ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,884 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #26

Mar 042014

325 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger seat pad sensor failed and says air bag will not deploy. Even though there is a recall notice for this model, yr and mode of failure, the dealer reports that my vehicle was made 1 week before the recall affected vehicles. Is this true and could there have been an exception for 1 week" repair shop indicates this is an identical failure mode to recalled vehicles and seat pad will need replacement. Seems to be too big of a coincidence to not also be related"

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #25

Apr 132011

325 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
The air bag light came on and I called BMW customer relations. They told me to take it to a BMW dealer to have the front seat occupant protection mat replaced under an extended warranty (NHTSA campaign number 13V564000). The BMW dealer in scottsdale said it isn't listed as a recall item and they want $180 just to perform a check to see if there is a problem, which is ridiculous there should be no fee at all to fix such an important safety item (airbag).

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #24

Nov 272014

325

  • 86,000 miles
BMW 2006 325I taken to mechanic due to passenger occupancy seat mat sensor failure associated with recall of same model year BMW. Airbag light illuminated on dash and airbag off light sensor illuminated even when passenger seat was occupied. Manufacturer was notified, but said the VIN did not fall within the range of the recall. Did not authorize repair on the vehicle due to $700 estimated repair cost. Clearly this is an issue with the BMW 2006 325I as apparent with the number of complaints associated with this issue.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #23

Apr 262012

325 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

BMW recall 2006 13V564000 was issued in November of 2013 to recall the front passenger seat occupant detection mat that determines if and how the passenger frontal air bag should deploy in a crash because it may fatigue and develop cracks which could lead to a system failure. My vehicle, a 2006 BMW 325xi with was not included in the recall. However, this exact problem occurred to me in April of 2012. The front passenger seat mat failed (cracked) and would not allow the air bag to deploy. The service team at towne BMW in williamsville, NY stated "we have seen a lot of these" at that time. I believe my vehicle should be included in the recall. It seems odd that this recall would be issued to a select number of vehicles that were affected when additional vehicles, including mine, were affected by the same manufacturer's defect.

- Ooltewah, TN, USA

problem #22

Dec 012013

325 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The passenger side airbag light has come on notifying that the airbag is disabled. There are recalls on the same model/year BMW as mine but my particular VIN is not included. I spoke to a BMW rep who said the recall could be based on the particular seats and not necessarily the VIN. But she told me it only applies to the sport seats and not the standard seats which I have. According to my research online, the problem seems to be with a seat mat sensor which was faulty. Also, the NHTSA has a complaint already listed under 08V384000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 012014

325 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
Passenger air bag warning lights comes on and off sporadically. This will cause air bags not to inflate in event of an accident. BMW issued recall for defective seat mats/sensor but they say my vehicle not covered by the recall and replacement is $1000. It is same defective seat mat as on other 2006 325I cars and should be included in recall.

- Bonsall, CA, USA

problem #20

Nov 132013

325 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice from BMW in January 2014 (recall campaign number 13V-564: Front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat). The recall notice states that in the current condition, the vehicle is unsafe to drive with a passenger in the front passenger seat. The recall notice states that the parts needed to perform the repair are scheduled to be available in March 2014. It is now May 6, 2014 and BMW customer relations has indicated that the parts are still not available and they are unable to provide an estimate on when they will be. It has now been nearly 5 months since receiving the original recall notice. During this time I essentially have a vehicle that is unsafe to drive with a passenger in the front passenger seat. BMW does not appear to be taking this issue seriously and providing a prompt resolution to this problem. I have placed repeated calls into BMW customer relations and continue to be informed that nothing can be done until the required parts are made available. Any assistance you can provide is greatly appreciated.

