8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$50
Average Mileage:
36,350 miles
Total Complaints:
26 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (19 reports)
  2. add oil (7 reports)
2015 Dodge Dart engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Dodge Dart Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Aug 012017

Dart SXT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I tried to start my car and it wouldn't start, so I kept trying and eventually it fired up after 8-10 tries. I would drive out the parking lot at work and stall, then start back and and made it home. After researching I found it was low on oil. And Dodge Dart does not have a low oil sensor. After talking to the dealer I found out this is because the oil sensor is triggered by pressure rather than volume. So when the car doesn't start or stall because of the oil, it is because there is not enough oil, but still enough pressure to not have the sensor come on. Flawed manufacturing if you ask me.

- Danielle M., Minneapolis, MN, US

problem #25

Mar 132021

Dart Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,890 miles

Car shut off as I was driving... I just got an oil change a month ago.

- JaCobe G., Greenville, US

problem #24

Dec 142020

Dart SXT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,401 miles

One day I was on my way to work and the car died. Luckily I was in a grocery store parking lot. The next day i took to my normal mechanic shop. They did a diagnostic and found...nothing. I checked Google and message boards and many people were going through the same thing. Many people said there was a great loss of engine oil as one of the reasons for the problem. I put together my own video documenting this issue.

- brayjay, Irving, US

problem #23

Sep 212019

Dart SXT 2.4L Tigershark

  • Manual transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Anytime my car hits 2,500 miles on it it will start dying on me while i am driving. If i get an oil change done on it it is good for awhile but then starts acting up before i even get to 3000 miles for the next oil change. I had the diagnostics run on it 3 times costing me over $500 and all the mechanics tell me is they cant find the problem. I contacted the Dodge corporation who told me they havent received any complaints about the Dodge Dart, which I know they are lying because I found the complaints the same as mine on other sites!

- Sandy N., Alamogordo, US

problem #22

Jul 312019

Dart SXT 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,500 miles

I have the 2015 Dodge Dart with 2.5L engine. It has 60K on it now. It ran fine with no issues for 3 years. But in the summer of 2018 it started feeling sluggish and unresponsive at times. Later in 2018, the periodic stalling in the mornings started, usually just once every month or so. The scenario is start car, warm up for a few minutes, drive onto street, slow down for light/turn, then loss of power/drive with no warning lights. Coast to side of road, let it sit for a minute and then crank engine with lots of gas pedal pumping, usually starting on the second attempt. But in December, it started happening more often, both in the morning and in the afternoon on the way home from work.

After researching online, it seemed that low oil level was the likely cause even though there would be no dash light and the oil change range would still be 50% or higher.

After oil changes the problem would seem to go away for a month or so. Ironically during the coldest time of the year, January and February, it was reliable with no issues.

Recently the stalling problem was resurfaced regularly in the mornings and after work. It is very disconcerting and stressful. I've determined that since it runs fine after it is warmed up that it has something to do with cold starts, after sitting overnight or during the day at work.

Specifically, it has to do with RPMs and transmission downshifting. When braking/decelerating after starting to drive it will choke out/cut out. Sometimes just as I pull out of a parking space but often during the first leg after turning onto the road. I've scheduled for next week with the local Dodge dealership to run diagnostics, update the PCU and perform service up to the mileage of the car.

Wish me luck!

Update from Aug 1, 2019: I decided to get an oil change after a week of consistent stalling and shutdowns. Even though my dash showed oil change percentage of 49%, they found that the dip stick was dry. The car took three quarts of oil! I'm going to get a new battery this weekend, probably the Optima Red Top. Basically, this Dart has crappy sensors and diagnostics. It burns too much oil and doesn't indicate that it is low. The car shutdowns when the engine is cold because the little oil that is available isn't yet circulated through the engine.

- Alan E., Everett, WA, US

problem #21

Mar 062019

Dart GT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

While driving the vehicle in traffic, the engine sputtered and shut off. Was able to restart and thankfully make it home without crashing and dying. I didn't think much about it and didn't look into it, since no lights came on and it drove home with no more issues.

- flyinhueys, Woodbridge, US

problem #20

Mar 072019

Dart GT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving, my car shut off a total of three times. Thankfully it was on a Sunday and there was no traffic. I was driving straight and slow and the car shut off. Had to hang a U-turn (car shut off), then tried to pull into my driveway (on an incline). The car shut off and when I got it started again, it was struggling to get into the driveway.

