Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
31 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,294 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 2 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #363

May 042016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #362

Jul 222015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Holt, MI, USA

problem #361

Jul 202016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Colton, CA, USA

problem #360

Jun 162015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #359

Jun 012015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) was received in June of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cliffton Park, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #358

Jun 222016

Corolla

  • miles
"takata recall" - despite visits to two Toyota dealers in June 2016 I was unable to get the airbag changed according to the recall notice received in April. Both dealers complained that the manufacturer was not suppling adequate replacement airbags and it would take an indefinite time. This is unacceptable. Kindly intervene.

- Greenbelt, MD, USA

problem #357

Dec 312015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #356

May 102016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 08/30/16

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #355

May 022016

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Orrtanna, PA, USA

problem #354

Jan 022016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall - front passenger airbag inflator module. Received letter from Toyota that parts are available to fix this issue in my area on Feb-2016. So I called local dealer, stevens creek Toyota and they put me in waiting list. And I have waited for 2 months nothing happened. So I called Toyota customer experience center on 04/23/2016 and case # 1604230474 created with Toyota. Again dealer said another 6 to 8 weeks on 04/23/2016. Again I called today (07/02/2016), dealer is saying another 6 to 8 weeks. I want to know, if Toyota is not providing enough parts to dealer or if dealer is not doing their job" address of stevens creek Toyota: 4202 stevens creek blvd, san jose, ca 95129 ph# : 1-855-395-4521 what kind of oversight government is having over this recall?. does government following with Toyota, how many vehicles affected and how many fixed? I do see lot complaints from consumer's. is government taking any action against Toyota or dealer" thanks sami

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #353

Mar 232016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Chazy, NY, USA

problem #352

Mar 012016

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Rowland Heights, CA, USA

problem #351

Jun 302016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall I received a letter from Toyota saying that "Toyota has completed parts preparation for vehicles in your geographic area." Yet when I called a nearby Toyota dealership to schedule an appointment, I was told that the part wouldn't be available for 6-8 weeks (eventually the person said she "observed that they arrived in 4 weeks"). is this what it means for parts preparation to be complete" to then require an additional 4-8 weeks to roll out"

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #350

Jun 292016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 11/01/16 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 11/02/16.

- New Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #349

Jun 152015

Corolla

  • miles
"takata recall" it's been one year since my car has been placed on the recall list (6-15-2015). Close to one year since I got the remedy notice (6-1-2016). Acted quickly to the notice. (made a appointment on the website with one dealership on (6-2-16) for work to be done on (6-11-16) found out that day the part still needs to be ordered.) nowhere in the remedy notice informed me the part still need to be ordered. It said "Toyota has completed parts preparation for my vehicle in my geographic are" and I'm still waiting. Called Toyota twice now, first time (6-11-16) they said one to two weeks before the part is in. It's now been three weeks, no call from Toyota, I called on (6-28-16) and was told another two weeks before they get the part. Toyota knowing my car was defected since June 15, 2015. This should have been taken care of by now! I'm still waiting for the part and I can't sell it! im driving a ticking time air bag bomb and Toyota wants me to wait even longer" am I waiting for this to go off before something is done" hope the metal fragments don't fly in the back seat where my dog is! or fly side ways and hit me when I'm driving! it's already inconvenience I can't have a passenger in the front.

- Chippewa Lake, OH, USA

problem #348

Jun 012016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2005 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair passenger airbag inflator recall notice.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #347

Jun 092015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #346

May 132015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Galt, CA, USA

problem #345

Apr 112016

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #344

Jun 182016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. I received a "preliminary notice" months ago, telling me not to have any front-seat passengers in my car, and that I would be contacted again when the part was ready. Last week I finally received an "urgent recall notice." I called today to schedule the appointment and was told they still don't have the part in and that someone would contact me. This is ridiculous. I essentially have half a car, and Toyota is doing nothing about it.

- Los Gatos, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?