.

- Kerrville, TX, USA

problem #33

Dec 012001

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The original tire that Toyota placed on my 2002 Camry xle V6 was unsatisfactory to the point of being dangerous. Even in a new condition, the tires never provided adequate traction in rain or snow, frequently sliding with the ABS system engaged. I now notice on the internet that this is a frequent complaint of many other owners of this specific tire, even on other than Toyota manufactured vehicles. The tire in question is the Bridgestone potenza RE92 P215/60R16 94V. Toyota refuses to address the problem.

- Avon, OH, USA

problem #32

Nov 072004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,100 miles
Tire separation on Goodyear tires. Driver side rear tire blew out on freeway damaging the wheelwell and scraching the car with the flying rubber. The other tire was flaking on near the treads. Goodyear is going to replace two rear tires.

- Euless, TX, USA

problem #31

Aug 182004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
2002 Toyota Camry lev6 w/15" rims. Car is unstable at high speeds. We are now on our third set of tires and the car only has 21,000 miles on it. First set (Continental) became bald on outside edge of both front tires at 9000 miles. Tires were rotated (front to rear, rear to front) and front end alignment was done. Tires became bald on outside edge after only 8000 miles (17000 total miles on car). Dealer replaced all 4 tires with dunlop and I had to pay for a four wheel alignment. After 2500 more miles car again became unstable at high speeds. It started at about 75 mph and as the tires wore it became unstable at lower speeds 55-65 mph. The dealer replaced all four tires again with Michelin this time and did another front end alignment. Now with only 1200 miles on the new tires it is again becoming unstable at high speeds 65-75 mph. We would like Toyota to acknowledge the problem and come up with a solution.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #30

Mar 312004

Camry

  • 16,200 miles
Complaint regarding tire equipment on 2003 Toyota Camry. Firestone denied honoring the warranty for the defective tires. The authorized Bridgestone and Firestone dealer informed the consumer if he could not produce the receipts to show that the tires were rotated every 5000 to 6000 the warranty would not be covered. The consumer's cell#: 973.462.0888

- Whippany, NJ, USA

problem #29

Apr 142004

Camry

  • miles
Purchased 2002 Toyota Camry xle on 4/16/02. The car was equipped with Bridgestone potenza P215/60R16 94V RE92 tires. Experienced very poor performance this past winter. Traction very bad in winter conditions and also wet roads w/O snow. Brought car to the dealer for service on 4/14/04 with 19.020 miles on it and was told I had to replace the tires due to excessive tread wear. I refused to pay for four new tires and replace the front two for my own safety. I have sent a letter to Bridgestone & I am awaiting a reply. Other numbers on the tires were 34350 exbm 25816-2 E 92 mz tread wear 160.

- Latham, NY, USA

problem #28

Mar 192004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
While driving at low speeds or parking in a parking space the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The dealer inspected the vehicle six different times but could not duplicate or correct the problem. See voq 10062883. On one occasion while parking the vehicle surged forward and hit a post (no damage reported). The consumer had to replace the tires at 21000 miles because they would not move while on ice or snow.

- Paris, KY, USA

problem #27

Jan 012002

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Rotten egg smell since the car was purchased. Complained to Toyota dealership and the regional rep without a resolution. The rep suggestion was to just put premium gas in it. Certainly not what I expected from Toyota but I have been putting premium gas in the car and it does seems to tame the smell somewhat. In addition we have had problems with the front alignment and the car pulls to the left. Have purchased a life time alignment warranty but it still seems to go out of alignment quickly. Also have a constant wind problem with the driver side front door. Been repaired once, going into the shop again to repair. Also the original tires had to be replaced at 24,000 miles. I wouldn't consider a Toyota in future car purchases.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #26

Mar 192002

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Car pulled to the left from the day it was purchased. Dealership tried on 3 separate occasions to fix the problem with no luck. They blamed the roads. Tires were also useless under snowy conditions, providing minimal traction.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #25

Jan 242002

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Hi! this is regarding my Camry 2002. Tires started balding unevenly, noticed at 4000 miles secondary to faulty alignment. Tires front two only replaced by Toyota on lodging a complaint. Tires were again balding after another 4000 miles or so. Faulty alignment. Toyota and dealer refuse to acknowledge my concerns and have got alignment checked on a monthly basis times 3 and has been faulty on each occasion. Tires went completely worn out, bald with the metal wires coming out.(have all 4 tires as evidence). I had to purchase four new tires and get the alignment fixed on each occasion within the first one year of purchasing my new Camry. I have spent more than $1000 on tires and alignment and Toyota refuses to help me out in correcting the faulty alignment and all the trouble I have been through with a new car!!!

- Uniontown, PA, USA

problem #24

Jan 052003

Camry

  • miles
2002 Toyota Camry noticeable pulling to the left after regular tire rotation, alignment. Premature wear of tires to the point of replacement at 21, xxx miles.fter researching on Toyota message boards, this appears to be a common and potentially serious issue that needs to be addressed by Toyota.

- Jacksonville Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?