Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2004 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2004 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2004 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
22 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 1
Average Mileage:
63,960 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Camry seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

May 012012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


Airbag light illuminated. Code B1801 was present. Coil spring / spiral cable needed to be replaced.

- Islip Terrace, NY, USA

problem #19

Jun 192012

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the driver was traveling 15 mph when the vehicle began to accelerate uncontrollably. The driver attempted to brake, but the vehicle failed to respond. The driver attempted to turn off the vehicle. However, the vehicle was unresponsive. The driver crashed against the pavement, a fence and then dove into a creek. The air bags did not deploy. The driver sustained a concussion and injuries to the back and neck. The vehicle was destroyed. The police were called and a police report was filed. The current and the failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 08/16/12...updated 03-10-16

- Valley Cottage, NY, USA

problem #18

Mar 122012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 106,100 miles
The from passenger SRS airbag assembly is coming off, exposing something like yellow padding which may be indication of manufacturing defect. This may cause fatalities during accident.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #17

Dec 152010


  • 47,217 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While parked, the air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel and stayed on. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technicians stated the sensors could be reprogrammed but they could not guarantee that would repair the failure. The technicians stated if the reprogram did not work the front passenger seat would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 47,217.

- South Uclip, OH, USA

problem #16

Jun 222010


  • 66,000 miles
I was driving the vehicle on rt 684 going South towards white plains westchester county NY, around 6:00 pm, I was driving in the middle lane at 65 mile speed, then I was changing from middle lane to the left lane, suddenly the vehicle went to in appropriate and uncontrolled acceleration and drifted to the middle island, the car was forced to stop by the shrubs and small trees. I was able to get out of the car, called 911, went back to my seat and the police and ambulance came and took me to northerwestchester hospital in mt kisco NY.

- Cranbury , NJ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

May 012010


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The passenger side air bag light illuminated immediately after the vehicle was turned on. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the vehicle needed a new rear crash sensor as well as a new passenger seat. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 66,000.

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #14

Feb 272010


  • 72,000 miles


The front left of the car was making noise. When I drive, the steering wheel was vibrating when I press the brake. When I was driving on the freeway, the steering wheel stopped working. As the steering wheel did not work, I tried to stopped the car by pressing the brakes, but that did not stop the car. The front of my car hit into the center divider on the freeway and then the back of my car also hit the divider. When the car finally stopped I was blocking 3 lanes on a 5 lane freeway facing traffic. The air bags did not deploy even though I was driving 55 mph. The front bumper completely detached from the car. I suffered whiplash including neck and shoulder pains. I just had my car maintained about a month ago.

- Oak Park, CA, USA

problem #13

Nov 212009


  • 63,000 miles
To whom it may concern: Without hearing the news related to Toyota vehicle recall, I have felt really stupid how I could have had the accident. Recalling the process of the accident, I might have to say it was weird. Before the crash, I clearly noticed the red light and a stopped car just in front of me on N perkins rd, close to mcelroy rd in stillwater, Oklahoma, and the distance was more than 20 meters apart at that moment. I pressed on the brake pedal as usual, but my car did not slow down until hit the car before mine, and the airbag did not pop out. My face was knocked onto the steering wheel and one of my glasses smashed, fortunately not making me blind, and two teeth in mouth were bleeding along with some scratches on my face. The car was totaled at the speed of less 40 mi/H. people love Toyota vehicles for the reason of saving gas at the sacrifice of safety. Shortly, the police and ambulance arrived. I declined any medical arrangement after being tested that my mind was under control and could make decision clearly because I was not sure whether my insurance covers the cost or not. And now, as the problem with Toyota vehicles was disclosed, I feel my accident might also be due to the same gas pedal defect. (in stillwater, Oklahoma, call: 405-372-4171 to request a report). Insurance company safeco.

- Stillwater, OK, USA

problem #12

Dec 192009


  • 122,000 miles
Since Toyota is having all these problems I want to bring up a problem with my Toyota Camry that is a safety issue but has not caused a problem yet. It is out of warranty. About a two months ago I got an airbag malfunction light. I also noticed that the light on the console that tells you whether there is a passenger in the front passenger seat was malfunctioning too. So with someone in the front right seat, the indications are that the system thinks there is no one there so the airbag is off. I said something to the dealer but he did not mention anything about a recall. There is 122K miles on the car. Maybe this is just some sensor that wore out but I wanted to mention it with all the other safety issues going on with Toyota.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #11

Aug 242007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While switching lanes at 35 mph, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. She stated that the tires slid without resistance and the air bags failed to deploy. The police arrived on the scene and filed a report. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but no repairs were made. The contact sustained several minor injuries. The powertrain was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 23,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #10

Jul 132007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,016 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving 20 mph, the contact's vehicle was struck on the driver side door by another vehicle. The side and front air bags failed to deploy. The contact suffered a head injury. The insurance company or the dealer will not investigate the failure. A police report was filed. The vehicle is currently being repaired. The current and failure mileages were 20,016.

