ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,808 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1996 Audi A4 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1996 Audi A4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1996 Audi A4 Owner Comments

problem #17

Mar 012009

A4

  • 210,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have 1996 Audi A4 and experiencing the same recall problem as NHTSA campaign id number: 06V403000, which is not able to return the ignition key to the running position after starting the engine. This condition causing electrical accessories such as windshield wipers and headlights to become inoperative increasing the risk of a crash. I see the following recall on your website. But when I contact Audi at 1-800-822-2834, they says my 1996 Audi A4 is not qualified for this recall. Vehicle make / model: Model year(s): Audi / A4 1996-1997 manufacturer: Volkswagen of America, Inc mfr's report date: Oct 20, 2006 NHTSA campaign id number: 06V403000 N/a NHTSA action number: N/a component: Electrical system:ignition:switch potential number of units affected: 28594.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #16

Nov 102008

A4 6-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 1996 Audi A4. The contact stated that his keys were stuck in the ignition. His VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 06V403000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). The failure and current mileages were less than 200,000. Updated 12-08-08 updated 12/10/08.

- Lancaster , PA, USA

problem #15

Nov 012006

A4 6-cyl

  • miles
1996 Audi A4 customer had replaced the ignition switch than a week later he received a recall letter. Customer submitted the paper to Audi and was given half payment customer would like full reimbursement*

- Ham Lake, MN, USA

problem #14

Oct 102006

A4 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicles starter completely failed on two occasions. The first time, the vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop, who replaced the starter. The vehicle was driven back to the contacts residence with no problems. That same day, the contact attempted to start the vehicle and the starter failed again. The vehicle was pushed to the nearby independent repair shop, who determined that the ignition switch was defective, and was the cause for the burnt starter. The contact researched the problem online, and noticed an NHTSA recall #00V317000 regarding, electrical system: Ignition: Switch. On 10/13/06, the manufacturer was contacted, who confirmed the vehicle was included in the recall, but the period to have the recall work performed had expired.

- Los Gatos, CA, USA

problem #13

Oct 102005

A4 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 90,500 miles
(1) I received a recall notice (le recall) from Audi of America on the ignition switch on my 1996 A4 sedan. The recall work was performed on 10/10/02. At that point in time the original ignition switch had been performing correctly for 69 months but I had it replaced because of Audi's recommendation; not because it had a malfunction. (2)in October of 2005 the replacement ignition switch failed after exactly 36 months of service. I had problems with the wiper blades and the A/C. because of the failure I experienced previously on the 1997 Audi I turned the motor off then opened the car door and restarted the motor. I heard what sounded like the starter motor still engaged so I turned the motor off and had the car towed to reeves Audi. (3)reeves Audi replaced the ignition switch and billed me about $661 but after I complained they gave me a 15% discount so I ended up paying about $571 (4)I called Audi of America. They were able to pull up my earlier complaint about the 1997 A4 and created a new file for the 1996 A4 (50407850). However, their final word on the subject was that they stood behind the 15% discount offered to me by reeves Audi. (5)bottom line is that for 2 Audi automobiles I had good ignition switches that had served 59 and 69 months be replaced because of an Audi of America recall and then had the replacement ignition switches fail after 18 and 36 months. I am out of pocket over $2500 for a problem identified by Audi of America and supposedly corrected by reeves Audi of tampa. How can a car manufacturer identify a problem (was it a safety recall), identify corrective action, put out a recall notice and then have the improved part fail in such a short time span. My original ignition switches never did fail. (6)my contention is that Audi did not correct the problem when they performed the recall, in fact they made the problem considerably worse. Audi should bear the responsibility of repairing these ignition switches a 2nd. Time.

- Odessa, FL, USA

problem #12

Jul 012005

A4 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 87,000 miles
I own an 1996 Audi A4. Recently, my headlights and taillights have stopped functioning all together at various times. Sometimes they work fine the next minute they wouldn't. one night I almost got rear-ended by another car because my rear taillights were not illuminated. So I took the car to Audi to get the problem taken care of. When I went to Audi, they told me I have a bad ignition switch and said the problem would probably be taken care of with the replacement of the switch. I got the work done and then went on the internet to check any recalls from the NHTSA. A recall #00V317000 came up and described the exact problem I had with my Audi. However, when I called the dealer and Audi they told me the recall did not apply to my VIN #. I found it hard to believe that this hazard was taken care of for a select number of cars but there are still cars out on the roadway that have the same exact problem. I think Audi would have been much more likely to pay for the repairs if that Ford F250 Super Duty would have placed its V-8 in my passenger's seat as it almost did. It was an awful close call for me and I am having a huge problem with Audi not taking responsibility for their defects.

