Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Much like the 2007 model year, which has a higher number of complaints, owners are reporting that their engines are running out of oil awfully quick. As in, 1 quart every 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains that’s with the “normal” operating range of the 2AZ-FE while owners maintain that’s complete BS.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

8.1

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$4,333.00
Average Mileage:
90,602 miles
Total Complaints:
64 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (46 reports)
  2. replace piston and rings (12 reports)
  3. replaced engine (5 reports)
  4. the car's engine still runs abnormally (1 reports)
2008 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #64

Dec 072015

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,160 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Went back for results of Excessive Oil Consumption Test> FAILED, WAS TOLD NO PRATS TO FIX JUST KEEP ADDING OIL EVERY 1,000 MILES. bILL WAS 62.30 i THINK THEY PICKED UP THE TAB FOR THE COST OF OIL CHANGE!

- , Katy, TX, USA

problem #63

Oct 062015

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,960 miles

I was in dealership for brake check, it cost $269.77 I again asked for help on the oil consumption problem was told about the test, and asked that they do it. It was iniciated. wasa tlf the engine had been sealed to drive 1000 miles and bring it back , not to add oil in the meantime.

- , Katy, TX, USA

problem #62

May 302015

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,167 miles

Was there for another regular service , oil change etx. I had mentioned Yet again how many times I had to add oil, often going by tthere, when in the area , having them check and add oil. The notes in the service request was"ES5 vEHICLE HAS BEEN HERE MULTIPLE TIMES WITH EXTREMELY LOW OIL LEVELS"sTILL NOTHING DONE ABOUT THE PROBLEM EXCEPT TELING ME TO CHECK THE OIL OFTEN

- , Katy, TX, USA

problem #61

Mar 292014

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,531 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had taken toThey said couldn"t find anything wrong. Finally I went in told them if I had accident and it did not activate I was going to place a suit against them, the service advisor said lets take a ride. He said this sounds like low Oil pressure. When we got back to the dealership we checked the oil , it did not show up on the dip stick. I had an oil change that day although it had also been done @ 65588 miles in December 12 only 3,743 miles in between.. THEY DID NOT TELL ME ANYTHING ABOUT THE EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION OIL PROBLEM AT THIS TIME!EVEN THOUGH THE SERVICE ADVISOR TYPED IN LOW ON OIL, CHECK HOW MUCH DRAINS, REPLY WAS 1 QT DRAINED!

- , Katy, TX, USA

problem #60

Jun 012014

Camry 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

Have taken my car to Toyota in Burnsville, Mn at least 3 times for oil usage test over two years and been told the usage is acceptable. this last 6 weeks I have added 3 quarts of oil to my car or it runs poorly due to low oil level. Toyota says they do a reverse test. They measure what is added, not what is lost(dip stick).

- , Apple Valley, MN, USA

problem #59

Jan 012014

Camry LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

I went to the TOYOTA dealer because I received a notification by mail indicating that the dealer can do an oil consumption test and if my car is using excessive oil they will fix it. Well, they told me that yes, the car is using a lot of oil (something that I knew already), but that they can not fix it because they did not have the parts that the car needs and that they don't know when are they going to receive them!

I am afraid of using my car for long distances because it could use excessive oil in a trip and If I don't have oil it could damage the engine which means thousands of dollars!

Nobody helps me! I can't afford to buy another car...

- , Lorain, OH, USA

problem #58

Mar 312015

Camry LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought a used 08 Camry LE from a Toyota dealership for my daughter as she was in college. I thought we were getting a great car as I have had Toyotas prior to this vehicle with great results. She drove the car for about two years and it began using oil. This really concerned me because I was afraid something was wrong with the engine.

When we received the recall letter about the oil consumption for the 08 Camry's, I thought, great! Answer to my prayers! Not so at all. She took it in for the oil consumption test and the Toyota dealership said it failed. I asked them how was that possible since I knew the car was using a lot of oil. We had been checking the oil and it would be 2 to 3 quarts low every 1200 miles or less!

The lady from Toyota dealership told me "every car uses oil"? I'm thinking yes - to operate but no car should be using excessive oil!!??? I also told her that I had owned two Toyotas prior to this that never used oil. I couldn't believe she said that. I then asked what were my options since I knew the car used excessive oil. She said I had to call "Corporate" and that the dealership could only fix the car if Corporate told the dealership they could.

I called corporate and the lady that answered was rude insisting the test was accurate - I told her I had no idea what that test involved, since I wasn't a mechanic but I knew when an oil stick was almost dry and low and when a car needed oil!! I told her I would not buy another Toyota and I was highly disappointed that Toyota was not correcting this recall problem.

