ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

2011 Audi A4 engine problems: excessive oil usage

Excessive Oil Usage

2011 Audi A4

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Audi dealer.

8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$6,000
Average Mileage:
62,650 miles
Total Complaints:
14 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (11 reports)
  2. new engine (2 reports)
  3. replace pistons and rings (1 reports)
2011 Audi A4 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Audi A4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Audi A4 Owner Comments

problem #14

Aug 012018

A4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A4 2011 model was consuming oil very frequently. They did some oil test and finally replaced most of the parts like piston, ring and tension-er and other parts to fix the issue. Hopefully I can keep this vehicle for another 50K miles without any other problems.

- Yeshvanth J., New Brighton, US

problem #13

Dec 172016

A4 A4 2.0L Tfsi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

When I first bought my car at 80,000 miles it leaked from the valve cover. Didn't see it because it was later in the evening when I bought it. After 2,000 miles I noticed my oil light come on. At this point I put oil in it and fixed the valve cover since it was a bit bent. No more leaks but still uses of quite a bit of oil. I used to travel for my job and always carried a jug of oil with me. I do my own work and maintenance so I know the ins and outs of my car.

Now at 113,000 and still been adding oil till this day. I've looked everywhere for a solution and it's all the same thing to take it into the dealership. Not happy. Last time I had them do my timing chain with new guides they over filled my oil and my car ran like crap and was jerking.

I did a recent tune up on it so I knew it wasn't anything I did. Even did an oil change before it went in. Just for the hell of it I decided to do another oil change which old had about 100 miles on. Well somehow I end up draining 10 quarts of oil out of my car and noticed it was leaking from the transmission oil cooler. It was a puddle of oil. I loosen all my oil lines and re-attached them and the leak went away. Dealership over filled my oil without draining it. Didn't have time to go back due to traveling for job. I was away for a whole month.

Still adding oil. 1 quart about 200-300 miles. From there I know it's not going to get any better so I decided that if internals need to be changed might as well have fun with it. I upgraded my engine to stage 2 and deal with replacing the pistons and rings later. Best part is that it's not leaking.

- Toby Z., Burlington, WA, US

problem #12

Jan 012015

A4 ES 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

I called and called the dealership about the car using oil excessively... they kept telling me it was normal... I'm not a mechanic, but I know using 2 quarts plus in 5k miles is something wrong. I started reporting it before the car had 40k miles on it... then I filled out the paperwork for the lawsuit.... my car is a 2011.. when I got the paperwork in the mail that lawsuit was won .. I called. my car had 82K miles on it. they said they couldn't do anything because it was 2k over the limit granted in the lawsuit. WHAT? this is ridiculous. this car now has 99K miles on it and uses a quart of oil every 1k miles. biggest disappointment from any car and manufacturer I have ever heard of . to me this is totally unacceptable!!!!!!!!

- Kathy J., Paris, US

problem #11

Jan 012015

A4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine was replaced and still continues to consume excessive amounts of oil. Not covered under warranty anymore so I'm not sure what my options are now. I have to add a quart of oil every 200 to 300 miles.

- Chris G., Danbury, CT, US

problem #10

Sep 152016

A4 Prestige

  • Manual transmission
  • 83,000 miles

Bought the car used from Audi of Nashua NH, they said it was perfect. Then after the 4th time in at Fathers and Sons in West Springfield MA they said the time to fix expired in July 2017, funny I bought the car in August 2017. The MA dealer said the NH dealer should have known and fixed it since they had it while covered, instead they lied and passed it on to me. Never going to buy another Audi! They don't stand by their cars.

- Heather D., Wilbraham, MA, US

problem #9

Mar 042017

A4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

I have always been diligent about having my car serviced when needed. I always have had the oil changed or added when needed. My car has been burning excessive oil and my husband has been having to add oil every week it seemed. Finally, my husband and I were out to breakfast and got in my car to drive home and it was idling very rough which resulted in it not driving forward or in reverse. The result was having it towed to the mechanic where the diagnosis was I needed a new engine. Not at all happy!! I've never had to replace an engine in a car and my car has been babied and well taken care of.

