Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2007 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2007 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2007 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,417 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Apr 152016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles


Gentle persons: I would like to draw your attention to a safety issue associated with my vehicle (Toyota Corolla 2007, VIN: [xxx]) listed on NHTSA web site. NHTSA campaign id number: 10V384000 I have been experiencing similar sudden stop problem while driving, and would therefore, appreciate if you could take necessary anticipated measures to ensure the safety of this vehicle. I have to resubmit this complaint as I could not open your E-mail. Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #41

Apr 152016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Gentle persons I would like draw your attention to a safety issue associated with my vehicle (Toyota Corolla 2007, VIN: [xxx]) listed on NHTSA web site. I have been experiencing similar sudden stop problem while driving. NHTSA campaign id number: 10V384000 NHTSA action number: 2 investigations found component: Engine and engine cooling summary: Toyota is recalling certain model year 2005-2008 Corolla and Corolla matrix vehicles. The engine control module (ECM) for the subject models equipped with the 1zz-fe engine and two-wheel drive may have been improperly manufactured. There is a possibility that a crack may develop at certain solder points or on varistors on the circuit board. Consequence: There are a variety of warnings and consequences associated with the defect. The engine warning lamp could be illuminated, harsh shifting could result, the engine may not start, or the engine could shut off while the vehicle is being driven. An engine shutoff while the vehicle is being driven increases the risk of a crash. I have been experiencing sudden stops of my vehicle while driving that is likely related to the ECM. A case has been registered with Toyota national head quarter suggesting to call Toyota at 800-331-4331. I called and spoke with [xxx] (April 15, 2016 at 11:05 cst). She refused to provide any help although I provided her the case number. She handled the case very rudely and unprofessional, kept me on hold for several minutes and then gave me the same case number with no further action and ended the call. I am also notifying NHTSA about the this problem. Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #40

Aug 222013


  • miles
A fire started from underneath the car and came up through the back seat. Entire car engulfed in flames in seconds except for front hood area and engine. Faulty fuel line?

- Mechanicsburg, IL, USA

problem #39

Jun 192012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles


I was driving uphill on a one-way street in downtown when I saw and heard the sparks about 1 minute apart from each other on the front left side between the crack of the hood, the car lost power and turned off. I started it again, and it only moved about two feet and turned off. The car started to roll back, and the steering wheel locked making it impossible to steer. An unknown driver who was in front of us was merging to park to the right told us to get off because the car was on fire, next the smoke was visible. It began to smell like burned plastic, and then we saw the thick grey smoke coming through the crack of the hood. I pulled the hand emergency brake to stop the car from rolling back down any further. I opened the hood we all got out of the car. I went back inside the car to unhooked the harness off my dog. I was so scared that I couldn't release my dog, and my son's girlfriend helped me, and we got my dog out. My son, his girlfriend and I got the super-size large drink we just bought at mcdonald's and dumped on the fire with the help of the unknown man who got a bucket of some liquid possibly water from the hotel next to us, and the fire was out. I was so terrifying of how rapid my car caught on fire and how fast everything happening. My car was well maintained by Toyota regularly, and the mechanic told us that there is no known reason why the fire started. Toyota has replaced the defected computer twice, the transmission once, I had two electrical problems in the past, and I do not feel safe in a car with so many manufacturers defective parts. Unexplainable fire, is the response I got from the insurance and repair shop which does not make me feel safe to drive a car that could caught fire at any time.