By reading the other complaints on the exact same problem, it appears that other people are getting mistreated and lied to as well. Shame on you Toyota - I used to swear that a Toyota vehicle was a good dependable vehicle - NOT SO ANYMORE - Toyota is not standing by their product nor correcting it. They are losing customers and apparently it doesn't matter to them. This would be a costly fix and I am more than frustrated!!!!

- , Oglethorpe, GA, USA

problem #57

Oct 012015

Camry XLE 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 144,000 miles

The car made a ‘ding’ sound when the brakes were applied while it was being driven. Upon checking, I noticed that the engine oil was extremely low - the dip stick showed no oil on it. I was alarmed and immediately added 3 quarts of oil - for oil to show up on the dip stick. At first, I figured that, maybe at the previous oil change, sufficient oil was not added. Soon thereafter, I got an oil change; this time I made sure, that there was adequate oil.

About 3 months later I began to hear the ‘ding’ sound again. I checked the oil and found that it was low and again it did not even register on the dip stick. I added 3 quarts of oil and proceeded to get an oil change; this time with Tansky Toyota dealership. Three months later, the problem recurred. This time I was concerned and checked all the mail I had received from Toyota and noticed a warranty enhancement letter that stated - 2008 Camry’s had an ‘oil consumption problem’. As the car was close to the 150,000 mile limit, I immediately went to Tansky Toyota dealership and reported the problem and they began an ‘oil consumption test’. After the test, they told me that there was no problem and that it was a normal occurrence.

Clearly, I was not convinced with the report and challenged the adviser. He remained adamant that there was no problem and that the test result was normal. I emphasized that I own other Toyota cars presently and in the past and never had this problem. He responded that per Toyota guideline, there is no problem; he told me to check and add oil as needed regularly.

I contacted the General Manager of Tansky, Ms. Joanna Williams. She had the Service Manager, Mr. Mark Matthews, call back a week later. Mr. Matthews never acknowledged that the car had an ‘oil consumption problem’; rather that this is a normal occurrence and advised that the oil be replenished on a regular basis. I responded that, this was something that I have never done on the other Toyota’s cars I own; but my words fell on deaf ears. I felt like there was no desire to address a customer’s genuine concern but rather Mr. Matthews kept justifying the test result. He appeared to be insensitive and unwilling to listen to my concerns but kept interrupting me, and at times was even rude on the phone. I am concerned that this issue will damage the engine; in addition the problem is a safety issue, should the oil be depleted while on long distance trips.

This is not the kind of service that I expected from a Toyota dealership. I am disappointed with the treatment from Tansky Toyota.

- , Columbus, OH, USA

problem #56

May 052016

Camry LS 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

I was driving and as I made turns my oil light would come on had to put 3 quarts in to fill it up.

- , Lansing, KS, USA

problem #55

Apr 122016

Camry SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 193,331 miles

The dealership said I had to get other stuff fixed before they would look at it.

- , Columbia, TN, USA

problem #54

Apr 012014

Camry SE 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 128,921 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2008 Camry brand new 0 miles in November 2007. Everything was great about the car I loved it no problems or so I thought. I first noticed my car using excessive oil back in the early part of 2014 at first I thought that is odd I mean its a Toyota and my car is not that old that I should be sucking up oil. I took it to the dealer in May 2014 128,921 miles concerning the low oil. I was told that it needed to have the valve gasket covers replaced, which I did the repair and paid $506.11. I thought I was good to go and boy did I get off cheap to fix this oil consumption problems especially after reading what others had gone through on this site.

Never the less the problem is now back I checked my oil March 2015 and noticed I was down 2 quarts obviously the valve covers were not the true problem and I had just basically wasted my money. Now I have returned to the dealer 4/13/16 and am now doing the oil consumption test (blah blah blah) which if it fails the dealer tells me that Toyota will fix the problem no charge to me. Will let you know what happens after my 1200 miles and we will see what they say after that. I can tell this if they refuse to fix it I will never buy another Toyota again.

- , Chantilly, VA, USA

problem #53

Jan 012012

Camry LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

After a usual oil change, the engine oil is near empty after 2,500-3,000 miles.

- , Saratoga, CA, USA

problem #52

Feb 222013

Camry LE V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,627 miles

This car has been using oil since I purchased it, I have had 2 oil consumption tests ran at the dealership where I bought the Camry, Glockner Honda & Toyota 2867 US RT. 23, Portsmouth, Ohio 45662, It is still under warranty right now. Two consumption tests is all they will run. We have no pictures or video because I'm not allowed in the garage area where they do the test but It doesn't bother them to charge me for the oil change and then try to milk for more when nothing else needs to be worked on. I owned a 1994 and 2004 camry and hardly ever had to add oil. I have a 1993 Ford F150 pickup and I never have to add oil. Don't you think Toyota should be standing by their brand? I use to say they was the best cars on the road, I don't say that now. I will advertise for them just the way I have been treated as a customer. I expect to have what I pay for not a oil burning piece of crap. If I wanted that I could have bought at a buy hear pay hear and pushed one home.