- Nancy C., Rancho Cucamonga, US

problem #8

Sep 052016

A4 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

October 4, 2014

I purchased from Boardwalk Auto in Redwood City, CA a used 2011 Audi A4 Wagon Avant Quattro with about 75,400 miles on it on August 7, 2016 . Very clean nice ride but it burns oil like crazy! I’m now at 79,765 and have put in my 7th quart of oil. I noticed on the site that there was a problem with the some models up to 2010; can I learn more about this? Also why is there no Dip Stick and from where should I get one?

- Robert Dwight LeTroy A., San Francisco, USA

problem #7

Jun 212016

A4 A-4 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,828 miles

In Dec. 2010 I purchased a new 2011 Audi A-4 and loved the car although I did not drive it much as I had problems with my back and wintered in Fla. When I returned in May and drove my new car approx. 4500 miles, I notice the oil light had come on, read the manual and check with the dealer and he said to add oil as it is normal for high performance engines. I did and noticed that approx. every 1500 miles the oil gauge was coming on. I spoke with them again and brought it in for an oil change at 10,000 miles as I felt it was due.

Once again they assured me nothing wrong, normal. I had it serviced at 15,000 miles again no problem, just add oil when the light comes on. On June 21, 2016 with 21,828 miles on the vehicle I brought it in for an oil change but to a different dealership Herb Chambers in Burlington. They told me that the some of the 2009 & 2011 had problems with using excessive oil and they could do a test but I would have to bring it back after I put 2000 miles on it for the second test. When I brought it back with 24,765 miles on it the oil gauge was down.

They performed the second portion of the test on Sept. 28, 2016 and today is Oct 5 and I still have not rec'd my car back. I did call them on Sept 30 to see when it would be ready and they said they were waiting to hear back from Audi in Michigan as this is a $4000 job and they want to make sure it will be covered.

I am very concerned as I do have a service contract which they said expired and I don't believe that is correct as I have 4 free services 15,000, 25,000 (which I am paying $754 for) 35,000 and 45,000. I also have a 7 year or 70,000 mile warranty on everything which makes me nervous and the Audi dealership is taking the engine out to make adjustments and although they told me they have done 1000 of these repairs, that too doesn't make me feel comfortable. I want Audi to extend my service contract for two years and my warranty for at least 5 yrs or 70,000 without a cost to me OR take my car back. I have never had a problem with any of my vehicles. I have a Toyota Limited SUV with 115,000+ miles on it without one problem and serviced regularly. I want to know what Audi is going to do for me???

- bpopielski@verizon, Middleton, MA, US

problem #6

Jul 012014

A4 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

Started slow, now I am using about 1 quart of oil every 750 miles. I have oil on the floor of the garage at the bottom of the exhaust pipes. And I always have an extra quart of oil in the trunk for safety.

- Jim G., Middlebury, IN, USA

problem #5

Jun 192012

A4 Sedan 2.0L Turbo

  • CVT transmission
  • 12,211 miles

Years after first recalled, still having the Issue....

- carlosben357, Kodiak, AK, USA

problem #4

Sep 282015

A4 2.0t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

click to see larger images

excessive oil usage excessive oil usage excessive oil usage excessive oil usage excessive oil usage excessive oil usage

This is a story of true contrasting Audi dealership in Michigan. One dealership honored warranty repairs without any cost while another dealership tried to charge huge amount for the same warranty repair. One dealership showed high standard of professionalism in maintain Audi’s reputation while another dealership is spoiling Audi’s reputation by cheating and insulting the customer. Following two scenarios explains the case:

Scenario 1: Suburban Farmington Hills Audi, MI

I had a dream to buy an Audi car since my high school days. It took ten years to fulfill the dream when I purchase Audi 2011 A4 2.0T in Connecticut September 22, 2015. Underwent thorough inspection of the car, oil change/filter change and other fluid top-offs and thorough inspection at Hoffman East Hartford Audi, Connecticut on September 24, 2015. I took Audi from Connecticut to Michigan traveling 800 miles. After 1st week of purchase of this mint-conditioned Audi with new oil change and service, I saw oil level sign bright red on my dashboard, signaling “please add oil (max 1 quart).” I was shocked to learn about that warning sign because after new oil change service the oil is supposed to last more than 10,000 miles. But my oil thirsty Audi car started craving for new oil within 800 miles of journey, without any obvious sign of oil leakage.

