2008 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems: intermittent electrical failure

Intermittent Electrical Failure

2008 Chrysler Town & Country (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chrysler dealer.

9.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$720.00
Average Mileage:
81,488 miles
Total Complaints:
37 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (25 reports)
  2. tipm replacement (5 reports)
  3. replaced instrument cluster (3 reports)
  4. the horn won't stop honking/washer fluid spraying nonstop (3 reports)
  5. replaced battery (1 reports)
2008 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Jun 012017

Town & Country Touring

  • Automatic transmission
  • 143,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

while driving my seat moves back and forth and the dashboard flashes on and off.

- , Pensacola, FL, US

problem #36

Dec 142016

Town & Country Touring V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

Major World Chrysler requires an appointment for service repairs. My appointment 7:30 am December 14, 2016. No entry until close to 8a, waiting for customer service reps.

I sat in the waiting area until 12:15, to ask of the progress

Update from Dec 22, 2016: I was told the mechanic was out to lunch and would tell me when he returns. I express my concerns of being there 4 hours after telling of my passenger side rear seat heater not working, and no word of the progress.

The mechanic came from lunch and had the rep tell me my model didn't come with rear seat heating. I was very disturbed. It took him over 4 hours to tell me what i know that's in my car and worked at one time. I asked the rep how many years has his mechanic worked here. He replied 34 years. That incensed me more. The rep and i went in the garage and i ask the mechanic to sit in the rear seat and observe the controllers on the door, he concurred. He immediately admitted the seats had a heating element.

I then objected to his qualifications in repairing my vehicle. The rep said he'll put another mechanic on it. 3 hours later that mechanic said he is still diagnosing the issue. In the interim made several calls to the Chrysler manufacturer, enlightening them of my concerns.

At the end of the day still diagnosing. I had to leave my car for that reason and other concern with signal lighting and transmission concerns. Meanwhile TPM still illuminated, contact dealer.

I was informed by the rep Mr. Frank, the seat has to be replaced. This was Friday 11:50a. I gave the okay to fix it. He said it will take four days for receipt of part.

Today is Thursday 12/22/12 and I'm still waiting for my car, which was promised to be finish by noon today.

- , Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #35

Jul 082015

Town & Country Touring V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

1.

It started off with sliding doors not wanting to close. It would go as if it would close, and then popped back open. One would have to get out of the car and manually push/pull and hold the door to close. Of course according to Major World Chrysler northern blvd Queens, NY complaint didn't repeat, July and October of 2015.

To date, December 2016, I'm still experiencing this same issue. Major World Chrysler still maintain there is no problem.

Update from Dec 22, 2016: The dates were actually July 31, 2015 and August 31, 2015

The mileage 49,799

- , Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #34

Sep 152016

Town & Country Touring 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,237 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is my wife's car! She drives my 3 beautiful children around to piano, sports, school, and church. Imagine when I get the call that the van is acting foolishly (horn honking, windshield wipers on/off, door locks not working, can't turn key fob on or off all the while it is stuck in the dash) while they are on the way back home! I tell her to pull over and turn the car off, luckily she already had! Next thing is now she cant get the keys out of the car! what a surprise! finally she was able to get it home and I looked right into it (as it's our lifeblood for the family while I'm at work) and low and behold it was scared of me. It acted normally for 10 minutes and I was just about to give up on it when I opened the driver door and boom! Dash was going crazy, gauges were all over the place, lights flickering, wipers going crazy, door wouldn't lock or unlock! So being the great husband I am, I let her drive it because I didn't believe it to be a safety concern! No way would this be a safety concern! it's just the lights, horn and wiper... It would never get to the point of the car dying while shes driving... would it?!?! Well imagine my surprise when it did indeed kill the engine while she was driving! Thanks Chrysler! Not only did you open my eyes to what bad electrical designs you could make, but you truly showed me what you value more than the safety of your customers!

I was scouring the internet for recalls based on this issue... only to find that they keep getting shot down from the NHTSA...Imagine the government not caring that there is a Brand of vehicles sold with faulty power modules that can allow the engine to shut down while driving because of a design defect. Sure they allowed the durangos to be repaired, wonder what government leader's family had one to where they actually cared about that select group of vehicles...