I looked up online what would be causing this. I read that the oil was probably low(had recently completed an oil change). Not surprisingly, my oil level was extremely low. Now, in order to ensure that my car doesn't do this to me again, I constantly check the oil level and carry a quart of oil with me at all times.

Seems a bit ridiculous that I have to do this, but I would rather be safe than dead from this sh*t called a dodge. Worst car company I have ever dealt with.

- flyinhueys, Woodbridge, US

problem #19

Sep 012017

Dart Aero

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

The car seems to have an idle problem when i start it, its "clunky" & intermittent type idle. It dies mid-drive. I've been rear ended in middle of street!!! Outta nowhere just stops running!?!? Before the accident in June of 2018, i took car in under the warranty to trouble shoot the problem multiple times. They had it for days at a time running up the mileage along with the warranty to try to see the same issues i kept complaining about. I made them look up the car complaints i found on line even. A significant number of people having same problem. I called Dodge corporate as well no one has done anything! I have 3 kids, 2 in carseats & they were all in the car at time of accident. Which turned into a hit & run. I'm stuck with damage!?

- vexedone, Redding, US

problem #18

Jan 112019

Dart SXT Rallye 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 41,847 miles

Car stalled as I crested up a slight incline...I was proceeding into a VERY busy intersection and was blocking the left-hand exit lane for my subdivision--which is already an issue to get out of for everyone...Needless to say a VERY scary experience.

I took my foot off the brake and began to accelerate and the car went completely silent. The battery symbol flashed and then nothing. I jumped the car thinking it was my brand new battery was failing. It started (about 3-4 minutes later). My husband drove it later with no problems. We believe the engine had warmed up. We checked the battery and alternator; both were fine.

That evening we "googled" and realized that everyone was reporting that the oil may be low--and was it ever! There was less than 1 quart of oil in the car. I was within the 5000 mile mark of my last oil change which I am scheduled to get the next week. After putting 2.5 quarts of oil in the car and driving it in town for about 17 miles, we had no issues --except for what everyone else has stated: 1) We bought this vehicle relatively new and are now left upside down on this vehicle due to the fact they aren't making more and the value is down, 2) It has less than 50,000 miles and is not driven every day but is now an unreliable vehicle that has to be 'baby-ied'--that is checked every 500 miles to see how much oil is in it, and 3) The warranty expired miles ago. (I have had vehicles over 150K+ miles that I have not had to do this for.) We have had regular oil changes at dealerships and authorized service centers only, so there is no reason to have an oil/engine issue for this car.

Disgusted! I will NEVER buy another Dodge (or related) product again. Jeeps are also having the same issue. Check out the complaints on this site.

- Imani O., Raleigh, NC, US

problem #17

Mar 032019

Dart SXT

  • Manual transmission
  • 55,000 miles

I have filled a complaint with NHTSA. My car has stalled while sitting at a light. Engine and battery light came on and it died. I was told it was the throttle body. I paid about $700 to get it fixed. Three months later it started happening while I was moving. Once at 20mph the 2nd at 40mph. Now it is getting dangerous. I have it back at the shop and have now filled a complaint.

- Ann F., Hampton, NH, US

problem #16

Dec 252018

Dart SE 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lately my car has been having a sputter, stall, gag , choke problem as if it cant breathe. I start the car up and it stutters, but after a while it takes off. This has been going on for about a month or so . No one seems to know the issue.

I was driving to work at 1:40 am 12/25/18 after a gas fill-up. My car decided to sputter then shut of with the battery light on. I was having a little acceleration problem before the complete shut-off. I bought this car in 2014 ( 5 miles) with no major problems. I mean the Uconnect sucks during bad weather but other then that no major issues until now.

I started noticing my idle revving up when I hardly even had my foot on the gas paddle. I try to accelerate , but my car is slowly moving then it suddenly just take off as if I'm doing 50-70mph. I am thinking maybe I need a tune-up. It doesn't explain the battery light coming on. Considering this is Xmas nothing will be open I don't know if they will find any solutions from reading these other complaints. Somehow I think the battery light, shut off and sudden idle problems are connected.

I will never buy another Dodge in my life. No warning lights before this just suddenly happened.

- Jonathan T., Amf Ohare, IL, US

problem #15

Oct 232017

Dart SXT 2.4L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles

This car has been giving me problems with the oil. It started burning oil at 23,000 miles and I'm now at 40,000 miles and they still have not done anything to fix it. In fact every time I've added oil to fix this problem I have to restart my Oil Consumption Test over. But I need to add oil for my car to survive. They also keep throwing me in a loop when it comes to who fronts each bill. Really ticks me off.