- Woodinville, WA, USA

problem #19

Dec 302013

325 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I am writing to you to address a current NHTSA safety recall affecting my vehicle (and presumably many similar vehicles). I currently own a 06 BMW 325I 4dr and have recently experienced a front passenger seat detection mat malfunction. This sensor malfunction affects the deployment of the front passenger seat airbag in the event of a collision. The error codes my vehicle is displaying are the same as those addressed in the NHTSA safety recall campaign number 13V564000, dated 13 Nov 2013. The NHTSA recall indicated BMW is recalling 06-07 3-series equipped with seat types that may produce similar errors due to cracking that develops with age. This cracking is true in my vehicle and has been verified by local mechanics. In Dec 2013, I consulted my local BMW dealership to determine if my vehicle was covered under the NHTSA safety recall. I was informed by the dealer that my vehicle was covered* under any current recalls and included no extended warranties. I informed the dealer that an NHTSA safety recall currently addresses my vehicle's problems; however, it did not seem to be their problem. In Jan 2014, I contacted BMW na to address the same issue. I was informed that an NHTSA recall did affect current 06 325I vehicles, however, their recall only affects owners of vehicles with "sport" seats. They informed me while, my vehicle is experiencing similar issues, BMW na did not plan to recall non-sport seat sensors. Frankly, I find it ridiculous that other vehicles with the same year, make, and model are experiencing the exact same malfunctions and errors as my vehicle. In the end, my front passenger airbag will not deploy in the event of a collision for the same malfunctioning seat sensor, yet, BMW has turned a blind eye to myself and I presume a large number of owners with this same problem.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #18

Jan 102014

325

  • miles
Front seat occupant protection mat.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #17

Jan 212014

325 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased the vehicle one week ago with the airbag and seatbelt lights on the dash, after plenty of research there was a recall done on only the sport seats. After everything I read even the non sports seats, like mine are having the issues as well. BMW needs to fix this issue with all models. I have no clue at this point if the airbags will even go off in the event of a crash. Plenty of complaints on the site about this same issue. Please help

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #16

Feb 212013

325

  • 101,230 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front passenger occupancy seat sensor mat/pad failure. Initial inquire with dealer resulted in no coverage of repairs due to VIN break. As of December 25, 2013 NHTSA shows that all effected BMW 325xi 2006 will be repaired at no cost to owner. NHTSA campaign #: 13V-564

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #15

Nov 292013

325 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Airbag light went on and idrive said there was a malfunction with the passenger side safety restraint system. BMW is saying that my vehicle is not in scope of the recall, though it should be as it is the same error as related to the existing recall below: Recall id # 57362 - air bags:frontal recall date Aug 05, 2008 recall date: Aug 05, 2008 model affected: 2006 BMW 3-series I am thinking it is because I have the touring 3-series, but they share the same sport seats as the other 3-series. Please add my VIN to the recall list.

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #14

Jun 032013

325 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Air bag and passenger seat belt indicator on center dash cluster lit up during normal driving. Took car to dealership for repair and was told the air bag seat mat was bad and needed to be replaced. Also told that repair would cost $900. Decided to eat cost as it is a major safety issue as air bags will not deploy during a crash. Total cost for repairs: Qty 1 part# 52-10-7-244-127 basic seat U 1 cost $385.10, qty 2 part# 52-20-1-964-201 clip 13 cost $3.84, qty 35 part# 52-10-945-543 clamp 134 cost $$22.40. Total parts=$411.34 ; total labor=$554.60, total bill for repair=$965.94. I would not mind if this would be the end of the issue, but it is not. I picked up the car from daniels BMW of allentown on June 14 2013, and today (June 21, 2013) the issue came back. 7 days after I had the car repaired for the issue, the exact same issue reappeared. This is a major concern of mine as the front passenger seat of my car is almost always in use by myself or my spouse. After doing a bit of reading on BMW online forums, I see that there is a recall for the exact sensor mat as installed in my car, for almost all other seats containing the exact seat mat, but not for my car, and others like me. I have gone onto the BMW na website and did a recall search for my car and found that the recall does not apply to my car. This is a major safety issue for BMW and they should stand behind their product and repair all seats affected without question. I will be taking my car back to daniels BMW of allentown for courtesy repair and hopefully they will replace...again....the broken mat for free. Hopefully this will not be the beginning of an ongoing recurring issue.

- Kempton, PA, USA

problem #13

Apr 272013

325 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Passenger sat in the front passenger seat. Warning light appeared on dashboard indicating the airbag has been turned off. This issue is similar to NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000. However, although same model and year, my vehicle is not covered under this campaign.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #12

Feb 202013

325 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
1. seat occupancy sensors are broken. The indicator shows up on the dashboard even when the driver and the passenger have their seat belts fasten. 2. oil leaks from pan gasket due to the aluminum bolts and etc.

