10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,196 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2017 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #79

Nov 282020

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine is stalling and shut off at a traffic light. Using oil on a weekly basis. Gas mileage is not efficient at all. No warning the oil pressure is low. The latch on trunk had to be replaced weeks after I purchased the car but I had to replace it cause it would not shut. And now there is a recall.

- Fayetteville , TN, USA

problem #78

Dec 092021

Sonata

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while driving 25 MPH, the accelerator pedal was depressed seized on the floorboard. The check engine warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to exceed 25 MPH while driving. The contact veered to the side of the roadway, turned off, and restarted the vehicle; however, the failure recurred while driving. The dealer and the manufacturer were not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 66,000.

- Shepherdsville, KY, USA

problem #77

Nov 242021

Sonata

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, the vehicle failed to start. The contact mentioned that multiple attempts were made while attempting to start the vehicle. The vehicle was towed by triple AAA. The mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was drove smoothly afterwards however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #76

Nov 242021

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I was driving, the car began to slow down I was not able to accelarete and the car turned off. I pushed the start button to turn on the car and I saw smoke came from the hood. According to my mechanic it was the starter. We put a new starter, the car didnt star and the smoke was coming from the hood again. I decided to send the car to Hyundai dealer. After two weeks they still didn't call me to know what is wrong with the car. I am still waiting for.

- Westampton, NJ, USA

problem #75

Jun 152021

Sonata

  • miles
Manufacturer Recall Number 209 NHTSA Recall Number 21V727000 Incident date: June 15, 2021 While driving on the freeway at approximately 65 MPH, the vehicle stalled with the check engine warning light flashing on the instrument panel, oil could be seen spraying out the back of the car onto traffic which put other drivers/vehicles at risk of an accident. We pulled over into a dirt parking lot, noticed a puddle of oil underneath the car, and then lifted the hood to see oil sprayed all over the engine compartment. I had the vehicle towed to an independent mechanic where the vehicle was diagnosed with engine failure. The vehicle was then towed to a dealer where it remains in their possession as of today which in my opinion is too long to wait without a car, 6 months later from the incident. The manufacturer was notified of the failure June 16th and they informed me that the vehicle did not qualify for any recalls or warranty programs. The vehicle VIN later showed up on the recall campaign in September. Hyundai USA offered to replace the engine at no cost which I am thankful for that so far. However, after the engine replacement, I was told the car would not start, and will require a new battery module and hybrid battery, and that I must pay 40% of the parts and labor at $2776. I believe these parts suddenly failing are directly related to the engine failure incident, and should be part of the recall campaign. My car has yet to be repaired due to backordered parts. I've submitted rental car fee receipts of over $3500 to date without reimbursement because I'm told that it is their policy to only review rental receipts for reimbursement after the repair ticket is closed, with no possibility of interim reimbursement. The Hyundai case manager has told me there is nothing more that they can do, not willing to discuss with another department or Manager, no escalation path forward, and that all I can do is file this complaint with the NHTSA per the recall campaign notification.

- Lathrop, CA, USA

problem #74

Nov 232021

Sonata

  • miles
Bought car 8/30/20 on 9/29/20 engine light came on and went into limp mode. Friend came and 1st thing we done was checked oil. 2qts low. Car had 2 codes that came up. Car had 42090 miles. There's now 52200. Car has burned oil since I got it. Been checked by place referred to & states burning oil. afraid to drive now. hear ticking/knocking in motor too.

- Roxboro, NC, USA

problem #73

Nov 032021

Sonata

  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while driving 65 MPH, the vehicle stalled with the check engine warning light flashing on the instrument panel. The contact pulled over and had the vehicle towed to two separate independent mechanics where the second mechanic diagnosed the vehicle with engine failure. The vehicle was then towed to a dealer where it remained in their possession. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed him that the vehicle did not qualify for any recalls or warranty programs. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was 123,000.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #72

Nov 012021

Sonata

  • miles
Vehicle caught fire while undergoing warranty repairs

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #71

Nov 152020

Sonata

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated upon starting the vehicle, the oil warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the oil filter was fractured. The contact stated that the dealer replaced the oil filter and the oil was refilled however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and an unknown part was replaced. The contact stated that the failure recurred, and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The dealer diagnosed that the vehicle was consuming an excessive amount of oil. The dealer informed the contact that they would perform an oil consumption test and she would need to bring the vehicle back every 1,000 miles. The dealer-s report was sent to the manufacturer and the manufacturer opened a case. The manufacturer informed the dealer that the case was closed and advised the dealer to complete an engine cleaning. The engine cleaning was completed; however, the dealer informed the contact that she would need to complete another oil consumption test. The dealer diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The dealer advised the contact that they had sent another report to the manufacturer and the manufacturer had requested pictures of the subframe of the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 76,000.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #70

Oct 222021

Sonata

  • miles
I have a car that was purchased that currently has numerous recalls. the automakers have asked me numerous times to bring the car in and pay out of pocket for diagnostic but has yet to fix anything. I am concerned with the safety of the car liked to performance issues that car and maybe linked to the engine recall that is pending.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #69

Oct 152021

Sonata

  • 56,179 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while driving, there was a ticking sound coming from the engine compartment. The vehicle was taken to the local independent mechanic who indicated that no oil was present in the engine. Oil was added to the engine but later while driving approximately 60 MPH, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the engine had seized. The vehicle was not yet repaired. The local dealer and manufacturer were notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,179.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #68

Jan 152021

Sonata

  • miles
Engine oil found to be low at multiple oil changes. So started checking levels 1000 miles after oil change and found oil to be low already at that point. The last check, only 1300 miles after oil change, found vehicle to be down 1.5 quarts. Available for inspection upon request. Because we are checking and replacing the missing oil at the early timeframes of 1000 miles instead of at 7500 miles, no one is in immediate danger (beyond my bank account). The service center has been monitoring the issue for some time. They checked seals, gaskets, and replaced them to be sure they were not the issue. The oil levels still decrease. Upon speaking to a Hyundai rep, he (the manufacturer) claims there is no issue but I should get a diagnostic check up at dealer. I am scheduling one this week. Issues with the local dealer is they charge too much, suggest repairs that are not necessary, and have extended service wait times of at least 3 hours even though I have an appointment. There have been no warning lamps, messages, or actual failures. I am trying to prevent reaching that stage. I do know that my engine is the same one they recalled from earlier models. Those engines were having high oil consumption issues which help lead to more serious safety issues with time. I am wondering how the same engine, with apparently the same issues, was allowed to continue to be used.

