Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
29 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,695 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Toyota Camry seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #47

Dec 122013

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" nothing happened so far. Just to know if my car air bags need to be repaired

- League City, TX, USA

problem #46

Jan 022016

Camry

  • 25,500 miles
My 2012 Camry hybird with leather seats. My problem seems to be related to the weight of the previous occupant, ie, if over 200 lbs and it will probably work correctly. But if the exited occupant was less than 200 lbs, the air bag will alarm and message for the (former occupant) passenger to use the seat belt. I'm trying to get Toyota to correct the problem but they warn me that I may have to pay to correct something that never occured before their recall.

- Amityville, NY, USA

problem #45

Sep 162015

Camry

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owned a 2012 Toyota Camry. While driving 32 mph, the brakes were applied and the vehicle accelerated rapidly without warning. The contact stated that she could not stop the vehicle and crashed into a trailer. The vehicle was destroyed. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained a fractured sternum and her husband had contusions in his rib cage. Medical attention was required. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 37,000. Updated 1/15/16

- Glide, OR, USA

problem #44

Feb 052014

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota is recalling certain model year 2012-2013 Camry vehicles. In the affected vehicles, the drain hose for the air conditioning condenser may become clogged causing water to accumulate at the bottom of the air conditioning condenser unit housing. The accumulated water may then leak through a seam in the housing onto the air bag control module potentially resulting in a short circuit of the module. A short circuit may cause the airbags to become disabled or inadvertently deploy.

- Rock Hill, SC, USA

problem #43

May 312015

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. While the vehicle was parked, the seat belt warning light failed to illuminate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V014000 (air bags, seat belts). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Fredrick , MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #42

May 242014

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
My car was braodsided by a motorcycle causing $9500. Damage to the driver's side door, frame, panels, windshield, interior. My airbag never deployed. I had whiplash, severe lacerations to my mouth, teeth loose, face, eyes, nose, throat, arms, & upper body from chards of glass and whiplash. I contacted Toyota & filed a complaint, they said it was too late to inspect as the ins co had the car towed & repaired. But the airbag was not repaired as it never deployed. Even the police said they could not believe the airbag did not deploy and suggested I contact Toyota.....updated 12/16/15

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #41

Mar 312015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3/31/2015 7:05 am after I pressed the gas pedal to turn in my driveway, the car just took off. I braked and it would not stop. I ran into the right front corner of my garage, through my neighbors front yard on the right of my house. As I sped through my neighbors yard I mowed down a small tree. I then crossed the street and went over the sidewalk and stopped short of the subdivision lake. The air bag did not deploy.

- Manvel, TX, USA

problem #40

Mar 222015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
While waiting on a red light, car was struck head on. Car was moved back 300 feet. Airbags failed to deploy. As a result bodily injury resulted....updated 05/11/15

- Bellflower, CA, USA

problem #39

Jan 172015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Vehicle rolled over several times after leaving the pavement. None of the airbags deployed. Driver received multiple broken ribs; fractured vertebra, head injuries, broken collarbone. Driver was hospitalized for almost 10 weeks and has substantial residual disability problems requiring continual medical and physical rehab.

- Jonesville, VA, USA

problem #38

Dec 032014

Camry

  • 27,000 miles
Driver ran into rear end of truck with heavy duty trailer hitch. The frontend of the Camry sustained $5700 damage. The airbags did not deploy.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #37

Jan 232015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Request contact with investigators regarding air bag deployment failure following front end collision in 2012 Toyota Camry. Vehicle had passed recall service last year. My wife was struck in the left front and quarter area by negligent driver during a snowstorm on 1/23/2015. She was unable to apply brakes. The air bags did not deploy. So far, the primary appraisal is $4,600 in damages to drivers door, left front panel, left wheel well and drive train, the entire front bumper, right front quarter panel, hood, and roof pillars. The tear down is in progress for supplemental appraisal. Air bags failed to deploy. After the accident, she called and I advised her to access winter survival kit. She said the engine ran and used the heat until the police arrived. When my wife stepped out of the car to meet the police, she slipped onto black ice and fell onto her lower back and pelvis. Her physician evaluation is currently in progress. The responsible party's insurance company and claim number is:nationwide 321-301 gb. My insurance company and claim number is: Anpac 16A2vj879 I have provided a report to Toyota corporation and they said an inspector will be involved. That claim number is: Toyota [xxx]. thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #36

