ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

8.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,290
Average Mileage:
99,050 miles
Total Complaints:
8 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace transmission (5 reports)
  2. not sure (3 reports)
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #8

Jun 192017

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 151,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the 2nd transmission I had to get for Chrysler's over priced Chinese quality(cheap). The 1st time my transmission failed was about 100.000 miles- it would surge at speed and down shift to dangerous levels when towing a trailer thru the blue ridge mountains. Check engine lite- transmission failure. Had the transmission replaced. Then at about 150,000 miles the replacement failed (same failure). I had to have the transmission rebuilt at considerable cost. I don't want to go into it but also the Hemi-tick which the dealer states is normal for this engine..RIGHT(BS)..the transmission has a program glitch/ hydraulics flaw that causes the dangerous down shift from 5 to 2 at 60mph!!!!!! RPM jump to over 5500. The transmission is the same one used in the 6 cylinder, and is not able to handle the hemi motor/hp. I have the tow package also.... don't believe the tow rating- Hemi can do it but transmission is garbage. The should have put the same drive train in the hemi jeeps as the dodge pickups......Jeep has engineered planned Obsolescence for the jeep. Americans need to stop buying jeeps until Chrysler learns the hard way that quality and safety and dependability are #1. Ford learned this in the late 90's. During the rebuild a lot of the components where replaced-the hydraulic valve body had also been replaced with new.

- Tim G., Aiken, US

problem #7

Aug 252017

Grand Cherokee Limited 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

I bought my '06 JGC from Oak Harbor Motors in November 2015. In February 2016 I had my first incident where the vehicle while in drive acted as if it was in neutral and would rev but not go anywhere and make a loud noise like gears grinding. This would occur periodically throughout the next year and a half or so. Usually about half a mile after first starting it causing me to veer off on the side of the road to turn it off and on again until it would finally shift into gear.

Within the past two months it started to happen more frequently and to where I would have to turn it off and on about 20 or so times until it would finally go into gear. The jeep dealership and Chrysler have been no help. My mechanic is stumped. It is now to the point that it will not go into gear at all and I have it parked with the parking brake on because although I have it in park, it is still in neutral. Please Help!!!! it seems as if many people have had this same issue. What is the resolution?

- Sheri R., oak harbor, Washington, US

problem #6

Jul 292013

Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,844 miles

I PURCHASE THE VEHICLE ON 01/14/2013.

TOOK IT BACK THE FIRST TIME 02/11/2013. REPORTED VEHICLE DOES NOT SHIFT CORRECTLY FIRST THING IN THE MORNING (WHEN IT IS COLD). CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON REPORTS TRANSMISSION ISSUES. UNFORTUNATELY THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS NOT ON WHEN TOOK INTO DEALERSHIP. LUCKY THEM. UNLUCKY ME. THEY REPORTED BACK THAT THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE ISSUE.

BACK IN DEALERSHIP 02/18/2013. REPORTED WHEN PUTTING VEHICLE IN REVERSE IT WONT GO. MUST PUT BACK INTO PARK AND BACK IN REVERSE THEN GOES. DOWNSHIFTS HARD. WHEN APPLYING GAS RPMS GO HIGH AND VEHICLE DOESN'T MOVE. PUT BACK IN PARK AND THEN DRIVE AND IT GOES.

BACK UP IN DEALERSHIP VIA FLAT BED TOW TRUCK. CUSTOMER REPORTS " TURNED LEFT, LOAD CLUNK, VEHICLE REV'ED HIGH AND WOULD HARDLY MOVE. LIMPED BACK HOME.

BACK IN DEALERSHIP 10/25/2013. REPORTED PUT VEHICLE IN 4 WHEEL LOW, THEN TAKE OUT SERVICE 4 WHEEL SYSTEM LIGHT COMES ON. VEHICLE SURGES AT HIGH SPEED.

CAN'T WAIT TO GET RID OF THIS VEHICLE.

