Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,188 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Camry drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Sep 132016

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles


I was driving to work on the interstate and I noticed that I could no longer drive past 45 mph on the interstate where speed limit is 60mph. I then was able thank god to get off interstate and exit to side street. I noticed immediately that my vehicle would not go past 3rd gear and speed would only accelerate to 45mph. I made appointment the same day to get car looked at bob howard Toyota. Later that day it was confirmed that my transmission was gone(bad). I am informed that this is a manufacturing problem and it is my expectation to have this resolved asap at Toyota corporation expense as well as providing me transportation at their expense not mine! I also had my vehicle serviced approximately 4-6 weeks ago and I do not recall being informed of any problems with the transmission/power train system. Thank you in advance for your expedient response and resolution to this matter and it being at Toyota's full expense and not mine respectfully submitted [xxx] ps contact information [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Okc, OK, USA

problem #26

Aug 232016


  • 134,000 miles
Upon doing research, I've noticed there are several complaints concerning the transmission on this vehicle. When my wife and I first bought the vehicle, I noticed the the vehicle would hesitate when shifting gears. Sometimes when I would drive the vehicle, it would rev up very quickly before it changed out. Just recently, it begun to rev up more often before it shifted gears. It did that for a few days before it wouldn't shift gears at all after 40mph.then ultimately, it wouldn't change gears at all. My vehicle has under 134,000 miles on it and it appears the transmission has burned out on it. After analyzing the reviews concerning this issue, I feel it is fair to say that Toyota has sold its consumer an inferior product. I, as a consumer, really wish Toyota would consider this issue because this is a major expense at the hands of the consumer. I, being a lower class working man, really went through a lot to obtain the money to cover this expense. You probably can tell because I'm taking the time to fill out this form. That's only because I really feel this is an unfair situation to the consumer. My wife and I paid a decent penny for our 2011 Toyota Camry. It is less than six years old and already has a major mechanical issue. I really hope Toyota considers some form of reimbursement for the consumer. I pray my words won't fall on deaf ears. Thanks.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #25

May 032016


  • 3,000 miles
Transmission will appear to disengage between 2nd and 3rd gear when first starting off in cold or after setting for long periods (9-10 hrs.). starting from a dead stop the car will feel and appear to start off normally, then the transmission will disengage, and the rpms will shoot up if you do not take you foot off of the accelerator. After releasing the accelerator the transmission will engage and continue on normally. This is not constant or every time. This has been a problem since 3,000 mile - current mileage 87,000. Dealer can not resolve the issue or duplicate. I have duplicated it for them once during the cold weather when the vehicle was left with them for repairs and testing.

- Forest Hill, MD, USA

problem #24

Feb 222012


  • 11,000 miles


2011 Camry le - the vehicle doesn't seem to know what gear it wants to be in after a stop light or stop sign. I can press the gas pedal and the car minimally responds, slowly moving and then suddenly going as if the transmission is slipping. If I drive it like I stole off ever stop sign/stop light it would do alright but you really have to stomp it off the light and I don't drive that way. Again the transmission is messed up and Toyota doesn't acknowledge it! also, on the highway at approx 70-75 and letting off the gas the car has a shudder which is unsettling while on the highway....sometimes I expect the engine to die or the transmission fall out. I have called Toyota and had the car serviced by the service manager, service dept etc without any resolution. I would have thought a transmission flush would be the first thing but they have never done that!! the dealership cleaned my throttle body sensor"?? (why"), synced my computer multiple times and then the service manager said it could be a "computer" issue much like the old corollas and I just need to get use to it. I'm done with Toyota, this is my second one and both of them had issues that were never resolved!

- Schertz, TX, USA

problem #23

Feb 122015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 53,650 miles
When first starting out with cold engine, stopping for traffic light, cars transmission does not fully engage properly. When leaving intersection, accelerating the engine, the car will creep very slowly for about 50 feet or so, then seems to slowly engage as it normally should. After car is warm, it seems to run fine for the rest of the day. This obviously irritates cars behind me, but even more so, creates a dangerous situation. Driving on today's highways is dangerous enough. I'd hate to have this happen, if I should ever need acceleration to avoid an accident in the making"?"

