8.3

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,211 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2000 Audi S4 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Audi S4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2000 Audi S4 Owner Comments

problem #19

Nov 212009

S4

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2000 Audi S4 with bridge stone blizzard ws- 60 tires 235/45/R17. He stated when driving over 50 mph the tires do not grip and lose traction. Bridgestone was contacted and they stated that they could not help him.this issue has been occurring ever since he purchased the tires. He had replaced them 2 times. The failure mileage and current mileage was 80000.

- Homewood, CA, USA

problem #18

Dec 212009

S4

  • miles
Bridgestone blizzak ws-60 tires are hideously dangerous on dry roads, at speeds above 55mph, when they begin to lose traction. Above 65mph, they are terrifyingly unstable and unpredictable. Note: The problem is not with the lm-25 tire model. These tires perform adequately. The problem is severe, and only involved the newest model, the ws-60.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #17

Jul 012001

S4 4WD

  • miles
This is my 2nd time replacing bubbled tires. (tiresize: 225/45 17)

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #16

Jan 152001

S4 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No summary listed for above vehicle. (tiresize: 225/45vr17)( dot number: Tire size: 225/45vr17 )

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #15

Jun 012000

S4 4WD

  • miles
Side wall bubbles on both front tires. Audi disavowed any knowledge of a problem in June 2000 (tiresize: 225/45/17)( dot number: Tire size: 225/45/17 )

- Cleveland, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Nov 042000

S4 4WD

  • miles
Bubble in tire sidewall after hitting pothole. (tiresize: 225/45-17)( dot number: Tire size: 225/45-17 )

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 202000

S4 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sidewall of front passenger tire has bubbled in two locations without a catalyst of any kind. (tiresize: 225/45R17)( dot number: Tire size: 225/45R17 )

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

May 102000

S4 4WD

  • miles
The tire did not 'fail' but rather causes a pull to the right that the dealer refuses to correct. They claim Bridgestone needs to do this. For a $45K car I expect tires that last a while and if not then Audi should replace them. The listed cost is estimated replacement cost for decent tires. (dot number: Ejn8 tiresize: 225/45R17)

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 232000

S4 4WD

  • miles
While detailing my car, I noticed a small crack in the sidewall of the left rear tire. It begins where the tread meets the sidewall and extends 1.5" toward the center of the wheel. The crack is about 1/4" deep. I can supply a photo if you wish, please email me if you'd like one. This tire has been removed from the vehicle, and none of the other tires had similar cracks. The tires have not been abused in any way. Thank you!( dot number: Ejh8cfe429 tire size: 225/45R17 )

- Woodinville, WA, USA

problem #10

Apr 102000

S4 4WD

  • miles
2 bubbled tires at 3000/6000 miles( dot number: Ejh8cfe 24 tire size: 225/45/17 )

- Plains, PA, USA

problem #9

May 012000

S4 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While travelling at 35-40 mph, I hit a small bump and tire blew, also these tires were sold as an all weather tire, I was assured by several Audi sales people that they were and at aproximately 200 miles I had to purchase snow tires as these tires are dangerous in even a light dusting of snow. I purchased Michelin alpines for snow, but, have not replaced the bridgestones for normal driving as competitive tires would be at least $800 due to the size and speed rating.( dot number: )

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #8

Jul 152000

S4 4WD

  • miles
Each of the tires have bubbles all occuring at different milages. 2 replaced and both bubbled again after only 3000 miles. Live in the Chicago area roads are not the best but other cars don't have this problem. Other 2000 Audi S4's and Audi tt's are experiencing the same problem. www.audiworld.com is a good place to gather information on other defects.( dot number: Tire size: 225/45/17 )

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #7

Jul 292000

S4 4WD

  • miles
I discovered a sidewall buldge while washing the car. I changed the one affected tire with the spare and I am monitoring the other tires. I don't know if this is a safety concern or not. However on a high performance car I don't wish to take any risks with my tires.( dot number: Tire size: 245/45/17 )

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #6

Aug 202000

S4 4WD

  • miles
Sidewall blister, 2in.X1in., discovered while routine maintainance performed. No history of accident or impact injury to tire or wheel assembly. Automobile service technician reports tire defective, confirms no impact injury to vehicle sustained.( dot number: Ejh8cfe429 tire size: 225/45/R17 )

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #5

Jan 202000

S4 4WD

  • miles
Developed tire bubble spontaneously without hitting anything such as curb or pothole( dot number: Tire size: 225 45R17 )

- Southampton, PA, USA

problem #4

Jan 012000

S4 4WD

  • miles
Tire had a big bubble. Did not know it had one until I had read about it on the Audi user web-site and then checked my car. Probably happened on the bumpy cross bronx expressway on a cold day. I have not had another problem with the other tires.( dot number: Tire size: 225/45 R17 )

- Bedminster, NJ, USA

problem #3

Feb 132000

S4 4WD

  • miles
Tires were oem fitment. After the 2nd failure I replaced the tires with a different brand.( dot number: Tire size: 225/45-17 )

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #2

Jun 152000

S4 4WD

  • miles
Ran over a relatively minor bump in the road at an acceptable speed and the tire was damaged beyond repair.( dot number: Tire size: 225/45yr17 )

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 012000

(reported on)

S4

  • miles
All weather tires that came with the vehicle is not driveable in the snow, vehicle will stop when applying brakes at 50-60 yards before a stop, and at low speeds.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?