- , Lucasville, OH, USA

problem #51

Feb 292016

Camry SE V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 167,000 miles

I took my car to Tansky's, Zanesville, Ohio, to have the excessive oil consumption recall fixed that Toyota is fixing. After Tansky having my car for 3 hours, I receive a call from the Service Department saying that several items need taken car of for regular maintenance. I do not agree to have these items done and tell them that I only want the recall for excessive oil consumption taken care of. Now I'm being told that I have to replace the tensioner belt because it "exploded" when the were working on my car. Please be aware when having recall work done that there may be charges for things that "explode" or break when the mechanics are working on your vehicle that you will be responsible for.

- , Byesville, OH, USA

problem #50

Jul 012009

Camry LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

I have taken my vehicle to the dealer and they did the oil consumption test by charging me $50 for the oil change and let me run the car for about 1200 miles and take it back to them and see if the consumption is excessive and as EXPECTED from them, NORMAL. How could it be normal when after 1200 miles now the oil light comes on and the dipstick is almost completely dry? I have always owned Toyotas while in fact almost all of my 5 cars are all Toyotas. I think this will change in the future. I find them arrogant not to admit that these certain model cars have issues with the oil. They should rebuild their reputation and swallow the cost to repair or correct the isssues

- , Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #49

Aug 012015

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

High oil consumption. Disappointed in Toyota for not taking care of the problem.

- , massapequa park, NY, USA

problem #48

Oct 032015

Camry LE 4 cyl. 2.4L Fuel Injected

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,720 miles

On 10/03/2015 my husband took delivery of a 2008 Toyota Camry which he purchased from Jones Toyota. The car was idling roughly when he took delivery but, Bart Beall, the salesman wrote it up on some type of sale document. Mr. Beall said the dealership would fix the problem. On 10/26/15 my husband brought the car in to be repaired since he had been told the throttle body just needed to be cleaned. He was sent to Jones Kia for this work, not Jones Toyota. To make a tragic story short, after receiving a massive runaround from the employees of Jones Junction, which encompasses Jones Toyota, my husband, of his own accord went directly to the Jones Toyota service facility. This was the first time anyone at this unscrupulous car dealership mentioned the excessive oil consumption warranty enhancement recall. On 11/30/15, the car failed the second part of the test. This 2008 Toyota Camry was sold to use deceptively and fraudulently. The car has been sitting at the dealership since 11/30/2015. We have asked for our $13,220.02 due to the fraudulent sale. The president of Jones Junction, Steve Smeltzer has refused. He won't even talk to us. One of his employees offered to do a switch out for a different Toyota. My husband said fine. This was on 12/04/2015. My husband drove a 2010 Toyota Camry that seemed okay. So, the car salesman goes to work up some numbers after my husband told him our current car payment must remain the same. The salesman comes back and informs my husband that our new payment will be $46.00 more per month. The reason told my husband was that Jones would only give us a $6,500.00 credit rather than our full $13,220.02. We are paying for a car that has been sitting at the dealership since 11/30/15.. The folks at Jones Toyota knew the excessive oil consumption problem existed when they sold my husband the car. They refused to run the two part test prior to sale because they knew once they did it would appear on Car Fax and dramatically diminish the value of the car. They never disclosed the issue to us, the consumer, allowing us to make an informed decision. This tragedy has been well documented. I filed a complaint with Toyota. Daisy called today to let me know how sorry she is but, Toyota can only document the problem. In addition, I've filed a complaint with the Office of the Maryland Attorney General, Consumer Protection Division. We currently own two other Toyota's. As I told Miss Daisy, the Toyota representative, after she told me Toyota can't help, even though they have a dealer fraudulently selling their products, we will NEVER EVER EVER purchase another Toyota vehicle. I would like to become a part of the class action lawsuit against Toyota.

Update from Jan 20, 2016: On January 16, 2016 we visited Jones Toyota service center, where our 2008 Toyota Camry had been sitting, yet again, since January 6th. The dates which the car has been at this service facility are numerous and long. The update is this. The abnormal idle issue is yet another inherent problem with this model year engine. Bottom line is, the car is still sitting at the Jones Toyota service center. It will remain there until the Jones Group returns our money. They robbed us. Toyota has been no help whatsoever. The Better Business Bureau has been a wonderful advocate on our behalf. The Consumer Products Division of our state's Attorney General's office is now involved. Shortly, the Federal Trade Commission will intervene. What really stuns myself and spouse is Consumer Reports says absolutely NOTHING about the excessive oil consumption problem involving millions of cars from 2007-2009. I used to think their words were worth something. No more. Unless a person is knowledgeable about car engines, those of us that are not are at the mercy of every auto charlatan.