- Souderton, PA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Nov 132014


  • 98,500 miles
Wed am, Nov. 12, 2014, I parked my 2011 Toyota Camry SE 4cyl in an airport parking garage. Weather was 31 F. when I returned from my trip the next evening, I started the car, organized some things for a minute to allow car heater to warm the vehicle while I sat. I then proceeded to back out of the parking space. Temperature was in the 20S F. I noticed the car was sluggish so I pressed a bit more on the gas pedal, but the car failed to go faster. After slowly backing out far enough, I put the car in drive. Despite reaching 2500+ RPM, the car would not increase speed. The speedometer stayed at 0 (zero) mph. I put on my flashers, and pulled, very slowly, to the right side of the garage lane, so as not to impede vehicle traffic. I continued to rev engine for 1 to 2 minutes. Only after revving the engine multiple times did the car begin to slowly respond. This flaw is a significant concern and could endanger live(s). Imagine if I am at a stop sign, awaiting to make a left turn on to a busy roadway. If my 2011 Camry's fuel injector fails to respond as expected, thereby responding slowly to me pressing the gas pedal, then I envision the likelihood of being in a horrific side-impact collision. I will address this issue with the dealership tomorrow. Winter is just beginning, and cold starts are going to be much more common (likely in much colder temps). I don't believe modern vehicles, with electronic fuel injection, should have this safety issue, or require much warm-up time.

- Eureka, MO, USA

problem #21

Sep 252014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 57,978 miles


I was sitting in the car with my twin 2yrs old daughters when I heard a sound; I looked only to see that one of the baby pull the gear stick out of park, into drive and the keys were in my pocket! I knew that wasn't suppose to happen. I called darcars Toyota, and the manager [xxx] told me "that shouldn't have happened and that the "gear box is bad", I need to bring the car in so they could take a look at it. I brought the car in on 10/03/2014 at about 7:10am, and left the lot at about 9:30am after going back and forth with the horrible service both from the manager [xxx] and the rep. "[xxx]" I was told that even though it's a safety issue, and they told me something was wrong, they would not do anything about the problem unless I pay for them to do what they already know; which is that there is something wrong with the gear stick! I may be the 1st person to complain about this problem, however, this is why with all the recalls, it seems as if someone has to die in an accident before these people take responsibilities for their defaulted vehicles!! please look into this matter for me as it is very important. Thanks in advance sincerely information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Beltsville , MD, USA

problem #20

Dec 022013

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. While driving various speeds, the gear shift moved into another gear when it was inadvertently bumped by the contact. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 27,000. Updated 10/23/2014 updated 10/23/14 updated 4/7/2015

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #19

Jun 252014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 35,900 miles
Im really unhappy with this car its just 1 thing after another first had the noisy moon roof issue and finally got it fixed by bringing in the tsb so it could not be denied, now I have a noisy power steering pump that whine very loud but was told that its normal (what a crock). Currently my car is shifting hard on take off and decreasing speed to stop. Toyota has really gone down. I traded a 2000 Camry xle that was better than this newer model.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #18

Jul 072014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 36,900 miles
There is a transmission issue at low speeds, mostly city driving, the car jerks with abrupt shifting, and sometimes harsh shifting. Also it feels like the car pauses a little when shifting at low speeds. The car jerks with abrupt shifting, and sometimes harsh shifting. Also it feels like the car pauses a little when shifting at low speeds. The car takes off like it rushes rather than a smooth acceleration, though I press the gas pedal gently, also on more than one occasion a loud thumping sound has been heard coming from the transmission as the car is slowing down and is in process of downshifting around 20mph.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #17

Nov 232013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 1,115,201 miles


New brakes were put on my car on 11/23/13. A short time later, I was approaching a red light and began to slow down. Upon doing so the ABS system kicked in and when I applied my foot to the breaks they would not work. As I approached the intersection, I made a sharp right 90 degree turn to avoid going through the red light as the vehicle would not stop and I would have been in a terrible accident. The road was not wet but it had rained earlier in the day and the road was dry. I returned vehicle to dealer and was told they could not repeat the situation and everything was okay. They told me that even if the road is dry once it rains, the road can still have particles on it that cause the ABS to kick in. This continued to happen intermittently about once a month. In the past month, it has happened every few days. My son was driving the car in late Feb. And he went over a very small pile of leaves that would not warrant the ABS to kick in. He too was almost involved in a wreck. Car went back to dealer but dealer can find what was wrong. The ABS severely reacts when it should not be doing so. The ABS is engaging when it should not be doing so. If one goes over a road that is barely wet or a small patch of drive leaves, as I did the other night, the ABS kicks in and locks up the car. When I touch on the breaks lightly coming to a stop, there are no breaks and then they suddenly grab really hard. Breaks feel like air is in the line. This did not occur until they put new breaks in my car at 30,000 miles. In addition, the transmission is whining, shifting roughly and not shifting when it is supposed to. My vehicle has been at the dealership for over a week and they said they will be keeping it at least until this coming wed. When a Toyota field inspector will be coming to inspect the car.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #16

