ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,432 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Audi A3 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Audi A3:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Audi A3 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #47

Feb 102016

A3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Audi A3. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V079000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair as the recall notice was received over a year ago. The dealer (Audi farmington hills, 37911 grand river ave, farmington hills, mi 48335, (248) 471-0800) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was contacted several times and was unable to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #46

Oct 182017

A3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Audi A3. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 18V082000 (air bags); however, the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called Audi service portland dealer ((877) 868-3792, 14811 ne airport way, portland, or 97230) and was informed that the part was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and did not offer any assistance. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #45

Oct 172018

A3

  • miles
Takata recall: We keep receiving urgent safety recall notices for our airbags but there are no dealerships that have the parts to complete this recall. Every single dealership that I have contacted inside and outside of the bay area have all said the materials are ¿on back order¿ ¿this continues to be so since January 2017. We have two children and rely on our Audi which is also our only car. We cannot afford to get another car at this time and try to use public transit as much as possible but not always realistic or safe for a baby who was born prematurely. We have to have our car fixed but Audi simply mailing out recall notices without the supplies in place to correct this potentially fatal defect is nothing more than their legal due diligence on paper and not corrective. Please help us.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #44

Oct 162018

A3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My complaint is regarding the glacial pace which Audi has taken to remedy the recall associated with my automobile. We were provided with a temporary fix that replaced the original airbag inflation device with a new one that has the same problem in April of 2016. I first contacted Audi on May 3rd. Of 2017 to inquire about the status of a permanent repair for a faulty, and potentially deadly, airbag in my 2006 Audi A3 and no parts were available at the time. I contacted them again today, October 16th 2018 and there are still no parts available to complete the repair. This is all well after I was initially notified of the recall to begin with. It will have been years since this recall was put in place by the time I receive a permanent fix while my wife drives our two children around in a car with a potentially lethal airbag in it. I'm shocked and disgusted by the lack of urgency that Audi has displayed in neglecting to fix my car as well as, what I imagine, are thousands of other Audi owners waiting on a fix while driving a death trap. Something needs to be done to force Audi's hand and complete the recall repairs they are beholden to.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #43

Oct 152018

A3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Audi A3. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 18V082000 (air bags). The dealer (Audi of North miami, 1995 ne 142nd St, North miami, fl 33181, 305-952-5900) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified and did not assist. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hallandale Beach, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #42

Apr 012016

A3

  • miles
"takata recall" I have received numerous notices from Audi of America, Inc., most recently may, June and July 2018. These notices ask me to contact an Audi dealer regarding a safety recall for driver frontal airbag inflator (takata) as soon as possible to have the airbag replaced free of charge. I contacted Audi stevens creek in san jose, ca, and was able to have a temporary airbag replacement installed on June 2, 2017. At that time, I was told a permanent airbag would need to be replaced in the future when the part arrived. I have called this dealer several times, most recently Sept. 4, 2018, and was told each time that they do not have the part and do not know when they will get it. I now want to sell my car and may be unable to do so because of this problem. I also feel I am at risk if getting into an accident if this bag is not permanently replaced. The very first notice I received from Audi America was April 2016 regarding its safety recall of this takata airbag. It is now Sept. 2018, and I still do not have a permanent airbag replacement. This is unacceptable.

- Scotts Valley, CA, USA

problem #41

Feb 092016

A3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. NHTSA recall number 16V079. Audi action code 69N2. Recall start date Feb 09, 2016. My issue is that I have been waiting for an "interim repair" for my defective takata airbag inflator for 2 years 4 months and 20 days at the date of writing this complaint. I drive myself and my family in my vehicle, and according to the Audi national customer service representative I spoke with, it is both my passenger and driver airbag inflators that need to be replaced. This is extremely concerning as I drive my family in my vehicle. The lack of information Audi has been able to give to me regarding when parts will be available has led me here. Quite frankly, I have run out of patience, as I'm driving a vehicle that can potentially cause my family and myself harm/death, where the device (inflator/airbag) should be keeping us safe. There is no waiting list to be added to for the parts, and the lack of any specificity of when the parts will be available is beyond absurd, especially since I've been waiting and calling them every so often for more than 2 years now. I have called all of the local Audi dealerships in my area for information regarding the takata recall and part availability, along with the Audi national number, all to no avail or any specificity of getting this problem addressed.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #40

May 292018

A3

  • 38,000 miles
Takata recall I live on the island of maui and Audi usa has still not provided service technicians to replace recalled takata airbags. They expect residents to ship their cars to oahu at $600 for the recall! we have trained Audi service techs at the maui volkswagon dealer karmart, but Audi usa will not approve them to do the service.