But on another note, my wonderful Chrysler product is currently at the dealership getting the recall JUN 26, 2014 14V373000 for the key fobs... And then they will look into the "alleged" faulty TIPM module that I understand to be the only reason for all the different issues that have occurred. I just can't believe that they want me to pay $1,200.00 because of a faulty design or manufacturing! Hilarious how greedy they are! But hey, they know I will pay for it so my family is safe! Thanks Chrysler, Now I have 1 less manufacturer to take off my lists for when I go vehicle shopping in the future!

- , Spring, TX, USA

problem #33

Aug 182016

Town & Country Limited 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 142,056 miles

Headlights flash on and off as with tail lights. It gets a little scary driving at night and your headlights go off. Had to use my fog lights and flashers to get home. Had to replace starter because it cranks longer than it should sometimes and still does. I was told it was a bad fuel pump. I think it is also the TIPM from what I have read. Chrysler dealer says I need to replace the TIPM they said the connection in the TIPM was bad causing the headlights and tail lights to go on and off cost for new TIPM with install would be $1050.00 $850.00 for a rebuilt one which they said was on back order and didn't know when they could get one.

- , Homer, MI, USA

problem #32

Jul 212016

Town & Country Touring 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,377 miles

while driving my car it shuts off, wipers go hay wire, while washer fluid sprays, horn beeps and still keeps going while the steering get hard it does this in the middle of driving on the road and your literally stuck in the middle of the road and other vehicles have to go around and the car literally wont start til a few hours later.

my recent day which is july 21 2016 while driving taking my kids to school my car suddenly stops while driving shuts off I have my 11 year old and my 4 month old in my car. this is really dangerous.

- , Orange, NJ, USA

problem #31

May 052016

Town & Country Limited 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 199,021 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle stops when it wants to. Sometimes it will restart in a few minutes and other times it won't start for a week. I have taken it in for the recall on the ignition but the problem started again a few days after the ignition was replaced. The dealer tells me that they cannot fix it unless I bring it in when it doesn't start. Every time I take it in, it has started or starts before I get it there.

- , Brookllyn Park, MN, USA

problem #30

Jan 282016

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 122,487 miles

I left work, hit my fob's unlock button, the windshield wipers started going. The car was running, and the horn's had burned out from a previous "episode," so I drove it about 4 miles before it stalled. I pulled over, lifted the hood and fiddled around with the fuses like someone else had done in the past. After 5 minutes, the windshield wipers stopped, and I was able to drive it home, but this time the engine light came on and stayed on. I made it home and planned to bring it into the dealership/service center in the morning.

The following morning while I was on the phone with the service personnel at the dealership, my car went bzerk again. Never had the problem occurred in the middle of my drive, but this time, the windshield washer fluid started shooting out at me while I was driving! I barely got the van pulled over before it stalled on me. I took the key out, but (as everyone knows who has also had this problem) the car kept going. Once again, a few minutes passed, and I was suddenly able to start up again. I was able to drive my van to about 2 miles away from the dealership before she died - except the windshield wipers were still going, of course! Because I was only 2 miles away, my tow bill was "only" $77.

Here's the annoying part, when I was on the phone with the service representative, she said, "Do you have a Town and Country?" after I told her the symptoms, so it is obvious this is a typical problem. She knew before I told her. She said it sounds like a recall we have on the vehicle. The recall she referred to was the Ignition Module replacement.

I had the module replaced, and all was well, until 5 days later, which I must file in my next complaint!

- , Zimmerman, MN, USA

problem #29

Mar 172015

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

(I'm guessing on the mileage for this complaint since I didn't document it at the time.)

I work at a school, and as I attempted to start my car, it didn't respond. I figured my battery had somehow died. a co-worker brought her car around to jump mine. As soon as the jump started, my 2008 Chrysler Town and Country's horn started blaring, windshield wipers started going, lights turned on, and motor started running. I could not turn anything on or off with my key or ignition. A couple people from the nearby appartments came over to try to help. One man was swearing at us for the disturbance! Eventually, we were able to remove a fuse and replace it which resulted in the horn, wipers, etc stopping, and I was able to drive home without further incident... until the next time, which will be in my next complaint...

- , Zimmerman, MN, USA

problem #28

Nov 222013

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

(I'm guessing on the mileage for this complaint since I didn't document it at the time.)

