Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
100,883 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 7 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

May 012013

Camry 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles


In 2007 I bought brand new Toyota Camry in usa. In 2009 I took that car to poland with me. In May 2013 of this year I started having problems with my breaks. I took it for tests to a dealership in elk poland where I live and they said there is a defective brake booster & vacuum tube that needs to be replaced. Dealership said tat should not happen to a car that has only 29000 miles on it. I have a copy of paperwork that I received from them. My dealership advised me to contact Toyota usa to see if they can send the new part under warranty because it is clearly defective. When I came to usa in May 2013 I contacted Toyota usa but they refused to look into the problem because they said car is in poland right now. They advised me to contact Toyota in poland, I did and they said that they are not responsible for defective parts because car was originally purchased in usa. I contacted Toyota usa again in September 2013 but once again they refused taking nay liability for that and they said I have to pay for the new part and to have that part replaced. This is unacceptable how Toyota does not care about customers safety. I am not sure what to do at this point. New part costs about $600. I understand paying for maintenance or part replacement due to the usage however it was clearly a defect that could cause an accident. Please help.

- Schiller Park, IL, USA

problem #22

Mar 162010


  • 16,671 miles
A pulsation was detected in the brake pedal when the brakes were applied. It appeared that the vehicle's rotors had warped. Following replacement of the rotors and the brake pads, the same condition was observed at 45,737 miles. This condition likely increases the stopping distance of the car.

- Mashpee, MA, USA

problem #21

Aug 162013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 89,900 miles
About two days ago, I was driving and my instrument panel started doing some crazy stuff. The brake light and ABS light came on, and my temp gauge, RPM, and odometer started fluctuating. This lasted about 30-45 seconds the first time. Since then it happens intermittently every time IM driving and it lasts a couple of minutes each time. I was already scheduled to go in for an oil change today, so I had the service department at my local dealer check out this problem also. The tech first quoted a $53 diagnostic fee, but called me back a couple of hours later to say that they need a more extensive diagnostic process, which would increase the fee to $99. She also said that I needed brakes and a battery ($202 front brakes+$118 battery+$89 brake fluid replace). About an hour later, she called me back and gave me the devastating news that my ABS actuator/skid control computer needed to be replaced. The cost was $1686 for the part, and the total with labor would be $2035. This did not include my $40 oil change, battery, and breaks. Nevertheless, I opted to wait on the $2000 ABS issue. I went to pick up my car and was actually charged $148 for the diagnostic fee. Essentially, I paid $199 for an oil change and for them to diagnose a problem that they already knew to be a common Camry problem. I would have never purchased a Toyota if I had known that this was a common problem. Also this is a Toyota specific part, so it's not like you can shop around for a deal. I have to pay this ridiculous amount of money because I don't want my children riding in an unsafe car. I'm so disgusted right now.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #20

Feb 232012

Camry 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles


I have a 2007 Toyota Camry.. I have had my recalls fixed. But now it is doing the same thing again.. the other day my brakes would not hold I thought I was going to hit the car in the front of me and my child was in the car with me... then when I start to take off it sounds like that it is trying to go into gear. And it revs up and I have took it in to dealership and they cant seem to find out what is wrong with it and of course I am at the end of my warranty. The other day it would barley pull up a hill.

- Dahlonega, GA, USA

problem #19

Jul 262013

Camry 4-cyl Diesel

  • 56,000 miles
While driving at speed 45 coming to brake car slides before braking its like the care doesn't want to stop and speedup I had the car for only 3 months I don't know what to do about the situation autojocks middlebury ct only gave me a 60 day war this vehicle I need to know what to do.this vehicle does not appear to be safe.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #18