My husband & I did good research online and found that problem of excessive oil consumption in Audi was widely prevalent and therefore a recall there was a global company recall for resolving the issue of excessive oil consumption. I brought Audi for the reliability and I have been nothing but disappointed with car for oil consumption this is not the quality from Audi I expect. My dream car turned into my worst nightmare. Oil consumption depends primarily on two things: the valve guides and piston rings. There was a manufacturer defect in value guides seals in those recall Audi models. We were completely distraught by this finding. I emailed this problem to Audi Headquarters Customer Service by providing VIN#, they confirmed this vehicle is under warranty for oil consumption repair.

Initially I took the car to Suburban Farmington Hills Audi and met Brian Strolk, a Service Consultant, as per his advice the oil in the car was topped off at the dealership without any repair work, just to reconfirm the oil consumption issue. And scheduled my car for Oil Consumption test one week later on October 8 – Thursday at 7:00am. After commuting 200-300 miles in a week, the oil warning sign re-appeared on October 11, 2015. My big white elephant/Audi car consumed 1 liter of oil per 200/300 miles.

Since the problem persisted, I dropped the car at Suburban Farmington Hills Audi dealership on October 8, 2015 for resolving the oil consumption issue. Audi dealership first agreed to repair the car under the oil consumption warranty program and kept the car in the shop for two days but to my surprise, the car was not repaired and I was told that Suburban Farmington Hills Audi dealership cannot proceed with oil consumption issue prior to correcting the fault and leak from main seal. Dealership claimed that they have opened the plastic covering underneath the engine and they have seen leakage stains on the pan cover. Later on, during inspection of pan cover in our presence showed no sign of any oil stain on the pan cover. We were shocked to learn about false information given to us by the dealership. Had we not asked for visual inspection in our presence, we would have not known the fact that the dealership is misguiding customers and indulging them for unnecessary repair cost.

Instead of resolving under warranty oil consumption issue, Audi dealership gave us estimated 10 hours repair work cost of $2,200 for replacement of rear main seal. When we denied repair work, Suburban Farmington Hill Audi charged us $152.99 for diagnostic charge for doing nothing but to keep the car for 2 full business days in the workshop without verifying the oil leakage symptoms on cover of plastic covering pan which is located underneath the engine. Because when we asked him to show us the oil leakage, he lifted the car up and removed the pan that showed no sign of any oil drop or leakage.

At our allotted residential parking lot, we don’t see any visible sign of oil drop on the ground. Visually plastic cover did not show any oil stain; the rear engine main seal did not show any apparent oil leakage or stains. As layman, we were not convinced with any theory of oil leakage so we visited a reliable and experienced automobile mechanic who also confirmed no oil leakage. Local private mechanic kept the car running for half an hour just to see if any oil leakage is present. Mechanic removed the cover pan for inspection of rear main engine seal leakage in our presence, we found dry masking tape and several dry leafs proving the plastic covering was not even removed by Suburban Farmington Hills Audi. Had Suburban Farmington Hills Audi removed the plastic covering during prior inspection, those leaves and dry masking tape would have not been present when they remove the pan cover at the time of so called dealership inspection/diagnostics. Even though they have not opened the pan cover, they charged us $152.99 for diagnostic inspection.

