Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,225 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #9

Jul 212009


  • 29,340 miles


2007 Toyota Camry 4 door this has taken off at high rate of speed 3 times since last July 21st 2009.

- Clinton, MA, USA

problem #8

May 192009


  • 10,083 miles
On May 19, 2009 I was involved in a rear end accident. This occurred due to a faulty accelerator mechanism that caused unexpected burst of speed.this was the was the only occurrence of this problem. Toyota had a recall and did the required repairs.

- Belmont, CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 222008


  • 30,025 miles
The gas pedal automatically engaged itself causing the car to accelerate and hit the side concrete curb causing about $14500 damage.

- Lombard, IL, USA

problem #6

Apr 202008


  • 14,564 miles


On 7/31/2007, I purchased a brand new Toyota Camry SE from knoxville Toyota. On April 20, 2008, I was driving my Toyota Camry SE westbound on route 26 just West of columbia, SC, at a speed of 60mph. I then hit my cruise control to increase the speed to pass a vehicle, when my accelerator stuck and my speed went almost immediately to 105 mph. All efforts to unstick my accelerator failed me.( I am a 54 yr old retired fbi special agent who has often been in high speed pursuit- so I know how to handle vehicles at high speeds) traffic was relatively heavy, with a couple 18 wheelers, and several cars with families in front of me. I recalled there being a flyer of warning by Toyota on rubber mats, so I reached down, yanked the rubber mat off the floor and threw it into the back seat, all the while standing on the brake pedal, trying to get the car not to hit vehicles in front of me. Finally I put the car in neutral and coasted the car out of traffic. Smoke was coming out of my front brakes, and once on the right side median, I turned the car off. Let it cool down, then got back on rt 26. Less than five minutes later, while passing a slower vehicle, my accelerator stuck again, and the speed got to 95 mph before I put the car in neutral again and turned it off. I brought my car into the knoxville Toyota dealership 4/21/08 (complaint of 4/21/08 was documented at Toyota knoxville, po box 30069, knoxville tn.)and they put it on their machine and said "nothing was wrong." For the next year, I experienced shimming of my front tires when braking. On 5/5/09, I paid over $171 to repair warped rotors. When the re-call occurred, I reminded them of my event, which appears to have been an electronic issue involving my cruise control on the first event. They put my car in to have their "fix" done to my accelerator, however I am not convinced it fixed my issue. I am very concerned that Toyota has hidden this problem from its customers, and I am not convinced this vehicle is safe.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #5

Sep 032009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
My mother was just moving my car from the drive way to inside our gate. My car is a Toyota 2007 Camry 4 door V6. My mom said she did not even step on the gas and the thing took off. The car went through the garage door, several antique furniture one of which is a 500 lb oak bar and then through the other side of the garage. Needless to say my mother was not injured.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Mar 012009


  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
I have a 2007 Camry 4cyldr automatic, that has problems accelerating. This usually happens at least once a day. For example if I take off from a red light or a stop, the car will hesitate like it is stalling and then will proceed to take off. This is an inconsistent problem that when I complained at the dealership they could not reproduce the problem. The other example is that the car exhibits is that when you take your foot off the gas pedal the car will slow down but as you re-apply your foot the car will hesitate or stall until you remove your foot and re-apply it. I have 60000 miles on my car and it has had all the timely services done to it. It has been a great car up until about a year ago when the problem began. Roughly 45000 miles ago. I fear that this may result in an inability to drive defensively and result in an accident. Neither my wife nor I are aggressive drivers, and we don't feel that this is as a result of harsh driving. I did take the car into the dealer to find out if it was part of the gas pedal recall that is going on and they said that it was not. I hope that Toyota will make a timely decision on this as I had hoped to purchase another Toyota in the future.

- Aloha, OR, USA

problem #3

Aug 042008


  • miles


Hello, I own Camry le 07 and after I fill my car full fuel or gas I heard the fuel generate shaking sound when I press sudden brake and first of all I thought there is something in my trunk playing but after I concentrate to hear I found it is fuel shaking, I just want to know is that could be problem or not. Thank you for your efforts.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #2

Mar 162007

Camry 16-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 25-45 mph, the transmission surged periodically. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of failure. The vehicle drove 18 miles per gallon in city driving only. The failures have not been corrected. The current mileage was 1,700 and failure mileage was 15.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #1

May 172007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Camry and it has stalled numerous times. It is like when I pulled out from a stop sign or a stop light the car did not want to go. This problem has been going on for about 4 months. I took the car to Toyota of gastonia on April 19th 2007 for this problem, the technician told me he was going to do a work order, and it would take about 1 to 2 hrs. To fix it. Then shortly he came back and told me they were not going to be able to do anything to the car that he would call me back with an appointment in a couple weeks. Four weeks had gone by. I took the car back to Toyota of gastonia on May 17th 2007 another technician did another work order and the car was in the shop only about 30 mintues. Then they said the problem had been fixed. On May 20, 2007 my daughter was in the car with me when I was pulling out from a stop sign and it stalled on me again. For the third time I went back to Toyota of gastonia on May 21st a gentleman named greg did another work order on my car and scheduled an appt. For me to meet with a representative on Thursday May 24th at 1:00 pm.. why do I need to be meeting with a representative and not someone in the service dept. Since this is a brand new car with only 7,000 miles.

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?