- San Gabriel, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 152013

325 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
The passenger side occupancy seat mat for the airbag failed. BMW has bulletin sib 65 75 06, airbag warning lamp for OC3 seat mat fault, that covers my cars build date, but BMW states my VIN is not covered. There is also a current recall, NHTSA campaign number: 08V384000 but BMW states my car is not covered and refuses to honor the 10 year extended warranty. My car is experiencing this same issue, as diagnosed by a local BMW dealers, but they have failed to cover it. This is a major safety issue that is affecting many cars outside of the recall. They are many people posting on various BMW forums that are experiencing the same issue. BMW should be held accountable to fix all the vehicles experiencing this problem.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 092013

325 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
I have a faulty passenger side seat occupancy sensor failure, as diagnosed by the local BMW dealership. The failure code is 93C3, and the issue appears to have been previously recognized by the manufacturer, and partially remedied with either an extended warranty or recall, allowable on only particular VIN numbers. The recall / extended warranty applies to particular 2006 3 series BMW vehicles manufactured prior to January 2006. The 93C3 seat mat occupancy failure in my vehicle causes the airbag and seat belt lights to illuminate on the dashboard of the vehicle. BMW usa has advised that the recall does not impact my vehicle, even though the seats, and manufacture date are within the recall parameters. The local BMW dealership, as well as independent shops have all advised that the failure should, by all qualifying means beyond VIN number identification, be covered under the recall or extended warranty, as this is the same failure as vehicles impacted by the referenced recall. Referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000 the BMW 325I vehicle I own was manufactured in August of 2005, equipped with standard seat. BMW usa has stated within the recall that they don't know how many vehicles are impacted by this issue and has only elected to remedy this issue on a predetermined set of vehicles. The manufacturer, BMW has been notified of this specific issue, and provided no assistance. They advised that all repairs are to be customer paid, and have refused to honor their recall. As of 1/22/2013, the vehicle remains unrepaired and a safety hazard. Many others have the same issue, as documented by NHTSA complaints. BMW stated consequence of non repair: In this situation the front passenger air bags will not deploy even if a sufficiently severe accident would occur and occupant protection provided by the system would not be possible.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #9

Jul 272012

325 6-cyl

  • 36,500 miles
My car started displaying a warning that there was a malfunction in the passenger restraint system. Took it to dealer who said that there was a low voltage issue with my battery and fixed it. 2 weeks later the warning reappeared. This time, when I took it to the dealer, I was informed that there was a defective sensor module in the seats and that the airbags would not deploy in the event of a crash. Even though the NHTSA issued a recall for this specific malfunction (NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000), the dealer refused to fix the module under warranty. The cost of this repair was quoted to be $1400 and is out of my budget, and even though this is a noted safety defect that BMW is aware of, they refuse to honor the recall claiming that my car's VIN number is not among those covered by the recall.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #8

Feb 012012

325 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
When a passenger sits in the front passenger seat the airbag failure light illuminates, the seat belt light illuminates and remains lit, and the passenger airbag off light illuminates. This is apparently due to micro-cracking in the passenger seat occupancy detection mat, however BMW only includes a small percentage of affected cars in the 2008 recall. BMW na refuses to fix this safety defect for all 2006 build year 330I models with sport seats. The same seats which are affected by the identical issue for 2005 build year. It seems given the number of cars affected by the same issue that the defect was not corrected for the 2006 build year. This could result in the passenger airbag not deploying in a collision which is extremely dangerous.

- Havertown, PA, USA

problem #7

Feb 012010

325

  • miles
The OC3 mat (passenger occupancy sensor mat) has failed. This issue, as described in more detail below (4.), involves the front passenger seat occupant detection mat of certain BMW vehicles, and has been the subject of NHTSA PE07-045 and EA08-001. In short, a fatigue failure of the mat can occur and would consequently lead to the deactivation of the front passenger air bags with exception of the head protection system. The air bag warning lamp as well as the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp would illuminate in such case. BMW states that my vehicle does not fall under this recall since it was produced after 11/2005. Yet, the prognosis of the failure is exactly the same as of the recall.

- Kearneysville, WV, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?