- Imperial Beach, CA, USA

problem #38

Sep 132011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
We were notified last summer/fall that there was a safety recall on some 2005-2008 Toyota Corolla and matrix models. The letter states that we would be notified when parts became available and that due to the possible failure of the ECM -engine control module -(cracks on welds) the engine may stop working while the car is being driven. Therefore we have not been able to drive it except at slow speeds considering safety and hoping our car was not one that fell under the recall. Considering we never got another letter (expected Nov 2010) we believed we must be exempt from the recall, but yesterday we received the notice that the parts are available so we went in to our local Toyota dealer seeger Toyota in St robert mo where it was confirmed our car falls under this serious safety recall. The dealer now is saying they don't have the part available and they will "call" us when they have it in. How long is acceptable " does someone have to die before Toyota follows through? now that we know this involves our vehicle I don't feel good about operating it. What are our recourses under the law"

- Waynesville, MO, USA

problem #37

Aug 232011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 75,848 miles
I tried repeatedly to have the engine control module replaced in my 2007 Corolla as I was instructed to do in three safety recall notices. I brought the car to Toyota of el cajon the first time on June 28th after receiving a notice that stated that the parts were ready. The part was (apparently) ordered by Toyota of el cajon, and I was asked to leave my car overnight. The next day I was asked to pick up the car because the part had not come in. I was told to wait to make an appointment until the part came in. No one called me to schedule the appointment. I went online around July 18th and scheduled an appointment for July 25th. I brought my car in and waited 1 hour. The service manager then came and told me that the part was not there, and that he would need to re-order it. He told me he would call me and that if I didn't hear from him in a week to call him. I called him two weeks later and he told me that the part was still not in. He told me he would call me to follow up, but never did. I haven't heard back from Toyota of el cajon since then. I filed an incident report ([xxx]) on Toyota's website on August 16, 2011, but I have not received a response. I also tried calling Toyota's customer experience center today, August 23, but the call center is down and I could not get through. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #36

Dec 152010


  • 58,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated the vehicle was included in NHTSA recall campaign id number: 10V384000 (engine and engine cooling). When the vehicle was repaired per the recall, the contact noticed the engine warning light illuminated on the instrument panel and a vibration in the engine. The contact stated prior to the recall repair there was an oil leak in the engine. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing nor was it repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Orocovis, PR, USA

problem #35

Mar 012011


  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V384000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the parts necessary to remedy the failure were not available and they were unsure as to when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 24,000.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #34

May 312011


  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated after receiving the NHTSA campaign I.D. number 10V384000 engine and engine cooling recall repair performed, the vehicle would not start. The contact stated the vehicle was working fine before the contact took the vehicle to the dealer. The check engine light came on while the contact was at the dealership. The dealer did not perform a diagnostic test but stated the stated the vehicle would not remain idle. The dealer turned the check engine light off and cleaned the throttle. A month after the recall repair was performed the vehicle began to stall. The contact stated occasionally the vehicle failed to start. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer again and was advised that the vehicle may need another throttle cleaning but a diagnostic test needed to be performed. The additional diagnostic test was not performed since the manufacturer should be responsible for the cost. The failure mileage was 106,000.

- Statesville, NC, USA

problem #33

Jan 022011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the engine was exhibiting an abnormal growling noise. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V384000 (engine and engine cooling). The dealer advised that he would receive a second notification when the parts needed for recall repairs had become available. The contact was concerned that the failure would progress and affect other components of the vehicle or that the vehicle would stall before he was able to have the recall repairs performed. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the vehicles that were on the assembly line would receive the recall repairs fist. The manufacturer was unable to provide an estimated time frame of when the part would become available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 35,400. The dealer replaced the engine control module and gasket. Updated 04/29/11

- Greencastle, PA, USA

problem #32

Nov 302010


  • 22,627 miles


The power died when I was on a very busy thoroughfare at rush hour. I had to cross several lanes of traffic and was barely able to crawl to the shoulder. I was towed to a repair shop and was told the engine computer module was defective. I understand Toyota is aware of this problem, but has yet to give recall details to their customers or to their dealerships. What are they waiting for? I could have easily been in an accident or caused one. If Toyota won't move on their own, please force them to act. Lives are at risk!