- Brock C., Cape Coral, US

problem #14

Jan 292018

Dart Rallye 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,600 miles

I've had the issue most people stating before, with the oil levels being low. However, this morning it happened again on my way to work, while I was driving up a hill and right at the crest it shut off. The battery light came on which I don't remember happening with the oil issue. So considering I just changed my oil not even two weeks ago, I'm hoping it's just a dead battery, otherwise I may just get rid of the damn thing before I die.

This is starting to become a huge pain in my ass. I love this car most times but it's such a piece of sh*t. Someone needs to file a lawsuit against these crooks at Dodge before this kills someone.

- Andrew S., Pittsburgh, PA, US

problem #13

Jan 192018

Dart Limited V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,871 miles

I could have died. Driving on highway at 70 miles and power steering dies, battery light goes off, all power systems shut off, radio goes off, cant roll up or down windows. A car under two years old should not die on a freeway. Could not even get the car into neutral!! Extremely scary and easily could have been a nasty car wreck.

The first time this happened, they changed the battery. Two weeks later, it happened again. Why can't they see what is the issue? I am so scared to drive this car again!

- dgraziano, Orlando, US

problem #12

Jan 012018

Dart

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

MY DODGE DART 2015 IS HAVING PROBLEMS STALLING OUT. I TURN THE CORNER AND IT STALLS. IT HAS HAPPEN TO ME MANY OF TIMES. I WAS ON A MAIN ROAD DOING 65 MPH AND IT JUST SHUTS OFF ON ME. NO WARNING, NO LIGHTS, NOTHING. THE FIRST COUPLE OF TIMES IT DID IT I WOULD TRY TO START IT AND IT WOULD TURN RIGHT OVER AFTER A FEW SECONDS. WELL, THE VERY LAST TIME IT DID IT TO ME IT WOULDN'T START, SO I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE HOUSE. AFTER A FEW HOURS WE STARTED IT UP AGAIN AND IT WAS RUNNING REALLY ROUGH. THE RPMS WERE AT 3 GRAND FROM TAKE OFF TO 30 MPH IT WILL GO UP TO 4 GRAND ON RPMS.

THIS IS NOT A SAFE THING WITH UR KIDS IN THE CAR. IT'S BULLSHIT AND DODGE NEEDS TO FIGURE THIS OUT. I HAVE SEEN A LOT OF ISSUES WITH THIS PROBLEM AND I HAVE SEEN WHERE EVERY DEALERSHIP SAYS IT HAS TO DO WITH THE OIL BEING LOW AND IT WILL SHUT THE ENGINE DOWN TO PROTECT IT FROM BURNING UP. WELL, THAT'S NOT A SAFE THING WHEN I HAVE MY KIDS IN THE CAR EVERYDAY AND IT JUST SHUTS OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WITH A LOT OF TRAFFIC THAT CAN CAUSE PROBLEMS. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE FIXED BY DODGE.

- kchristina, Umatilla, FL, US

problem #11

Jan 062018

Dart SXT 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 20,400 miles

Just the norm for this car. Started off by sluggish and then tonight died at a light. With so many of the same issues why hasn't anyone started a class action lawsuit against Dodge before someone gets killed.

Update from Jan 24, 2019: Well was doing good for a almost a year to date. Today going to work with no warning total system shut down. Had been sluggish past couple days at stop signs then after taking off was fine till today. Will check oil in morning then drive the piece of crap through the dealerships service Department

- Robert C., Albany, US

problem #10

Aug 112017

Dart 2.0L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,203 miles

I bought my 2015 Dart 12/13/15 and loved it! Then the end of Feb 2017, the car started acting like it was out of gas, or that it wasn't getting any gas. My husband drove it to see & of course it didn't do it with him, (so of course I look like a crazy person) I took it into the dealership & was told they couldn't find anything wrong with it. So I continued driving it and then it stalled on me......I took it back to the dealership, they kept it overnight & still nothing! So my husband picked up my car & upon returning home, it happened to him! He turned around, went back to the dealership, had the mechanic get into the car and they went for a drive, it did it again, so I wasn't crazy! They kept it overnight again and finally got a diagnosis of "it needed an update & a transmission module replaced. Problem solved......or so we thought! 8/8/17 driving my car, it started doing the "not getting gas routine" and I called the dealership, they said bring the car in on 8/22/17 and they will look at it.....8/11/17 driving down the freeway, my car completely stalled, took 3 tries to restart, check engine light was now on! Took it in to the dealership 8/14/17, diagnosis "lost connection" car got an oil change & an update, that was due AGAIN! Was told it should be fine now, but if it happens again, to bring it back in. At what point does this stop? I'm to the point that I don't want to drive my car, I defiantly don't want to have my children or grandchildren in it. To me it's a death trap waiting to happen & no one at the dealership, really seems to care!