Dec 032013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 36,900 miles
Started car in morning and it was making winding noise, left and noticed the tranny did not know what gear to be in, when I would stop it the tranny could not down shift fast enough and it would bang down in gear, and the speed odometer would jump up as it was shifting down, you have to keep your foot on the brake or it will jump forward, it has snowed a few times since and you can not drive it in the snow at all, it lurches at slow speeds and you have to keep your foot on break, it drives it self and keeps shifting up and down it is a death trap waiting to happen, other people have drove it and the same issues, I have put a 1000 miles on it and I hate it, my 1998 Camry is safer to drive then this car, never a Toyota again, only made 1 payment and ready to trade in and take a loss, thanks Toyota

- Honeybrook, PA, USA

problem #15

Oct 112013


  • 43,000 miles
Have a 2011 Camry 4cy with 6sp at. The car transmission shifts rough and car RPM suddenly goes around 3K in stop a go driving. While coming to stop the car release the gear at very late while almost stopped. Feels like it will jerk and hit other car. On cold start the car transmission does not like to move(unless you warm up the engine which takes 15min idling. Then I am not sure how this care pass epe pollution standard ). so while getting into road the car needs high revving to move. Took it to the dealer and they say its behaving normal and could not reproduce the problem. Took to another dealer and they give the same "normal" answer. Filed a complain to Toyota. Their explanation is field technician (Toyota dealer) said its normal and no issue so its normal. As a owner of such vehicle I personally think the transmission behave abnormal and unsafe. Also the car has a whining noise most noticeable around 2-2.5K RPM. 1 St dealer said all Camry of this model makes such noise. 2nd dealer said its from the transmission. NHTSA should investigate and make sure Toyota is not trying to avoid any potential defect which will cause a life threatening accident.

- Spring Valley, NY, USA

problem #14

Aug 072013


  • 8,200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, he depressed the brake pedal and the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact shifted the vehicle into neutral, shut off and restarted the engine. The vehicle was neither repaired nor diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 8200 and the current mileage was 8260. The VIN was not available.

- Boca Raton , FL, USA

problem #13

Apr 262013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 27,373 miles
2011 Camry with 27,373 miles entered traffic on fwy at 50+ mph started to shimmy violently engulfing me from all sides it was if car was possessed. In my 61 years I have never experienced anything like this. The radio cut out I felt pressure waves and noise throughout the car. I found a gas station just off fwy and checked the tires since that seemed the logical culprit, I found nothing unusual. To get home I had to drive about another 20 fwy miles keeping car at or under 60. I arrived at dealer and waited 3 1/2 hours before being shown possible problem. All 4 tires had what he referred to as "cupping, " on the inside rim. That would explain the entire car turning into a freak-show like nothing I ever experienced. Their solution was to charge me for 4 new tires at retail. Mechanic said tires looked good and had 20,000 plus miles left. Why should I have to replace, (in my opinion), defected tires. Tires were not out of alignment if they were then the dealership is at fault since they did it. I examined all 4 tires in the bay while it was jacked up, no excessive wear showed. Who do I see that will take responsibility" these are Bridgestone tires I thought were a solid brand. I went online to see if anyone had similar problems and found several. What would have happened to me if those 4 tires decided the pressure was too much and blew simultaneously, probably a hideous death!" wife drives the car it hers. She has had nothing but problems with transmission. She can't shift into gear until vehicle is warmed up and even then it is stiff and noisy. On a hill there was no grab it was if the car had no stop it literally took both feet one on brake other revving engine to keep from backing into a truck.

