Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2005 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2005 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2005 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
137 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
70 / 5
Average Mileage:
37,326 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 12 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Sep 112005

Camry 4-cyl

  • 2,931 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 9/11/05 our 2005 Toyota Camry suddenly accelerated (sa) while the driver was slowly turning into a local parking lot. Applying the brakes did not stop the auto but did leave skid marks on the pavement, as noted by the police. We turned off the ignition after several seconds but crashed into two parked cars. The car was towed to an auto body shop and later to a Toyota body shop. Toyota kept us from repairing the car for 12 days until their expert inspected the car. He reported no brake or throttle problem and disregarded the skid marks evidence.. we don't know if he checked the cruise control. A recent request for that information has given no response. Toyota reported that nothing was wrong. We sold the car back to Toyota at a $10,000 loss. After a month, the driver developed a severe right hip pain, attributed to the accident by two doctors. She recovered slowly with much therapy. We did not keep the car because we found that, in several cases at least, a repaired sa car had a second sa. The possibility of a malfunctioning cruise control linkage was possibly not investigated. See ODI 10136882.

- Teaneck,, NJ, USA

problem #17

Nov 072005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
Contact states vehicle surged forward, lost control and hit another vehicle. She depressed the brakes, but the vehicle would not stop. There were no injuries, and no police report was taken. The dealer informed her no other failures of this type have been reported. It was the opinion of the manufacturer that it was driver's error. Updated 12/14/2005. The vehicle was parked when it suddenly accelerated. Updated 12/01/10. Updated 12/08/10

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #16

Aug 312005

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact stated on three separate occasions the engine raced and the vehicle lunged forward. This happened with his foot on the brake, and when shifting from park to drive. The vehicle has been to the dealership multiple times, but they could not diagnose the problem. The manufacturer has been contacted, and they recommended taking the vehicle back to the dealership. Updated evoq 10/08/10 the consumer stated the sudden acceleration occurred several times, since the fall of 2005. Updated evoq 04/19/12 the consumer stated he experienced sudden acceleration from 2005-2010. It appeared to be a problem mostly likely caused by a defective microprocessor. Updated 04/09/14

- Pelham , MA, USA

problem #15

Mar 132005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car surges. It has done this twice. The dealer can't find anything wrong with the car, and Toyota stands behind the dealer. Accidents were avoided both times.

- Ferdinand, IN, USA

problem #14

Sep 112005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,391 miles
I was making a left turn into the garrison parking lot, teaneck, driving my 2005 Camry. I pressed very lightly on the accelerator. The car suddenly had a surge of acceleration disproportionate to my gentle tapping of the gas pedal. Pressing the brake pedal and also turning the ignition key off did not slow the car down sufficiently to prevent a crash into two parked cars. There were no occupants in the parked car. My husband, irving J. borowitz, was with me. We had no apparent injuries at that time except for left shoulder ache (grace). We were both traumatized. The Camry is at a Toyota body shop, awaiting inspection by Toyota representative tom morin on Sept. 23. our allstate insurance adjuster estimated partial cost of repairs at $5025. No repairs have been done yet. The Camry has 2391 miles. Referred to you by leonrad burchman (voice of the elderly). Car purchased Feb 26, 2005 at parkway Toyota, englwd cliffs, NJ. See ODI 10145141.

- Teaneck, NJ, USA

problem #13

Sep 042005

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,100 miles
After being involved in a rear end collision (with my Camry xle V6) when reversing out of a parking spot at a busy restaurant, I attempted to pull forward a foot or two and park by putting the car into drive (not pressing the accelerator). Upon pressing the brake to park the car accelerated forward uncontrollably (without application of the gas pedal) crashing into the car parked in front of me and pushing that car into the car directly across the parking lot from it. The car directly across the parking lot was pushed over the concrete parking block and into a tree. After pushing the car in front of me, I was able to steer away from other cars and was finally able to stop the car only by using the emergency brake. From the time the car accelerated forward without pressing the gas pedal the brakes did not work. After clearing the cars I looked down to make sure I was using the brake pedal, which I was, and it was not working at all. During this entire incident there was a very loud and consistent noise coming from my car. The car is currently being inspected.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #12

Aug 182005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My one week old Toyota Camry's speedometer doesn't show the correct speed. Bell road Toyota told me there's a 10% tolerance so if it's not off by more than that they won't fix it. Mine is off by 10% and I think that's a hazard. Every time I look down at the speedometer I have to do the math to figure out how fast I'm actually going. It's distracting to me and it's a danger to other drivers when I'm going slower than all the other traffic because of the speedometer being incorrect. I think the tolerance should be lower.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #11

Aug 032005

Camry

  • miles
2005 Toyota Camry SE developed a problem with building up acceleration after slowing down. When accelerating from a low speed the consumer noticed hesitation while trying to regain speed.