- Wailuku, HI, USA

problem #39

May 162018

A3

  • miles
Received notice of recall from Audi America in April 2016. Beginning in January 2018 have received three notices to contact dealer for repairs. Was first told by dealer that the airbag replacement was not in stock. After the third notice was received in April the dealer now indicates that the car is "clear" and no recalls (including air bag) are in effect. After calling Audi America they have now given me notice by phone that they also note that there are no recalls for this vehicle. I have left messages now asking for this in writing but have received no reply.

- Drain, OR, USA

problem #38

Apr 102018

A3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Audi A3. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 18V082000 (air bags); however, the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called Audi of tysons corner at (877) 460-3588 (located at 8598 leesburg pike, vienna, va 22182) and was informed that the part was not available. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact to call the dealer to be placed on a waiting list. No further assistance was offered. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #37

Apr 092018

A3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. Local dealer cancelled my recall appointment the day before saying they did not have parts. 2 weeks later called for an update, still no parts. They said "call Audi and ask, we have no idea when we're getting parts." Talked to Audi of America, they point you to the dealers and a waiting list.

- Alamo, CA, USA

problem #36

Feb 132018

A3

  • 150,000 miles
Takata recall unable to obtain replacement part. Have been on waiting list for 8 months, and unable to obtain any estimate or promise of repair. One dealer service manager told us 2 - 3 years.

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #35

Jan 042018

A3

  • miles
Takata recall. Audi refuses to repair the takata recall issue for U.S. military stationed overseas. We are a U.S. military family stationed in germany with a 2006 Audi A3 registered with local military base vehicle registration services. Our ¿american specification" Audi is part of the takata airbag recall that has impacted millions of vehicles worldwide. I have spoken in person to several local dealerships here in germany to have the recall repair completed. Result: They have refused to do anything. I have also used online chat services with Audi usa to gain clarification on the process. Result: They have confirmed in writing that Audi germany will not be fixing any american specification vehicles with the takata recall issue (see attached screenshot of conversation). Audi usa currently has a notice on their website (https://www.audiusa.com/about/takata): "I'm in the military overseas with my vehicle. What can I expect? overseas military personnel will receive notices like U.S. customers, and be similarly directed when to schedule the remedy service with their authorized Audi dealer." This is clearly false and misleading (screenshot attached). There are thousands of U.S. servicemembers and families in germany with american specification vehicles such as ours. We want to fix this recall issue. Please help us.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #34

Nov 092017

A3

  • miles
Takata airbag recall. Manufacturer has failed to remedy.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #33

May 202016

A3

  • miles
Takata recall. Dealer said they did not have parts

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #32

Oct 302016

A3

  • 0 miles
Takata recall - Audi dealerships are either denying that there is a recall or refusing repair on the basis of airbag unavailability. I have been in contact with both of the following dealerships regarding this recall for about 1 year with no satisfaction. Rockville Audi, bryan webster, checked the Audi recall site as late as 10/30/2017 and showed me on the screen that there were no open recalls on my vehicle, and denied replacement. Silver spring Audi (mile one) (original selling dealer) acknowledged recall but indicated repeatedly that they could not obtain a replacement from takata and therefore could not comply with the replacement of the recalled airbag. This has effectively denied me the use of my car for 12 months.

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #31

Feb 062016

A3

  • miles
Takata recall, we were notified of a recall on our airbags and were never contacted again not knowing whether or not if there was a fix.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #30

Apr 152016

A3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Audi A3. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V079000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Marquette, MI, USA

problem #29

Apr 142017

A3

  • miles
I received a letter from Audi related to the takata airbag recall that told me to immediately schedule a temporary fix with them. I called the dealership (Audi of des moines, Iowa), and they said they have no parts to do the fix and do not have any eta on when the parts will be available.

- Urbandale, IA, USA

problem #28

Apr 132017

A3

  • 40,000 miles
Takata recall. I live on the island of maui and the only authorized dealer to perform the safety recall of takata inflators, is on oahu. Neither the dealer, or Audi of America, Inc. Will pay for the shipping of the vehicle for this recall. This will cost hundreds of dollars for shipping both ways, and is only a temporary fix. Additional cost will be required when there is a "final remedy."

- Puunene, HI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?