- Hatfield, PA, USA

problem #11

Aug 262005

A4 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problem with ignition switch causing the return spring force to be insufficient for returning the ignition key to the running position after starting the engine, also causing electrical accessories to become inoperative and running down the battery. There was a recall concerning the ignition switch on the exact same year (1996) and model (Audi A4) and regarding the exact same ignition problem. I have spoken with the dealers service department and the manufacturer concerning this problem. The recall they claim does not include my VIN number. However, my car is a 1996 Audi A4 and my vehicle is having the exact same safety problem covered under the recall. The recall #00V317000.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #10

Jul 172005

A4 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
Although the ignition switch of my 1996 Audi A4 was replaced under recall in August 2001, it has the same failure almost exactly 4 years later. The switch neither allows the car to completely shut off nor allows the wipers, lights and indicators to function.

- Berwyn, PA, USA

problem #9

Mar 101998

A4 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
00 V 317 000/ignition switch: The ignition switch will not return to the running position after starting the vehicle. The consumer would have to manually turn the switch back after starting the vehicle. The consumer noticed the recall on the NHTSA website and notified her dealer. The dealer informed the consumer that her vehicle identification number was not covered under the recall.

- Venice, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 272004

A4 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 98,238 miles
There were no crashes and no injuries related to this incident. I purchased a 1996 Audi A4 quattro, VIN [xxx], used on February 7, 2004. On the incident date the ingition switch failed causing damage to the starter motor. The vehicle was taken to our service dealer, midwestern auto group, dublin, Ohio where the problem was diagnosed as a failure of the ingition switch housing. This is the exact same failure that initiated a recall campaign, NHTSA campaign id# 00V317000 (Audi campaign code le). The dealer researched the Audi database and discovered that the recall campaign was completed on this vehicle in 2001. Subsequently, the Audi manufacturers representative, to the displeasure of the dealer, has denied any claim on this incident pertaining to the recall. The representative stated that it is Audi's policy that once a recall has been completed on a vehicle, it will not honor any further claims even if the problem is exactly the same. A call to the Audi consumer advocate department confirmed this policy, incident # [xxx]. two issues surface because of this incident. The first issue is the adequacy of the solution to the initial recall. The second issue is Audi's response and policy concerning identical failures of components addressed in a previous recall campaign.the parts are being replaced at my cost and will be retained along with the service invoice. Updated 07/24/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Centerburg, OH, USA

problem #7

Aug 252003

A4 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When trying to start the vehicle, the ignition would not turn. The starter failure was a direct result of the ignition switch. Recall# 00V317000. This was confirmed by the dealer.

- Laguna Hills, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 252002

A4 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
I had a problem identical to the problem described in NHTSA campaign id 00V317000. I had to have the ignition switch replaced and subsequently had to also replace the headlight control assembly as well. Audi usa said that my vehicle was not covered as part of the current campaign. However, I've seen numerous postings on the Audi chat boards from people in my exact position (same problem, same year car - but Audi usa says they're not covered). Seems like it's a little screwy. Please confirm reciept of this message and let me know if there are any next steps I should take. Thanks much

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #5

Apr 232002

(reported on)

A4

  • miles
While driving 35 mph and without warning rpms dropped and vehicle started to buck violently. Mechanic has replaced both starter and ignition switch with in 2-month period. Consumer stated problem was still occurring.

- Tuson, AZ, USA

problem #4

Jun 012001

A4

  • miles
Vehicle exhibited same problem as described in recall campaign 01V317000. Exterior lights fail to function if key in ignition was not manually turned backwards by driver. Manufacturer informed consumer that vehicle was not affected by the above mentioned recall. Please provide any additional information / documentation.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #3

Apr 222000

A4

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Ignition switch failed and caused starter to go. Vehicle wouldn't start at all. Dealership was aware of problem.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #2

Feb 272001

(reported on)

A4

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recall 00V317000; plastic ignition switch housing has fractured at return anchor point, vehicle has developed exact symptoms listed in recall(00V317) summary. Vehicle not selected for recall due to VIN.

- Damascus, MD, USA

problem #1

Jul 022000

A4

  • miles
Ignition switch was still on when consumer started vehicle. Also, starter didn't return back when engaged from the switch, and air conditioner was blowing slowy and there was a smell coming fron the air conditioner. Consumer took vehicle to the dealership. Mechanic told conssumer that he needed an evaporator, and it was leaking coolant.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?