I want to make specific mention that our experienced with Suburban Farmington Hills Audi was horrible. The dealership was not customer friendly. The service manager, Idris Sherrod was very rude and he insulted and humiliated us when we asked for more details about the oil leakage. When we asked him to show us the oil leakage, he lifted the car up and removed the plastic cover plate for inspection. We noticed that plastic cover was completely dry showing no oil leakage or oil stain. That proved that he was lying before when he told us that dealership found oil stains on the plastic cover. Since he proved himself wrong, he became angry, started yelling to us and loudly told us to get out of the premises. He took the car off the ramp and insulted us. He also humiliated us and told us not to come back for any sort of repair work. His totally unprofessional behavior was shocking and disgusting. We never expected such a bad treatment from well-known and reputed Audi company. Suburban Farmington Hills Audi service center engaged in shameful practices toward customers and Service Manager, Idris Sherrod was so vicious he exclaimed with rage by telling us to “get out of my shop and don’t come back here.” The service manager arrogantly insulted us. I never in my life had seen such apathy from a company towards a customer.

Scenario 2: Rochester Hills Audi, MI

We were left with only one option of seeing second Audi dealership called Rochester Hills Audi. The service manager there was very accommodating. They initiated the procedure - part 1 “oil consumption TSB”, that included by topping off the oil and measuring the level by computer, following this, we were asked to return to the dealer after driving 600-1000 miles for re-measurement of the oil level and computer the consumption rate. During 600 miles test drive period, the warning sign for low oil reappeared again. So I visited Rochester Hills dealership for ratification of the problem. Rochester Hills Audi honored the repair work warranty and asked to drop the car for repair work and provided us rental car so that our daily routine doesn’t suffer. Rochester Hills Audi replaced the crank case, updated the engine management software, pistons, piston rights, con rods, gasket, spark plugs and cylinders without any issue and fixed the problem within 2 days without any cost.

On one hand, Suburban Farmington Hills Audi caused me lots of inconvenience and precious time along with tons of humiliation and insults while on other hand Rochester Hills Audi has respected the customer and honored the warranty repairs.

It is my humble request to Audi Management to safeguard the customers against the malpractices, cheating, insults, humiliation from arrogant Audi dealerships that spoil good image and reputation of Audi. Customer should not be victimized by the dealership; that dealership not respecting the warranty offered by Audi should not be in the list of Audi dealership. Rights of innocent customer should be protected and if dealership falsely asks for unnecessary repairs, the customer should be refunded the money. Such cases force the customer for lawsuit and class action. In a free market of USA, there is no room for monopoly. In absence of proper response, I may officially lodging a complaint with higher authority of Audi Headquarter, Better Business Bureau, Consumer Protection Department, Michigan Secretary of State and in several website.

Where is the consumer protection here? What are our options? The headaches of going back and forth to the dealer are unacceptable. It's the very last Audi I will ever own. Colleagues and friends never have issues with their Lexus/Toyota, Infiniti/Nissan, and other Japanese makes. We are only writing about our experience and resultant decision to not buy Audi products in the future. For the readers of this review, we can only highlight our saga and ask that you draw your own decision.

I am being defrauded, and my safety is at issue. I want some resolution in this matter.

We were hopeful that Audi would not try to escape the manufacturer’s responsibility to fix the oil consumption problem.

- Dhara P., Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #3

Oct 012013

A4 Front Track

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

Audi from 2009 - 2011 made cars with oil consumption problems, to which there was a class action law suit filed. My car was tested and goes through one quart of oil every 1000 miles..... RIDICULOUS! They would only pay for half of this $3,500 repair, due to the mileage - however I had been informing my Audi dealership (Audi Raleigh) of this issue for MONTHS prior to receiving the class action law suit.

They are not only terrible cars, but their management is faulty, and the way their treat their customers is less that satisfactory. needless to say - i will never buy another Audi, and i would recommend you don't either.

- Alexandra N., Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #2

Jan 022012

A4 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

My 2011 Audi has burned oil, every 2500 miles, from the get go. I brought it to the dealer and they did a consumption test Phase 1 and Phase 2 in 2012. They said it was normal. Recently I have had to add oil every 600 miles. I just called the dealer. They said because I did the test in 2012 and it came back normal, there is nothing they can do. What a crock! I will never buy an Audi again.

- Joan D., Hartofrd, CT, USA

problem #1

Jul 302014

A4 Quattro 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,678 miles

Car is using oil every 800 miles, just not right.

Had it serviced at a qualified Audi dealership from day one.

They never mentioned this problem.

- Rick E., New Cumberland, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?