2015 Hyundai Sonata engine problems: cam shaft sensor failure

Cam Shaft Sensor Failure

2015 Hyundai Sonata

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Hyundai dealer.

8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
6,926 miles
Total Complaints:
9 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace sensor (7 reports)
  2. not sure (2 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2015 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments

problem #9

Jan 282017

Sonata Sport 2.4L Pzev

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle is a 2015 Hyundai Sonata Sport with the 2.4 L Pzev engine. About a month ago the check engine light came on. I took it into my local Hyundai dealership and they hooked it up and got an error code from the cam shaft sensor. They checked the part and said it was OK and cleared the code.

Two weeks later, the check engine light comes back on. While driving the car I would notice a large loss of acceleration and gas mileage. I took it back to the dealership. They hook it up again and determine that now the cam sensor is faulty and needs replaced. So I take it in on 01/20/2017 and they replaced the sensor and "fixed" the problem.

A week goes by (01/28/17) and the check engine light is back on. I took the car in today (4th time) and they hook it up again and it shows a cam sensor failure again. They do some digging and find out that the "fitting" around where the sensor plugs into the engine was not seated properly and that oil had leaked out into the sensor. They cleaned up the oil, re-seated the fitting and stated that it was "fixed".

Only time will tell...

- , Charleston, IL, USA

problem #8

Jun 012016

Sonata ES 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,049 miles

The problème happen3 Times ,first and second Times they changed the Cam sensor Switch, the thrid time the car completely stop. I had to be towed to the dealer, the car stay there for a month, they had to open up the engine and replace a few valves different pieces, cam sensor, redo the head. Since then the car seems to work ok but do consume more fuel 15/100k.

I do hope that they really overcome the problem. if not I,m selling the f..car and never take a look at Hyundai,s product for the rest of my life, I cannot believe that Hyundai let a car with that kind of issue leaved the car chain..

I did call them to report the problem,ask them if they could help me, I did propose to migrate my contract for a Santa Fee,they say that the only things they do is respect the warranty by repairing the car,but after that kind of issue do you think that I feel secure to go with my kids on a trip to the country.

- , Montreal, QC, Canada

problem #7

Feb 092015

Sonata Sport 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,200 miles

Visit #1. Check Engine Light on. The car's OBD2 says bad camshaft sensor. Low accelerating power. High engine idle on normal temp engine (1200 RPM). The Service Adviser said that the cam shaft sensor tested OK. Tech reset Check Engine light. The light came back on again two days later with the same symptoms.

Visit #2: Check engine light on again. She said that 3 other Sonatas had the same problem. The tech said that it was a "leaking bushing" that had to be replaced. I was given a loaner 2014 Elantra. The Service adviser said that she does not know when the needed part will arrive. My new 5 month old car now sits in the dealer parking lot.

Update from Mar 4, 2015: The car is fixed for now. The Hyundai tech took all day after they got the 3 parts. The tech drove it for 15 miles before I got back to the dealership.

But Hyundai wanted him to drive it and additional 200 miles to see if this problem will reoccur. I said that I would drive the 200 miles productively, instead of the tech joyriding my car for 200 miles @ 30.00+per hour.

So far the car is behaving (03/04/2015).

- , Framingham, MA, USA

problem #6

Feb 162015

Sonata Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Let me add myself to those experiencing this issue. Got the light on my Sonata Limited on the 16th and took it into the dealer. Only 1,000 miles! Still not repaired, and still apparently on a national backorder.

Additionally, the diagnosis was that the gasket was leaking oil onto the sensor. Additionally, RPMs were extremely fast even at idle and while driving, and could not get almost any acceleration.

I have no idea when this will get fixed, but I hope it will be soon. I love the car, but this is starting to get ridiculous: 2 weeks so far. And to add insult to injury, all I got for a loaner was a crappy Nissan Altima without any special features: no satellite radio, cloth seats, crappy condition, no remote start, no backup camera, and no GPS!

- , Jenkintown, PA, US

problem #5

Feb 202015

Sonata SE 2.4L V4 Gdi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,860 miles

I was driving home for the weekend from college and notice my car was acting funny. I soon came to realize when my car was at rest it was revving at 12-1300 rpms. It would not downshift automatically to accelerate quickly. It would only take gradual speed unless I threw it into manual override.

I took it to the dealership the next day and they were at a loss and needed to call the manufacture in order to see what the problem was. They provided me with a rental, 2015 Sonata Sport in white, which is beautiful compared to my basic ass car but the guy said it could take 1-3 weeks to fix it since the part is on a major back order. So, I have the rental until then and everything is free plus I look bad ass in my white sonata and wish I could afford the upgraded model. I am not pissed since I have a free rental otherwise I would be rip sh*t.

- , Peabody, MA, USA

problem #4

Feb 022015

Sonata LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles

I was really excited to get my first Hyundai Sonata after being a Toyota owner before. I really liked the car and the drive was nice and everything was overall a good experience. That is until I got a check engine light on not even halfway through the first year of driving the car. It only had 5,500 miles on the odometer. I bring it to the Hyundai Service center and they say I have to replace the cam shaft sensor. That was almost a month ago and they called the other day saying it's going to take another week and possibly longer.

I am so disappointed in Hyundai and I completely regret getting the Hyundai Sonata when I know I could've gotten any other brand new sedan without seeing the shop in the first year. Something like this should NEVER happen to a brand new car, there should be no explanation. This should be absolutely embarrassing for Hyundai because once again, they're known as the worst, garbage cars you can buy in my opinion because of this problem. I highly doubt that even if they fix it, that the car is going to drive thousands of more miles without having other mechanical problems. If you don't have a month to wait for your car to be fixed after a few months of owning the car, be smart and never consider this car.

- , Stamford, CT, USA

problem #3

Jan 032015

Sonata Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1/3/15 had towed to Dealer, took 14 days, replaced cam shaft sensor! Picked up vehicle on Friday, Sunday car was towed a 2nd time to Dealer, being told this is a problem in a few of these, could take 5 weeks!!!! Are you kidding me???

- , Whitman, MA, USA

problem #2

Jan 062015

Sonata Limited 2.4L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,149 miles

The check engine light came on during my drive home from work with only 1149 miles on the odometer. I noticed whenever I came to a stop that the car would idle between 1200-1300rpm. I drove it straight to the dealership. They diagnosed a cam sensor failure. I was issued a loaner vehicle, and had to wait a week for parts to arrive from South Korea in order to have the car fixed under warranty. Once the replacement parts came in, the dealer technician replaced two plugs and the cam phaser cover assembly. The notes stated that oil had leaked inside the cam phaser area and they had to clean it out before replacing everything.

This seems to be a widespread problem, as the technician mentioned that they had already done about 4 of these before mine. Be on the lookout for a potential recall on this cam phaser sensor/plug.

- , Bellevue, NE, USA

problem #1

Jan 042015

Sonata Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,772 miles

Vehice is 3 months old...Engine light came on, vehicle accelerating on its own...ASE Certified mechanic hooked up computer...came up Cam shaft sensor. Had towed to dealership, will be 7-14 days more, they have to have part made in Korea! Who sells a vehicle and not have parts available??? Very upset on a brand new vehicle...

- , Whitman, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?