ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,756 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 330 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 330 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #72

Oct 012017

330

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall 17V-676: Blower motor wiring burning hot air from the vent is in with or without fan on (motion or parking). It is overdue and no response from BMW of America, llc as I kept on calling the office many times since 12/16/2017 letter received. 1/19/2018 6/5/2018 8/20/2018 10/12/2018 to NHTSA 11/5/2018

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #71

Aug 162018

330

  • 1,000,000 miles
I just had my 2006 BMW 330I repaired due to a steering wheel lock warning light which appeared on the odometer causing my car not to start.this occurred when I was ready to leave the parking lot at my job. The car would not start and the red steering wheel lock warning light was on the odometer. The shop replaced the battery and ibs sensor cable. I drove the car for one day without any warning signal and when I adjusted the steering column by releasing the lever, the yellow steering wheel lock warning light lit up on the odometer. The repairs cost me $1,391.82. This car also was in the shop due to a recall on the airbag on the steering column. A local BMW dealership replaced this part two months before this problem with the steering wheel lock occurred. What other problems will I have with this BMW series? I believe BMW should refund my money for these repairs.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #70

Jul 232018

330

  • 120,000 miles
Electronic steering wheel lock. This is in the steering column when it fails the car will not start. It seems to be a pretty common problem. I was hoping there was a recall for this issue, but can not find one.

- Spencer, NY, USA

problem #69

Oct 252017

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall was ordered in Oct 2017 and has still not been remedied. Safety recall 17V-676. I believe we have been patient. We cannot sell the car as is because it can catch fire.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #68

May 182018

330

  • miles
The blower motor wiring overheats and causes the vehicle to catch on fire. This recall has been out for several months now, and they have not had a fix for it yet. I don't need my car catching on fire, I have a one year old, it is not easy to get them out of the car.

- Cortland, NY, USA

problem #67

Oct 252017

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called a local dealer (BMW of murray, 4735 S state St, salt lake city, ut 84107) and was informed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified and did not assist. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #66

Apr 182018

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 BMW 3 series. When the contact purchased the vehicle from one source motors (10633 northland dr ne, rockford, mi 49341, (616) 951-7068), he was not informed that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). Sharpe BMW (1010 28th St SE, grand rapids, mi 49508, (616) 452-5101) scheduled an appointment and indicated that the air bag repair had been completed, but did not address the repair for the electrical system. The manufacturer stated that the part was unavailable and had not provided a time frame to provide the part to the dealer. In addition, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated, which was a safety concern. Sharpe BMW diagnosed that the floormat sensor needed to be replaced. The dealer and the manufacturer both stated that the vehicle was not included in any air bag recalls to cover the floormat sensor failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available for NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 and parts distribution disconnect for NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000.

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #65

Apr 202018

330

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. When the engine was started and the defroster was activated, a popping noise was heard under the hood and an unusual odor emitted from the vents. The contact immediately turned the engine off and exited the vehicle. Within seconds, flames appeared under the hood. The fire department was called and extinguished the fire. A fire report and a police report were filed. The contact stated that the fire spread and damaged the plastic tail light cover and paint of another vehicle parked in the driveway. The fire department determined that there was an electrical failure near the motor. The vehicle was driven from the scene. There were no injuries. An unknown dealer stated that parts were unavailable to repair the vehicle per NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system:wiring). The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Greeneville, TN, USA

problem #64

Mar 282018

330

  • miles
Blower to heater/airconditioning and overheating. Motor making loud sound when air or heater is

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #63

Jan 202018

330

  • 125,000 miles
Fire hazard: Adaptive headlight controller car in motion, heavy rain, 'road following headlight' stopped working (I.e., headlight still illuminating, but would not swivel to follow direction of turns anymore). Dashboard code cc-id 295. Upon later inspection, obd reported ista codes 0932C: Frm acl faulty; 009cbd; frm communication with step motor left disrupted; 009cbe: Frm communication with step motor rigth disrupted during replacement of faulty module (P/N 63127189312), evidence of past electrical fire found: Strong burnt electrical insulator smell, wire harness in the headlight housing molten, extensive fire damage to both the module pcb and the electrical connector between the module and the headlight housing.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #62

Oct 252017

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called wide world of cars BMW at 845-425-2600 (125 NY-59, spring valley, NY 10977) and was informed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Monreo, NY, USA

problem #61

Oct 252017

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer (competition BMW of smithtown, 599 middle country rd, St james, NY 11780, (888) 861-6280) was unable to verify when the parts would be supplied from the manufacturer. The manufacturer was contacted. The contact was also informed by the dealer that there was an option of a loaner vehicle. The contact had not yet received the loaner option and was to check with the manufacturer. The contact stated that smoke entered the vehicle and he heard an abnormal noise. The failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Yaphank, NY, USA

problem #60

Oct 252017

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated called BMW concord at (925) 682-3577 (1967 market St, concord, ca 94520) on several occasions and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #59

Aug 172017

330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact noticed smoke under the hood, which entered the vehicle through the air vents. The contact also heard an abnormal noise coming from the motor months before the manufacturer sent notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system). In addition, the service engine warning indicator remained illuminated for an extended period of time. The dealer (newbold BMW, 1283 central park dr, O'fallon, il 62269, (618) 628-7300) replaced the wiring and diagnosed that the bearings needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #58

Jul 142017

330

  • 84,000 miles
Complete loss of electrical power while driving, usually from 30 to 70 mph, on a city street, country road and interstate highway. This has happened multiple times since buying the car second hand in July 2017 to the present January 2018. We will no longer drive the car since it is quite frightening to lose power while driving 70 mph on the highway in traffic. Also, several times there is no electrical power at all in the car after stopping the car and trying to restart it. The battery has been tested and is charged and working normally. There is a recall for the positive battery connection and cable to the terminal connection at the cabin fuse box which can wear out and fail for bmws starting in 2007 that cause the same problems. Our car has the same problem but why is it not included in the recall ?

- Mount Pleasant, NC, USA

problem #57

Jan 212018

330

  • 130,000 miles
The vehicle was parked in a parking lot on 1-21-18, when it caught fire

- Waverly Hall, GA, USA

problem #56

Nov 012017

330

  • 134,000 miles
The center console is continuing to overheat. It spreads to the cup holders and outward as well. Gets very hot! happens when car is on or when driving

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #55

Mar 022015

330

  • miles
Takata recall. The front passenger seat sensor in my 2006 BMW is defective making the passenger airbags turned off during the event of a crash when car is on or running airbag and seatbelt light turn on. Many other 2006 bmws like mine are affected with this issue. A recall has been done for bmws for models 2007 and newer but not for the 2006 model year. A recall needs to be done for this year make to insure the safety of people and passengers riding in this car. I use this car as a daily driver with my 5 year old daughter. Please update new info asap

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #54

Mar 132017

330

  • 169,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact stated that the power locks failed and a fuse had blown out. The front passenger side and rear doors failed to unlock from the interior and the exterior. In addition, the contact had to disconnect the battery to reset the ECM. The fuse was replaced. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 169,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #53

Jan 062017

330

  • 156,000 miles
I got home from an outting with friends and "passenger restraint systems malfunction" appeared on my screen. Did alittle research, my passenger seat airbag will either deploy metal shards or not deploy at all incase of an accident. Or the seatbelt will not properly engage. The dealership says they are "VIN specific" and can only do my driver side. But everybody seems to only have the passenger side problem. They have the sensor in stock that can save a life, but they don't want to do the job just because my "VIN" does not match for the recall in their computers!

- Tulalip, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?