- Flowery Branch, GA, USA

problem #10

Jul 292005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
On July 29, 2005 when the consumer pressed the brake pedal the vehicle accelerated. This had occurred 3 times. The vehicle has a little over 1000 miles on it. The manufacturer gave the consumer a reference number to give to the dealer when he takes the vehicle to them.

- Sivlerspring , MD, USA

problem #9

Jun 272005

Camry

  • miles
2005 Toyota Camry surges forward when the brakes are depressed.** answer required***. as a result the vehicle was involved in an accident.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #8

Jan 012005

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Toyota Camry xle intermittently stalls when trying to accelerate from the stop position. The dealer explained to the consumer that the vehicle was redesigned eliminating the accelerator linkage cable and that the behavior is typical and normal for that the 2005 Camry.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #7

Jun 042005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,600 miles
The consumer owns a 2005 Toyota Camry; she took the vehicle to the car wash. The vehicle was put into neutral, once it came off of the conveyer belt she entered the vehicle, put her foot on the gas and the vehicle did not move, the vehicle was put into drive with her foot on the brake. The vehicle accelerated into traffic, the vehicle hit a median strip. The airbags deployed and the consumer was knocked unconscious. She then hit a school building. She has a fractured leg, neck and facial injuries.. the vehicle was inspected but nothing was found. This happened June 4, 2005. The consumer is not sure whether there was a police report taken. She was taken to the emergency room immediately and has not left the hospital since. Updated 10/06/10. Updated 10/08/10 updated 10/14/10. Updated 10/19/10 updated 03/15/11 the vehicle was inspected by a mechanic who stated the idle control was stuck, which caused the sudden acceleration. Toyota then inspected the vehicle and stated there was nothing wrong. Updated 05/13/11 updated 09/18/15

- Roxbury, MA, USA

problem #6

Jul 052005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Contact states after reading the owner's manual it stated not to let the engine idle for more than 20 minutes at a time. Contact did not know this at the time of purchase. He has contacted the service dealer and the manufacturer of the vehicle. The service manager from the dealership said they did not know this was listed in the manual. The contact did file a claim with the manufacturer, the reference # is 20050609014.

- Ft Myers, FL, USA

problem #5

Jun 172005

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,200 miles
Pulling out of a mall had my foot on the brake instead of it slowing down the vehicle surged forward. This happened before, at first just thought it was consumer but this was the second time this happened. Vehicle was repaired.

- Norwich, CT, USA

problem #4

Apr 052005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer experienced sudden acceleration 11 times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer after each incident, but the cause was still undetermined.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #3

Mar 012005

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
Toyota Camry xle 2005, while driving vehicle stalled. As the consumer applied the accelerator from a stop that is when the feeling of stalling would occur. The dealer told the consumer the vehicle does not have a linkage cable, but a sensor at the gas pedal; upon depressing the pedal the computer does all the rest and hesitation is normal.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #2

Feb 012005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
Toyota Camry le model has three problems: Idle control is above 2400, rod that hold piston is not secure to hold it tight and causing the piston to jiggle around, Toyota said that is a defective part and should replace the engine. And weather seal is inadaquate, you can hear all traffice noise with radio on full volume. Dealer is very unfriendly and they gave me run around, they replaced the engine without my permission and still has same problems I had before they replace the engine and has not fix the other problems and refuses to give anyone else's name to talk to. 800# tells me to call dealer and dealer tells me to call 800# and still unable to resolve this issue. I will never buy Toyota or recommend to anyone. Becouse of the poor service when you have problem they do not want to talk to you and they give you run around.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #1

Nov 122004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles
The vehicle increases in RPM's without touching the accelerator pedal. When approaching a traffic light the RPM's will increase from 750 to 900 RPM's. the consumer took the vehicle back to the dealer. Also contacted the manufacturer. It was explained to the consumer that this was the current design of the vehicle. There was potential for an accident to occur in stop and go traffic. The consumer was aware of two other owners of this same make and model who have experienced the same problem.

- Palm City, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?