- Manor, TX, USA

problem #67

Aug 182021

Sonata

  • miles
Recall on my 2017 Hyundai Sonata was repaired 9/13/2019, purchased the vehicle with financing on 7/16/2021. On 8/18/2021, had vehicle towed back to the dealership and explained the issue. Engine knocking, tire pressure and engine lights on, frequent stalling, turning off, smell of gas and something burning, loss of power to the engine, car could not accelerate to 60 MPH. The dealership had my car till 9/20/2021, power train warranty was denied and voided, no loaner car was given, was not offered any reimbursement for car rental by dealership and Hyundai corporate. Although car is included in Theta class action lawsuit. I was correct about issue with engine, but the dealership replaced engine with used parts. No later than five days after having my car back, the engine and tire pressure lights came back on, car is tugging, and the engine noise is louder. I don-t believe that they replaced the engine with OEM parts.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #66

Jul 022021

Sonata

  • miles
its been recalled and check engine light on since July 2021. The Hyundai is not addressing it properly and behaving very irresponsible when i spoke to their customer service. They assign the case manager and he never called or contacted me through email. Also their appointment availability is 30+ days and they will diagnose only after 7 days after the appointment. Till then no loaner or any sort of arrangements to the owners. Moreover the vehicle is very much under warranty. I am able see the following problems 1. Check engine light 2. Engine vibration and noise - sometime 3. reduced engine power 4. sometime burning smell Campaign #NHTSA Recall #DescriptionSafety RiskRemedyStatusCampaign Date Recall 208 2017-2018 SONATA (LF), 2016-2018 SONATA HYBRID, 2016-2017 AZERA, 2018-2020 ACCENT, 2017-2018 SONATA PLUG-IN HYBRID TRUNK LATCH ASSEMBLY Recall IncompleteAug 11, 2021 Recall 209 2017 SONATA HYBRID (LF HEV) & 2017 TUCSON 2.0L NU ENGINE Recall IncompleteSep 22, 2021

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #65

Aug 312021

Sonata

  • miles
On August 31st 2021, While driving my 2017 Hyundai Sonata PHEV on interstate 95 the check engine and hybrid system warning lights came on and the car simultaneously lost power for 3-4 seconds, which caused a decrease in speed from 65 to approximately 50 mph. There was a tractor trailer behind me but thankfully it braked to avoid striking my car. The car regained partial power and I was able to drive it home. I took the car to the dealership to have it repaired. The dealer diagnosed a faulty battery management system, and replaced this component after 17 days. On September 25, while driving on a street the car once again lost power for 3-4 seconds, with the check engine and hybrid system lights simultaneously illuminated. There was a recall on my vehicle several years ago to prevent this dangerous problem. I had the car repaired at that time but clearly the problem was not fixed as my car has subsequently lost power on two separate occasions, in a manner that could have easily caused a crash.

- Old Lyme, CT, USA

problem #64

Jul 012017

Sonata

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that over the years upon start of the vehicle; an abnormal clicking noise would emit from the engine as the check engine warning light would illuminate on the instrument panel. Since owning the vehicle, the contact had taken the vehicle to several dealers where she had been given different diagnoses and has had multiple repairs performed on the vehicle; however, the failure would return soon after each repair. The manufacturer was also notified of the failure but offered no assistance. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000.

- Savage, MD, USA

problem #63

May 012021

Sonata

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that she would frequently add engine oil every 1,000 miles due to an excessive oil consumption. The contact also stated that the vehicle stalled while at a red light as the oil warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact had taken the vehicle to a dealer and she was informed that the oil needed to be changed more frequently to prevent further failures. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 66,000.

- Pico Rivera, CA, USA

problem #62

May 102021

Sonata

  • 79,946 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle consumed an abnormal amount of engine oil. The contact stated that the RPM was fluctuating without warning. The contact stated that the oil level and check engine warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was diagnosed but not yet repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 79,946.

- Pontiac, MI, USA

problem #61

May 222021

Sonata

  • miles
While driving the engine light comes on and blinks rapidly and the car drops from the speed of 65 to 15 or below in second. The code was p1326 with is the knock senor. I changed it and the code went away. Weeks later the code returned while driving again with me and my 3 little babies in the car again. Same issue engine light came on blinking speed drop rapidly. Read this is an occurring issue with this car and it must be taken in to the dealer for fixing.Dealer refused to check out the issue.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #60

Apr 282021

Sonata

  • miles
The thea-engine is bad and needs to be replaced. After diagnostics determined the engine indeed needs to be replaced; they added the rods and bearings did not cause issue so they will not cover cost. The big lie is that the, "rods and bearings was not part of the original evaluation diagnostics done on the engine. It was added to remove the connection that cause prior recalls. It is the same problem and millions of unsuspecting auto purchasers should be made aware. This company has been making cars since 2011 with faulty engines, "stay away" the dealership said the engine must be replaced

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?