- Valencia, CA, USA

problem #12

Jan 082013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 18,930 miles
Every morning when the vehicle is first started up and both the engine and transmission are cold, vehicle exhibits a transmission flare between the first and second gear during normal driving behavior whilst the accelerator pedal is depressed - even if only slightly. During the incident, which lasts no more than five seconds, the engine "revs" significantly (up to 2500-3000 RPM from 1000) and the transmission appears to be in a "neutral" state, e.g. "slipping" between gears. The vehicle also jerks and shifts violently while downshifting when coasting occurs mainly at highway speeds, but does occur sometimes at neighborhood speeds. The former said issue only appears during the morning after the vehicle has been sitting for an extended period of time (I.e. come home from work and leave next morning), and is unable to be duplicated at any other time. On the other hand, the latter said issue occurs nearly every time the vehicle is used. The vehicle has been brought to the local Toyota dealership where repair attempts have already been made, but have been unsuccessful. The vehicle will be brought back for service once again. It is important to note that these problems are very similar to earlier problems the 2007 Camry experienced (which is the same generation as the 2011 Camry) -- to which several tsbs were issued to correct those problems.

- Daly City, CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 102012


  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked, the transmission began leaking fluid and the vehicle became inoperable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who advised the contact to have the vehicle towed to the dealer for repairs. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised the contact that the transmission was cracked from a stone and that the vehicle would have to be repaired at the contact's expense. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 19,000.

- Millford, DE, USA

problem #10

Jun 302012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 20,900 miles
Transmission issues..... while doing mostly city driving and in the first ten minutes of driving, transmission will not know what gear it wants to be in, there is a whiny noise associated with it also (never heard this before in the Toyota's I have owned). While at a complete stop the vehicle will almost die to conserve fuel. When you go to start back up the vehicle will do this gear "checking" process leading to the vehicle not moving as it should. Once it finds the correct gear the car will lunge very quickly and almost create rear end collisions. I have two intersections near my home that I am afraid to come to because I have to floor the gas and step on the brake pedal so the car does not stall and so that the car will make it across the intersection without getting T-boned. I almost got T-boned twice due to this the last happening on 6-30-12. This issue is a 6-15 mph issue and when cold more than warmed up. I read that this issue is not an issue but a learning transmission and that it tries to learn operators. With 21,000 miles a car should not be learning and what if a different operator drives it? the car will jerk me around while on my 8 mile jaunt to the highway in the mornings. Once on the highway this is a non-issue. I called Toyota and they have not issued a recall but I have read of many other terrified Toyota 2011 and 2010 Camry owners that have called them and several have contacted your organization. There is a tsb (technical service bulletin) 0287-10 out for the learning of this transmission but it has not help my situation or others from what I read. (updated transmission software) I will not allow my wife or children in this car. I even took the keys with me once while away on business so she would not forget and drive it.

- Okeana , OH, USA

problem #9

Aug 172011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 11,465 miles
Every time I release or push acceleration more than 50 miles car gets pulse.(example : generator move forward and backward every time piston goes up and down) I fell like engine will drop. Reproduce steps : drive car at about 60 miles/hr on good road so you can feel pulse. Now we want keep speed 60 miles so we will press pedal to maintain speed now as soon as you will remove pedal you will feel pulse. Now, you removed pedal so speed going down so as soon as you trying to maintain speed you will fell pulse again. Reproduce rate about 85%. I am having this problem since August 2011. I had put my car at Toyota dealer more than 5 times and they admit that they are not feeling this pulse. Than I put case to ncds for review. But Toyota reset my computer right before inspection so ncds person didn't test drive and refuse my case. At time of case, one technician from Chicago admit this problem in some different direction like this pulse is normal(which is very scary). Its depend on where you driving (its easy to reproduce in hwy, I also feel in city to but they told me that its changing gear so it's normal) its depend on driver( I told him to drive and fix this issue if I am not good driver). Now this is very simple answer for Toyota to give you customer and reject case. Once they reset computer of my car they told me to wait till car computer learn driver pattern. I wait 2month, 1500 miles. I also ask them that how long " how many miles " but they told me that it's depend on driver. They also told me that if anything wring we will happy to help if anything wrong in engine/transmission. I also decide to go court but if they are going to inspect my car again then they will admit that nothing happened. So, please help me for this problem I spend 24000 dollar. I deserver better answer than this above crazy answer.

- West Allis, WI, USA

problem #8

Aug 072011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
  accident description: On August 7, 2011, I got in my car to back out of the driveway. I stopped the car approximately 30 feet from a closed gate by stepping on the brake and shifted the vehicle into park. With the car stopped and in park, I opened my door and exited the vehicle, leaving the door open. I walked 25 feet from my car to the gate and opened it. When I turned to attend to the other side of the gate, I saw the car was overtaking me, going in reverse. I was struck by the driver's door and got trapped underneath. The vehicle continued across the street in reverse.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?