Jul 112013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the engine light illuminated and there was a knocking sound while braking. The contact stated that the brakes failed to respond. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The contact was not aware of the necessary repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Canton, MA, USA

problem #17

Jul 112013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 128,385 miles


For several months, car steering wheel, and at times, car as a whole vibrates; then, upon driving around corner, going only 25 mph on 07/11/2013, suddenly, speedometer, RPM gauge, oil gauge all began jumping erratically, all at times going to zero, then the ABS and brakes lights came on. (just had oil change done 3 weeks ago, with tire rotation of brand new tires (first rotation), and all 4 brakes pads replaced 2 weeks ago.). happened for few seconds, was aware, but didn't think about it anymore. Next day, driving only 40mph, same thing again, but also this time, speedometer went and stayed at 0, as well as RPM and oil the same way, and car felt like it was going to fall apart underneath. I pulled off road, checked book, and said to go right to dealer. Went to an advanced auto store for diagnosis. Battery checked out good, thought was possibly the alternator may need replacing, though check pretty normal. Same day, drove to auto repair where they know me, and they wanted $235 to order a part to fix the ABS system. Said it would cost me $825 there, versus about $2000 at dealer. This was all after their diagnosis that battery and alternator appeared fine. They told me this is very serious, life/death situ. They said if someone pulled out in front of me, my car would probably not stop, only skid/slide. Later that day, on a stretch of road near home, I tried driving about 45-50mph, and then braked suddenly to see what it would do.(did this 4X). It did not stop suddenly, but skidded/slid to a stop, and underneath, it sounded as if car was going to fall apart! all kinds of noises! had alternator replaced 2 days ago, but is still happening; even driving on interstate yesterday, speedometer went to zero twice, gauges all erratic. Was supposed to drive to mi from fl today, but don't even feel safe locally! online, have found many with same problems (2007 Camry)!

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #16

Jul 132013


  • 128,300 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry le. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph the ABS and brake warning indicators illuminated and the instrument panel displayed zero. In addition, while driving, the vehicle began to vibrate and the failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The alternator was replaced by the driver of the vehicle. The failure persisted after the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 128,300.

- Meldourne, FL, USA

problem #15

May 152013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 43,674 miles
Front brake rotor, right side only, warped, I have replaced the rotor, now when I apply the brakes I get an extreme vibration on the front right side. I have looked at the webb, car, and found this condition on several other Toyota Camry's. I called the local dealer and they stated there were no recalls or service bulletin's on this subject. I have E-mailed Toyota (last week) and have not had a response. I am not asking for any warranty or anything free. I just want to know what is wrong with the brake system. We are afraid to drive this car. It is very dangerous at 60 mph. I believe that the problem is with the ABS brake system. I have owned and worked on cars for 50+ years and have not had a condition like this. I looked up the NHTSA id # 10025856 I am not sure that this would be the same.

- Republic , MO, USA

problem #14

Apr 052013


  • 120,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry is experiencing electrical problems. The speedometer goes to zero, the brake light and ABS light comes on and the gauges go haywire. The problem last for a few minutes at a time. This is dangerous as I can't tell how fast I'm driving. The tire pressure light stays on as well. No codes come up in the diagnostic testing. I have taken it to several mechanics and I've spent lots of time and money to find out what's wrong to no avail. I don't think I'll never buy another Toyota. It's funny the problem began as I am about to make the last payment.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #13

Jun 052013


  • 116,000 miles


As I was driving my 2007 Toyota Camry over 60 mph on the expressway, my brake light and ABS light both came on. The speedometer went down to 0 speed and the RPM & temperature gauge were bouncing up & down. The ac fan also shut off. I tried the emergency brake on a parking lot and they do not work when the above mentioned happens!! I took it to Toyota dealership and they said it "seems" to be the brake actuator assembly and that repairing it will be $2500+. they did tell me that they have seen this problem before and that it is nothing I did wrong- just a "defective" part that Toyota has not recalled "yet". I foresee class-action suits/cases regarding this issue in the near future!! I am extremely disappointed at Toyota's unreliability and lack of customer satisfaction.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #12

Jun 132013


  • miles
I was riding down the road. As I approach the light my car wouldn't stop my brake I began to notice brake were being pushed to the floor I began to try topump brakes. As I was tryin to stop car I heard this noise like air was coming out of tires. Then I realized it was my brakes making noise. I pull up emergency brake and was able to stop. My 4 mth old grand baby was in his car seat in back, all I could do was pray and thank god. I wasn't far from my home. I drove car home using emergency brakes. Next day my husband took car to shop. They are saying my brake boost has broken and was leaking and there advice was not to drive car. Leave it with them.this happen all of a certain, I had drove that car every day this wk. To fix this car it is going to cost 1300 dollars.

