10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
33 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
32 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,638 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 4 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #326

May 182016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 07/27/16 updated 08/01/16.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #325

Jun 162015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Olive, MI, USA

problem #324

Sep 092015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #323

Aug 072015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) was received in August 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dupout, PA, USA

problem #322

May 122016

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and stated that the repairs were being provided to certain areas first. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Culver City, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #321

Dec 152015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #320

Aug 052015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and had not been able to receive the part for the recall repair for an extended period of time. In addition, the dealer stated that there were 30 customers on the waiting list and the contact was next to receive the part for the repair. The dealer stated that they only received a limited supply of parts shipped from the manufacturer. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Shenandoah, PA, USA

problem #319

May 092016

Corolla

  • miles
Was notified over a year ago about recall. Never rec'd word from Toyota about part being available. Called last month and part was ordered. Rec'd another letter from Toyota stating same problem. Called newark Toyota about status of part ordered. Still on waiting list. No explanation why this is taking so long. Called corporate. Apparently parts are backordered and nothing being sent to dealership. Apparently they are still using the same manufacturer for the module that supplied all the faulty vehicles. Why!!! it seems that they really are not taking this very seriously. Why aren't we offered loaner or rental cars as in the case of Honda who has the same problem" how many lives are expendable before something is done to remedy the situation. I see that there are over seven million repairs so far. When will my car be fixed"

- Elkton, MD, USA

problem #318

May 022016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall 3 months till 1st avaliable appt..... bob smith Toyota 3333 foothill bl la crescenta, ca.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #317

Jan 112016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #316

Jun 022015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) was received in June of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wallingford, PA, USA

problem #315

Jul 012015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- La Mirada, CA, USA

problem #314

May 132015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sugarland, TX, USA

problem #313

Sep 072015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #312

Jan 082015

Corolla

  • 80,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. Whenever the contact started the vehicle, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bishop, CA, USA

problem #311

Jan 012016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pleasant Plains, AR, USA

problem #310

Apr 112016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. I was informed by Toyota on 8/10/15 about the takata recall. I was not able to get the recall fixed on my car until 4/11/16 due to the "unavailability of replacement parts." I had to use the car for 8 months without letting anyone sit in the front passenger seat! I was not able to car pool to work and this really put a damper on my ability to reasonably Transport my family, friends and co-workers. The time it took to replace the defective parts is completely unacceptable!

- Hickory Hills, IL, USA

problem #309

Mar 212016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata inflator: Received letter recommending urgent safety recall. Parts were supposedly ordered 3/21/16. As of today, 4/8/16, parts are "backorder" with no timeframe. Spoke to "jennifer" at Toyota repair shop. This is unacceptable. I frequently have passengers in my car, as I take friends to doctor appointments. Please advise....by the way, the letter states that Toyota has the parts available for my geographic region. So why are the parts not available? I called as soon as I received the letter.

- Bronxville, NY, USA

problem #308

Jun 192015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags). The dealer was unable to provide the part within a reasonable time frame for the recall repair. The dealer stated that the manufacturer was only sending a limited supply of parts. The contact was placed on a waiting list for several months and was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Aston, PA, USA

problem #307

Apr 202015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. We got a notice after I was told in 2014 the Corolla we have was not in the recall even thought I gave the VIN? since the notice over nine months ago we have not heard a word from Toyota to get the car repaired. My co-worked has had her car (Corolla) repaired" Toyota has told us to not ride in the front passanger seat until this is repaired yet cannot tell us when ths is to happen" I am aveteran and do not like driving a grenade each time I am on the road!

- Halifax, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?