ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

2015 Hyundai Genesis electrical problems: multiple electrical failure

Multiple Electrical Failure

2015 Hyundai Genesis

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Hyundai dealer.

8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
5,250 miles
Total Complaints:
7 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (5 reports)
  2. car is driving ok now (2 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2015 Hyundai Genesis electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Hyundai Genesis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Hyundai Genesis Owner Comments

problem #7

Aug 142015

Genesis Tech 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,543 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

8/8/15 3,543 Miles This was first occurrence, has happened twice subsequently. After 250 mile drive, parked on street overnight, absolutely No Electrical Power next morning, even had to use mechanical "Key" to enter vehicle as Key Fob wouldn't open or close locks. Jump Start produced Complete Function. Vehicle Tested by Dealership, 168 Miles from our Home, 8/14/15, No Codes or problems found.

3/1/16 10,084 Miles Parked in Garage Overnight, same as above, No Electrical Power, Jump Start produced Complete Function. No Codes. Battery Tested by Local Mechanic 45 minutes after jump start and driving. Battery Voltage, Amps and Draw Test OK.

4/2/16 10,580 Miles Same as above. Talked to Service Manager at the same Dealership as first tested on 8/14/15; he had seen this Once before on a New 2015 Genesis in their Inventory. They found a Loose Ground Wire on their Vehicle that solved the problem, at least until the Vehicle left their inventory. Took Vehicle to same Dealership for testing on 4/8/16, No Problem Found. Left Vehicle Overnight for additional Testing AM of 4/9/16, still No Problem Found.

We are now left with Vehicle that my Wife is afraid to drive anywhere overnight.

I will report Problem to Hyundai Customer Connect Center ASAP at advice of the Dealership Service Manager as Dealership is Unable to offer Any assistance unless the Problem can be Reproduced at The Dealership.

Update from Aug 15, 2016: 8/15/2016 It has now been a little over 4 Months since my Hyundai Dealership Tightened All Ground Wires around the Trunk Battery Compartment with No Recurrence of The Problem, however, there was a six Month interval between the Original and Second Occurrence so I will check back after a Full Six Months has expired.

- Donald K., Red Bluff, CA, USA

problem #6

Jul 252015

Genesis 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,888 miles

On Jul 25, 2015 my Hyundai Genesis with 5888 miles suddenly died. There was no advance notice other than multiple color lights flashing on dash. Car was towed to dealer who found NO ECU. Car was returned to me 6 days later and performed fine until...

- martinuko, Wellington, FL, USA

problem #5

Aug 072015

Genesis Luxury 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles

I bought a brand new Hyundai Genesis luxury package. The car was great for about 2 weeks then all of a sudden the tpms alarm goes off then the wipers start coming on and off. All my blind spot alarms turn on and off, also all the gauges even the gas gauge dies reads nothing. All this while driving down the road also the steering seems to get very tough like the power steering isn't working. I took it back to the dealer and they replaced the instrument cluster. I got it back last Thursday and last night, the same thing happened again. Now the car is back at the dealer and I told the dealer I'm not coming to pick it back up.

- Vince V., Brantford, ON, Canada

problem #4

Aug 182015

Genesis 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Back window shade goes up by itself, intermittently. Trip odometers reset, intermittently. Hyundai said take to dealer. Van Nuys (CA) Hyundai serviced car on 8/13/15. Said couldn't reproduce problems and hadn't heard of this kind of problem in other Genesis sedans.

8/17/15 turned off engine in my driveway and everything went dead. Tried opening & closing doors, trunk, pressing start button, nothing worked, all electrical was out. About 2-3 minutes later, was able to restart the car. On restart, clock went to 12:00 and then rotated hands until got to actual current time.

8/18/15 Appeared that trip odometers had reset to 0 again. Back window shade went up by itself once. Car appeared to drive OK until approximately 4:30PM. Was waiting in line at Costco gas station. Turned off engine. Everything went dead again. Nothing I tried could restart it when I need to move forward in gas line. After 2-3 minutes, came back to life, was able to restart and again clock went to 12 and then hands rotated to current time. Both trip odometers had reset to 0 but Range mileage remained as it was prior to shut down.

I'm concerned shut down will happen again. I'd like to know if there is a Hyundai facility nearby (particularly since Hyundai apparently has a major facility in Orange County) where I can get help from someone with more knowledge than the dealership.

- Chuck P., Culver City, CA, US

problem #3

Aug 042015

Genesis 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,600 miles

This is the 4th time the car locked up after parking vehicle. Total electrical failure as nothing works and steering wheel locked. Had it taken to dealership after 2nd time and they couldn't find anything and said it may have been the key fob batteries. Well its not. It seems after a period of hours the car starts again. This is very concerning and very unsafe.

- cdkd1234, Algonquin, IL, USA

problem #2

May 292015

Genesis 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,700 miles

Car intermittently loses tachometer, speedometer, turn signals, blind side warning, lane departure warning, outside temp indicator, etc. And that's just what I detected. Occurred three times over last 30 days. Each time, the symptoms self-correct before I can get car to dealership (the last time within 1/2 mile of dealership). Dealer put car on diagnosis machine but nothing showed up. Dealer said Hyundai won't let them try anything else until they can physically see the symptoms. So I have a new car, with substantial money invested, that I can't trust.

Update from Jun 11, 2015: Dealer said the problem is a short in the dash assembly, specifically with the hub that relates to all the on-board computers. Dealer is replacing the entire dash assembly.

- Gene R., Macon, GA, USA

problem #1

Jan 102015

Genesis 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles

Called Rick Case Hyundai to report problems with my 6 day old car with less than 300 miles on it which made car unsafe to drive.(turn signals not working, power steering assist failed, speedometer not working and other accessories functioning intermittently.) Was told no loaners available and to bring car in on Monday 1/12. Was told problem was in "junction box" and part was ordered and due 1/14 or 1/15. Today is 1/20 and still no part or explanation. Was provided with Sonata loaner for first week, nice car but not the one I am paying for. Now I have a Genesis loaner with dealers name all over it.

Update from Feb 4, 2015: After two weeks and several attempts to correct problem with parts problem was determined to be a" loose connector". Car has been driving without a problem for the past 10 days.

- leeber, Hallandale Beach, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?