I went into my garage to leave for work. I hit my unlock button on my fob. I do not have an automatic starter, but my van suddenly was running, the lights were on, the windshield wipers were going, the horn was blaring, and the doors locked. My fob was unable to communicate at that point, so I had to manually unlock the door with the key. Upon entering the vehicle, I attempted to turn on and off the wipers and lights without response. I put my key in the ignition and attempted turning it on and off, but it did not change anything. I had to call the police because it was such a noise disturbance and I could not get it to stop. I didn't know what to do! After a half hour or so while a sheriff's deputy and I walked around it trying to make it stop, it petered out and stopped. I started the car and it appeared to be working completely fine. Just had a freak out... until the next time it happened, which I will report on my next complaint.

- , Zimmerman, MN, USA

problem #27

Jan 202016

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has happened in the past, but not for a year or so. But today the van windshield wipers started going crazy, the horn honked incessantly, the van wouldn't go out of 2nd gear, the instrument cluster went crazy, the doors locked/unlocked, and more! We had the battery replaced (it tested as a bad battery), and the issue immediately happened again even with a new battery! This is very scary and frustrating. This van has been nothing but trouble since we purchased it used less than 2 years ago. We will never again purchase a Chrysler. Just wish there was an easy and inexpensive way to get rid of this one!!

- , Negaunee, MI, USA

problem #26

Dec 102015

Town & Country Limited 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles

Backed van out of garage and gauge/indicator lights start flashing and engine died. Restarted and lights blink, computer whines and engine shuts off by itself. It restarted and drove to work ok.

- , Houston, TX, USA

problem #25

Jan 152015

Town & Country Touring 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,500 miles

The shifter in the dash was defective and Chrysler won't pay for it.

- , Highland, IN, USA

problem #24

May 012015

Town & Country Touring 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,950 miles

One day I went to unlock my van. It unlocked. I put the key in the ignition and started the car. It started fine but, the windshield wipers were stuck in the on position, the locks stopped working, the radio was dead and so was the instrument cluster. I took it to a dealer. about a week later they called me and said the mechanic came back from lunch and everything works come get your car.

When I arrived, sure enough it was not working. The service manager told me the internal bus system was down, and they would have to split all of the modules to find out which one was defective. A week later they called and said it was the TIPM, (totally integrated power module). I paid $1,134, they said it was fixed. I went up there and it was not. They refunded me the money and went back to work. after another week they said they narrowed it to the instrument cluster. Funny thing is that is what I told them I thought it was in the first place.

After another few days they had the car fixed. It has been a little over 24 hours and everything is working still.

They ended up leaving the new TIPM in the car, and charged me the $1,134 again. I was ok with the price except the fact that they charged me $540 for labor. it only takes an hour to replace the instrument cluster but I guess they had to make their money somewhere.

If you have similar problems with a grand caravan or a town and country. save yourself 3 weeks and about $600 dollars in labor. Order yourself a new instrument cluster, get a screwdriver and take your dash apart, it is easy and replace it yourself.

- , St. Charles, MO, USA

problem #23

Jul 112011

Town & Country Touring 3.2lV6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,600 miles

I named my van Christine after the movie Christine. I kept telling the dealer it was possessed and it was trying to kill me. I never knew when the horn would go off with the wipers going nuts like they were going to fly off the car and the lights flashing. There was nothing I could do but let it runs it course and quit. I kept telling the dealer this car is possessed and what it was doing. Finally on Saturday the ninth of May it got so bad I couldn't take it anymore after it kept going nuts I called the dealer and said I was having it towed in I was afraid to drive it. It is still at the dealers but am suppose to pick it up Monday. The horn no longer works because it overheated and will not be fixed.

Where is the recall on these cars before someone gets hurt or the cars catch fire. When is Chrysler going to do something about this problem.

- , BROOKLYN, MI, USA

problem #22

Mar 172015

Town & Country Touring 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,691 miles

I have had this happen before but wrote it off as a glitch. The horn blew, the windshield wipers wiped and sprayed, the lights lit up on the dash but went back normal. Then today it wouldn't get out of 1st gear. So I pulled over then the horn, windshield wipers and spraying and again the dash lights. I cannot find a recall but plenty of the same problems with the same year.