Nov 192014

Camry

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. When parking the vehicle, it accelerated unintentionally without warning. As a result, the contact crashed the vehicle into a building and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained neck, back and knee injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 43,000. The VIN was not available.....updated 01/12/15 updated 01/15/15

- Hope Hull, AL, USA

problem #35

Dec 112014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 18,765 miles
Another vehicle made hit my vehicle from rear side but air bags did not deployed and child safety airbag was not also activated across him and sterling also got locked while engine was on.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #34

Sep 242014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 17,408 miles
On 9/24/14, while traveling home from a neighborhood park, I was hit by a truck on the driver side. I was going down a slight hill and was going to turn right at the intersection. I'm not sure exactly what happened prior to impact but my turn signal was on, I was going to turn right and I was breaking. Suddenly, I heard this loud crash, when I looked to my left, I saw my driver's side mirror being pushed into my door, then I saw the truck. My car did not stop. I was going apprx 15 to 25 miles per hour maybe, and again I was traveling slightly downhill and would have been making a turn. I think my car was continuing to move forward in the seconds before impact. Once I was hit, my car continued to move, seemingly faster. At that point I was very much aware that my car was not stopping and the breaks were not working. Amazingly, I was able to navigate the corner (without being hit by anyone coming from the opposite direction) and turn the car into a parking lot (with no control of the breaks). In front of me in the parking lot, which is not a big lot, my car continued heading in the direction of a building there. I could not stop the car and was forced to put it into park, hoping that would stop the car. It did. However, the airbags did not deploy. The police were called, a ticket was issued to me stating that I drove without due care and caution. My insurance and Toyota hotline have been contacted. The process is just beginning and I will not know the full extent of the damages until the "black box" is inspected. This has been very upsetting and could have resulted in a much more serious outcome. I thought Toyota's acceleration problems had been dealt with.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #33

Jul 282014

Camry

  • 21,000 miles
When driving on a road and hitting a big pothole the SRS light in the dashboard might light up and stay on as well as the seat belt restraint light. The vehicle was brought once before to the service facility of Toyota and this issue got fixed, when I asked the service staff why is that happening the answer was: "if you drive in a big pot hole the connection to the sensor that is located underneath the front passenger seat might become loose which requires to be connected again and re-calibrated. While having this issue the front passengers airbag might not deploy as the light on the middle console states that the passenger airbag is currently turned off even if the passenger is sitting in the seat and is restraint. To me it sounds as a big safety issue which should not happen just because of a pot hole.

- Elmhurst, NY, USA

problem #32

Jul 162014

Camry

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph attempting to avoid a crash, the contact steered the vehicle to the left side of the road and crashed into a boulder and a sign. The air bags failed to deploy and no warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. A police report was filed. As a result of impacting his head against the steering wheel, the contact sustained sprained neck cervix. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The failure and current mileage was 17,000.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #31

Dec 162013

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V442000 (air bags, electrical system, equipment). The contact stated that the repair had exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The dealer stated that parts were not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Plantation , FL, USA

problem #30

May 012014

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2012 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes in regards to recall appointment cancelled due to unavailability of parts.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #29

Apr 252014

Camry

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked on a slight incline with the engine turned on. Within 3 minutes, the vehicle suddenly began to roll forward and down a hill before crashing into a tree. The air bags did not deploy. The contact indicated that the driver was injured while attempting to enter the moving vehicle and sustained a bruised lung, injured leg and multiple contusions. Two child passengers suffered bruising from the car seat straps during the incident. The failure was not diagnosed nor was the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Ashville, AL, USA

problem #28

Sep 012013

Camry

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the ABS, traction control, and air bag light would intermittently illuminate on the instrument panel. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing where it was stated that the brake actuator assembly would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?