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #31

Apr 012009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota Corolla. Consumer states that the vehicle's engine began to speed up by itself while driving. The consumer also stated the engine light illuminated. The consumer stated he was involved in a car accident while waiting at a light. When the light turned green, he removed his foot from the brake pedal when suddenly the vehicle accelerated and the consumer hit the vehicle in front of him, and then another vehicle rear ended him. The vehicle was taken to the repair shop to have the necessary repairs made and to see why the vehicle was accelerating on its own. A few months later, the engine light illuminated again. The dealer informed the consumer the ECU needed to be replaced. Also, the air bag light illuminated and there was a knocking noise coming from the engine.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #30

Oct 152010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
2007 Toyota Corolla S smokes due to oil sludge, vehicle smokes when first starting and periodically during the day. I took vehicle to dealer and was told that the engine was sludged due to poor maintenance, it has come to my attention that there are 3245 other Toyota owners who were told the same thing, "how can this be true" ? this clearly looks to be a defect that Toyota does not want to take responsibility for, and this looks to be a dangerous situation for Toyota owners. I heard of engines failing because of this issue, and report of fires and engines seizing while driving on highways, and Toyota will do nothing to fix the problem. My vehicle is still under warranty and they are not honoring that warranty.

- Tarpon-Springs, FL, USA

problem #29

Oct 242010


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately 5- 10 mph when the engine completely stalled without warning. The contact restarted the engine and resumed operation. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the electronic control module was replaced. The similar failure recurred on a different occasion. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician was unable to generate a trouble code however, further inspection was being performed on the vehicle. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Syracuse , NY, USA

problem #28

Oct 182010


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The vehicle was involved in recall 10V384000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact called the dealer and was informed that the parts for repair were on backorder. The contact called the manufacturer who confirmed that the parts were on backorder. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 35,000.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #27

Oct 012010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 9,200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph when the entire instrument panel illuminated and the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. As the contact was reversing into a parking space, the vehicle stalled again. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that a catastrophic computer failure had occurred. The repairs were performed under warranty. The current and failure mileage was approximately 9,200. Updated 01/18/11 after the incident, the consumer contacted the manufacturer via phone. The consumer discovered a recall notice on the Toyota website regarding the engine control module that was issued on August 26, 2010. The consumer received a recall notice 2 weeks after the incident. Updated 02/22/11

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #26

Aug 112010


  • 37,000 miles
On August 11, 2010, while driving our 2007 Toyota Corolla at about 40 mph the engine suddenly stopped running. We coasted and were able to get pulled off the road safely. The engine would not restart. We called our Toyota dealer service department and explained what was going on. They said there was a problem with the computer in the 2007 Corollas and that was probably what we were experiencing. We were instructed to have the car towed to the dealer and if that was the case, I.e., computer failure, the tow charge and the repair would be covered under the vehicle warranty, they would hold a service spot open for us that very day and it would be taken care of when we arrived. They quoted a repair time of about 1 hour. We had the car towed to the dealer. It was a computer failure. The repair was completed in about the stated time. If this had happened on the highway in a construction zone where both sides of the road are lined with concrete abutments and there is no place to pull off our outcome may have been very different. It is frightening to think what could have happened to us with a stalled car in a highway construction zone with no way to get out of the flow of traffic. I think the fact that the car can just stop running while being driven has been underplayed.

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #25

Feb 272009


  • 17,728 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. While driving at approximately 10 mph the vehicle stalled. After approximately 30 minutes she was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where she was informed there was a failure within the computer system, the vehicle was repaired. The failure has not recurred. The failure mileage was 17,728 and the current mileage was 34,000.

- Natick, MA, USA

problem #24

Aug 082009


  • 64,521 miles
Car stalled on highway at ~55 mph, and successfully restarted once. Stalled out again on highway later that day and needed tow to dealership. Dealership noted engine stalling below 1000 RPM, and could not communicate with computer (ECM). Dealership replaced ECM (89661-02K21) for free under warranty, and Toyota Corp. Reimbursed for towing.

- Farmingville, NY, USA

problem #23

Aug 232010


  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle would turn over but would not start. The check engine light was illuminated each time the contact attempted to start the vehicle. The contact was able to secure an appointment with the dealer for diagnosis. The failure mileage and current mileage was 14,000.

- Whitestone , NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?