Update from Dec 29, 2015: I have to add that the car starts erratic behavior when no one is near, the horn blows, the wipers go, the spraying begins, the door locks and unlocks and you can't stop it with a key. I have to pull fuses to get it to stop. I was driving on the interstate as I merged from one interstate to another it started with everything again and then the van died. I tried to start it a few times but it was blank and it finally started. I drove my grand daughter to school and it started to act up so I pulled into a parking lot, waited a few minutes went to leave and it started horn blowing continuously, windshield wipers, spraying, door locking and unlocking and this time I add after putting it in park and removing the key it was still running. After pulling fuses I drove it home. I have taken it to several shops and no one can find the problem. After reading about the TIPM I feel that is the problem and the 2008 Chrysler Town and Country should also be on a recall. Will I recommend or buy another Chrysler I think not. I'm going to video it next time.

Update from Jan 27, 2016: As I took my grand daughter to school the van was not wanting to shift gears so I pulled over and the horn started blowing, the windshield wiper going at front and back and the spraying. After a few tries the van started and then was fine for the moment. After letting her out at school it starting again, so I decided to pull into a parking lot. I waited a few minutes and started the van, then the horn started, the windshield wipers, the spraying, only the time it wouldn't stop, so some men pulled fuses to make it stop so I could get home. Well that didn't stop there, as I was going from one interstate to another in the far left and the next interstate was to the left, my van died I pulled to the left side of the road, it took a few tries and it finally started. Then had to pull over because it started again plus doors locking, unlocking and I took my key out and the van was still running. I've been to afraid to drive any more and I wouldn't even feel right trading it in. I was told it's probably the TIPM and I priced installing but I can't afford $1000 and I can get the part for $400 but I can't afford that either. THIS IS TOTALLY UNSAFE. I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER CHRYSLER.

- , Theodore, AL, USA

problem #21

Aug 052014

Town & Country Touring 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

While driving, the warning bell rings, airbag lights, all system warning icons light, all gauges go dead for a second, windshield wipers swipe two to four times. Sometimes it does it just a few times then stops. Other times it does it for hours. Seams to happen more often after the car is exposed to excessive heat from the sun. Detaching the battery's negative cable for at least 30 minutes will make it stop, but only until it's parked in the hot sun.

- , Lithia, FL, USA

problem #20

Feb 012011

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,500 miles

It started with my lights going off and on while driving. The horn, lights, wind shield wipers front and back going crazy could not shut off. Transmission would not change out of first gear and had to unplug battery and it still would not shut off. This cost me over $2000. Now I can't get the fobik key out and the electrical will not shut off.

Can not get any help from the Chrysler dealership or Chrysler group to fix the problem. Now I don't have any transportation to be able to go work. I am a sales rep and travel four states and I use my van for work. So I am not able to work with my customers.

- , Dothan, AL, USA

problem #19

Dec 012014

Town & Country Tour 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

Waiting on the fob recall for six months and still waiting. The defrost fan kick on/off constantly dealer wants 900 dollars to replace TIPM. Dealer told me they had the part for the fob dropped it off hoping to have corrected. Not only did they not have the recall part, still waiting, 02/01/2015 and need $900 for a TIPM fix.

- , Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #18

Aug 082014

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 121,700 miles

We have owned our 2008 T&C for about 9 months. We have had a least 15 occurrences with the electrical system going crazy. It started with a small hiccup 2 weeks after we bought it. The engine jerked and stalled, wipers went on, washer fluid shot out, Pulled over and it restarted fine. 4 months went by no issues. Then the fan started going on and off when it choose to. If we shut the vehicle off and restart it the fan will work again. Weird. Happened at least 3 times a week.

One day the whole system went crazy, the horn stayed on blaring, front and back windshield wipes turning on, washer fluid spaying at a high pressure, drained tank in 30 seconds, hazard lights going on. I turned the vehicle off and take key out. The van was still running after turning it off. I disconnected the battery. Stayed running. I had to disconnect the fuel pump fuse to get it to stop. After reconnecting the battery the system went off again. So I disconnect it again, waited 10 minutes, reconnected it. Then nothing. Can't start vehicle, the power works on some things. It took at least 60 minutes for the system to reset itself. We have had it taken in and did an electrical diagnosis on it. No results, but they did find 3 other recalls on the vehicle and fixed them. They have no idea on what is going on. I am real tired of the bull Sh!T. There has to be a solution.

- , Waite Park, MN, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?