- Michael K., Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #5

Feb 062012

Grand Cherokee Limited 5.7L V8 Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased the Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd in Dec 2011 and driving it home thought I felt a mis-shift but it didn't happen again for a couple weeks. Then it began to fail with exponential frequency until one night I barely got it back to the driveway where it failed completely and had to be towed to a transmission specialist shop. This was less than 600 miles since purchasing it. Luckily I bought the extended used car warranty! If they offer you one always take it and don't buy the car if they don't offer you one. The warranty only covered a used transmission and they ordered it. It didn't fit my car. Thankfully the only one they could find was a rebuilt certified transmission (twice the price) and had to buy that for me. The transmission would have cost me $3200 plus $1800 labor (due to the mistakes the warranty co made) and AAA paid $150 for the tow. But I did have to pay in the sense I was without a car I just bought for 2 months (due to order/shipment mistakes)

- fxmagician, Nevada City, CA, US

problem #4

Jun 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles

I BOUGHT MY 2006 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE 4X4 USED IN 2010 WITH ONLY 22,500 MILES ON IT . IT CAME WITH A FULL 3 YEAR WARRANTY. IN JUNE OF 2013 I HAD IT TO THE DEALER JUST BEFORE THE WARRANTY EXPIRED BECAUSE THE CAR WOULD SHAKE AND ALMOST SHUT OFF WHENEVER I STOPPED FOR A TRAFFIC SIGNAL.

I WAS TOLD THE PROBLEM WAS WITH THE TRANSMISSION BECAUSE THE TRANSMISSION WASN'T SHIFTING OUT OF SECOND GEAR WHEN I STOPPED. THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM.

IN SEPTEMBER 2014 THE PROBLEM STARTED AGAIN. I HAD THE TRUCK CHECKED AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING FOUND TO BE WRONG. NOVEMBER 2014 I HAD DRIVEN FOR ABOUT 25 MINUTES, STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON . IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION AGAIN. IT HAD TO BE REPAIRED FOR THE SHIFTING ISSUE AGAIN PLUS ALL THE HOSES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THAT COST ME AROUND $400 THANKS TO A MECHANIC WHO ACTUALLY FELT SORRY FOR ME.

BY FEBRUARY 2015 THE ISSUE HAD RETURNED AGAIN AND THIS TIME THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTS AFTER LONG INTERVALS AND IT IS SLOW TO SHIFT. I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO HAVE IT REPAIRED THIS TIME .

- Bonnie H., HAVRE DE GRACE, MD, USA

problem #3

Jun 012014

Grand Cherokee Limited Hemi 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

In June 2014 Jeep issued the n-23 safety recall. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, recall was done.

Since then there has been nothing but problems with 4 wheel drive, will not go into neutral (for towing), will not go into 4 wheel low, will go into neutral on its own. We filed a case with customer service, have take it in 7 times and the problem still comes back. Customer service will not answer my emails anymore. I guess they see me as a pain in the ass. But the n-23 recall caused this problem, not me, and they cannot offer a solution as of July 2014 saying take back to dealer.

I have tried to get a hold of some one at the corp office but there is no way, you only get back to customer service. I ask who is their boss and they tell me they do not know. I guess they think that I am that stupid to believe that. The main office is well insulated from the consumer, they have many firewalls to keep you from contacting them.

I am at a loss as were to go now.When you go to a dealer to BUY a Jeep they will not tell you about the problem but I took in to try and trade and was told the resale was much less because of the problem with the transmission. I guess I am stuck with a lemon. Does any one know what is the next step with this problem? Is there a recall lemon law? I

I really think Chrysler needs to step up to the plate and offer a solution. Customer service said they would give me 6 oil changes and 6 tire rotations free for my trouble. I find this a insult! I guess they could care less about loosing ONE customer but if I post on as many web sites as I can maybe they will loose a few more. Maybe over time I will get the attention of someone in Corp that gives a sh*t about the small man that buys their cars!

- Tim T., West Fork, AR, USA

problem #2

May 112011

Grand Cherokee Laredo V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

had tranny issues for a while, had a thump when downshifting from 2nd to 1st. eventually the transmission just went completely, luckily i still had 3rd gear and reverse so it was somewhat drivable. had a buddy with a dealership get me a used transmission but then that transmission was doing the same thing when downshifting from 2nd to 1st. fed up with it and its headed to the auction. only 67,000 miles!!!!!!! very frustrating and expensive.

- Chad H., Nappanee, IN, USA

problem #1

Sep 262010

Grand Cherokee Laredo V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

So far on the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee, with onlt 52000 miles on it, a new transmission was needed and a new rear differential

- John C., Buffalo, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?