Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Much like the 2007 model year, which has a higher number of complaints, owners are reporting that their engines are running out of oil awfully quick. As in, 1 quart every 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains that’s with the “normal” operating range of the 2AZ-FE while owners maintain that’s complete BS.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,313 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Camry windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 8 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Jun 062011

Camry

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that both the driver and passenger side sun visors would not remain in an upright position and was obstructing his view. The dealer was notified but offered no assistance. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. No repairs were performed. The current and failure mileage was 65,000.

- Rosenburg, TX, USA

problem #38

Jun 012011

Camry

  • 70,000 miles
Routine use of the sun visor in a 2008 Toyota Camry SE. Visor will not stay in place and hangs down blocking view out windows. Driver's side broke two years ago and had it fixed. Now the passenger side visor has done the same thing.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #37

Jun 142011

Camry

  • 97,000 miles
2008 Toyota Camry driver's side sun visor will not stay up, continue to drop down obstructing my view of the road. Causing a very dangerous situation.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #36

Jun 152011

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently purchased a 2008 Toyota Camry le with approximately 40,000 miles. The driver's side sun visor is floppy and does not stay up in the "locked" position. When I drive over a bump, the visor flops down further. I am constantly having to push it up when it dangles too low and obstructs my vision. Furthermore, if I get into an accident I could smash my forehead on the visor. I've researched finding a new visor online, only to find numerous complaints on the 2007 and 2008 models. I believe a recall is in order.

- Danvers, MA, USA

problem #35

May 202011

Camry 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I owned 2008 Toyota Camry xle model, the driver side sunvisor keep falls down from the ceiling attachment. I read a Toyota consumer forum online that I surprised about many of Toyota owners have a same problem.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

Jun 102000

Camry

  • 45,000 miles
Driver and passenger side visor have both broken and will not stay up. The driver's side visor frequently drops down obstructing the driver's view of the road, sometimes completely for taller drivers. The passenger side also drops down and can partially obstruct the driver's peripheral view.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #33

Jun 082011

Camry 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Toyota Camry driver side sun visor hanging down and will not stay in the up position.

- Cartersville, GA, USA

problem #32

Jun 032011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the driver sun visor fractured and was hanging from the housing, making it difficult to see the road. The dealer was contacted who stated it would cost $140 for the repairs. The dealer replaced the sun visor with a new one. The manufacturer was contacted. The failure mileage was 64,000. Updated 07/20/11 updated 12/02/11

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #31

May 202011

Camry

  • 26,000 miles
The sun visors in 2008 Toyota Camry break after 2 or 3 years. No offers to repair from Toyota, outside warranty window. Very expensive to repair.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #30

Jun 062011

Camry

  • 32,207 miles
Passenger side sun visor started malfunctioning and would not stay up in a locked position. Passenger side visor hangs down and obstructs vision. A few days later the driver side sun visor would not stay up in a locked position and is also hanging down and obstructing vision. Have to velcro both visors to the interior roof to keep them out of my way.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #29

Jun 062011

Camry

  • 32,207 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side sun visor started malfunctioning and would not stay up in a locked position. Passenger side visor hangs down and obstructs vision. A few days later the driver side sun visor would not stay up in a locked position and is also hanging down and obstructing vision. Have to velcro both visors to the interior roof to keep them out of my way.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #28

May 252011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The driver side sun visor is dropping down on my 2008 Toyota Camry. Both the clips are fine but it just quit staying in place. It happened around 40000 mile or after 3 and 1/4th year of ownership. I haven't used the visor heavily; my regular commute is opposite of sun position.

- Murphy, TX, USA

problem #27

Mar 252011

Camry

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the drivers side sun visor fractured and it caused her vision to be obstructed. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor had it been repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure and current mileages were approximately 82,000.

- Morton, MS, USA

problem #26

May 012011

Camry

  • miles
The equipment in question (defected sun visor) is in a 2008 Toyota Camry. The driver's side sun visor will not stay closed (in the upright position) since May 1, 2011. It hangs down & obstructs the driver's vision which poses a hazard for him/her as well as fellow drivers.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #25

Aug 012009

Camry

  • 30,000 miles
My 2008 Toyota Camry driver side sun visor broke in August 2009. They replaced it as it was within warranty. The passenger side sun visor broke in April 2011. They will not replace it as it is out of warranty, although I had been told it would be replaced as I suspected it too would break. The visor hangs down and impairs vision. I googled "Toyota Camry sun visor" and saw many similar complaints. Many of them said when they contacted Toyota, Toyota said they did not have enough complaints to initiate a recall. They are giving us all the run around. I appreciate the NHTSA looking into this for us as they are clearly making their cars with cheap items that break and impair vision, then leaving us to pay for it.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #24

May 022009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
2008 Toyota Camry sun visor/S will not stay in place causing hazardous driving conditions for driver.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #23

Apr 102011

Camry

  • 43,092 miles
The sun visors (both driver and passenger sides) on my Toyota Camry will not stay up creating a visual hazard. From looking online this is apparently a widespread problem with these vehicles.

- Valrico, FL, USA

problem #22

Mar 082011

Camry 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Broken sunvisor in 2008 Toyota Camry......obstructs view when it constantly dangles, especially on passenger side. The drivers side has already been replaced....now the passenger side is broken only 2 months out of warranty. I have already filed a complaint with Toyota, but no word as of yet. This car has already had 3 major recalls, with my car being directly affected with 2 of them.

- Mandeville, LA, USA

problem #21

Mar 022011

Camry

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the sun visor was fractured and obstructed his view of the road while driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the sun visor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 26,000.

- Sun City, AZ, USA

problem #20

Feb 162011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 30,050 miles
Driver's side sun visor started having difficulty in maintaining the up position, finally failed and would only hang down straight toward the ground obstructing your view. Upon stopping, I removed the visor out of fear that it would cause an accident. Have contacted the local dealership, and have been advised it will be under warranty if there is no sign of abuse.

- Canton, NC, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?