- Abbeville, SC, USA

problem #11

Jan 112013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I was driving home on a rainy day and when I tried to brake, they were not responsive and I had to drive off the highway to avoid hitting another vehicle. When I proceeded to accelerate, the pedal got stuck and kept accelerating. I took it to the Toyota dealership and they told me nothing was wrong and they could not reproduce the same scenario. Instead they gave me a list of other "issues" that needed to be taken care of. I kindly declined.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #10

Dec 222012


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V491000 (visibility:power window devices and controls) and since then, the brake warning light illuminates intermittently. The contact also stated that the RPM gauge fluctuates without warning. The vehicle was not taken to a mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Baron Rouge, LA, USA

problem #9

Oct 222012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
My 6-cylinder Camry xle was wrecked in an accident because the brakes failed the pedal would not depress. The Camry was serviced regularly at a Toyota dealer. It had less than 49,000 miles on it and was in excellent condition. At the time of the accident, the road, weather, and visibility were good. I wasn't speeding, texting, phoning, eating, drinking, or being distracted from driving in any way. There was only one cause for the accident the brake pedal would not depress. Only seconds before I used the brake twice at low speeds. It was not human error. It was mechanical failure. Other cases involving the Camry 2007 have been reported on the U.S. department of transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's (NHTSA) complaint web portal, and Similar to the other incidents, there was no warning; I had applied my brakes at stops only seconds earlier. It was a harrowing experience. I couldn't stop for a red light and crashed with another car. I saw the red light with plenty of time to stop if only the brakes had worked! I and the other driver walked away, but my car was totaled and the other driver's car was damaged. Similar to the other incidents, Toyota could not detect or replicate the problem. But that does not mean it didn't exist. This is a very dangerous situation that must be addressed. It is my opinion that Toyota should issue a recall to the public. I've talked to a couple of master mechanics and they quickly replied that the problem was a power brake assist failure. Despite my phone calls to Toyota's North american headquarters and ultimately a letter to the CEO, Toyota denied responsibility and my claim.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #8

Oct 202012

Camry 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
The first indication was the crl came on with codes P0171 and then P0174. When pressing the brake pedal down, there is a hissing noise and the brake pedal would basically go all the way to the floor. It sounds as if this has happened quite a bit with this model and should be looked into. The dealer has told me that the brake booster must be replaced and that the vehicle is not safe to drive at this point.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #7

Sep 142010

Camry 6-cyl

  • 52,936 miles
I have had my front rotors resurfaced due warpage on two different occasions (9/2010 & 9/2012-80K). The issue can be seen primarily when driving at highway speeds and then slowing down to get on off ramp, where car would shake uncontrollably to the point of steering wheel shaking out of your hand when brakes were applied. Other times steering would visibly shake, but not to the point of shaking out of your hand, when traveling in town at lower speeds when stopping at stop lights.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #6

Aug 152012


  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that when the brake pedal was depressed the vehicle would shake abnormally. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who replaced the rear rotors however, the failure was not corrected. The ABS warning light was illuminated and the brake pedal had to be depressed several times in order to bring the vehicle to a stop. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 72,000.

- Crest View , FL, USA

problem #5

Sep 042012


  • 73,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, she attempted to depress the brake pedal but the vehicle exhibited an abnormal increase in stopping distance and time. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the brake booster needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 73,500.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #4

Jul 012012

Camry 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the ABS and brake warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The speedometer reading also decreased to zero. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for a diagnostic test. The mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000....updated 07-15-13 updated 07/19/2013

- Los Gatos, CA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?