- Cheryl W., Bakersfield, US

problem #9

May 262017

Dart

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

So after years of not being able to afford a car payment and driving 20 year old buckets...I made the decision to commit to and work hard to pay a car payment. I purchased this vehicle a week before my 43rd birthday after my last bucket completely died. Less than a month later I was driving and it just died...just like that, no warning, a lot of dash lights and jerking. Assumed the gas I purchased the night before may have been tainted...burned it out in a couple of days and put a better grade from a better gas distributor. Didn't matter car stalled even worse every day and finally, a week later on a Friday afternoon, I was heading home from work on the interstate and it DIED going 63 mph!!! I thought I was going to be pushed down the interstate, it was horrible. I took the car to an warranty authorized mechanic the next day, Saturday morning. 4 days later, I was told that the problem was BEYOND them and it needed to go to a Dodge dealership. I had it towed there this morning and am now awaiting a diagnosis. Almost 300 dollars in UBER costs, a 100 dollar deductible, only my SECOND car payment due in 8 days (which I DO plan on making) later...I am suffering high anxiety. I made a conscience decision to purchase a pretty new car so I didn't have problems like this... SMDH

Update from Jun 26, 2017: Dodge said I had no oil LOL...they had no idea I purchased the car on April 14 and that it had been in another shop since June 2nd. I phoned the previous shop from which the car was towed from. They informed me that the car had sufficient oil when it arrived and there were no signs of leaks. Dodge LIED to me. Dodges fix...participate in an oil consumption test in which I drive the death trap from the lot with only a full oil tank (according to them) and come back to have my oil level tested several times...PLEASE Dodge did I mention the car SHUTS OFF whenever it wants too!!! I requested they not touch the car, take it out of the bay, and park it...I am not going down this road with them...stay tuned

- Twana S., Norfolk, VA, US

problem #8

May 152017

Dart SXT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

Bought the car brand new (2015) and it's mostly freeway miles back and forth to work. The car only had 42,000 miles on it and it had a bad wheel bearing and even more concerning, twice while sitting still thank god, it made a ding noise and died. Took it in to the dealership and right away they said your probably low on oil. I was 2000 miles over my scheduled change. Sure enough it was low on oil. Never did an oil light come on, just that dinging noise.

I expressed my concerns about the car just dying cause the oil is low and what if I'd been going 70mph when it happened? Their BS excuse was "its a safety precaution so your engine doesn't get damaged." I asked how safe it was to have your car stop running all of the sudden on the freeway? Also I expressed my concerns on the oil consumption. I have owned lots of cars and went way over the scheduled oil change and never has it just burned up. they said its "cause they're using thinner oil now."

First of all it's full synthetic which is supposed to perform better and if it's thinner oil that burns up why am I paying almost a hundred dollars for an oil change? I am the Vice President of my local Union which is UAW and we always promote buying American, to our members, family and friends. We take great pride in what we do and the products we make in the Aerospace and Transportation divisions. It makes it harder to do that when manufacturers don't own up to their mistakes and take care of the consumer appropriately.

I've seen so many reports of this condition since I've started researching it. This is clearly not a safety preventative and no where in the owners manual does it warn the owner of these conditions. there should be some kind of disclaimer up front when purchasing that you could be putting you and your family at risk. I will continue to support buying American all of the time but I am extremely disappointed in Chrysler and may not buy any more of their products and move over to Chevy! That's all I have to say about that.

- James B., Ravenna, OH, US

problem #7

Mar 152017

Dart SXT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,576 miles

On the 1st day the car was brought home, get ready didn't even sign the paperwork still deciding to buy the car. came home, shut the car off for a half an hour and it's a no start. so the dealership comes and picks it up. Slick tongue bastard tells me there's no problem, it was just a bad battery. Ok I buy the car about 3k later the car starts to stall and to my surprise the engine has no oil. I will repost the outcome. thanks for reading my rant.

- Mark S., Buffalo, NY, US

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?