- , Fallston, MD, USA

problem #47

Nov 012015

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

Taking my Camry in for oil consumption issue. My Camry failed the oil consumption test.

- , Clive, USA

problem #46

Oct 152014

Camry SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 145,000 miles

My car started using massive amounts of oil all of a sudden a year ago October. No lights indicated low oil nor did the check engine light come on. The car never registered hot even though the first two times this happened, I knew because of the stench of burning coming from my car as I drove to work.

In January/February of 2015, I received the notification of the Warranty Enhancement Package for excessive oil use. The notification stated a fix was coming... to expect it by May. It also noted coverage of any additional out of pocket expenses that would occur in that time. So, I took my car for the consumption test (as directed). My car failed miserably. I was told to wait... something would come in the mail soon. Faithfully, I put oil into my car... one quart every 500 miles. I kept the receipts from all the purchased oil and waited. May came and went.

In June 2015, I called the dealership from which I purchased my car... Dan Cava Toyota in Fairmont, WV. I was told to wait... that they hadn't heard anything. So, I continued to put oil in my car. In the meantime, I was told my just of one year old spark plugs looked as if they were 5 years old (from all the burning oil). I called Dan Cava Toyota again in July 2015. Again, I was told they had heard nothing.

A week before school started for me and my two teenage boys (who are also involved in fall sports), I called Dan Cava Toyota again... Still nothing. I explained that my life would be constant running all fall due to work and my boys' participation in fall sports. I expressed my concern of how many miles I had put on the car while waiting... at this point, already approaching 20,000. I was told to check back in a week or two if I hadn't heard anything. A couple of weeks passed. I decided to call the Toyota corporation directly.

When I spoke to customer service, they explained to me that the part had indeed been available since May 2015. The representative placed me on hold and called Dan Cava Toyota. She returned to say that she had spoken to the service department and they had not ordered my part. She said she didn't understand why they had not, but not to worry... that Todd from the service department ordered it while she was on the phone. She assured me that the part would be in within two weeks and Todd would be calling me when it came in. Two weeks come and go and no call.

I call Dan Cava Toyota and ask for Todd. Todd says he tried to call me once, although I have no record of a missed number from Dan Cava Toyota or a voicemail message. I let it go and make the appointment to have my car fixed asap. It takes them an additional two weeks to get me in. The morning after I drop off my car, I received a call from Todd. They are not going to fix my car because there is oil in my intake valve... I need my seals replaced.

He quotes a repair cost in upwards of $1600... tells me they will not replace my piston ring kit until I pay to have the other damage repaired. I tell them I don't know a lot about cars, but it makes sense to me that running a car 30,000+ miles while guzzling a quart of oil every 500 miles would certainly cause more damage (like my sparkplugs, which they had already refused to replace). The service manager instructed me to call Toyota corporation.. .that they would have to okay any additional repairs. So, I took back the rental and brought home my car with no answers.

The next day, I talk to a my brother, a certified mechanic, that ensures me that all the damage is related and a result of the faulty piston ring. I call Toyota. This time the customer service rep tells me she can do nothing but put notes of my concerns and complaint into my case. She tells me to go back to my dealership... that the service manager needed to contact "region"... that "region" would be the person to make the call as to whether the repairs could be made.

At this point, I didn't know whether to laugh or cry. I think I did both. I go back to Dan Cava Toyota with my brother. We tell the service manager what the representative said. He tells us he will contact the regional whatever (who he "thinks" she is referring to when she says 'region'). He tells us he will come look at the car and we can meet with him to discuss the next step. That was almost two weeks ago. Last Friday, the service manager called me asking for my case #. I gave it to him (having documentation of all the calls I have made over the last year).

This morning, the service manager called me to tell me that the 'region' looked at my case and wants me to have the other repairs made before they will replace the piston ring kit. However, if my car is still consuming excessive oil after that, they will replace the kit and refund my money. I laughed. I told him I didn't trust them at all. That I would be taking whatever action I needed to make sure Toyota and Dan Cava Toyota does what is right. I can honestly say I am sickened by this while ordeal. 13 months I have been dealing with this... running in circles and jumping through hoops. Something needs to be done.

Can anyone help? How can they say that running a car for a year that is consuming at least a quart of oil every 500 miles hasn't caused other damage???? How can they make this my responsibility? All I want is a safe, reliable car to drive to work and to transport my children to and from school, practices, and games. Who knows what other damage has been done to the engine!

- , Philippi, USA

problem #45

Nov 012014

Camry SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,225 miles

I've noticed the engine oil on the low side every time I get the oil changed...It appears to have started a year ago. It's probably down a couple of quarts between oil changes!

Has anyone found a solution?

- , Calgary, AB, Canada

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?