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #9

Oct 072006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
I was entering a parking space. My Toyota Camry (2004), had a surge of acceleration while I was depressing the brake. It would not stop causing my vehicle to lunge forward through a parking sign and a cement curve. The air bags failed to deploy at the time to crash.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #8

Aug 292006

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 40mph, the vehicle was struck by another vehicle in the right passenger side door and the passenger side door glass shattered onto the occupant. Additionally, the airbags did not deploy. The contact was wearing a seatbelt, but minor injuries were sustained. There was moderate damage to the vehicle. The police were alerted and a report was taken at the scene. The vehicle was towed to the body repair shop for inspection of the damage by an insurance adjustor. The manufacturer was not alerted.

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #7

Nov 252005

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
: the contact stated while accelerating from a stop at about 25 mph at a crossroad a truck turning left hit the contact's vehicle head on. Upon impact, the air bags did not deploy. Both occupants were wearing seat belts but sustained injuries. The crash was documented by the police. The dealer and manufacturer speculated that the speed was not fast enough or not hit properly for the air bags to deploy. The vehicle was deemed totaled.

- Williston , NY, USA

problem #6

Apr 262005

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
On April 26, 2005, my daughter driving a 2004 Toyota Camry le (V6) rear-ended another vehicle (an Acura) at an speed of 50+ mph and none of the airbags in the Camry were deployed. Drivers of both cars were taken to hospital for further evaluation. Later, I contacted Toyota Corp. Which had one of its inspector inspect the wrecked vehicle and determined "the airbags operated as designed." I have requested on at least two occasions a copy of the inspection report and other related documents and memos from Toyota Corp and they have refused to provide me with the requested documents. In a May 16, 2005, letter sent to me by Toyota, they have stated that "the SRS airbags are not designed to inflate if the vehicle is subjected to a rear impact, if it rolls over or if it is involved in a low speed frontal collision." In reality, our Camry was not rear-ended, did not roll over, and had a high speed frontal collision of 50+mph.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #5

Nov 262004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,931 miles
My son was driving my Toyota Camry in a bad rain storm. He went off the road and hit a pole. He broke his collar bone and missed 30 days of work. When the vehicle was inspected we were told the reason the air bag did not deploy was because there was not an air bag in the drivers side of the vehicle.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #4

Nov 012004


  • miles
The air bag on and air bag off, indicator lights indicate the activation of front passenger airbag, side airbag on front seat failure. The dealer advised the consumer that a person 70 lbs or more should activate the air bag on light and afford the front passenger protection.

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #3

Mar 142004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Difficulty shifting from park to reverse, then upon shifting into drive the car accelerated uncontrollably, would not stop, collided with a mobile home, air bags did not deploy, resulting in the death of one passenger and injury of driver see also voq 10171110.. updated 03/05/10 updated IVOQ 08/23/10 updated 9/21/2011

- Phoenix, OR, USA

problem #2

Feb 252004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- new Toyota Camry le purchased January 2004 - on February 25th key would not turn (took 10 - 15 minutes to start it) - later while parking, the car the steering locked turning the car to the right - the car accelerated and surged despite depressing the brake (same as ODI peo4021) - though the car broke a metal flag pole, damaged a retaining wall, and fell seven feet into a major street, the air bags did not deploy - car is severely damaged: Wheels, tires, front end, gas tank, front axle - driver has a swollen and sore knee along with significant soft tissue injuries including back pain

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #1

Mar 232004


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer noticed in front passenger's seat the passenger side air bag system became disabled. Dealer admitted there was problem with the design of the air bag system. Consumer is heavy set and well over the manufacturers threashold of 80lbs, 6.2 in height and the psir will not activate almost 100% of the time wneh seated in the pasenger front seat. When other people get into the seat that weight less then consumer the psir classification system will activate. Currently in arbitration. Dealer can not fix

- Escanaba, MI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?